We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel, fantastic staff - we had a great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Palm Royale Soma Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SENTIDO Palm Royale Soma Bay to your Saves list
SENTIDO Palm Royale Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 175 Hotels in Hurghada
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel, fantastic staff - we had a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Returned on Tuesday from a week's holiday at the Palm Royale in Soma Bay, booked with Thomas Cook. I was on holiday with my dad for a week of sun and relaxation and the Palm Royale was perfect. The hotel's private beach is idyllic and the beach bar serving all-inclusive drinks all day was especially nice.

All the staff were excellent, but Adel in Johnny's Bar in particular is absolutely fantastic, everything in the bar runs smoothly when he's around, he is very friendly and attentive and made my dad and I feel so welcome. He really does have a great rapport with the customers and is very good at his job. Thank you Adel!

Personally I found the red and white wine and the beer included in the price of the holiday were all fine. The red wine is very easy-drinking and I got through far too much of it in a week! We did go off the all-included drinks occasionally if we wanted a nightcap as international brands aren't included, but the wine is fine and so is the vodka and rum.

The food in general was great, the range of food in the buffet bar for breakfast and lunch is really impressive. My favourite thing at breakfast was the omelette station where you can get fantastic omelettes made to order. As for the hotel's other restaurants we loved the Asian restaurant and the Lebanese restaurant. The bread in the Lebanese restaurant is the best bread I have tasted in my life! Also the staff are really wonderful in there. I recommend the duck in the Asian restaurant and the sushi if you go off the all-inclusive menu. In the Lebanese, the Arabic sausage and the Shawarma beef are excellent. The Azur Bar also does decent lunchtime snacks. As you can see from my enthusiasm I ate far too much!

All over the hotel the staff were great, the beach staff bringing towels and sorting out sunbeds etc were very efficient, in particular a member of staff called Badwy.

Overall I absolutely loved the holiday and can't give it less than 5 stars!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    219
    68
    14
    8
See reviews for
491
634
50
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic 2 weeks at th Palm Royale Soma Bay
A party of 4 we were amazed walking into the palatial and opulant atrium, after a no problem checck in by the very polite and attentive reception staff, our luggage was taken to our room, whil'st we enjoyed a meal,a huge selection of fine food, in the Stella restaurant.
The room which myself and wife had (1008) was large 2 double beds, mattress toppers which we had requested by email 2 weeks before made it 2 weeks of comfortable sleep, a ground floor room we had also requested, was duly given, bathroom, clean, large, bath with shower over bath
The Stella restaurant opened every dayforbreakfast at 6 30 am for early risers, I was told,
breakfast was a selection of hot and cold dishes, great porridge, fresh sqeezed orange juice, coffee out of a machine, great tasting for Egypt,
Owing to the swimming pool being closed for major maintenance, the beach was our alternative which was no problem plenty of beds and fresh towels everyday, loverly clean beach, sea very cold, an alternative pool at the health spa was made available but this was small but heated, like a creche everyday, mostly used by the hotels Russian clientele with an array of blow up crocodiles, dolphins, turtles etc, my wife used the pool at 8 00am for a swim, no problem at that time.
The Azure restaurant by the empty pool was a good alternative at lunch time for a light snack, served by the all attentive Mina & Mena great laugh trying to teach us Arabic
The al a carte restaurants, Asian, Greek, Lebanese & Italian served food of the highest class, well presented by good attentive waiters, the chefs in all of these establishment always took time for a chat after the meal
Jhonnys bar had a large screen tv showing mostly live and repeated premier league footy. the atrium had a pianist most nights giving this a real touch of class to thi truly magnifiecent hotel, the staff are the most freindly you would ever meet anywhere, Ahmed & Tarek in th Stella restaurant, brilliant guys, also a big mention to a big man Sharief the restaurant's manager, always had a chat and tried to put the world to right between us a huge asset I believe to the Palm Royale.
It was a pleasure to have stayed at this wonderful hotel and I would certainly recommend it to anyone visitng Egypt in the future, would I go again? right I would already booked for next year

Room Tip: 1006 to 1010 overlooking pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the perfect hotel to go to for a week or two if you want to chill out. The resort has everything you will need. Two pools and a nice, clean sandy beach. The hotel is situated in a moonscape of desert sand by a beautiful bay. The sea is warm, clean and there are beach chairs and sun shades.

The hotel staff usually smile and will do anything to help you and the food is fantastic There are restaurants in the complex to choose from and my favourite one was the Italian. If you are on an all inclusive, there is a good free local wine and local beer that are excellent but you can also buy any drink you want. We went there in February from Moscow. I don't recommend going in July or August as it will be far too hot.

I cannot find too many negative things to say about the hotel other than the health club area needs updating and the gym and sauna need to be replaced but everything works. The rooms are clean and bright but the beds are a bit hard. The hotel guests are mostly from Russia (70%) and the rest come from the UK and other countries. It is really great for families and couples looking to relax. The breakfasts are great and I recommend going on a diet before you go as the food is so good with a huge choice!

