We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in not so nice Hurghada” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20 Km Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 178 Hotels in Hurghada
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in not so nice Hurghada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is a five star hotel and it is quite good,comparing to other Hurghada hotels.its position is ok,and if you want a family hotel with standard family ammenities,beach,shopping option nearby, well positioned(some 10 -15 min drive to hurghada center),then you should book it.i am not a hurghada fan,since it is totaly scattered on a huge teritory,good hotels are far from the city which itself is not too...interesting.
But,nevertheless,this hotel is situated on a large area and offers a lot so you can even spend your evenings walking around hotel area if you sont want to go to the city.staff is nice and helpful,only minus is a hotel restaurant,as i didn't feel it as a five star facility.but,singles,couples or families,dont hesitate and book it(if you decided to go to hurghada).

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for Your nice review.
We are glad that You enjoyed Your holiday with us.

We are looking forward to see You soon back in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    209
    88
    44
    21
See reviews for
331
338
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I would thank all the stuff who they worked . Every people is helpfully and polite and smile all the time , I'm very pleased to stay and hope stay again next time ..
Activities is good pool , spa , gym , beach , restaurant ( oriental - Chinese - Italian - Mexican ) , discotheque
Food is very good ( breakfast , launch and dinner )

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for Your review.

We are glad that You are satisfied and we are looking forward to welcome You again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at Sunrise Beach and Garden Resort on 27 th September until 4th October. The location was beautiful and the gardens spectacular. We travelled as a couple for a week of peace and sunshine.I must say we got just that, the hotel was very quiet , but the staff and guest services can not do enough for you.The food in all restaurants was superb and presented beautifully. Also in the sister hotel Mamluk the services were just as exceptional. The Egyptian people love the English so we should support them by going .We will return hopefully in January cant wait .Once again a big thankyou to everyone who works there , your a credit to these 2 hotels. Can I just add the spa was fantastic too , its a must have , and also the fish restaurant which is a short boat trip.
Jeanette Thompson and Andrew cummings

Room Tip: I think I was in 3014 and we had a sea view big room with fab views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for Your nice review.

We do appreciate Your review very much and we are looking forward to see You soon back in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We returned from our holiday in September 2013 at the Above hotel. What a fantastic holiday. on arrival @ the hotel @ 11.30pm we were met by the duty manager who put us at ease by saying welcome home. As this was our 1st visit there we were at ease . He then said he had read the information sent to hime by Thomas Cook for assistance required. He told the hotel had a special room for us the main dining room and entertainment area. had we any questions at which i asked if they had pool service he said no but he would get meone if i wanted it. at which i refused. However the senior quality manager susan had already arranged our sunbed area near the pool bar. Service by the pool bar staff was excellent. After 3 days we were told that all europeans would be having our lunches at the italian a la carte for the rest of our stay. We were also told that we could have evening meals at the 3 ala cartes as many times as we wanted.every day the hotel guest service managers darya & olga would check with us to see if everything was alright.on the last dat the guest services managers came to say there goodbyes and to ask us if we would be returning to the hotel again we said that we had had the best holiday ever and that we would be returning next year.
thanks once again to all the staff for such a fantstic holiday .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Alan,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback about our resort.
We are more than happy that you enjoyed your holiday in our resort.

We have thanked all the mentioned staff members in person for their hard work and perfect service.

the team of SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa is waiting to welcome you again in your "second home"

With best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Returned from spending a week at this hotel. Usually stay in Titanic Palace so we were slightly apprehensive,but our stay here was first class from start to finish. We were welcomed and looked after by all staff with professionalism and quiet efficiency. The Hotel had low occupancy due to political issues and tourists reluctant to travel here, but there are no issues here, just a desire to ensure people enjoy their stay. The Egyptian pound offers excellent rates to pound sterling. People are missing out on excellent value holidays with friendly staff, fantastic climate and opulent surroundings, would recommend this hotel and would return. Just remember this is Egypt and not Spain and cultural differences are inevitable.

Room Tip: If you don't Like the room just politely request a change
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mrs. Heather C,

We want to thank you for your feedback about our resort.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our resort even when you didn't book our resort in the first place.

We will be more than honored to welcome you again in our resort.

With best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My mum, her partner and 4 friends just returned from this hotel. They all agreed the staff were brilliant always asking you if everything was ok any problems couldn't do enough for you always smiling and helpful. Everywhere was kept clean and tidy all the time, cleaned everyday, fresh fruit and treats left throughout the week. A big thank you to Daria for arranging the Italian meal with the manager and the cocktail night. A special mention for Kano from the animation team keep up the water aerobics. All in all a fantastic week felt safe and relaxed in beautiful surroundings. Going again in April would recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for Your lovely review.
We are glad that You enjoyed Your holiday with us.

We are looking forward to see You soon in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

just returned from the sunset hotel and my what an awesome time we had. the hotel was very quiet due to other europeans flights cancelled to egypt and yes there where a few egyptians in the hotel but not loads. the staff go above and beyond making your holiday a holiday. my partner had torn his shirt when we arrived and after a conversation with the most helpful Daria in customer services and a chat with the super efficient susan the shirt was taken to their seamstress who did a fantastic job in repairing the shirt and i might add free of charge.
Now the food yes their is not always what you want but saying that their is a number of other restraurants around in fact you have on average 5 or 6 to choose from and that is allowing for the ones closed on alternate nights! you are not going to starve if you dont find something in select then go to mamalouk next door what has live outdoor cooking staitions every night. failing that go al a carte they are wonderful. dont like the touch screen to book then see daria who is so helpful it is unbelievable and so is the other girl olga they cannot do enough for you
i have stayed in a variety of hotels in egypt and only write up if i like it now this one i loved it
we had a wonderful barman called amhed down on the beach bar who was there for the full week we were there and he could not do enough for you neither could mohammed the manager for the beach bar al a cartes etc they made us feel so special now normally when we have stayed over in sharm towards the end of the week the staff are only paving the way for tips when you leave of starting to give you sob stories on how bad they have it NO not in this hotel never once did i feel that anything was done so you would tip when leaving and thats the first time in egypt that we have felt that way that the staff do everything because they care and they want to all the staff everywhere are very profesional and cannot do enough.
we went on a trip with blue waves what a very professional bunch of guys they were. would highly recomend a day snorkelling with those guys and the food was lovely as well
i dont think all in all i could say anything negative about this hotel, its staff oh apart from sort the water pressure out in the showers when you have long hair it takes ages to wash but i found a solution to that just went to the hairdressers instead! who also did a great job
susan the manager sorted everything out for us and i cannot thank her enough for her kindness if you need a taxi to the hotel email them and they will have one waiting for you at a cost of £12 which i thought was a good price and you can pay in english too
thanks to all the staff and have already been looking to return in a couple of months
JUST BOOK IT GUYS THERE IS A LOT TO CHOOSE FROM ONCE THERE!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mrs. Michelle,

We want to thank you for your positive feedback about our resort.

We are very happy that you and your husband had a perfect stay even when you were a little bit worried before arrival.

The team of SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa are waiting to welcome you again in your "second home".

With best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Km Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#11 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#12 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 5 star (local category) "All Inclusive" Resort is perfectly located in an extensive garden landscape. The private sandy beach offers relaxing hours directly at the Red Sea.Here you will enjoy breathless sunset and fantastic views to the desert, mountains and the turquoise waters of the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.