We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay yet! - be back soon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Royale Soma Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Royale Soma Bay to your Saves list
Palm Royale Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
Sheffield
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Best stay yet! - be back soon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We've stayed at The Palm Royale a number of times now and our last visit was the best yet
Never having visited in December we were amazed at how impressive the Christmas decorations were & did not want to come home for fear of missing the festivities.

Both Tariq & Fatima in the Spa ensured great massages - something I can't wait to repeat in February when we plan to visit again.

A huge improvement in the Italian restaurant of which historically we weren't fans. The Asian is still exemplary (the only niggle was paying for incomplete charged dishes- though the second time this happened it was sorted out). The main buffet is great too.

If you can it's definitely worth upgrading for a sea view & use of the smaller balcony breakfast room - the breakfast available there is incredible!

The hotel as usual was immaculate & we were pleased to see the addition of toilets
beachside following feedback

We've tried other so called 5 star hotels in Hurghada and they just simply don't compare

We cannot wait to return !

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    169
    55
    11
    8
See reviews for
384
452
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is my second time in this hotel; first time was for a work retreat, this time to attend the PKRA (international kite surfing competition) with husband and daughter. Rooms are spacious and clean, service is great, but both times we weren't thrilled with the food at the regular restaurant. Hotel is massive, it's a typical resort. However, we were pleasantly surprised that the beach wasn't overcrowded. Has a kite surfing centre which is definitely a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a great holiday at this hotel the whole family sorry it was only one week but because of the fantastic service from the staff especially the bar staff in johnnies bar that made us very welcomed,Mina ran the bar like clockwork and your drinks was always waiting for you
Because of that we are planning a return holiday next year but much. Longer

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our second time at Palm Royale and it did not disappoint. We took my parents and in-laws so we were keen to impress and Palm Royale certainly did this.

The staff recognised us from last which was lovely and Mina and Hany at the bar were so friendly and welcoming. They were so kind and really are an asset to the lovely team at Palm Royale.

The food at all of the restaurants was delicious and again the staff really make you feel welcome and that nothing is too much trouble.

We will be returning next year as this place is just paradise!

Room Tip: We paid for the upgraded beach front room as it was worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Perfect for relaxing with water sports if you want them . This is an extremely well managed hotel where the guest experience is top priority for the staff who make this beautifully kept resort a real delight . We found the a lacarte restaurants a wonderful experience ,the Asian was a real treat as we were dining under the stars with the sound of the red sea lapping the nearby beach. Fabulous choice in all four restaurants and excellent service . The buffet had something for everyone but in common with the other two hotels we have stayed in it seems that garlic is not used in most dishes but a trip to the pasta station is the solution.
Johnny s bar great for pre dinner drinks and top football on the big screens .Thank you Mina and all staff there .
Beach service great , thanks Omar ,very clean and drinks from bar super thanks Charles . Super beach for swimming as after few metres it gets deep but safe enough for young children .
Regards tips always appreciated and do take 1 dollar bills as 1 pound coins cannot be so easily banked by staff . Or take sterling and change for Egyptian pounds at reception -currently 12 to 1 pound .Or just use cash machine in arcade area.
In short it is hard to imagine anyone being disappointed with service ,food ,rooms and facilities. Value for money superb. Guest profile seems to be one third British and nearly two thirds Russian and all very well behaved , many lovely families with polite kids !
Guest relations do great job .
Regards air con it's centrally controlled only fan speed can be adjusted.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views , in winter you may prefer south and west facing rooms to get sun on balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First Impressions always count, and our First Impression was WOW. The entrance Hall/Atrium is stunning, the decor, the statues, the Palm trees all give that definite Wow Factor, and the friendly,helpful staff on reception helped us settle in right away.
The amazing decor was carried on throughout the hotel, comfy three piece suites around every corner, and amazing paintings and mosaics adorning many a wall.
There is a little parade of shops in the hotel just to the left of the entrance door, and though pricey compared to local markets there was plenty of gifts to choose from, and upstairs in the shopping arcade a useful shop which sells biscuits and crisps at a reasonable price if you are not on All Inclusive.

The AI option that we had with Thomas Cook was excellent, as much water, soft drinks and local spirits and wine as we wanted, and we even went to Johnnys Bar most evenings and begged a glass of milk to take to our room for a lovely cuppa first thing in the morning.

Regarding the room. We had a king/queen size bed, which was fairly comfortable, again decor very smart, though I'm not sure that the Air Con was working properly as it did not seem to get as chilly as we would have liked..Water was supplied each day and we always asked for more whilst at the Buffet restaurant with this being no problem. The room was tidied each day by a lovely lad, who also made the best animals out of towels that we have ever seen...we walked into the room one day to find an amazing monkey made of towels hanging from our ceiling. Thank you we had such fun..
The bathroom toiletries were of excellent quality and re-stocked each day, and there is a lovely bath-robe for each guest for use during the holiday.

You are given a code for the Wi-fi and yippee it even works on the beach!!

