We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel - worth every penny” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Royale Soma Bay

Save Saved
You added Palm Royale Soma Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Palm Royale Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 176 hotels in Hurghada
Pune
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel - worth every penny”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Right from the minute I drove up to the entrance, I was impressed, to say the least. The hotel looks spanking new and is very well maintained. The design and interiors are admirable. The reception lobby is striking with a piano bar located on a central fish pond. The pond is clear and the fish is captivating. I noticed that the staff was exceptionally friendly and courteous. The glass capsule elevator takes you up, offering a splendid view of the lobby and it's high, colourfully sculpted and decorated arched ceiling. The rooms are clean and well maintained. Every room looks out from it's balcony over the swimming pool which again is very clean. The crowd consists mainly of tourists, and through the day maost of them are seen sun-bathing around the pool. There are 4 fabulous restaurants that offer a variety of meals, although they may be open in turns during off-peak seasons. They offer different cuisines; Greek, Italian, Middle Eastern and Oriental. The hotel staff will help arrange transport and tours if requested, at a fairly reasonable cost. During the evenings, a troupe of European performers will help to liven your stay with stage performances, music and dance. The bar is cozy and well stocked, and rather reasonably priced. There is a so-called disco or club which no-one cares to go to because the hotel does not seem to want to get the music and lights going until it gets sufficiently crowded; this does not seem to go down well with the guests. However, the remaining facilities make up adequately. A really comfortable and enjoyable stay with a beautiful view of the sea beyond the pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    678
    112
    36
    8
    7
See reviews for
275
345
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just spent an amazing 2 weeks at this beautiful hotel.Great pool,lovely beach & quality food...the best thing for me though were the staff,from the waiters to the hotel management-friendly, courteous and very efficient ... highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had another fantastic stay at the palm royal, having stayed there last year we decided to return again this year and were not disappointed. In fact I would say that the hotel had improved since last year and this just shows how management take on board comments and recommendations.

The hotel was quiet due to the Russian government advising against travel but we were impressed that most facilities were still available to us during this time.

As per previous reviews the buffet food was plentiful and varied and we also had a choice of a la carte dining too, our favourite being the Asian restaurant. Thank you to Ashok in the buffet restaurant who went out of his way looking after everyone, he was very popular amongst the guests, always welcoming with a huge smile.

The public areas and grounds of the hotel are immaculate and are constantly worked on. We spent most of our days at the beach where there was a welcome breeze. The animation team work very hard all day trying to keep everyone entertained and for those who enjoy the activities there is plenty to get involved in.

Our room had all the facilities you'd expect however I would say that the furnishings are beginning to look a little bit tired which I'm sure will be addressed shortly.

We had a few treatments at the spa which were lovely and we also used the gym, sauna and jacuzzi. The gym is well equipped and was never too busy.

I also had a manicure and pedicure in the beauty salon attached to the hotel, I would recommend this to anyone, you will see Ream around the hotel grounds promoting the beauty salon's services, have a chat with her and don't forget to barter on the prices!!

Overall, we had a fantastic relaxing break and we met some lovely people (Carol, Bernard/Lorraine amongst others).

If you are in any doubt about booking palm royal please don't be, just do it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at the Royal Palm in September 2013 with my Fiance. We have previously visited Egypt and stayed in a good standard hotel then, however we were blown away with the Royal Palm.

On arrival check in was efficient, and the staff were welcoming and helpful. This is true of all staff during our stay, we found everyone to be very friendly, and happy to help with any requests you may have.

The hotel is rather grand, particularly the reception area. The whole complex is very well maintained, and extremely clean. The hotel facilities are excellent. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality and variety of the food available. There is a main buffet restaurant as you would expect in an AI, however there are also four A La Carte restaurants which serve excellent food from a substantial menu as part of the AI package. Our favourite was the Lebanese!
There are a lot of little extras which really make this hotel, such as all inclusive soft drinks from the mini bar, unlimited visits to the A La Carte restaurants and complimentary late check out.

I would certainly recommend a visit to the Royal Palm if you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I went to PALM on the 2nd of september with Family & friends. It was really an amazing, stunning & Luxurious Hotel.

The staff was very friendly & Mr. Walid the reservation manager was very friendly, professional, smiling and helpful till he reserved us the best rooms and all other staff was very professional.

The food was amazing and the beach is one of the top in Hurghada. we rented banana and my friends went kite surfing in this top spot ever.

The fitness center was another amazing area in the hotel. It has a wonderful swimming pool, gym, sauna, spa. All for free

Mohamed El Bialy

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing whether ground or upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

on arrival after long transfer we were greeted with smiling faces a cool drink and cool flannel, very welcome, the hotel is very opulent and grand beautiful, the staff as per usual are very friendly and go that extra mile to make your stay perfect, our room 1240 was fab great view over pool and cleaned brilliantly every day, we had a problem with the bed for our teenage son being very small, we raised our concerns with thomas cook rep and reception who very quickly rectified this for us to the pleasure of our son, thankyou all again, we ate out at the different restaurants wow what an experience loved every single one of them, special mention to the philopenean lady in asian and greek sorry not sure of your name, was fabulous as was all of the staff brilliant !!! pools beach lovley all guys around pool great especially george and sheriff michael to many to mention, hotel wouldn,t be same without you wonderful staff, hope to see you all again soon,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at the Palm royale, Having been to Egypt on three other occasions the hotel is what we would expect, it is clean and well presented with some very good architectural features and very well presented grounds, the four themed restaurants are a must visit as the food in the stella cafe is ok and you could always find something to eat but the food was always just about warm, The hotel was less than half full for the two week we were there so the service was very good as there was no waiting at any of the bars or restaurants and as it was less than half full we were allowed to use the themed restaurants as many times as we liked although they did only have two of them open on any one day, the rooms are very nice but the beds the most uncomfortable I've ever slept in, we were advised to have a mattress topper on the bed but this didn't help as we had a mattress topper and quilt on the bed and it still didn't make a difference, the staff at the hotel were very attentive and friendly, I would not advise anyone to avoid this hotel as I would say it is well worth a visit if you want a quiet restful holiday.

Room Tip: We paid for a sea view room 1415 and was put on the top floor at the end of the main building, unfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palm Royale Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Soma Bay

Also Known As:
Palm Royale Soma Bay Hotel
Palm Royale Soma Bay Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Abu Soma Hotel
Intercontinental Hurghada
Intercontinental Abu Soma
Address: Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palm Royale Soma Bay 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Palm Royale Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Royale Soma Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.