We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Club Hotel Aqua Fun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Club Hotel Aqua Fun to your Saves list
Club Hotel Aqua Fun
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sheraton St | Sakhala, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 178 Hotels in Hurghada
Caloundra, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here as part of a group tour and it was reportedly the first (and last) time the company had used this hotel. All but one couple from our 20+ strong group requested to leave and return to Cairo after one night instead of staying for two nights - and our group leader was also so appalled that this was promptly arranged for us - and at no additional cost we enjoyed an extra night in the wonderful Oasis Hotel near Giza). It must be noted though that our group didn't seem to have unreasonable expectations - we had travelled on overnight train from Cairo to Aswan and many of us also slept overnight on a felucca, so we weren't expecting pampering to say the least. We had many, many legitimate complaints, including completely inedible food (we went to "Costa Coffee" nearby and found other members of our group already there during breakfast). But the incident that summed it all up - our friend catching a worker CLEANING THE SHOWER WITH THE TOILET BRUSH!!!!!

Staff also sought written feedback from our group which was honestly given without exaggeration. However, this was taken with anger rather than seen as an opportunity for improvement. You have been warned!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    26
    22
    34
See reviews for
23
37
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Nice and cozy hotel with a private beach, a perfect location in the center of Hurghada. Nice rooms with views of the swiming pool. Very considerate and obliging service. Food a bit repetitive. I would recommend this hotel to people who do not like crowds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Where do i start!! Building work, ignorant and very rude staff, dirty and chipped cups and dinner plates, literally cold food, no juice at all in hotel, no bottled water in hotel, having to stand waiting for cutlery and being ignored, having to stand and wait by kitchen door for milk and being ignored. And it goes on.

It started at check in.. i should have had £200.00 egyptian pounds returned to me as i overpayed.. it never came .. after repeated requests.

The bed linen was the same that had been on the bed from the previous guests.. stains and all!! I searched for a cleaner and asked him to change the sheets.. that was the one and only time they got changed in the whole 2 weeks.

The cleaner was a joke.. he came but only ever made the bed,, no cleaning was ever done and i had to go in search of him for toilet tissue.

The bed frame was a makeshift thing to hold the mattress,, and the mattress was filthy and stained without a protector on it ( I felt sick when i saw it the morning i was leaving after stripping the bed.

I was all inclusive.. and i have never not had water in the room or known a hotel not to have fruit juice of some kind for breakfast. The powdered milk was so watered down your tea and coffee was still black.. another guest had to report the tea and coffee for being stone cold.

The chef was very reluctant to give you a reasonable portion of fish or beef... And that is all there ever was ( not joking either ) plus it was always cold. Not a chip or potato was to be had,
Rice and past and always cold.. many other guests complained about the same also.

The dining room was absolutely filthy dirty so was the kitchen floor when standing near the door waiting for staff to bring cutlery and milk.. I didn't dare venture any further for fear of what i might have seen.

The staff made me feel guilty for asking for a drink at meal times.. never did they come to your table to ask if you would like one.. it was a little table with a few bottles and you had to go and ask.. you was lucky if a member of staff came to you to serve you.. then you nearly always wore what you asked for!!! they practically threw it at you.

The beach bar just had drinks .. No food or snacks at all.

I have had more food on a half board basis in other hotels.... It's a long time to go without food from 7 pm til breakfast the next morning..
One guest i was speaking to .. for medical reasons could only eat very small portions of food at any one time but needs to eat little and often.. she asked about snacks in between meals and was told to use McDonalds or KFC further up the road. Disgusting.

Another couple of guests i spoke to were elderly brother and sister.. and had visited this Hotel on 2 other occasions... and when was taken to there room they discovered it had just one double bed.. they went to reception and explained there booking stated they needed 2 beds because they weren't a couple.. they were told there wasn't any rooms with single beds.
And had to sleep in the same bed....absolutely disgusting.

This Hotel was worse than Faulty towers... at least the staff were funny in the TV programme.... this place has to be seen to be believed.. In the whole time i have travelled in the UK and Overseas... not once have i been subject to anything like this Hotel ever...

Oh!!! I forgot to say.. You also never got even tepid water for a shower... some days there wasn't water!!!!

The staff also plumbed into the sewers to water the gardens....the stench made me gag most mornings.

With different managment this Hotel could be divine because it's small and compact ... not at all intimidating like some bigger Hotels especially if you are a solo traveller like myself.
The rooms all overlook the pool and the beach is just foot steps away the views are beautiful.

