We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smokers paradise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Royale Soma Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Royale Soma Bay to your Saves list
Palm Royale Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 179 Hotels in Hurghada
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“smokers paradise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Still here at the palm royal, been here for two weeks, one week left.
Over all this a good hotel for Egypt standards , if you have traveled to Dubai or Abu Dhabi and stayed in a five star hotel , you will probably be a little less over joyed at this hotel.

We flew with Thomas cook and will never ever fly with them again if the flight is more than 2 hours long.

I cannot believe the leg room they give you in a standard seat, it makes easy jet seats seem like business class, but it left on time and cabin crew were plea sent .

Most of soma bay is owned by 2 Egyptian brothers with a couple of Russian billionaire investors. Most hotels in soma bay will have a Russian occupancy of between 70 and 90 per cent most months of the year, so if you do not like Russians this is not the ideal hotel for you, how ever apart from most of them being a bit grumpy , reserving all the sun beds by 5.30 in the morning and drinking and smoking about 9.00 o clock in the morning they were OK

Most of the holiday reps are Russian, so are the holiday concierge near the front desk and all the shows and aerobic workouts are all spoken in Russian.

All of the staff were very hard working and are a credit to the hotel.
The food in all the themed restaurants were good to excellent.
Buffet breakfast was good.
Buffet dinner a bit hit or miss but OK apart from some gust dressing for dinner in there swimming costume and beach towels, just lowers the atmosphere when you spent 2 hours getting ready.

If you are a none smoker you will have no where to go in the evening for a drink or dinner, apart from the inside buffet where it is non smoking, every where else is smoking and a lot off it

You can smell the stale cigarette smoke before you even get to the bars or themed restaurants. If you have a drink in the main reception area your clothes would stink of cigarette smoke when you leave.

The main beach was just OK but very crowded but the sea was clear and shallow so good for kids if you managed to get a sun bed.

Although sea is clear there is no snorkeling off the beach , apart from the odd small fishes.
Brilliant if you like kite surfing or wind surfing.

The sun bed issue would improve a great deal if guest have coupons they could exchange for towels then return towels to get back your token for the next day but as this is not in place many people just leave there disused towels on sunbeds and people assume the bed are taken when they are not.In fact you are not allowed to reserve sun beds the management does not enforce this as they do not enforce dress code at restaurants.

Drinks were as follows, beer OK cocktails terrible, all wine were poor quality but as like any thing you just get used to it so we drank it. Prices for non inclusive drinks were off the scale so never bothered.

SUMMARY.

All in all we had a good time for the money we paid , i would probably only return if it was a cheap deal for a week but i would 100 per cent not fly with Thomas cook.

Room Tip: as the Russians are mostly given the basics rooms you usually have to upgrade to sea view at time of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    206
    66
    13
    9
See reviews for
450
569
49
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

it not cheap but this is best hotel where i was.
-very good service
-really "all" inclusive (paid services is present but... you don't need them :))
-very good surfing (kite/wind) station
-nice animation/beach
-very good restaurants

Room Tip: all rooms location/view is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I just wanted to say thank you to everybody at The Palm Royale Soma Bay Hurghada. We have just returned from 2weeks holiday and like the previous 3 times we had a superb time. Everybody is so friendly and helpful and Kannan arranged our stay for us this time. We met some really nice people and had a fun time. I can't recommend this hotel enough. Thank you all it was lovely to see you again. Pauline & Martin Nolan

