We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice, but wouldn't go back.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Royale Soma Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Royale Soma Bay to your Saves list
Palm Royale Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Really nice, but wouldn't go back.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just to clarify I am a legit reviewer and have reviewed other places before, so you can read them if you like.
We stayed for a week from the 11th of September, and booked through Thomas Cook all inclusive Holidays with Style.
We just wanted a week away without the daily routine to relax.
To start:
Thomas Cook itself. They do look after you, I can't fault the rep Bassem. He was top notch, very helpful and let us know what was happening.
But Thomas Cook as an airline is pretty awful.. It's just the seats are so tight for leg room, it makes pretty uncomfortable traveling if you're on a flight longer than three hours which we were, and they like to have the inside of the plane pretty hot which is unbearable. Even when someone asked for it to be turned cooler it didn't make much difference.
It made not a nice start to what was supposed to be a relaxing time in our lives, that we had paid hard earned money for, and waited most of the year for. It's a night mare.
The rest:
The transfers were fine, an hour to the hotel. Check in was fine also, both in and out.
Actually I cannot fault the polite, friendly service that the hotel and Thomas Cook offered. The people really made a difference, and were lovely at the hotel.
The rooms were very average. I am not sure about the standard of the other rooms but we had a sea view looking out to the marina and windsurfers. The view was lovely. Sunrises were amazing. The decor was very tired. The TV was great, and there was always a movie to watch if you needed to. The bed was like a brick, like a concrete slab. I like a firm bed but this was not a relaxing way to end the day. There were moments when I had thought that the floor might have been more comfortable.
The bathroom had seen better days, with mold. I don't know what everyone else expects but I don't think mold should be a feature of a resort. It just needs a good clean, a good scrub.
The rest of the hotel is ok, nice but the rooms definitely need a spruce up.
The beach where we spent a lot of time was lovely, great for families as the water was clean, clear and tranquil. There were small fish swimming around. Lots of water sports going on round the corner of the beach where the marina was. The wind was never to the point where it was too windy, sunsets beautiful. The way the loungers are set up is really tasteful. I loved the woven umbrellas. You could always find a lounger, even when it got a bit busier towards the end of the week.
We also spent some time at the gym pool as it was pretty quiet, and not too hot. The people there were really nice, although I wouldn't drink the water they offer you in plastic cups. I don't think it was from a bottle, we were (more fool us/stupid mistake/should know better) pretty ill after this.
The food in the buffet restaurant was ok, but the idea of being able to visit the 4 restaurants on site was a great way to break up the stay. We visited all but the Italian. I loved the food at the Lebanese, and loved the atmos with the guitar player at the Greek. Food was lovely, and as for the blue menu items that people complain about having to pay for, it was only a very few items. There were plenty of choices to make.
The coffee at the atrium bar is top knotch and our waiter there was a lovely guy, thankyou for the lovely smiley face on my cappa!!!
We didn't drink much as the local stuff a bit stomach ripping, the beers ok though. Through effects of sun and stomach upsets we drank less and less as the holiday progressed.
It started off with my partner being violently ill one night, then I went downhill from there with stomach trouble, just on the day of going home. All I could think of was whether I could make it home that day or not.
My seat mate across the aisle on the flight home had been staying at the Palm also and she had been put on a drip, which they tried to insert into her arm 7 times at the clinic on site. She had been given 4 different medications to take and it cost her $150 USD. She didn't know what it was that made her ill although.
We are still recovering four days later. We were aware of tummy trouble before going to Egypt, but took the risk.
but now having experienced it, for that reason alone, I don't think I could risk going on another holiday of this sort to Egypt.
I couldn't face it.
I a lot of ways the Palm Royale gets it right, but in a lot of ways it does not, but from what I've read of some of the other resorts in Sharm, and elsewhere in Egypt it is all a bit of the same.
As for anyone else going, try and be polite to the staff, they work really hard, they are very kind - and a please and thank you isn't going to hurt. Can't believe how horrible some people were to the staff there!!