Needless to say.. I wont be visiting this Hotel again..I have visited Hurghada 6 times this year and love the place.. it hasn't put me off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Where do I start..... We have been to this hotel 6 times with no problems
But this time Wow, we arrived on the Friday on a 2 weeks all inclusive,Lots of building work and noise at the reception,Foods Terrible,dirty plates and cups, Beer and drinks at the bars were all warm as fridges did not work, also they don't have alot of rooms with a double bed and on our 3rd attempt after giving the bellboy money we finally got the room we had booked, then on Wednesday after a days diving we returned to our room to find all our money had been STOLEN. We went straight up to reception to have 3 men come to our room and searched through all our belongings they did catch the thief who was a worker in the hotel
We left this hotel and moved to another as i did not feel safe there but they did not refund me my 2nd week
The staff have all changed since the last time we were there and Seemingly they have had problems with thefts in the last couple of months,this is a cheap hotel and we don't expect alot but it had gone downhill fast since our last visit in February and we will Never return to this hotel again
Please beware when staying at this hotel as we were not the only ones that left this hotel in the middle of our holiday

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

After arranging summer vacation for me and my girlfriend we were really excited to visit Egypt for the first time. We were enthusiastic regarding this vacation, but the problem started immediately as we had to wait for the rooms more than usually. They gave us the keys around 15h instead at 14h. When we finally get the keys we went to see the room and we had what to see. Very bad location, because workers were constructing and renovating all around our doors, with a lot of noise. After getting inside the room we saw really dirty toilet in which there is no water pressure so you can't even take an shower. Bedroom was really unclean with holes in the walls. One big minus is that we got the room without terrace, I mean how it is possible to make a room without terrace in the Hotel with 3 stars and at the seaside. The stuff at the reception was really bad. All-inclusive service was really bad, because everything was broken and we couldn't drink anything on the beach. Food was not so bad, but it could be better. Animation programs are boring and all time the same. After first day we called our agency and changed a hotel to Sea Garden, which is also a 3 star Hotel, but with comparison to this one it is 5 star hotel. Don't go here and choose something else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Unfortunately all the bad review are true. I am spent 1 week with my 2 kids there and husband. We were happy to go home ! No activities for children except the swimming pool which is always extremely crowded. Many Egyptian people go there (75%), the swim fully dresses as traditional and look at you - European- very strange if the bathing suit is small. The ALLINCLUSIVE offer is not real because you are limited to hours of drink and food. After 10 when the breakfast finishes, no food available until lunch ( for kids I mean). No drinking water in the room you must buy it from Supermarket across the street. The Sea is full of sand and rocks and fishes, which is nice. Animation and AquaGym- good.
In 1 week : sheets and garbage only taken out once because I have ask for it ! Conclusion : Cheap hotel. If you work hard for your money choose quality : Miramar/Sindbad/ other !

Room Tip: If you choose the new renovated rooms - which are still ongoing - you are asked to pay 5euros/pernig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed for a fortnight in June 2012 and were offered a new renovated room, beautiful. With of course a sea view. The GM was very attentive. We were all-in guests and we were allowed to suggest some of our favourate dishes to the chef.
Really good food and drinks for a very low price .

.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Hotel Aqua Fun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Aqua Fun

Address: Sheraton St | Sakhala, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#68 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Hotel Aqua Fun 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Aqua fun hotel has a perfect location, in the heart of Hurghada's downtown, , just 7 km from Hurghada Int'l Airport. The Hotel is surrounded by the famous shopping area, Bazars & Coffee Shops. The Hotel is distinguished with private soft sandy where guest can enjoy snorkeling in the crystal blue water of Aqua Fun beach.Sports/leisure:-• Hotel private sandy beach.• Diving center ( Scuba & Padi).• Jetty For Yachting, Snorkeling & Diving.• Aqua center.• Windsurf center.• Snorkeling & Diving availability directly from the beach.• Beach volley ball and billiard.• Fresh water swimming pool• SPA with Gym, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam bath, massage, facial treatment, and Beauty Salon.Dining:- Restaurants:• Main Restaurant: serving international buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner• Oriental Restaurant: Serving oriental open buffet lunch, snacks, beverages & shisha. • Love Boat Restaurant: A La Carte Restaurant offers variety of international dishes, open for lunch and dinner.Bars:• Lobby Bar.• Beach Bar.• Oriental Bar.• Room service (24 hours).Entertainment:-• Daily Animation Program on Beach.• Daily Theme Nights.Guest services:-• Guest Information Desk.• Airport Transfer (with charge).• Laundry Service.• Daily Animation Program.• WIFI Internet in all rooms (with charge).• Shopping Arcade.• 24 hr. Clinic.• Babysitter (on request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Hotel Aqua Fun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Aquafun Hurghada
Clubhotel Aquafun Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Hotel Aqua Fun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.