Buffet meals..in the Stella restaurant...excellent, a good choice even for those who are vegetarian, but please hotel management do please look at your labelling of dishes...sadly Vegetable noodles had beef in !!! also Pea Salad had bits of ham or bacon in!!! but lots of lovely bread and cheeses to fill up on if needed.
Excellent range of starters, mains and desserts. The staff were always polite and quick to offer drinks or clear away empty plates..do please take the time to chat a little as they are all keen to learn new languages.
The 4 A la carte restaurants, we heard good reports about all of them but only tried the Asian..excellent.
The staff in Johnnys' Bar always friendly with smiling faces, and happy to chat and provide crisps to go with the drinks whilst we played billiards.

The beach was lovely, one end is really quiet and you are not pestered at all, and all sun loungers had windbreaks behind them. and parasols. The lads in the beach bar working with Charles all very friendly and helpful.
The snorkelling on the beach here is just about do-able, sadly no coral and very few fish, just enough to keep this 56 year old in the water...but the last morning we saw a huge wall of fish at the end of the old bit of jetty, so that made up for the rest of the week.. the water was COLD

Hotel grounds..very well kept, congratulations to all the gardeners and ground staff they are doing a Fabulous job, and if you are into your plants there are some interesting ones to find...I still have some idents to do!!
Do bother to walk along the drive to the main gate, as you will pass the pitch and putt, the tennis courts, and the stables and you get a good view of the sunsets.

The main swimming pool is lovely to look at but at our time of visiting.....Freezing. The little pool by the Spa area was warmer and nice and quiet.

Nowhere really local to go in the way of shops, villages but you can go out and about on the hotel shuttle...for a price.
A trip to Mahmya was a change of scenery, but a lot of travel for not brilliant snorkelling, a lovely beach with the odd bit of coral and some interesting fish but do not expect the variety that can be found elsewhere. The buffet restaurant meal was filling enough, not a huge choice but adequate, do take your own water as it is fairly expensive on the island.

I would go back again, if there were not other places on my wish list, enjoy...

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Palm Royale for 10 days 25.11.14 - 05.12.14.
First impressions of the hotel were excellent, the lobby is very grand and the decor is superb. Bellboys were on hand to take the cases off the coach, Check in was quick and the staff very polite and helpful.
We were provided with a welcome drink and then taken to our room by the Bellboy, our room was located in the cleopatra building, close to the beach and pool and main lobby.
The room was immaculate, we had 2 beds in the room, they were not quite double beds but very nice all the same, the beds are actually very firm but do have mattress toppers on them. Rooms also have Mini bar, which you are entitled to use, soft drinks and water are free, anything else is extra.
Bathroom is a very good size and has a great shower.
My partner had a problem with the hairdryer one day and after a phonecall it was repaired within 30 minutes. Superb service.
Hotel grounds were very well presented and kept spotless by all the groundsmen, the beach was also great and the towel boys very polite and friendly, they would also come and lay the towels down for you each morning,.
The beach itself was great, 8 hours of sunshine each day, beautiful sea, although quite cold this time of the year.
There is a kiosk on the beach that sell all the snorkel trips etc, these guys come up and down the beach each day selling the trips, although we didnt buy any through these guys , there was a really nice guy called Yousef who came and chatted with us everyday, and absolute gentleman.
The animation team can also be found at the beach every day and work really hard providing things to do , volleyball, french bowls, jump rope, boxercise, body combat. These guys are really friendly , one of the guys Thomas was great, we had many chats with him through our 10 day stay, a really nice bloke.

There is a bar on the beach where you can get the all inclusive drinks, the barman here is Charles who is from South Africa, what a legend.

Johnnys bar which is in the main lobby opens at 5pm, you can watch all the sport here, Amir who is one of the waiters/ barmen here was excellent, he was always on hand to bring our drinks over and even made my partners Vodka and lemonade just the way she likes it, top man.

The buffet restaurant is one of the best I have eaten at on my many all inclusive holidays, such a great selection of foods throughout the day, all freshly cooked and hot, safe to say we didnt have a bad meal the whole time we were here, also again the staff are such hard workers and deserve credit for all their hard work.

There are 4 al a carte restaurants at the hotel which you can use as many times as you like by booking with guest relations. We tried the greek and Lebanese twice as it was so good, there is also an italian and an Asian.

We were invited to VIP cocktail evening before we left and got to meet the managers and other staff who were very grateful of our feedback on their wonderful hotel.

We certainly would not hesitate in returning to the Palm Royale, definitely a 5 star experience.

i could go on and on about the other positives about this hotel but I will end it there, If anyone has any questions prior to travelling here then please do ask.

One final note, there is a Pharmacy here at the hotel which is always good to know, and the prices are reasonable unlike when I got caught out in mexico last year.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Royale Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Soma Bay

Address: Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#2 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Palm Royale Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 445
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palm Royale Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Soma Bay Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Abu Soma Hotel
Intercontinental Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Royale Soma Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.