We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Waste Your Money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada to your Saves list
Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada
Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 180 Hotels in Hurghada
Manchester
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Hotel - ALBATROS GARDENS

Firstly, when we arrived the stench of raw sewage which will only make you gag is a good indicator that you are close to this hotel. They use what you put in your toilet to water the gardens every day all day! We were made to wait at check-in for around an hour then taken to our rooms as we held our breath from the stink.

ROOMS -
The rooms are basic, but clean, after a few nights in the slabs of concrete they call 'beds' I started to get back pains, and the bag of house bricks which they call 'pillows' only add to the discomfort. There are 3 English channels on the fuzzy T.V, but if you want to hear the sound you better switch off the Air Conditioner. We found in total 5 large cockroaches in the room and lizards on the balcony. One of our 3 rooms had an even worse stench than the gardens, it smelt like a gallon of gone off milk has been spilt in the room - Horrible! I can honestly say I have has the worst shower experience in my life at this hotel, the temperature is uncontrollable, every 15 seconds the shower rapidly turns from ice cold to scolding hot, you have around 3 seconds of normal temperature before it changes again. Their is a luxury of choosing if you want the shower to come out in a dribble or a fine mist.

LOCALS -
We have come to the conclusion that the cleaner does not get paid, instead, relies on tips! It is unbelievable how many times he will come into your room without knocking and repeatedly saying 'it's good?' while pointing at the bed you are lay in. The cleaner fancied my girlfriend and would walk in when it was only her in the room and try to hug her and make small talk. All Egyptian men in and around the resort are all perverts and don't care if you are eye balling them while they stare at you girlfriends legs, they are pathetic. If you get a taxi anywhere, prepare to get conned, if they try saying you paid them too much just get out and go, they are trying to con you with another currency. You can haggle them down to 20 Egyptian Pounds for a taxi.

FOOD -
Now onto the food... frankly, the worst thing about the holiday was the food. Same slop day in day out. Out of the 6 of our party, 5 became ill in varied degrees. The worst was my fathers, 6 days of unbearable stomach cramps and a few sleepless nights. I was ill for 3 days and my girlfriend for 4. Thank god for the McDonald's at the shopping centre. I must admit, the pizza from the Italian restaurant was very nice even though it was about a 6 inch pizza. STAY AWAY FROM EGGPLANT - This WILL make you ill, it is what my father ate.

ENTERTAINMENT -
You will struggle to find a sun lounger after 9.00 as it is a shared resort other hotels come to our pools because of the water slides, I suggest going to their pools which are much better. The hotel...no... Hughada is full of Russians, Germans and the French. So get ready to be lonely unless you are multi-lingual. Entertainment is only in their languages. The hotel singer was an absolute joke! He sings the same songs from the same CD every night of his life and does not get any better! You will be hassled constantly as they let people walk around the hotel selling false promises of all inclusive snorkling boat trips - don't be fooled, you get 2 free drinks on the boat!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    33
    12
    15
    12
See reviews for
40
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I totally agree with the last review - all good at this resort - very large and extremely well kept. The rooms are cleaned every day and a good size. There is a wide selection of food with plenty of everything and you can eat at some of the other restaurants in the hotels which are all linked together. My kids really enjoyed their stay and the slides and kids clubs are excellent. I couldn't really find fault with this place and would definitely recommend this Hotel for a relaxing stay with amazing weather!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lymm cheshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

