We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average holiday, small pool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20 Km Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 747 Reviews
Vrhnika, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average holiday, small pool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

It was our 3rd time in Hurghada and we have seen better and worse. The hotel is OK, with very friendly staff, but it's clear that this hotel has lost its bling since it was new. The room was very large, bed comfy, the TV did not work half of the time and even when the hotel technician replaced it after our complaint, the TV was no better. Oh, and the air conditioning only works when you are in the room. August was extremely hot (40+ deg C outside and 32 during the night) so we never managed to get the room cool. It was on top floor though. The value all in all was good considering Hurghada's standard and I would still recommend this hotel to undemanding guests, who value cleaningness. The room was spottless and made up immacuately every day! Congratulations to the staff on this point, not "natural" for Egypt at all:)

Room Tip: Avoid top floors in the summer because of the heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much to come back to your second home Sunrise Select Garden Beach.
We would like to inform you that we appreciate so much your comment on our hotel.
We are glad that Your vacation was comfortable.
We are looking forward to see You and Your family soon for the 4th time in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa.

Best Regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    175
    83
    41
    19
See reviews for
277
280
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from the 2nd - 9th April 2013, room 6109. This room was on the ground floor overlooking the family pool. Didn't attend welcome meeting as we had been to Egypt on various occasions, but Bassem the rep kept us informed with literature. Very well kept gardens which were beautiful and areas kept exceptionally clean. Beach at the end of the hotel with plenty of sunbeds and the food was very good there. The bar area near one of the pools with Chef there made excellent pizzas for lunch. Plenty of ice-cream for all. Rooms were very comfortable and large with free safe (easy to set), a fridge and tea making facilities. Even a set of scales in the bathroom! A large choice of food, savoury, sweets and plenty of fruit. Very warm during the day, but could be quite windy, sometimes needing a cardigan of an evening. Sea was not very warm at all but we are early in the season.Staff were all very polite and helpful. Pianist in the reception area of an evening with a bar. live music/singer outside and the animation team put on various shows throughout the week.
We had a very enjoyable time there and Bassem very kindly arranged for us to have a free late check out, which was very nice, Hotel comes highly recommended and we are hoping to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for Your comment on our hotel. We are glad that our personnel succeeded to make Your vacation remarkable.

We are looking forward to see You and Your family soon in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa.

Best regards,
Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

 Recently returned from a  one week stay at the Sunrise Garden Beach. The weather was on average 30 degrees every day with a welcoming cool breeze, however quite chilly on some nights so would advise to take something to cover up if needs be.
Our room was clean and spacious, huge bathroom, mini bar with soft drinks, tea coffee making facilities and balcony overlooking the quiet pool. We used this pool most days, unheated but nice and peaceful. The main pool is heated, with slides, music and activities if you wish. Beach Towels are provided for you so no need to take your own, simply exchange your card for fresh towels every day, you can also obtain a red flag if you wish, to place on your sunbed which means that you don't want to be disturbed by the sales people,we never felt the need to use it, but thought is was a good idea if you wanted to be left alone.
Have to say that the pools, gardens and grounds in both hotels were immaculate.
Now for the food..... The main buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is plenty of choice, the food is Ok, but it is very noisy and gets very busy, Elbows out, good luck!! 
Snacks are available at the pool bar through the day if you prefer, fresh pizza, fries, salad, ice cream, you certainly won't go hungry.
Try and book the a la carte restaurants if you can for evening meal, a much nicer experience, four in total, Mexican, Oriental, Asian and Italian. We ate at all of them, all very nice, Mexican exceptional we thought. Worth mentioning that the wine by the bottle offered Isn't part of AI package. Now you have to be quick to book these restaurants as they are very popular and tables can only be reserved 24 hours in advance. This is done by a touch screen service in reception, which people queue to use in the morning. However you can book from midnight if you happen to be around ;)
Another restaurant worth a visit nearby is the Felucca seafood restaurant,
It is at the end of a small pier belonging to the Crystal Bay Hotel, when you make your booking they arrange for a boat to come and collect you from the jetty of the hotel, really nice touch and something a little bit different. Food is really nice and at a reasonable price and when you are finished the boat drops you back off, all lit up in blue fairy lights, like I said really nice :)
We booked a boat trip with aqua waves based at the hotel, I have to say this was the highlight of our holiday,  3 snorkelling stops and a visit to Paradise island for sun bathing. This is the first time I have ever snorkelled,  I was completely out of my comfort zone and have to say, the attire is not the most flattering haha but I was put completely at ease and loved every minute. It's a whole new world,  the multi coloured fish and coral are breathtaking,absolutely amazing, Do it, you won't be disappointed.
Had a fab holiday, no complaints really, ideal for a winter get away. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank You for Your positive comment on our hotel. We are glad that our personnel succeeded to make Your vacation remarkable.

