We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dana Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dana Beach Resort to your Saves list
Dana Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sahl Hashish Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 178 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for a week and had a very relaxing holiday just what we were looking for plenty or there is plenty to do if you are looking for an active holiday rooms nice and pool areas well kept staff very good and attentive we would stay here again and would recommend this hotel

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    228
    74
    30
    29
See reviews for
287
333
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wissen ,Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Having travelled independently for many years. My trip to Eygpt with a travel company was always going to be interesting. Having read the precedeing reviews I can only agree that the grounds and pools are emaculate.The service was excellent, But Eygpt it was not. As my preceding week in Cairo only proved to highlight. The food was plentiful and as most of the guests were German , I travelled with a German company: It came under the heading of German bland. All the restaurants served virtually identical salads and deserts . I searched for something which was spicy or remotely ethnnic there was nothing .
Once you stepped outside the complex you were in a soulness jungle of concrete with shops selling over priced rubbish.
But my 11 year old son loved it ,he was safe ,having plenty of kids to play with(we stayed over Easter 2013). His only complaint that there was virtually no beach and what was there was covered in wall to wall in sunbeds-
To close if you are looking for a break, of guaranteed sun and is totally inclusive Dana Beach is the place. But if you like to do your own thing may be it is not.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just returned from a memorable stay at this delightful hotel: undoubtedly great value with some of the best service I have encountered on holiday.

The facilities and grounds are 5*: our room comfortable but nothing special. The gardens and pools areas are very well maintained with superb lawns, well designed planting and varied swimming areas. We enjoyed massages, pedicures and haircuts and had a few sessions in the gym. The coffee shop had a great variety and was rarely busy.

The food was typical of this standard of hotel but always fresh and hot. Plenty of stations cooking food while you waited - pizzas and ommlettes recommended. There was a 'diet corner' but with all the vegetables, fruit and lean meat I never ventured there. The Asian was my favourite restaurant, but for the food and the setting but we had some excellent meals at the Italian as well.

The entertainment/animation team were fairly low key but there was always plenty going on - perhaps not lively enough for the pre kids couples.

The beach was nothing special but surprisingly popular especially via the regular boat on the lagoon ( also had peddalos that were always available)

We had one trip into the desert - very good value in terms of variety,but a little too staged and predictable for us.

There were VERY few ( perhaps a dozen) other English guests at the hotel, indeed we were asked if we were Dutch several times. This didn't bother us in the slightest but it may be an important factor for some.

Room Tip: Large complex but restaurants spread out - all areas have their advantages
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent 11 nights here in March, and unless they were hiding, we were the only english couple in the hotel! We were told they dont have many english people booking in there.
The hotel, rooms and grounds are lovely, well kept and clean. Plenty of sun loungers both on the beach and around the pool. The bar and restaurant staff are friendly and helpful, I didnt get the same feeling from the reception staff however.
The food was ok, pretty much the same in which ever restaurant you eat in, I wouldnt say 5 star though.
The "entertainment" in the evening was ok if you are over 50 (we are not), a not so good "pub" singer most nights which finished at 11pm, Thank goodness for Vako, who played some good music into the early hours to the few of us that wanted to party on as the advertised Havana nightclub doesnt actually exist anymore!
In short if you are english, like to have a few drinks around the pool and maybe a game or two, like to have the crack after dinner and dance the night away then this is maybe not for you.
Its more geared up for Russian and German families who all seemed to disappear to bed after 10pm, I do that at home, I dont want to do it on holiday!

Room Tip: In my opinion it wouldnt matter where your room was, its only a 5 minute stroll from any one block o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent our first week on an amazing Nile Cruise, early starts and late finishes are certainly something we became accustomed to but you have to make the sacrifice if you want to leave Egypt knowing that you have seen as much as there is to see. So what better way to spend the second week in the relaxation and comfort of Dana Beach resort in Hurghada. There is plenty of accommodation here, plenty of places to eat, drink, swim and sunbathe. I would highly recommend the L'Asiatique restaurant, plenty of choice on the menu, the staff were very attentive and the glass floor over the water and the fishes below your feet were astounding. Overall this is a good resort considering the horror stories from other people we were with who had stayed at alternative resorts before. It has plenty of pools, a boat taxi to a private beach, lots of shops just outside the main entrance and if you have kids there are good activities arranged for them too. The hotel interiors are lavish and extreme and have the perfect continental touch. The accommodation itself is clean, fresh and basic and thats all we were looking for. Thumbs up Dana, Well done.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Dana Beach Resort is part of the Pickalbatros chain. This chain has more resorts in Hurghada, and if Dana Beach is a representative example of the rest of the chain, than I would try another hotel from the chain also.

