We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cure for stress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Royale Soma Bay

Save Saved
You added Palm Royale Soma Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palm Royale Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 182 hotels in Hurghada
Västra Vemmenhög, Skåne Län, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cure for stress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

One week at this excellent hotel will evaporate any stress in your life, The ambience is relaxing, the personnel on all levels are oustandingly professional and attentative. Nothing is too much trouble. Being a remote resort it is important that menus are varied, presentation is attractive and the results are palatable. This hotel is 10+ on all those points. The pastry chef is clearly one of their best assets, Weather was a little unpredictable but no one expects blue skies every day in February so whilst the pools were on the cool side the Red Sea was warm and inviting. A place to remember for a long time and return.
Penelope H-N

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    784
    135
    47
    10
    8
See reviews for
326
398
36
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KENT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We visited the Palm Royale the first week in Feb and found the hotel excellent in ALL aspects.
It was the low season and so there was peace and quiet along with excellent service from ALL staff who couldn't seem to do enough for you. The food was great and the a la carte restaurants very good and as good as anything I've tasted back in England. Some of the people that complain would do so for the sake of complaining, as we could not find fault anywhere.
My wife enjoyed a memorable birthday while we were there and she was made to feel very special at dinner, and in the bedroom (with the towel cake display, balloons and petals everywhere)
Prior to leaving we were shown around the Royale suite which was magnificent and hopefully one day this could be within our budget for a special occasion.
The only thing that I would say don't do is..... listen to the negative comments. These people will never be pleased anywhere they go.

Well done to all at Palm Royale for making our holiday a special one, and encouraged me enough to write my first review.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have just had a fantastic ten day holiday at this beautiful hotel. On arriving at the hotel I couldn't take in the beauty and elegance of the place.We were given a very warm welcome at the reception desk and check in was quick and efficient. Our room was also fantastic, with sea and pool view, spacious balcony and very private, immaculately clean with a well stocked fridge of soft drinks and water. Tea and coffee making facilities were also in the room for that early morning cuppa on the balcony. The food was very good in the buffet and Marie was always there to greet you with a smile and always had time for a chat, she was lovely.If there has to be moan, then it would be down to the choice of menu in the restaurants, which was limited, unless you wanted to pay the surcharge for other things on the menu, which to be honest were a little bit pricey. The Azur pool bar did excellent food from 10am till sunset, which was about 5.30pm, Mena and staff were just wonderful, nothing too much trouble. Beach was lovely and had cushioned sunbeds which were very comfortable and again the beach bar had great staff, especially Eid who was on hand to look after our every need. Every single person who works at the Palm Royale deserves a mention, they all work tremendously hard to make it the perfect holiday hotel. I really shouldn't be telling you all this!!! I might not get booked for my return holiday next year. See you all soon.

Room Tip: We did upgrade and pay a little more for a sea view and it was well worth it, we had the sun most of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The facilities at this hotel are every bit the 5-Star it wants to be. I had a very enjoyable stay and couldn't fault my room or surroundings. The location is great and the beach is close and very well-appointed. There is a genuine eagerness to please throughout the hotel. Food was good but I didn't find the A la carte restaurants particularly good value. I would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife & I along with my Mum and 2 daughters spent our second Christmas at the Palm Royale Resort and what a memorable and amazing experience! The Resort, facilities, beach, food and most of all the staff were excellent.

We booked the executive suite, which was fantastic! When we arrived we were picked up from the airport by the hotel taxi and welcome drinks waiting for us. At the hotel we were assigned a butler (who attended to all our needs) and exclusive breakfast dining. The staff were first class and couldn't do enough for us, we were really made to feel like VIP superstars.

Perhaps because of the Egypt's current turbulence and the effects of the global recession, the Resort was generally quiet but this was to our advantage as we often felt we had this wonderful resort to ourselves.

For us the gem was the Health Club, an enclosed openair area with a large heated swimming pool, sheltered from any breeze (along with gym, spa, steam room, sauna & massage). But the beach was fantastic, extensive and a shallow sandbank enables you to 'walk on water' out for about 1/2 mile into the sea at ankle deep.

The food was excellent! A good choice in the buffet and in addition four other a la carte restaurants to choose from - Lebanese, Asian, Greek and Italian. For those who like to drink, the included alcohol was local beer & wine (which was perfectly fine) although they also had a great range of beers, wines & spirits.

Our children also attended the kid's club and although the turnout was sparse they enjoyed themselves.

We had a fantastic time and wish to thank all the staff for making our vacation so wonderful, especially Jolanda. We hope the Resort continues to flourish and look forward returning again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This Hotel really has the WOW Factor in every function of the Hotel. They are all to be congratulated. Mr Kanan, Front Office Manager, has a real passion for Customer Service which is reflected throughout the Hotel by all the other staff. We have just had a 2 week stay and enjoyed every minute of it. Keep up the excellent work.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were very impressed on arrival as were greeted with a damp cloth and refreshing drink which was most welcome after a 4 hour trip from Luxor. The room we were originally allocated was situated opposite a building site which we changed with no problem. On the whole it was very good especially the staff who gave excellent service. The beach was brilliant with plenty of sunbeds available though this was due to the hotel being very quiet probably due to the time of year. If you like to wander in the evening the hotel is in a very isolated position with nowhere to go.
The cons being the food whilst being good was very often not very hot. Also the a la carte restaurants are very limited with the choice of menu unless you are willing to pay for other items on the menu which really is unfair as you have already paid once.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Royale Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Soma Bay

Address: Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#2 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palm Royale Soma Bay 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Palm Royale Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Soma Bay Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Abu Soma Hotel
Intercontinental Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Royale Soma Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.