We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONLY YOU!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Royale Soma Bay

Save Saved
You added Palm Royale Soma Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Royale Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 181 hotels in Hurghada
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ONLY YOU!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Its a really excellent hotel. Enough far from town. On the sea side exactly, without exaggeration. So beautiful from inside. With lots of pools and waterfalls. A very lovely grot, laguns. The territory of the hotel is really huge. Varied landscape. The sea from the shallows to the depths. A lot of water and air sports. Many opportunities for body care. From sports to cosmetics. Beautiful spa. Several restaurants with superb Eastern and Mediterranean cuisine: Lebanese, Greek, Asian. A very high-quality service and professional management. Wonderful opportunities for families with children of any age: a great kids club with educators in three languages, children's playground, in the evening mini-disco for children, as well as in numerous games throughout the day with children under the guidance of animators. The quiet atmosphere is both relaxing and active recreation for vacationers all ages and nationalities. Lots of great family-rooms, really large, equipped with everything necessary, with balconies overlooking the sea and the swimming pool. Very well-kept green area. No problems with food, drinks, drinking water, cleaning the rooms. Service at the highest level. Very polite staff. One of the undoubted merits of the hotel is a great pianist's every evening in the lobby bar, which in itself is a jewel of a hotel hall. We accidentally got into the hotel on the recommendation of our friends and we go for two years to have our holidays only there, with or without children, cause we more than just appreciate a peaceful environment, the absence of any problems and the luxuary conditions inside the hotel. Many thanks to all the personnel of the hotel for a wonderful holidays! And i can not belive that some people can write such a bad comments like i read recently, cause we were there at the same time and we did not face anything of this, accept the problem with the electricity and it was all over the egypt this time and all the managment and all the staff were doing their best to solve this problem and they were really helpfull all the time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    749
    130
    45
    8
    8
See reviews for
309
383
35
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Palm Royale Soma Bay is definitely a 5 star+ Resort which deserves not only the high ratings of satisfaction its being getting but more!! Service, food, cleanliness, infrastructure are impeccable but above all the guest handling!! And that is sth that you don't seem to find very often (especially when you visit Egypt).... I normally do not go back to the same place but I am definitely visiting this Hotel again and will recommend it to all my friends too!! I can also not believe some people and the ratings they have recently posted; I have witnessed a case while I was there when an English family was blatantly 'threatening' the management of the hotel to tarnish them in the TA if they did not receive money compensation! And they were adamant about it too; nothing else would cut it for them!! Apparently the whole of Egypt is having electricity problems (even to date) leading to A/C deficiencies..... I mean, when we traveled back home, there was no A/C in the airport!! And this problem had been going on for more than 2 weeks, from what we were told by the employees there. But I guess that was the perfect opportunity for this family to make their claim and try to extort the Hotel. Management naturally refused with the subsequent consequences; well, Thumbs up all the way for the management. Palm Royale Soma Bay is a great place with great people..... Keep it up :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just returned this morning. Thought I would post this ASAP to give people the right idea...

It's all clean and tidy ish but these are the points that you should know. These are mainly negative. Sorry for that.

Having visited other 5 star hotels in both Egypt (SSH) and the rest of the world this IS DEFINITELY NOT ANYWHERE NEAR 5 star. It may tick all the boxes but that's where it all stops. ALL INC is definitely lacking as well.

For the visiting british it is very heavily biased to the Russian and eastern European market.

Main restaurant.
Buffet only. Bit like a works canteen. No maitre de, seating anyone. Lucky if you get the cold drinks you order, and serve yourself tea and coffee at the end of the meal, if there are any mugs or hot water left!! Kids running around out of control. No one said to stop at any time! Many tables not set properly. Find your own cutlery. Very often no cereals for breakfast. Not kept totally clean.
No dress code for evening meals apart from don't wear your swim wear! Shorts and flip flops seemed to be the order of the day!

Hotel rooms.
Clean and well equipped. However we were asked for a 10 euro tip 2 days in for the supposed good cleaning the room boy had done. However he failed to restock the towels, or the toiletries. So he got nothing. We did complain about this, both the cleaning and room prep but it did not improve.

