We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20 Km Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 179 Hotels in Hurghada
Presov, Slovakia
1 review
“Highly recommended hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I cant say one bad word. The hotel fulfill all my expexctations. Our trip start really kindly welcome from hotel staff. Willing and helpful staff made our trip faultless. Beautiful setting and scenery, well furnished room, wide range of food, many activities and great people = unforgettable holiday. I wanna say thank you to all of them, but especially Abdo from beach bar and Obama who is best animator ever. We appreciate work of all staff aj much as possible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for Your review.

We are glad that You were satisfied and we are looking forward to see You soon again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    233
    94
    48
    24
See reviews for
371
357
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strakonice, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I cant find better word then excelent... Everything was really good - service, stuff, food... I usually dont like animation team but Dennis Obama was really the best i ever met... He is friendly, funny and polite, so I really hope that my next holiday he will still work in Sunrise...
Thanx for everything ;)

Room Tip: Garden view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for Your very nice review.

We appreciate it a lot and we are happy that You liked Your holiday with us and that You fully enjoyed.

We are looking forward to see You soon in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opava, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I am back from Egypt - Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa and I want to go back. It was really excellent holiday. Service was great, food was delicious, kind and friendly staffs. And really funny animation team - Kano, Nikol - Czech, Jeryy!
The great was that hotel have a guest relations in Czech. If somebody from Czech is not able to speak English, the staff solves every problem

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Mrs. Petra,

First of all thank you for sharing your positive comment about our resort. We really appreciate the time you took to support our resort in this difficult time.

We hope that we can welcome you and your family soon again in your second home SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa and make your vacation even more relaxed

With best regards,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just returned from another fantastic holiday at the Garden Beach. As some countries had suspended flights in to the Red Sea area it was a little quieter than usual but still enough to meet new friends and not have to get up early for a sunbed ! Food is plentiful and varied lots of different bars and restaraunts to try, we loved ther chinese, mexican and italian, but the main buffet has always loads to choose from. Wonderful rooms very spacious. Fantastic animation team, Obama and his team pulled out all the stops to entertain you during the day, they all work very hard - superb holiday

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Mrs. debra b,

First of all thank you for sharing your positive comment about our resort. We really appreciate the time you took to support our resort in this difficult time.

We hope that we can welcome you and your family soon again in your second home SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa and make your vacation even more relaxed

With best regards,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Myself and my party which included my family have just returned from a week in this hotel.
Sadly none of us will ever return.
The hotel seemed to be a refuge for all of the Egyptians from Ciaro and the hotel totally tailor made the food and entertainment to satisfy them.
The food was so vile including in the on site restaurants that my whole party came home having lost weight.
I am 6 months pregnant and suffered terrible hunger throughout the entire week and on more than one occasion went to bed without dinner!
The swimming pool had to be emptied and cleaned due to the Egyptians allowing their children to urinate and soil in the pool.
I also witnessed a young child being resuscitated beside the pool as she had no arm bands on and there is no life guard....this has traumatised me!
I was continually hissed at by the Egyptian women,I can only assume because I'm pregnant and was in a tankini.
Whilst in the pool with my fiancé an Egyptian man actually began learing at me and making rude gestures which made me so uncomfortable I got out and went back to my room!
The staff at the pool snack bar continually ignored me and my family and would leave us until all of the Egyptians had been served before they got to us.

We met another English couple who had told us that last year this hotel had been amazing so they had decided to return this year for 3 weeks....they were utterly disappointed and felt exactly the same as us!

There were 14 people in my group and 12 of us were sick including myself and after being home for 4 days I'm still suffering with tummy cramps....not ideal whilst pregnant.

My list of complaints goes on and on....but the crux of this review is seriously don't go here...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Mrs. Victoria,

We want to thank you for sharing your vacation experience.
We are very sad that you didn't enjoy your holiday in our resort.

We are an international resort with more than 10 different nationalities including Egyptian guests.

We have a 14-day rotated theme evening in our main restaurant with a daily Oriental corner as of the specialties from the country. As Thomas Cook guest in our resort you have the luxury to eat in the evening in our a la carte restaurants and in the ones from our sister resort SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort.