Room Tip: sea view rooms are quieter than pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    170
    55
    11
    8
See reviews for
385
454
39
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Al Iskandariyah, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

the best place ever & great services .. it's the first visit and never the last . we really enjoyed everything . Keep the good working & thanks to all the stuff & the gentleman Mr. Ahmed abd el fattah for the great effort .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Very very nice hotel with high stander service . I really enjoyed my time soooooo much. Wonderful holiday . I recommend
To everybody what ever you looking for ,you will find it there.! Trust me.the sea and the weather are Amazing

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

very beautiful resort nice staff and polite, i have spend a week like in a paradise.
it was my second time within 2 years.
THe most nice thing,that we have really good service here.
Many thanks for all palm royale staff.
Many thanks for all palm royale staff.
Many thanks for all palm royale staff.
Many thanks for all palm royale staff.
Many thanks for all palm royale staff.
Many thanks for all palm royale staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I'm the 3d time in this hotel with my wife and we really love this wonderful place,where we always have perfect relax rest,perfect sea,nice food,good rooms,big and buatiful territory of the hotel.THe most nice thing,that we have really good service here.In lobby restorant the managers are very proffecional and very polite.Aspessially Mohamed El Sayed-he is really best manager! /A.Balkarov/

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurghada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

nice hotel to stay in for many purposes for relaxing for snorkeling for swimming for horse riding you will find a lot of activities u can do in it and you will relax and enjoy your stay by the smile of all the staff in this hotel as you will find all the staff in the hotel always smiling as you will enjoy your meal in the main restaurant a lot of variety in food if you do not like you can choose to eat in a la cart restaurant finally i want to tell you tat you will enjoy ur stay in palm royal

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful fortnight at the Palm Royale. Other reviews correctly comment on the beautiful foyer, expansive beach, spacious rooms, lovely well-kept gardens, large swimming pool and attentive pleasant staff. I can only echo and confirm those previous observations.
The buffet restaurant is mostly good if sometimes a little random in it’s choices/combinations that are on offer but, as this is our 6th visit to Egypt (1st time at the Palm Royale) we recognise that this is not just an issue here as we have encountered the same randomness at Hyatts and Hiltons. Nevertheless, we were always able to conjure up something. I would say that you must bear in mind that the proportion of UK guests is very small indeed and that the hotel obviously have to try to cater to the tastes of us Brits, Germans, Italians and various Eastern European visitors. I think, in the main, they manage that conundrum very well.
The jewel in the crown for us is that you have the choice of 4 other restaurants to eat in “a la carte”, with no limit on the number of times you can “eat out”. Our usual complaint about AI holidays is the lack of a “dining experience” and the availability of the Asian, Italian, Lebanese & Greek solves this issue and is very welcome indeed. We don’t agree with the previous review concerning the additional cost menu items. We believe that an AI holiday in this price bracket is costed at a certain level and would not expect lobster, tiger prawns, steak etc to be included and were more than happy to pay the extra.
One thing to be aware of is that imported wines are incredibly expensive in Egypt, approx £60 for a French Cote du Rhone, and the local wine is roughly £20 a bottle. The house red that they serve on the AI package is, in my opinion, undrinkable. I didn’t try the white.
One small grumble is the availability of towels at the beach. There are 2 towel stations, one at the left end and one to the right end. On numerous occasions there were no towels at the left station and the staff member simply stood there saying “no towels” – what was wrong with getting more from the other end and bringing them down? (I did say it was a small grumble!)
If you’re taking your mask and snorkel then be aware that there’s no coral reef off the beach so you would need to take an organised trip for any decent snorkelling.
As a diver, I used Barrakuda Diving, the on-site German run dive company and was very happy with the service provided and the charter boat that they use.
All in all, a great holiday and we’re already planning to go back in March

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Royale Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Soma Bay

Address: Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#2 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Palm Royale Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 445
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Palm Royale Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Soma Bay Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Abu Soma Hotel
Intercontinental Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Royale Soma Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.