This resort has everything you wish for when stayin in an all-inclusive type of resort at the shore of the Red Sea in the middle of the desert. For sure you won't be bored when staying here for one week, as the resort is large enough and varied enough to be entertained for the time.

The resort has three swimming pools (50 meters), and two are heated during winter. This is really pleasant when making your laps in the early morning. People working there are really friendly to everyone, without any tipping. However, these men work 12 hours a day and therefore deseve some tipping, I think. Everything is very clean and is being cleaned troughout the day, there are even people gathering leafs that fall into the water or that float in the sea.

Also, the food is great. Real mayonaise, good fries, fresh fruits and vegetables. Great Star Bucks like coffee corner and a bar where you can get crepes with some good icecream (Mövenpick). Five restaurants where you can have varied diners every day. I would say enjoy!

Not any negative feedback? Yes, the animiation team is not of good quality especially the male part of the anmination team. They treat guests with a type of disrespect, i.e. think that all women think that they have a great sex-appeal and do not treat them respectfully. I find this very cheap and not worth a five star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from an extremely relaxing stay in this hotel. After a bit of a disappointing start, we spent the rest of the week totally impressed. We had booked a 'promotional room' and got the holiday for an exceptionally good price so we were not expecting the usual luxurious Egypian rooms of our previous stays in Sharm. However, the room we were given would not have met a basic B&B standard. It was very small, very worn and the electric points didn't work. To be fair the minute we pointed this out the next morning we were offered a choice - upgrade to a 'superior room' for 5 € a night or move to another room. We decided not to pay the extra and the second room was much better: nothing special but definitely adequate with a small sitting area, working plugs and close to the beach. Well that's it for negatives.
The grounds of the hotel are spectacular. Beautifully kept, pristine lawns and flowerbeds surround the river which runs through the complex and there are numerous little areas to sit on comfortable chairs in privacy and enjoy watching the world go past. The food is absolutely fine with a range of fooods to suit most people (even a diet corner but who goes all inclusive to diet!!). All the restaurants serve the same salad starters and puddings but as these are fresh and delicious that is not a problem. A previous reviewer complained about 'recycled' dishes but we know this to be untrue. We were frequntly the last in the restaurants and watched the staff tip everything that was left over into huge, communal bins! We also did not experience any cold food as everything was kept at sizzling temperature. We tried most of the cocktails and enjoyed them all and the wine is served in the bottle and, whilst not exactly top standard, extremely drinkable. The sundowner crepes and ice-cream should not be missed!
We went to the Spa twice - once for the whole Hamman experience and the other for a full body massage. We would definitely recommend you do this. The service is fantastic, the expertise of the staff second to none and the price is very reasonable; especially if you haggle for a special deal. We paid about £50 each for our 3 hours of treatment. For a bit of exercise, my friend went to the gym which she thought was well equipped and I did daily Zumba on the beach - great fun and suitable for all standard including people like myself who fall over their feet! We never met any other English speaking people there but as we do not go abroad to meet lots of other Brits that wasn't a problem. In fact when we said we were Scottish and Irish I think we got a bit of extra attention.
If the owners upgraded some of their basic rooms to add that little bit of extra luxury that so many of the Egyptian hotels do so well, this would be 5 stars all the way. As it is, I would still thoroughly recommend it and may well return next year!

Room Tip: If you want anything more than basic, you should probably pay for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Beach Resort

Address: Sahl Hashish Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#26 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dana Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 734
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Beach Hotel Hurghada
Dana Beach Hurghada
Dana Beach Resort Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.