Our life guards are trained well and watching the pools continues. The parents need to watch their children but as hotel we will not let anybody drown.

After you contacted the Hotel Management we took your comments very serious and action was taken directly.
i.e. We opened the Italian Restaurant specially for our European guests with a set menu and a dessert buffet. Reservation in the a la carte restaurants.

On daily basis we came to you to check how you are and you were satisfied with the taken actions and felt a lot better.

Unfortunately you didn't inform us with any further comments to solve your problems

We hope that we can welcome you again and give you a positive impression about our resort

With best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our first time at this hotel and to be honest I was a little disappointed, the reception and lobby were really lovely and what I'd expect of a 5 star hotel, but the rooms had seen better days, old dark wooden furniture that definitely needed replacing, and the bathroom needed a revamp too, we had a shower over the bath with a filthy shower curtain that needed a good wash or better still replacing. The best thing was the air conditioning which worked very well. We travelled with my brother and sister-in-law who were staying in the Mamlouk next door and their rooms had been refurbished and therefore were really nice, they also had a walk in shower, so no manky shower curtain for them! If our rooms had been like that then this hotel would class as a 5 star. The staff however were really nice, always friendly and helpful and our rooms were always cleaned well.
We had trouble with our room key (swipe card), on 3 occations we got back to our room to find it wouldn't open the door so we had to walk all the way back to reception to get it sorted, not very good when its late and all you want to do is get to bed!
You can get free wifi outside the main buffet, on the terrace, but this could be slow if everyone's trying to get on it.
Due to the trouble they've been having in Cairo, and other European countries not travelling here, we seemed to be the only Europeans here and the hotel was full of Egyptians, now I'm not racist and I've travelled to many countries but I have never seen anything like it at meal times, (hence the title) they pushed and shoved to get at the food, loading plates with mounds of food which they didn't eat, leaving half of it all over the tables and floor. One tip, get your own serving spoon to use as they taste the food off the serving spoons and then put them back, plus they squeeze the rolls before they choose the one they want, after all this they then load more plates up with rolls and cakes and take them back to their rooms!
They also let their children run round like its play time, touching food which they're not going to eat. We ate quite a few evening meals in the themed restaurants to get away from this, and a couple of days before we left the Italian restaurant was opened at lunch times for Europeans only! This behaviour certainly put a downer on our holiday,
I must mention Mohamed Elsayed who worked in the Asian restaurant in the evening and in the beach bar at the Mamlouk during the day, he was always happy and friendly, and he always knew what we wanted to drink without us having to ask, and as soon as our glasses were empty he bought us another one straight away.
And finally if you're going to buy gifts or souvenirs don't buy them in the hotel shops, go across the road to the shops and bizzar where you'll get the same things cheaper!

Room Tip: If we went again i'd book into the Mamlouk, but which ever hotel you choose don't look over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guests,

We want to thank you for your feedback about our resort. We are very sad to see that you didn't enjoy your holiday with us.

We are an international resort with a lot of different nationalities including Egyptian guests.
Unfortunately you didn't contact anyone of the management to solve your issues on spot.

Our room cards are very sensitive for electronic devices as mobile phones, laptops ect...

We hope that we can welcome you again and give you a positive impression about our resort.

With best regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The weather of Hurghaa was wonderful, really saved the trip, but the hotel: 1-clean, 2- friendly stuff, 3-the quality of food was bad, 4- the front desk employees aren't professional, 5- the animation team is good

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mrs. Diana,

We want to thank you for sharing your holiday experience in our resort. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We have a 14-day rotated theme evening in our Main Restaurant and 4 a la carte restaurants where you can go unlimited on reservation. We are sad to read that you didn't enjoy the food.

Unfortunately you didn't contact anyone of the management to solve your problem on the spot.

We hope that we can welcome you again and give you a perfect stay.

With best regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Km Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#21 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 5 star (local category) "All Inclusive" Resort is perfectly located in an extensive garden landscape. The private sandy beach offers relaxing hours directly at the Red Sea.Here you will enjoy breathless sunset and fantastic views to the desert, mountains and the turquoise waters of the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort And Spa
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.