There is not much outside the hotel resort but if you need a break, I recommend going to this hotel on an all inclusive. You can relax on the beach, swim, eat, drink and have a great experience. It's hard these days to find hotels where the staff are polite and helpful. You may find a hotel were the food is great but the staff are rude and unhelpful or the food is bad but staff are helpful. At the Palm Royal Soma Bay, the staff are fantastic and the food is fantastic, they are an example to other hotels. I will certainly go back. The resort is only a 4 to 5 hour flight from Russia or from the UK, then a short bus ride from the airport.

Thanks Palm Royal, I enjoyed my stay very much. I am now on a diet!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned after two week holiday which we arranged direct with hotel.I found the reservation very easy and very professionally handled by Mr Walid Ahmed.The hotel and its staff provided us with a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday.The swimming pool was being refilled as we left and looks perfect.We had booked a Club room which was worth the extra charge if only to have your breakfast served in the La Terrace by the attentive manager Nishanta..It seemed that Thomas Cook instruct their guests not to book any trips from hotel or beach staff.We did book direct with beach staff and Dive shop and we found the trips to be excellent.To sum up we had fantastic service from all the staff,from the beach attendant to the the hotel management. B and K

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel is situated on the beach, with 3 other hotels in Soma Bay, but you won't be able to visit them because of the security guards. The guards even stop you walking along the beach into the other hotels domains.
That said, you don't need to leave the hotel unless you get bored easily.
The beach is pleasant, with a gentle slope and no stones or pebbles, but there are no interesting coral features within easy swimming range, unlike many other Red Sea hotels.
Maybe it was the time of my stay, late January/early February, but there was no waiter service on the beach, which I would have expected from a 5 star hotel. Another thing lacking on the beach were any toilets, you had to go to the main hotel building, or your room if nature called.
All the staff were very friendly, but special mention must be given to Sameh Nassry in the Cafe Stella main restaurant. After the first couple of days, when he realised we were creatures of habit and arrived for our meals at the same time each evening, he had our table already set, with the wine and water already poured.
The food in the main restaurant was excellent, probably the best I've had in any hotel, it was so good that we only visited one of the other restaurants in the resort, the Asian, which was also very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Best ever Holiday in Egypt, only downside was when main pool sparndg a leak!
Otherwise everything 100% and the rest,
I am in Hotel management myself so usually hard to please.
I had to contact the hotel for a room with shower due to a disability.
Thomas Cook totally unhelpful could not possibly arrange so I contacted hotel myself, made
my booking with Thomas Cook and the hotel sorted for me.
Thankyou again for this.
Thomas Cook you need to be more helpfull in future, you are not disabled friendly but hotel was.
Service was 110% from the restaurant managers right down to the beach Towel Boys.
Rooms were wonderfull lovely balcnys and beds.
This is what I think off as a typical grand hotel right down to the pianoplayer who palyed in the Atrium at night
Keep up the standards, best Hotel I have stayed in in Egypt.
Hope to see you all again soon,let us hope Thoams cook will be more helpfull. at booking stage
I must mention Mustafa the thomas Cook rep, who was best Rep ever,nothing too much trouble.
thanks agin

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just back from the most lovely holiday at this hotel. Huge opulent foyer gives a great first impression, that doesnt disappoint. Our room was a good size, with 2 double beds and was kept clean and tidy every day. The staff at this hotel are really lovely, very attentive and went out of their way to make sure you are ok.
Food was great, it is really worth your while eating in the Lebanese and Asian restaurants, which are included in the all inclusive. We used the spa and had a massage on four of the days, which was a real treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
22.6 mi away
Mercure Hurghada
Mercure Hurghada
#9 of 175 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 2,266 reviews
146.0 mi away
Premier Le Reve Hotel & Spa
25.7 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Jungle Aqua Park Hotel
Jungle Aqua Park Hotel
#13 of 175 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 1,888 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 175 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 stars 904 reviews
19.8 mi away
Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Palm Royale Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Palm Royale Soma Bay

Address: Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Palm Royale Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the 1.2 km long private sand beach in Egypt is the SENTIDO Palm Royale. Here you can relax and enjoy the perfect holiday with your family and friends. The two bays offer a perfect atmosphere for privacy and enjoying the weather. The SENTIDO Palm Royale is just 45 km away from the airport of Hurghada and 50 km to the city center of Hurghada. Moreover, the city Safaga ist just 12 km away from the SENTIDO Palm Royale. You have got the possibility to use the free WIFI from the hotel. Furthermore, the SENTIDO Palm Royale offers a kids club, Babysitting, a playground for children, a gym and four tennis courts. The meals are served in form of a buffet with fresh cuisine in the SENTIDO Palm Royale. Furthermore, several A la Carte-Restaurants offer a huge variety of fresh meals. Many sport activities are offered during your holidays. You have the possibility to play beach volleyball, water ball, use the gym and many other water sports activities. Furthermore, the SENTIDO Palm Royale has got a spa area to relax and enjoy the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your SENTIDO Palm Royale Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Soma Bay Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Abu Soma Hotel
Intercontinental Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Palm Royale Soma Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.