We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beachside hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clubhotel Aquafun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clubhotel Aquafun to your Saves list
Clubhotel Aquafun
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sherton St | Sakhala, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
3.0 of 5 stars 127 Reviews
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great beachside hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at this hotel, as there have been mixed reviews. My husband and I requested a ground floor room with direct access to the pool and beach - perfect. The pool is large and kept clean. Plenty of room to sunbathe either by the pool or on the verandah outside our room. Food ordered a la carte by the pool is excellent - very fresh, tasty and good service.
Usual variety of breakfast items - cooked food, breads, cheese, meat, pastries. Dinner can be a little bland for my taste, but there is a range offered.
Animation team is very entertaining - various activities throughout the day if you are that way inclined. Late disco too.
When we return to Hurghada, we will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    25
    20
    32
See reviews for
20
37
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Booked this hotel because of a low price and because it was close Sekkala center. Has been in Hurghada several times, but definitely think this is one of the most affordable hotels I stayed at. Very good service and nice people who worked for the guests would feel comfortable with them. Animation team was great, nice, fun, did everything to ensure that tourists who wanted activities got what they wanted. They were also friendly and took the guests who wished, on the various cafés and clubs, and always saw that they got safely back to the hotel. The food I can not speak about directly because I only had breakfast and it was quite ok. Lacked some fruit which all other hotels I stayed in had. Service at the beach may be high grade, easy to just get up from the sun bed and go and eat pizza, fish, chicken, fruit platter, fruit salad or any of the other they had to offer. Not so expensive. The people who lived at the hotel was very easy to communicate with, many new friends, and many good laughs, with people from different countries such as Russia, Germany, Holland, Denmark, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Poland, etc.. Will definitely choose this hotel again on my next trip to Hurghada! . Thank you for two very fun, pleasant, sunny, content-rich weeks on Aqua Fun

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaxholm
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

The facilities are nice and the promotional photos do the site justice. The beach is small, but it is there and since the hotel is also small you always seem to find a sunbed. Don't miss the cafe next door to the right from the beach, which has OK food and a wonderful view of the ocean. If you want to enjoy the sun on your own balcony/porch ask for a room in the north wing.
The buffet is just below average. Variety is OK but it lacks flavor and distinction. There are lots of very cheap restaurants in Hurghada if you are willing to brave local joints that serve way better food for much less.
We stayed over Christmas 2009 and had lots of minor complaints with our room (shower flooded, towels not changed, lights out of order, etc). Hotel stars are not as valuable in Egypt as in western Europe.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurghada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

I Don´t know what people saw when they where there.. I think it´s a cheap hotell you cant expect to get luxure? The hotell was great! the staff was more than helpfull and would make sure that we had the best time of our life all the time! the room was simple not good not bad how often are you in the room anyway when your on vaccation? I went with my brother. first day we were laying on the beach 3 people come to us and wanted to sell us different things but just say no! you might have to say no alot of times but its not just on the hotell.. We loved the animation staff, thet make so little money but is always happy and so friendly and want you to have a good time. you cant do anything else than smile when they are around you. but they wont take no for un answer if they want you to play volleyball you will play even if you dont want! ;D so animationteam made our trip! i dont care about the rest without the animaton team i would not recomendate this hotell! so I want to thank Shady,semsem,momo,mando and pepsi for a wonderfull show and i will be back soon :) by the way the food isno good go out for a meal!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

I have been to eygpt many of times, infact i was living and working in hotels there for 2 years. So i have seen many hotels in Hurghada. I must say that i was very very impressed with this hotel, i thought it was clean, the food was edible (there wasnt much choice but for what you are paying its good) the staff were friendly, the pool area was nice and the beach was fine.
I read the comments about this hotels and was quite scared but i have to say that it is well worth the money and i would infact pay more for this hotel.
Thanks for a great 2 weeks, and are going back in february for 3 week.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

Party of 3 two of us had booked all inclusive and one of us had booked half board. On arrival we were asked if we wanted to share a family room instead of having 2 seperate rooms by doing this they would upgrade the half board to all inlusive they showed us the room and we accepted their offer. You walked out onto the pool area and was very close to the small but clean beach. Everything was at hand although you had to pay for lunch if you wanted it at the beach but it was a good price for what you got and made a change from the restaraunt which could be a bit repetative. On the whole the staff were very nice. The hotel is quite small but ideal if travelling alone as you see the same people and makes it easy to find someone to talk to if you wish. There was a good mix of nationalities and we met some of the nicest Russians we have ever come across in Egypt, also Swedish, German and Hungarians, we English were few but had no trouble in communicating with anyone. The water sports and dive centre on the beach had a fantastic bunch of guys and both the diving lesson and wind surfing are well worth having a go at. We had a great time and will go back to this hotel again and we have stayed in quite a few hotels in Hurghada over the last 5 years and this was one of the best astmospheres we have encountered.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

This hotel is a value for money hotel with no frills. It is in serious need of refurbishment and should only be rated 2 star. BUT it is in a lovely setting, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the room were clean and adequate, and there is no reason for you not to enjoy yourself. The pool is lovely - the beach is small - but the water is beautiful and you can snorkel right there and see quite a lot of fish - good for practising.

