We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to chill, eat, drink and re-charge your batteries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Royale Soma Bay

Save Saved
You added Palm Royale Soma Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Royale Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 181 hotels in Hurghada
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A great place to chill, eat, drink and re-charge your batteries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the perfect hotel to go to for a week or two if you want to chill out. The resort has everything you will need. Two pools and a nice, clean sandy beach. The hotel is situated in a moonscape of desert sand by a beautiful bay. The sea is warm, clean and there are beach chairs and sun shades.

The hotel staff usually smile and will do anything to help you and the food is fantastic There are restaurants in the complex to choose from and my favourite one was the Italian. If you are on an all inclusive, there is a good free local wine and local beer that are excellent but you can also buy any drink you want. We went there in February from Moscow. I don't recommend going in July or August as it will be far too hot.

I cannot find too many negative things to say about the hotel other than the health club area needs updating and the gym and sauna need to be replaced but everything works. The rooms are clean and bright but the beds are a bit hard. The hotel guests are mostly from Russia (70%) and the rest come from the UK and other countries. It is really great for families and couples looking to relax. The breakfasts are great and I recommend going on a diet before you go as the food is so good with a huge choice!

There is not much outside the hotel resort but if you need a break, I recommend going to this hotel on an all inclusive. You can relax on the beach, swim, eat, drink and have a great experience. It's hard these days to find hotels where the staff are polite and helpful. You may find a hotel were the food is great but the staff are rude and unhelpful or the food is bad but staff are helpful. At the Palm Royal Soma Bay, the staff are fantastic and the food is fantastic, they are an example to other hotels. I will certainly go back. The resort is only a 4 to 5 hour flight from Russia or from the UK, then a short bus ride from the airport.

Thanks Palm Royal, I enjoyed my stay very much. I am now on a diet!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    749
    130
    45
    8
    8
See reviews for
309
383
35
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned after two week holiday which we arranged direct with hotel.I found the reservation very easy and very professionally handled by Mr Walid Ahmed.The hotel and its staff provided us with a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday.The swimming pool was being refilled as we left and looks perfect.We had booked a Club room which was worth the extra charge if only to have your breakfast served in the La Terrace by the attentive manager Nishanta..It seemed that Thomas Cook instruct their guests not to book any trips from hotel or beach staff.We did book direct with beach staff and Dive shop and we found the trips to be excellent.To sum up we had fantastic service from all the staff,from the beach attendant to the the hotel management. B and K

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel is situated on the beach, with 3 other hotels in Soma Bay, but you won't be able to visit them because of the security guards. The guards even stop you walking along the beach into the other hotels domains.
That said, you don't need to leave the hotel unless you get bored easily.
The beach is pleasant, with a gentle slope and no stones or pebbles, but there are no interesting coral features within easy swimming range, unlike many other Red Sea hotels.
Maybe it was the time of my stay, late January/early February, but there was no waiter service on the beach, which I would have expected from a 5 star hotel. Another thing lacking on the beach were any toilets, you had to go to the main hotel building, or your room if nature called.
All the staff were very friendly, but special mention must be given to Sameh Nassry in the Cafe Stella main restaurant. After the first couple of days, when he realised we were creatures of habit and arrived for our meals at the same time each evening, he had our table already set, with the wine and water already poured.
The food in the main restaurant was excellent, probably the best I've had in any hotel, it was so good that we only visited one of the other restaurants in the resort, the Asian, which was also very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Best ever Holiday in Egypt, only downside was when main pool sparndg a leak!
Otherwise everything 100% and the rest,
I am in Hotel management myself so usually hard to please.
I had to contact the hotel for a room with shower due to a disability.
Thomas Cook totally unhelpful could not possibly arrange so I contacted hotel myself, made
my booking with Thomas Cook and the hotel sorted for me.
Thankyou again for this.
Thomas Cook you need to be more helpfull in future, you are not disabled friendly but hotel was.
Service was 110% from the restaurant managers right down to the beach Towel Boys.
Rooms were wonderfull lovely balcnys and beds.
This is what I think off as a typical grand hotel right down to the pianoplayer who palyed in the Atrium at night
Keep up the standards, best Hotel I have stayed in in Egypt.
Hope to see you all again soon,let us hope Thoams cook will be more helpfull. at booking stage
I must mention Mustafa the thomas Cook rep, who was best Rep ever,nothing too much trouble.
thanks agin