No free wifi anywhere in the hotel. $5 per hour, at all locations.

Glasses cleaned in local water. Ice was made from bottled water, but at the beach bar they then stored the plastic water bottles in the ice to keep them cool.

My wife and son both got severe stomach upsets and both ended up at the chemist, with a 10 euro bill for their pleasure. We were not the only ones. Even the pharmacist commented one morning about the number of upset tummy cases she had seen that day!

Al a carte restaurants all ok. This was the only bit of 5 star we saw all holiday...

Beach
Nice and pleasant. No reef to see what so ever. Mainly a sailing, windsurf, kitesurfing resort due to the flat conditions. Great for these sports.
Boat trips to snorkelling grounds $25 per person.
Be prepared for serious hassle here, as the resorts trip teams pester you 3 times every day for every trip available. This was the worst part of the hol for me. ( one local told me that the management tell them to o round all the beach and pool 3 times per day to drum up trade)

Pool.
Nice and ok but didn't use it. Sorry.

All inclusive???
No way. Local wines and spirits particularly awful. Beer ok.... Pop, ice cream and non natural fruit juices all very cheap quality. Natural fruit juices NOT included. Nothing excursion wise included whatsoever. Anything branded does cost quite a bit...
As before no wifi included.
Lunch time bars around the resort poor quality.

Service from waiting staff.
Rubbish, hope you like a long wait. Nowhere near the mark. Sat in the atrium bar after evening meal and waited at least 20mins to get served.
You also probably won't get what you ordered either.

Overall.
Totally un-biased opinion. Don't bother! If you are well travelled and expect good quality from 5 star all inc' this is Not for you.
and I am far from being the poshest person you will ever meet. Went to turkey last year and that blew this away. Not even in the same league.
On paper it has all the substance and makings, but is let down badly by poor staffing, and poor procedures.
Sorry but I will def NOT be returning here.
Spend my money on the lake district instead!!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We arrived at the Palm Royale 20/07/12 as a family of 10 aged 2-58.
The first impression of this hotel in lovely, the hotel lobby is very grand and looks really impressive, but that is were it stops.
We were shown to our room which was nice however we had several problems with the air con and after 4 days, 4 managers and several engineers we were moved to another room.
The air con was a massive problem in the hotel and is the same apparently throughout hurgharda. The air con was off throughout the hotel for 7 of our 14 night stay, making it extremley uncomfortable.
On our first morning we went out to the pool area asking for 6 beds and 10 towels and were told they had no beds left although there was very few set out around the pool, the pool guy asked us if we would like to lie on the grass or go to the beach!! we went to reception to complain and were told to return to the pool area and they would arrange for beds to be made available, however the pool guy wasnt aware of this and sent us back to reception again.
The hotel is advertised as having a swim up bar open in summer, which it was, however it was hardly ever staffed and when it was there is actually no bar there so you have to wait again while the guy walks over to the other pool bar to get your drinks. Absolutely pointless that the swim up bar is there.
The drinks are a joke, we booked direct with the hotel on all inclusive basis and on arrival was told this didnt include spirits, wasnt a massive deal for us but would of liked to know before we booked. The beer was never cold and my father in law had to explain to the bar staff in the lobby bar, johnnys bar and the pool bar on many occasions that we didnt want to be served with a warm beer, this continued for the whole holiday.
Our room was never cleaned only the beds made, the coffe cups and glasses empty soft drink bottles etc were left for 8 days before they were changed.
The buffet restaurant is a nightmare, as a party of 10 we wanted to sit together at meal times but was offered a table for 4 here, and a seperate table for others, and was questioned about why and where we wanted to sit.
The food is repetative and most nights we couldnt make a meal out of the food. Some of the waiters were rude and unhelpful, one waiter asked me why id left food on my plate at breakfast, i told him the food was cold, he said no it is lovely!
Another night we had 28 plates on our table because nobody had cleared it.
We have 2 young babies and when we came down for breakfast the food they had ate for there tea the previous night was still on the highchair trays, and we would have to use baby wipes to clean them.
You cant get a hot drink in the restaurant the tea is luke warm every time you make a drink
My partner has an upset stomach the whole time we was there.
We visited a 5* hotel in unisia last year and this hotel didnt come close to that standard.
This is not a 5 star hotel its not even a good 3 star, we all had the most expensive holiday and the worst holiday we have ever had, they cant even get the simple things right i.e cold beer/hot tea.
We complained to the hotel managers and asked for compensation, they told us alot of there guests enjoy there time there, every guest we spoke to from England had the same experience as us and were as disappointed as us.

