We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Holiday to Red Sea Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Royale Soma Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Palm Royale Soma Bay to your Saves list
Palm Royale Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 180 Hotels in Hurghada
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First Holiday to Red Sea Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned after two week holiday which we arranged direct with hotel.I found the reservation very easy and very professionally handled by Mr Walid Ahmed.The hotel and its staff provided us with a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday.The swimming pool was being refilled as we left and looks perfect.We had booked a Club room which was worth the extra charge if only to have your breakfast served in the La Terrace by the attentive manager Nishanta..It seemed that Thomas Cook instruct their guests not to book any trips from hotel or beach staff.We did book direct with beach staff and Dive shop and we found the trips to be excellent.To sum up we had fantastic service from all the staff,from the beach attendant to the the hotel management. B and K

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    155
    50
    11
    8
See reviews for
364
424
38
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel is situated on the beach, with 3 other hotels in Soma Bay, but you won't be able to visit them because of the security guards. The guards even stop you walking along the beach into the other hotels domains.
That said, you don't need to leave the hotel unless you get bored easily.
The beach is pleasant, with a gentle slope and no stones or pebbles, but there are no interesting coral features within easy swimming range, unlike many other Red Sea hotels.
Maybe it was the time of my stay, late January/early February, but there was no waiter service on the beach, which I would have expected from a 5 star hotel. Another thing lacking on the beach were any toilets, you had to go to the main hotel building, or your room if nature called.
All the staff were very friendly, but special mention must be given to Sameh Nassry in the Cafe Stella main restaurant. After the first couple of days, when he realised we were creatures of habit and arrived for our meals at the same time each evening, he had our table already set, with the wine and water already poured.
The food in the main restaurant was excellent, probably the best I've had in any hotel, it was so good that we only visited one of the other restaurants in the resort, the Asian, which was also very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Best ever Holiday in Egypt, only downside was when main pool sparndg a leak!
Otherwise everything 100% and the rest,
I am in Hotel management myself so usually hard to please.
I had to contact the hotel for a room with shower due to a disability.
Thomas Cook totally unhelpful could not possibly arrange so I contacted hotel myself, made
my booking with Thomas Cook and the hotel sorted for me.
Thankyou again for this.
Thomas Cook you need to be more helpfull in future, you are not disabled friendly but hotel was.
Service was 110% from the restaurant managers right down to the beach Towel Boys.
Rooms were wonderfull lovely balcnys and beds.
This is what I think off as a typical grand hotel right down to the pianoplayer who palyed in the Atrium at night
Keep up the standards, best Hotel I have stayed in in Egypt.
Hope to see you all again soon,let us hope Thoams cook will be more helpfull. at booking stage
I must mention Mustafa the thomas Cook rep, who was best Rep ever,nothing too much trouble.
thanks agin

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just back from the most lovely holiday at this hotel. Huge opulent foyer gives a great first impression, that doesnt disappoint. Our room was a good size, with 2 double beds and was kept clean and tidy every day. The staff at this hotel are really lovely, very attentive and went out of their way to make sure you are ok.
Food was great, it is really worth your while eating in the Lebanese and Asian restaurants, which are included in the all inclusive. We used the spa and had a massage on four of the days, which was a real treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbury Episcopi Somerset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Never been on all inclusive before but was so impressed with this place. The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful, had great fun with them. Magnificent foyer with beautiful stained glass ceiling, quite palacial. Our rooms were amazing, sea view, short stroll to a clean beautiful beach, pool out of use but we didn't miss it. Didn't look like it would be long before it would be up and running again. As we booked through Thomas Cook we took advantage of the free taster sessions of wind surfing, sailing etc. Treated really well. Would recommend the Nemo snorkelling trip which we booked on the beach not through Thomas Cook. Had an excellent day and our boat was not as crowded as some. The animation team were great fun and did 'aqua aerobica' every morning in the sea, good work out!.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms a bit more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keelby, Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Spent 10 nights at this great hotel. We loved it and would definitely return. As mentioned by others it really has the wow factor when you arrive. All areas of the hotel are stunning and ALL the staff are friendly and a credit to the hotel. Room was a good size but on a side that didn’t get any sun. I’d also get a top floor room next time as we could hear those above us walking about! Some guests are noisy and let doors bang and we did get disturbed on occasion but this isn’t the hotel’s fault!
We found the food to be very good. Ate in all 4 speciality restaurants and as frequent visitors to Greek islands we thought the Greek restaurant was the best Greek food we’d ever eaten! It was quite surreal to be sat in a Greek themed restaurant, listening to Greek music when on holiday in Egypt! The hotel is so large we felt like we were eating out somewhere different each night. The Italian was also excellent, we liked all 4! The only negative was the system of booking a table. Not all were open every night when we were there. Need clarification about the 24 hour rule – exactly what time can you book a table as I’d go to Guest Relations at 8.15am the day before to find the only slots left were eating after 9pm. Stella buffet restaurant was good for breakfast, no problems getting a table, and lunch at Azur Bar was always great.
No problems with AI, food/drinks that are extra are clearly marked on the menus and if you tell bar staff you want AI drinks that’s what you get! Didn’t understand why we had to sign for meals/drinks though when the bill was zero! Nice not to have to wear a wristband though!
The inclusive spa/activities were excellent and we weren’t pressurised into buying extras.
We weren’t aware of the pool closure prior to arrival and when we left on 1st March it was still closed. Heard different stories about reason for closure – they have built new steps into pool and seemed to be re tiling areas. Wasn’t a problem for us as we like the beach which is lovely and has plenty of sunbeds. Suspect pool would have been too cold to swim in anyway! Small heated pool in the spa area if you can’t brave the sea!
My husband used the on site dive center – excellent facilities – he will review them on their page.
Thomas Cook rep, Moustafa was excellent, friendly and always smiling (despite the usual moaning guests)! The animation team were all friendly, Natalia and Jonny always stopped for a chat and Alberto’s aqua aerobics was fun! Lovely people!
Loved this hotel so much I’m already looking to book again!

Room Tip: ask for a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was my 2nd time at Palm royale .. So good I'm contemplating it for Easter!
Beautiful hotel, fantastic staff and lovely weather
The food is brilliant- good choice and the al a cartes give a fair selection without having to pay extra (tho some of the extras looked good!)
Don't forget Thomas cook guests get free massages and so on.. We only found this out towards the end of the week
Great TC rep (Mustafa) .. Far better than the guy they had last year.
Definitely worth the extra - quiet relaxing .. I miss it!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Royale Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Soma Bay

Address: Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#2 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#2 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palm Royale Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 445
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palm Royale Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Soma Bay Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Abu Soma Hotel
Intercontinental Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Royale Soma Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.