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just got back from a weeks stay at palm royal and what a great week we had. Hotel was fantastic, great food especially with option of the themed restaurants -Italian was our fave but Asian was a close second.
Service throughout hotel was exceptional -special mention to medihat at the pool bar who gave us fantastic service from beginning to end of our week.
Overall hotel is perfect if you want to relax with great food and service and get away from it all.
Only one negative in the holiday was the experience at airport -we landed at 8.15pm and didn't check in until after midnight -airport was chaos.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just returned from a holiday with Thomas Cook to the Palm Royale Soma bay.. May 2015
It got off to a rocky start as when we arrived there was only 2 beds and we had booked a room for 3 and it was late at night, they brought another bed for us but the room was quite small.. So in the morning we went to have a chat with the manager Christopher Manolis such a lovey man who sorted us another room out with the 3 beds and a fabulous view ..
Well from that moment onwards the hotel, the staff were impeccable, so attentive and caring they couldn't do enough for you.. Really 5 star treatment.
The spa treatments and the water sports that were all included with the package was the cherry on the cake.
We had a scuba lesson and it was so good the day after we went out with teacher on a boat trip deep sea diving which was amazing such an awesome experience ..
Then we had a fishing trip which was fabulous and a horse ride on the beach.
We didn't do much with the animation team but there was certainly lots to do if you wanted.
The restaurants were all really good which you could try at no extra cost but you couldn't beat the buffet it was really well organised there wasn't any .
queuing and the service was brilliant,the food was excellent there was so much choice and it was cooked to a really high standard. Enough choice for any palate ..
So a very enjoyable experience I would certainly revisit ..
So book with confidence definitely well worth it and good value for money..
So thank you again to the manager Chris and to all the staff at the Palm Royale for making this holiday so enjoyable and hope to visit again soon.
Karen

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

i mean it! the hotel is not new, but if you are not too crazy about new things, your get away can be just right! Especially for families with kids. and babies. rooms are nice and big. we stayed in the main building over the main restaurant. a bit noisy - yes but the room worth it. Thank you, Osama, for a free upgrade - we appreciated it a lot!
food is nice and safe our 18 months old son ate everything and was perfect fit. we spent too much attention at oriental desserts, but they were tempting! A la Carte restaurants are just ok (Italian), nice (Lebanese), very very nice (Greek&Asian). the last two have live music.
We took spa seriously - massages are nice, thank you, Nour and Sara!
We never tried the pools, but the sea was there!!! Beach is sandy and smooth. Clean and well taken care of.
Aqua center guys are friendly and very client oriented. no sales under pressure. all light and good humored. Raslan, Ali Hi Hi and Ali - are doing great job!
People are really nice there. Russians, British, Italians, Germans, Ukranians - quite diverse crowd but none of those you would be reluctant to sit at the same table with. many with kids. it is not noisy though.
the only thing that surprised me was all hotel celebration of the owners' family younger member - i do not know the kid and honestly i was not ready to listen to Happy Birthday song for 500 times. but well - no escape from this. Family tradition...
Overall - a VERY good stay. Highly recomend!

Room Tip: we were quite happy in the main building, 2nd floor facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having traveled to egypt for 20 years i find this hotel very impressive but disappointing. I cannot believe a hotel this size about 2500 rooms has no outside terrace to sit in the evening except 10 tables outside the pub. The first week i could not find a seat in the lobby, round the pool or on the beach, 5/30 get up to get on the beach.This hotel can not accommodate the amount of people it can cram in, the staff looked overworked and it showed, second week was better when a lot went home.Not a lot of entertainment, a singer, belly dancer, piano player.On the plus side if you are into kite surfing you will be in heaven.Everything else was ok,,would i come here again no, believe me there are a lot better beaches and nice hotels further south.

Room Tip: Sea front room are not worth the extra, sea view rooms are a must.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Palm Royale Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Soma Bay

Address: Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Palm Royale Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the 1.2 km long private sand beach in Egypt is the SENTIDO Palm Royale. Here you can relax and enjoy the perfect holiday with your family and friends. The two bays offer a perfect atmosphere for privacy and enjoying the weather. The SENTIDO Palm Royale is just 45 km away from the airport of Hurghada and 50 km to the city center of Hurghada. Moreover, the city Safaga ist just 12 km away from the SENTIDO Palm Royale. You have got the possibility to use the free WIFI from the hotel. Furthermore, the SENTIDO Palm Royale offers a kids club, Babysitting, a playground for children, a gym and four tennis courts. The meals are served in form of a buffet with fresh cuisine in the SENTIDO Palm Royale. Furthermore, several A la Carte-Restaurants offer a huge variety of fresh meals. Many sport activities are offered during your holidays. You have the possibility to play beach volleyball, water ball, use the gym and many other water sports activities. Furthermore, the SENTIDO Palm Royale has got a spa area to relax and enjoy the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Palm Royale Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Soma Bay Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Abu Soma Hotel
Intercontinental Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Royale Soma Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.