Ignore the good reviews and save your money, its put us off ever returning to Egypt again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just returned from a 7 days trip to Palm Royal hotel (August 2012). The group was formed of 3 adults, 4 seniors and 4 kids in 4 rooms. When you enter the hotel for the first time, you cannot prevent the WOW effect. It looks like a museum, not an hotel. The decoration is marvelous, with statues, paintings, different formations of marble, etc... At check in, we were given 2 rooms upon arrival (at 14:00), the third room at 16:00 the fourth at 17:00 that was the first inconvenience we faced.
One of the family member had a heart condition that requires her to sleep in a semi-sitting position, so, we had to ask for extra pillows for her. It took more than 2 hours and 3 phone calls to get these pillows!
Another family member is on insulin treatment, and his injections must be kept in a fridge, we tried to use the minibar in the room but it was not working and we had to get a technician to fix it (another 2-3 hours of waiting time). Even after fixing it, the minibar was not cold enough to hold the medicine, so, we had to keep it in the hotel bar to be kept cold.
Sun lounges availability is a major problem in the hotel, despite that the hotel is being less than 50% full, you always find all sun lounges occupied and reserved by towels from the early morning.
Despite all these small mistakes, the hotel is very luxurious, rooms are very clean and have superb view. Food is very good. Water sports and sea water were excellent. Beach is sandy, full of palm trees, very well maintained...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and me had a great time and we would like to share our experience with you,

First, We booked our reservation with Thomas Cook Egypt which was a very good idea as we had extra facilities and care.

Location: about an hour travel from Hurghada but the place is really fantastic.
Crystal clear sea, beautiful sandy beach, palm trees and mountains in the background.


Room: was spacious with great view to the Pool and can see the sea.

Service and staff: they are all very helpful and friendly really a strong point for the Hotel. I

remember Peter from Azure cafe and also Sayed at the beach.

SPA persons are not professionals at all and very rude.

Decoration and furniture: Luxurious and very romantic.

Dining: the main restaurant is OK they have special days Mondays for Oriental and Tuesdays for BBQs.

We tried the Lebnanie and was OK and the Greek was outstanding with a talented Greek
musician.

The animation team was fun but they can do better, i remember Ahmed, Nelly, Selina and Julia.

I strongly recommend the Hotel specially for Honeymooners.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

As a repaeated guest the hotel met my expectations for the roome as well as F&B
for the second successive time rooming exceeds my and my family expecations with the excellent choices for the rooms assigned both for my family with a breath holding view as well as the room assigned to my parents in the first floor which was perfect for thier age, thanks to Mr. Ahmed Abdelfattah for his continous enthusiasm to satisfy the customer needs even if issues are out of his duties and responsibilities,
Food quality and varaities are more than enough;
Waiters are having an impressive sense of hospitality despite of the high occupaency,
F&B managers starting from Mr. Emanuel to Mr. Yasser Shawky and Mr. Romany are proffessional enough to keep you satisfied all along your vacation
The Italian restaurant is a benchmark, the asian restaurant i a real addition to the place,

There is a clear conflect in the responsibilities of both housekeepers and minibar checkers,
As for examplehouskeepers do not collect empty bottles...etc.
Houskeepers needs better training as they were much better last year, they are always late in cleaning the rooms, sometimes up to 16:00, and it may need your to ask for them to come and clean your room.
My overall evaluation is i am in love with the place, brilliant location proffessional staff and luxury amenities
I will be there again asap

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palm Royale Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Soma Bay

Address: Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palm Royale Soma Bay 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Palm Royale Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Soma Bay Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Abu Soma Hotel
Intercontinental Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Royale Soma Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.