We stayed in Albatross gardens which was one of about 4 in the chain all next door to one another with the most impressive, beach albatross, on the other side of the road on the beach. Albatross gardens and aqua blue have lovely clean, safe pool and public areas, the kids loved the slides and were able to go on them alone (aged 8 and 5). There was a wide range of food with chips, bread, salad, cakes, cooked meats, vegetables and pasta always available alongside the changing international dishes. never ate the same thing twice it was all so good. there was a dedicated children's corner and diet section. the chinese and italian restaurants were both good but again in buffet style. We ate everything includung salads, eggs, sauce and ice and none of us were ill as we'd expected in egypt and no one we spoke to had more than a mild tummy upset, but a clinic was a 5 minute walk away if we were. Drinks were branded, coca cola, sprite, fanta, gordons gin, scweppes tonic, red bull, havan rum, red label whiskey, and there to help yourself.
ALbatross gardens is the noisier of the hotels with loud music around the pool and lots of german and russian people with the ott entertainment and poor music they seem to like! However, there was no problem at all moving to any of the other hotels so there were quiet bars, entertainment (IN GERMAN MOSTLY) discos and garden games to choose from in the resort. the beach is really close, walk to it and snorkel and you see loads of fish. There was really no need to leave the resort, which is lucky as it's a half hour walk to the nearest town, unlit. if you want to see culture there are plenty of organised trips, we went to a bedoin village on a jeep at night for star gazing and dinner which was great for the kids to see, the jeeps are a rough ride for anyone younger than 4 or the infirm. the trip cost us £96 english. The egyptian men can be quite intimidating if you are a young and remotely attractive woman, they are worse if you dress provocatively, they do usually back off if you firmly say no thankyou though. We were charged £60 for visas when we arrived at the airport which we weren't aware of, the airport staff were very brusque herding us through. I addition to this charge take pound coins and some small note egyptian, there was no need to tip until the end of our hoilday apart from baggage handlers and on the trip but you feel better if you can sometimes.
We had a fantastic time, paid £1800 for the four of us which was great value, i wouldn't recommend paying over 2K though.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Me and my friend not long got back from our holiday in Hurghada, Egypt, and it was definatley worth the while. Albatros Resort was also defo a great hotel, Amazing weather, lovley people, great food, great atmosphere and just over all a perfect place to get away and relax. I have no complaints about my time spent in the hotel and i would defo return when i have the chance.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Just back from the Albatros Gardens in Hurgharda. First impressions were a really nice clean Hotel, the gardens were impressive the food was a variety of choice salads, Beef, chicken, fish, rices, cakes, sweetbreads. We thought WOW its going to be a fab holiday. After the long 5 hour flight from Manchester we had a little bit of everything then went off to bed in our lovely clean room. No complaints.
We got up next morning went for Breakfast and discovered the Salad remained the same as the previous night as did the cakes and sweet breads, the pre cooked crepes were reheated to within an inch of their life the coissants were damp. Hoisien the egg man became our morning saviour with his quick made omlettes and fried eggs.
The lunch menu consisted again of the same salad meats and cakes from the night before and the coffee like liquid tar from a 1970's drinks urn.
Moving to the evening menu and you expect that things my be different, and they were, instead of boiled potatoes you got shreaded potato, instead of Yellow rice with veg in you got whiite rice with veg in. The soup was an oxo cube with if you were lucky bits of tomato or other floating stuff in. And this remained the meals for the week, unless you ventured to the Mandarin for a chinese or the Alfredos for an italian both venues need to be pre booked the day before you wish to eat by booking through reception. Dont try to turn up at the empty restraunts without booking you will get turned away.
The Pools looked great lots of choice as to where you lay your towel. But that is where it ends the water was so cold you were awarded a medal for attempting to get in. Hence very few did. Even the kids who on every other holiday I have ever been to,normally fill the pools stayed out of the Pools here.
The beach did exist but only if you were staying at the Albatros Palace the local 5 star hotel of which you had to walk through to get to the Sea. For us mere mortals who stayed across the road you were only allowed in certain areas of the beach ususally where the rubbish was or the jettys for the diving boats. You cannot even pretend you are from the Palace as your all inclusive wrist strap are colour designated to each hotel.
The road that you must cross to get to the beach is a very busy dual carriage way and you take your life in your hands crossing it as the motorist will cross lanes to drive at you!!
So to the evening entertainement, where do I begin. To say it was the most appauling embarrasing charade is an understatement. The music backing track being played during the balance act was "Party like a [--]" and the other track contained the lyric " take your bikini off an suck on it". How did they get away with this I hear you ask because the audience contained holiday makers from Russia, Poland, Germany and other nationalities that make up eastern Europe. And they along with very small children were happy clapping away to lyrics that they obviously did not understand. The entertainment staff were fantastic if you have the mental age of about 4 years old.
So to Hurghada itself we ventured out after taking the Taxi arranged by the Hotel itself, we were told the Taxi would take us to the shopping district and drop us off at McDonalds and then pick us up from there 3 hours later. We were advised to not go into any back streets for our own safety and to keep to the shops on the main shopping promenade. We got into Hurgaharda and the Taxi driver did not take us to Mcdonalds rather he took us to a back street shop, Rameses. Where a young man opened the taxi door and harrassed and intimidated us before we eventally escaped. He knew we would have to go back there as the Taxi driver had told us he would only pick us up again from this locaion. We eventally found Mc Donalds after running the gauntlet of traders at break-neck speed you could not look into any shop without harrasment and sometime bodily being barged into the doorways of neighbouring shops. Apart from counterfit clothing / bags and seaside tat with an Egytian theme there was nothing worth seeing. And anything you do see here can be bought at the airport bazaar when you are leaving.
On to the money do not take Egytian pounds they dont want it, take your money in Euros, US Dollars or Pounds stering, if you only have Egytian pounds as we did exprect to pay more for everything.
If you want nothing more to your holiday than to sunbathe and eat repetative food this is your ideal place. Other than that if you still insist on booking Albatros Gardens - GOOD LUCK and take a pack of cards!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

just got back from beach albatross gardens and after reading mixed reviews was a bit concerned on what i would find.The hotel was spotlessly clean and i mean eveywhere from the entrance to the rooms.Everyone was helpful the meals had a good choice and even the free snack bar on the beach was clean and the food good and plentiful,plenty of good sun loungers on and off the beach.We had bottled water 24hrs a day and all free and with a fridge in the room it was lovely
If i was pushed to find something bad to say it would be no entertainment(but cabs were cheap)but you know that before you go, and you are on a flight path so some noise but not disturbing Travelled lots and this hotel is excellent for the money you pay JUST GO!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heist-op-den-Berg, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Stayed in Aqua Blu resort with a wall around 3 hotels from the albatrosgroup. You can use everything but the main restaurant is where you go for dinner. Outside between the wall you can use anything (the pools- 1 with gulfs (ask), 1 with big glidingslives, 1 very big landscape swimmingpool. Every hour there is a hotelbus to the beach (our bar there is La Plage for drinks and food). You have special restaurants everywhere. Much animation. In nov. it is at noon 40 °c (with a seabreeze ok). Luxor (ex-Thebe) 280 km and the U-boat are ok (buy the double DVD from the u-boat). They bring your lugage to your room and when you leave they bring it with a pick-up to the reception. Sometimes 1$ or 0,50 €cent makes them happy.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada

Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Hotel Hurghada
Hurghada Albatros Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.