Our first room did not have a balcony (the only one in the hotel - but the next day we were moved without any fuss to a ground floor room, with its own terrace, looking out on to the pool and a step away from the beach - perfect.

The room was basic, the fridge was rusty and very manky, the English channel didn't work on the tv, but it was ok other wise. The door lock was broken, but it got fixed the same day, as did some broken tiles outside our room.

Mohamed, the room cleaner, was sweet and worked hard.

The food was as previous reports have suggested - breakfast was good - we had omeltte and cheese, pancakes, wide range of bread and pastries and hot cooked food. Lunch was ok - tended to eat salad and didn't get sick.

Only had two evening meals in the restaurant cos they were so mediocre, bland and tasteless, even though we were all inclusive we didn't want to waste our holiday eating there. The all inclusive was the meanest AI I've ever experienced - I had to pay for every cappuccino I had. It was more like full board with local drinks thrown in - but still worth the money we paid. Just go prepared, because if you're used to 5 start all inclusive, you will be disappointed.

All the restaurants we ate out in were excellent - we went for egyptian/ lebanese food as that's our favourite. We ate at Felfela - 5LE taxi ride on the way to the new part of Hurghada, El Memsha - the second time we went it was closed - no idea why - it was a Tuesday, so maybe it's closed on Tuesdays? Also ate at Arena - ok but uncomfortably hot inside, Hun Summer - turn left when you leave the hotel and it's just up past La Luna - top quality food and excellent service - and finally a lebanese one in El Memsha - next to a Chinese restaurant - it was called Oriental Lebanese restaurant. It was meant to have live singing and dancing but not when we were there - but the food was one of the best meals I've ever had - delicious.

We booked some trips from the hotel - ask for Malik down on the beach, he was amazingly helpful. He organised a trip to a bigger beach Sharq al naga - amazing snorkeling altho pricey - and the giftun island trip - very popular but it's a must for the coral and the snorkeling. We also booked the quad biking from the hotel - that was a fantastic trip, well worth it. Finally we booked a bus trip to Cairo through Gem Travel Agency - DO NOT book through them! we ended up on a normal bus for Egyptian travellers and when we arrived in Cairo we had to sit in a dirty office for an hour before a guide arrived. Nobody told us what was happening, my 12 year old daughter got perved on the bus by an Egyptian and it was very distressing. Finally we got an English speaking guide who then turned the day around and we had and amazing experience visiting the Egyptian Museum, boat trip on the Nile, really lovely lunch and then the pyramids and sphinx - well worth it but make sure you know how you're getting there.

That's about all - the hotel is what you make of it - the animation team were all lovely and friendly and didn't hassle us - we were too busy going on trips to get involved with them - the evening entertainment wasn't our cup of tea.

We were the only English speaking family for most of the time - some more English families arrived at the end - it was mainly Russian and Polish - it didn't bother us and no-one annoyed us.

So if you've booked this hotel, enjoy it and say hello to Malik - he was very sweet.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clubhotel Aquafun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clubhotel Aquafun

Address: Sherton St | Sakhala, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#87 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clubhotel Aquafun 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Aqua fun hotel has a perfect location, in the heart of Hurghada's downtown, , just 7 km from Hurghada Int'l Airport. The Hotel is surrounded by the famous shopping area, Bazars & Coffee Shops. The Hotel is distinguished with private soft sandy where guest can enjoy snorkeling in the crystal blue water of Aqua Fun beach.Sports/leisure:-• Hotel private sandy beach.• Diving center ( Scuba & Padi).• Jetty For Yachting, Snorkeling & Diving.• Aqua center.• Windsurf center.• Snorkeling & Diving availability directly from the beach.• Beach volley ball and billiard.• Fresh water swimming pool• SPA with Gym, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam bath, massage, facial treatment, and Beauty Salon.Dining:- Restaurants:• Main Restaurant: serving international buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner• Oriental Restaurant: Serving oriental open buffet lunch, snacks, beverages & shisha. • Love Boat Restaurant: A La Carte Restaurant offers variety of international dishes, open for lunch and dinner.Bars:• Lobby Bar.• Beach Bar.• Oriental Bar.• Room service (24 hours).Entertainment:-• Daily Animation Program on Beach.• Daily Theme Nights.Guest services:-• Guest Information Desk.• Airport Transfer (with charge).• Laundry Service.• Daily Animation Program.• WIFI Internet in all rooms (with charge).• Shopping Arcade.• 24 hr. Clinic.• Babysitter (on request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clubhotel Aquafun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Aquafun Hurghada
Clubhotel Aquafun Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clubhotel Aquafun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.