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just back from the most lovely holiday at this hotel. Huge opulent foyer gives a great first impression, that doesnt disappoint. Our room was a good size, with 2 double beds and was kept clean and tidy every day. The staff at this hotel are really lovely, very attentive and went out of their way to make sure you are ok.
Food was great, it is really worth your while eating in the Lebanese and Asian restaurants, which are included in the all inclusive. We used the spa and had a massage on four of the days, which was a real treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbury Episcopi Somerset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Never been on all inclusive before but was so impressed with this place. The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful, had great fun with them. Magnificent foyer with beautiful stained glass ceiling, quite palacial. Our rooms were amazing, sea view, short stroll to a clean beautiful beach, pool out of use but we didn't miss it. Didn't look like it would be long before it would be up and running again. As we booked through Thomas Cook we took advantage of the free taster sessions of wind surfing, sailing etc. Treated really well. Would recommend the Nemo snorkelling trip which we booked on the beach not through Thomas Cook. Had an excellent day and our boat was not as crowded as some. The animation team were great fun and did 'aqua aerobica' every morning in the sea, good work out!.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms a bit more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keelby, Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Spent 10 nights at this great hotel. We loved it and would definitely return. As mentioned by others it really has the wow factor when you arrive. All areas of the hotel are stunning and ALL the staff are friendly and a credit to the hotel. Room was a good size but on a side that didn’t get any sun. I’d also get a top floor room next time as we could hear those above us walking about! Some guests are noisy and let doors bang and we did get disturbed on occasion but this isn’t the hotel’s fault!
We found the food to be very good. Ate in all 4 speciality restaurants and as frequent visitors to Greek islands we thought the Greek restaurant was the best Greek food we’d ever eaten! It was quite surreal to be sat in a Greek themed restaurant, listening to Greek music when on holiday in Egypt! The hotel is so large we felt like we were eating out somewhere different each night. The Italian was also excellent, we liked all 4! The only negative was the system of booking a table. Not all were open every night when we were there. Need clarification about the 24 hour rule – exactly what time can you book a table as I’d go to Guest Relations at 8.15am the day before to find the only slots left were eating after 9pm. Stella buffet restaurant was good for breakfast, no problems getting a table, and lunch at Azur Bar was always great.
No problems with AI, food/drinks that are extra are clearly marked on the menus and if you tell bar staff you want AI drinks that’s what you get! Didn’t understand why we had to sign for meals/drinks though when the bill was zero! Nice not to have to wear a wristband though!
The inclusive spa/activities were excellent and we weren’t pressurised into buying extras.
We weren’t aware of the pool closure prior to arrival and when we left on 1st March it was still closed. Heard different stories about reason for closure – they have built new steps into pool and seemed to be re tiling areas. Wasn’t a problem for us as we like the beach which is lovely and has plenty of sunbeds. Suspect pool would have been too cold to swim in anyway! Small heated pool in the spa area if you can’t brave the sea!
My husband used the on site dive center – excellent facilities – he will review them on their page.
Thomas Cook rep, Moustafa was excellent, friendly and always smiling (despite the usual moaning guests)! The animation team were all friendly, Natalia and Jonny always stopped for a chat and Alberto’s aqua aerobics was fun! Lovely people!
Loved this hotel so much I’m already looking to book again!

Room Tip: ask for a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palm Royale Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Soma Bay

Address: Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palm Royale Soma Bay 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Palm Royale Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Soma Bay Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Abu Soma Hotel
Intercontinental Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Royale Soma Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.