We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giftun Islands

Giftun Islands
Hurghada, Egypt
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$92*
and up
Mahmaya: Giftun Island Snorkeling Cruise
Ranked #8 of 17 Attractions in Hurghada
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Attraction details
Edmond, Oklahoma, Usa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a snorkeling cruise to this island. It was beautiful. My kids loved it, saw many fish in the coral area. Perfect day!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    186
    72
    30
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really great majestic sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

You have to visit giftun if you are in red sea
You will do snorkelling and diving and you gonna have a fantastic time with views underwater

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Desert!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stopped here as part of a snorkel trip. Which in itself was great. We stopped here for 1.5hrs at around 2pm. Not the best idea on the planet. You have to transfer from your boat to another boat (that can shore) to the public beach. The beach is clean but there is NO SHADE! Absolutely NON! When you moor up, you get to see the nicely shaded areas and beach bit, but you get escorted to the Public (free beach) which has no shaded areas. The public loos are the other side of the beach (so a wee treck) Snorkelling off this beach is nothing like the previous snorkelling areas and the beach is quite busy. Overall disappointed and burnt! Don't forget your umbrella and suncream.... you WILL need it

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Al Iskandariyah, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“it was nice ;D”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

it was really nice the beach there was really good we had 3 stops one on the main island the the others in the middle of the sea ... it was really good not alot of fish to see but it was good

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Paradise for the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

we went to Giftun Island as a day trip from our resort. we were not diasappointed. It was beautiful. The morning was spent snorkelling, with Lunch and the afternoon on the Island.

Buffet style lunch was tasty and well presented. A small bar to purchase icecream and aditional drinks was available at resonable prices.

One thing that would improve it? Some sunbeds rather than laying on mats on the ground which seemed exceptionaly hard.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giftun Islands also viewed

Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Giftun Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giftun Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.