We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Stay At This Fabulous Five Star Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Royale Soma Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Royale Soma Bay to your Saves list
Palm Royale Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 178 Hotels in Hurghada
Essex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“2nd Stay At This Fabulous Five Star Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I did write my first review back in February after my first visit, and I did want to write another on my return after my second stay, but have had to wait for three months before Trip Advisor would allow me to give another review so here goes;

Stayed here in Jan/Feb, so impressed that we returned here for a further two weeks
20 March-3 April. It certainly did not disappoint. We were made very welcome once again by the entire staff at this luxurious hotel. The cuisine at the Cafe Stella (buffet) and the food at the four al la carte restaurants (Italian, Asian, Lebanese, Greek) is truly outstanding well cooked and presented. Reception/Atrium Lounge and surrounding public areas are immaculate as are the grounds/gardens and pool/beach area. Sunbeds always available no need to reserve early. The staff are the jewel in the crown here. They are absolutely top shelf. Cannot name them all but the following are really outstanding:

Reception, Guada. Restaraunts, Liezelle, Nashanta, Malek, Adel, Ehab, Mr Sheref, Katakyam. Elsayed Emam, (our great waiter in the Cafe Stella). Also a special thank you to Mr Iranka Mallawarachchi.
Atrium/Johnny's Bar, Abdul Aziem, Karam, Bishoy, Helmy.
Also special thanks to Elena Yetuk, charming lady, great pianist who plays in the evening in the Atrium, and who has become a great friend.

Local wines/spirits are very acceptable. Guest rooms are large every convenience very comfortable. Attention to cleanliness and hygiene is very particular throughout the entire complex. This is a beautifully situated luxury resort hotel and deserves its 5 star rating. I personally consider that this will in future become the leading hotel in the area. My wife and I travel 4/5 times worldwide per year and consider that the Palm Royale compares very favourably with any 5 star international hotel. We will be returning here in the future. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay in luxurious surroundings, top class cuisine, great pool/beach, great staff. Go there as soon as possible. You will be blown away!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    199
    63
    13
    8
See reviews for
442
554
49
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I read some reviews before i went there & they were all encouraging, The hotel is huge, spacious rooms, too clean with a marvellous beach & that was the tricky part. My first problem was witha very strange room key I never saw before,so I had to ask another guest who told me how to use it , who already asked someone who checked in before & so on.
Then there was lunch, where it was one of my worst experiences in life, DONT even try Stella restrnt, its horrible. Then came the exremely annoying part which was the HARD beds where I didn't fall to sleep except after a full day work out just to go to bed as a deadman & even though I had intermittent sleep coz of the pillows. I think the infrastructure is ok BUT these things must be changed or else u can never feel its a vacation in that hotel,although it has a nature from heaven.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

We booked a stay of 3 days at Palm Royale Soma Bay to relax and enjoy some massages. We were absolutely not able to leave the place and we extend our stay! Our sojourn was absolutely perfect! Plenty of restaurants! And included in the all inclusive package! If u like fish, we recommend the Greek restaurant. Our favorite was the Lebanese: the chef really care about the clients and he doesn't hesitate to come to ask how the dinner is! Plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas (beach and pool) which is a must! Lovely staff who really deeply takes care of the Guests. I can't explain more! The hotel is spotless!! Which is really impressive as the property is huge! Best holidays ever! Palm Royale soma bay... We will be back !!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Overall this is exactly what others below have said, lovely all inclusive resort, we didn't go off it for 7 days, great beach, as nice as any I've seen, Greek and Lebanese restaurants great of slightly lacking in menu choices for all inclusive. Service great, 95% of staff superb, johnnys bar great, room nice sea view king size incredibly comfy bed. Would recommend, on negative side, Don't like buffets much, didn't like this one, Italian restaurant expected much better not very good, piano lounge lady played the same songs every day!:) spa not great in my opinion, breakfast like most hotels not great if your looking for an English breakfast, beef bacon and chicken sausage - no no no! They aren't very good at omelettes either, pastries nice though. But if none of these negatives bother you book without hesitation, in terms of other guests was mainly Russian families

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Other reviews were telling the truth. The staff is so nice, so kind, and so helpful in every way. Special thanks to one of the managers, Mr. Kanaan, for excellent care.
We really liked the beach, full of palm trees, a hammock on the beach, the new kite centre within the hotel grounds and its crew.
The room was fine. But if you'd like to have more quiet, I suggest you take a room facing either side of the hotel, or maybe a room in the other building called Nefertiti. If the reception guy tells you this building is closed, push a bit harder or call another nice staff representative to help you.
We loved the Lebanese restaurant...the food was really tasty. And since the hotel is run by Egyptian Greeks, you can also count on the Greek restaurant and on good choice of olives and feta as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at Palm Royale at the end of April. We're a family of four with two kids aged around 6 and 2. Having read all the positive reviews on tripadvisor (and elsewhere) we decided to go ahead and reserve our vacation there. From the day we arrived the staff were pleasant and courteous and helpful. We were not on an AI package (due to bad experiences with other hotels), but by the end of our stay we really wished we had been! The food at all the Ala Carte restaurants was tasty and served in a timely manner. The buffet had a great variety to choose from. The kids pool (and adults) was large and nice although quite cold, but if you stayed out in the sun long enough, then a cool dip is just what you needed. The beach was clean and safe for kids. The Kids Zone was also good. The rooms saw the sea (properly) and were spacious and when you've got loads of kids gear, you really need the space. The double beds were big, probably 140 cm each, so we did not need to add an extra bed or cot. The Animation team could have been more exciting, but our kids didn't mind. They still enjoyed the evening activity. We rarely saw a mosquito or a fly. The hotel is lavishly decorated and the landscaping is lovely. If I had two wishes for the hotel, the first would be a larger heated pool (preferably outdoor) and more things for the kids (and adults!) to do the evening. But overall, our kids had a fantastic time and so did we -- very relaxing. We will surely go there again and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone considering a vacation in this region.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Bad points: 1) the hotel does not accept American Express 2) wi-fi is recklessly expensive and did not work in the room 3) hot water issues, as out of 7 nights we had barely warm water for 4 nights 4) the room and bathroom were not clean. There were 2 inches of dust under the bed and bathroom hygiene was poor 5) despite low occupancy, they were unable to give us a room with a kind size bed (we had 2 separate beds).

For the reasons above I rate this hotel not up to par for a 5 star facility, therefore poor value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Royale Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Soma Bay

Address: Soma Bay, PO Box 348 | Safaga-Hurghada Highway, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palm Royale Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the 1.2 km long private sand beach in Egypt is the SENTIDO Palm Royale. Here you can relax and enjoy the perfect holiday with your family and friends. The two bays offer a perfect atmosphere for privacy and enjoying the weather. The SENTIDO Palm Royale is just 45 km away from the airport of Hurghada and 50 km to the city center of Hurghada. Moreover, the city Safaga ist just 12 km away from the SENTIDO Palm Royale. You have got the possibility to use the free WIFI from the hotel. Furthermore, the SENTIDO Palm Royale offers a kids club, Babysitting, a playground for children, a gym and four tennis courts. The meals are served in form of a buffet with fresh cuisine in the SENTIDO Palm Royale. Furthermore, several A la Carte-Restaurants offer a huge variety of fresh meals. Many sport activities are offered during your holidays. You have the possibility to play beach volleyball, water ball, use the gym and many other water sports activities. Furthermore, the SENTIDO Palm Royale has got a spa area to relax and enjoy the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Palm Royale Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Soma Bay Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Abu Soma Hotel
Intercontinental Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Royale Soma Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.