We are looking forward to see You and Your family soon in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa.

Best regards,
Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gata de Gorgos, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here March 2013. Lovely resort, beautifully kept gardens, clean spacious room. very comfortable bed. Food OK, big choice though mostly the same items. All staff were brilliant, always happy to help, most speak some English. Took the Thomas Cook boat trip, although it was a lovely day, we should have gone with the guys in the hotel grounds, they go to 4 different locations for snorkelling, and charge £20 per person less!!! Their lunch was on the boat, and sounded very similar to the TC one we had on the island. It was my husband's birthday while we were there and he was given a cake, nice touch. If you want souveniers go to the supermarket in the shopping mall a 10 min walk. The same T-shirts etc as in the hotel are much cheaper there. Postcards are 1/3 of the hotel price just across the road. Machine in reception for changing money, excellent as you only change what you need. The 4 restaurants which have to be booked the day before are very good, especially the Italian. We ate at the fish restaurant the last night. You have to pay, but it's not overly expensive. A small boat takes you there for free. Made a pleasant evening with lovely views across the water.
The only thing that spoilt our time there was the rude, arrogant Russians. They barked orders at the staff, pushed in when others were waiting to be served, never heard a please/thank you, or saw a smile. We felt sorry for the lovely Egyptians who had to deal with them.
Would recommend this resort, it's excellent value. Be careful of the very pushy "helpers" when you get to your coach at the airport. Having dragged our case all the way to the coach, this person was wrestling cases off people then demanding a £2 "tip" for simply putting the case in the luggage compartment. We told him no and put our own on.

Room Tip: We were in block 8. It was very quiet as we were 1/2 way between the entertainment and the beach. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for Your comment on our hotel. We are glad that Your vacation was comfortable.

We are looking forward to see You and Your family soon in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa.

Best regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in March 2013. Staff very friendly. George at reception was fantastic as was Mustafa in the pool bar - after 2 days drinks were being poured when he saw us approaching. Food was great and there was a lot of choice. Air conditioning in room was very effective. Mini bar disappointing - only 3 small bottles of pop and refilled weekly. Bed and pillows were like sleeping on the floor - I've never slept on such a hard bed however after speaking to George - he got the house keeping supervisor and they put a mattress topper on - much better. One pool is heated and there were plenty of sunbeds. The beauty salon get on your nerves with appoaching people every day. We would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: No lifts so choose the ground or 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for Your comment on our hotel. We are glad that our personnel succeeded to make Your vacation remarkable. Mr. George - Receptionist has been informed about Your comment and Mr. Mustafa from pool bar as well.

We are looking forward to see You and Your family soon in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa.

Best regards,
Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful week again animation team great Sara and Doriina brill girls puts us through our paces room with sea view was wonderful waiter gasser and the manager is a very good man and the two reception people good we also met people who were their last year will go again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for Your positive comment . We are glad that Your vacation was comfortable.
We are looking forward to see You and Your family soon in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa.

Best regards,
Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is our third time here,and we had another good holiday.All staff very good special thanks to lobby staff auroa. Mohamed Farag. Yasser. Beach staff Ranya. Shenouda. Mamdowh.reception staff and bars manager Ibrahim who was very helpful.Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for Your comment on our hotel. We are glad that our personnel succeeded to make Your vacation remarkable. Food&Beverage Manager has been informed about Your comment.

We are looking forward to see You and Your family soon in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa.

Best regards,
Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Km Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#19 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#28 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 5 star (local category) "All Inclusive" Resort is perfectly located in an extensive garden landscape. The private sandy beach offers relaxing hours directly at the Red Sea.Here you will enjoy breathless sunset and fantastic views to the desert, mountains and the turquoise waters of the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.