We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Albatros Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Beach Albatros Hotel to your Saves list
Beach Albatros Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
.Cambridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Never again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Out of a ten day holiday three days were spent in stressful negotiations over rooms being incorrectly booked despite booking and paying six months earlier! The management were not only unhelpful but utterly obstructive saying we had to contact agents in uk using our mobile phone. This we did at great expense and at the cost of time spent actually enjoying the holiday.
The hotel is clean and well kept but the staff are miserable and de motivated with a couple of exceptions. The food is mainly horrific with only a pretence at choice. You have to queue to get food ,all self service in a canteen . You then have to try to attract a waiter to get your thimble of wine or small glass of watery beer. Everything is presented to you as though they are doing you a favour....... They are not as the all inclusive price is too high for amount or quality of food and drink on offer!
We were the only English speaking guests at the hotel and the main clientele group is Russian . This makes you feel very marginalised and could be isolating and lonely as everything is conducted in Russian!
We left and spent a couple of days in Luxor in the boomerang hotel. It was fantastic and what a contrast. Friendly helpful staff and fantastic food freshly prepared at a fraction of the cost charged by the albatros hotel.
In short a vacation at the albatros beach hotel is Not a holiday I would repeat or recommend .

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar but noisy ones are in the main building so choose a garden room for peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    164
    48
    24
    22
See reviews for
157
137
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The best choice from a careful trawl of all inclusive holidays in the area regards price, BUT this is a hotel almost exclusively used by Russians and Germans. There are no English tours out of here and children's clubs are run in Russian. Smoking indoors seems the norm, and very loud 80's disco music and karaoke all evening. The restaurants promise a variety of fare but the food is poor with occasional flash of quality. Overall stodgy and thrown at you with a staff that seem demoralised and disinterested bar the odd one or two who were superb and utterly professional, ironically the lower eschelons, cleaners and some waiters ( Ibrahim poolside -superb).
Management however are brusque, obstructive and unhelpful, at times child like in their attitude to problems with scant regard for customer service.
The beach is busy and the diving and spa touts are persistent and tiring. Snorkelling is poor from the beach and day trips snorkelling are around 30 euros.
Forget day trips to Luxor, a ridiculous tourist trap with 10 hours travelling for a few hours sight seeing, around 80 euros. A better idea is to hire a car and stay over in Luxor, much better and a reasonable drive, but avoid driving after dark. petrol is very cheap.
Overall a hotel that suits those who like sun, drink, cigs and a bar sing song. A hotel thats short on sophistication, variable food, but with nice grounds, and clean rooms. This hotel caters almost exclusively to the Russian taste, vodka and whiskey on tap and fast food for the sun lounging masses. If you are British choose somewhere else is my advice especially if you have children who need catered for.

Room Tip: Avoid the sales pitch on arrival to upgrade you to a sea and pool view (20 euros a night), its a rip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Abdul, lemiya and yassine were great, polite and have good hosting skill! They are credit to beach albatros... food is average with a great variety, bartenders are there at all times to serve but the overall expierence was excellent...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had a really nice time at the beach albatros.The food in the main reataurant is a bit hit and miss, but all the other ones were really very good, even had a chicken tikka(our favourite with veg curry and rice)..the german resaurant was good for breakfast and the mexican was were we ate most, but a plenty of choice to suite everyone. The room was spotless and the views from sea view rooms was brill. The hotel was full of russian, german and dutch, BUT DON'T let this put you off as the staff treat the brits as royality and will ensure that you have the very best of service. Yes it was difficult to get a sun bed after 8am round the main pool, but it was the Russian school holidays, we always found a bed on the beach in the afternoon if we so wished. There are many pools around the aqua park area and believe it or not they were really peaceful so head for them unless you wish to join in the hotels activities.Make sure you are in the BEACH ALBATROS, the garden albatros is miles from the beach and has planes flying over all day. The 5 star albatros palace is the best in hurghada( so it claims) but no one was on their bit of beach around the corner as it was not the best, very shallow and rocky on the old feet. All activities were spoken in english first, all menu's were in english first, and the staff loved to practice their english with you, they think lovely jubbly is part of our normal language.. so said that CUSHTIE was the words for good time!!!!! big smiles all round.
If you go out of the hotel, go on trips or book a taxi from the hotel, as had a bit of trouble with one from the local shopping centre if they ask for money in a taxi upfront....get out and choose another!!!

Room Tip: The gardens rooms are situated in a more peaceful part of the hotel,and can be quite a walk to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

It was my 2nd vacation in Beach Albatros Hurghada. Food and service are still good, but this time the sea and the beach were overcrowded. If you want to get sunbeds ar the beach, be ready to get up at 6 a.m., because by 7 a.m. 90% of sunbeds are occupied (reserved with beach towels in fact). It looks like they cut Beach Albatros beach smaller and enlarged Albatros Palace beach instead . To my surprise, this time about 80% of guests were Russian families, so it felt like I didn't leave Russia at all.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I don't know if the negative remarks of other guests depended on the holiday period. We were at this hotel on 22-29 Sept.2012 & it's actually the high season because of the school holidays.
The rooms were cleaned everyday & the bed sheets & the towels were changed.
Everything was functioning in our room .The room, the terrace & the environment were clean. We live in Switzerland where the cleanliness standard is quite high. We all found this hotel clean!!
The personnel were friendly & helpful as well as the reception. There is a box with all the infos about the hotel on different languages at the reception, including plan or map of the resort , Meal schedule,opening hours of SPA , Entertainment etc. Just get a copy without even asking the personnel at the reception. It's self service. The guests should open their eyes & try to get informed by observing & reading everything on the special place reserved for all the infos before you enter the Restaurants area.
Guests should also have some patience because, they're not the only person which the personnel should attend to. There are over 700 rooms in this resort!
As for the food & beverages, there are 5 Restaurants that you can choose from aside from the fast food area by the pool offering all sorts of sandwiches, fresh baked pizzas ,Ke Babs etc which you can choose the ingridients yourself. This is an all inclusive arrangement resort so we all had access to all drinks,softdrinks,special coffees & alcoholic drinks as well as generous dose of cocktails!! As for the airplanes, I have heard only once, but it was not a bothering sound. Your neighbor by the beach may talk louder & children playing & enjoying may be louder but not the airplane. The sound actually depends on the wind direction.

For short,we have no negative comments about this hotel. We just had a great week and enjoyed it & we can recommend this resort to future guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my family and 2 other families ... It's great place nice aqua park for kids and for adults as well .. Nice swimming pools good beach .. Food is good and there is a nice variety .. Enjoy being here .... Defently I will come back . The only issue could be rooms are not fancy and old furnished ... That's all ..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Albatros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Albatros Hotel

Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#27 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Albatros Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 681
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Beach Albatros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Albatros Hurghada
Hotel Beach Albatros
Primasol Beach Albatros

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Albatros Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.