We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Great Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada

Save Saved
You added Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada
Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 176 hotels in Hurghada
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Great Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I totally agree with the last review - all good at this resort - very large and extremely well kept. The rooms are cleaned every day and a good size. There is a wide selection of food with plenty of everything and you can eat at some of the other restaurants in the hotels which are all linked together. My kids really enjoyed their stay and the slides and kids clubs are excellent. I couldn't really find fault with this place and would definitely recommend this Hotel for a relaxing stay with amazing weather!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    35
    11
    16
    12
See reviews for
35
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lymm cheshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

We stayed in Albatross gardens which was one of about 4 in the chain all next door to one another with the most impressive, beach albatross, on the other side of the road on the beach. Albatross gardens and aqua blue have lovely clean, safe pool and public areas, the kids loved the slides and were able to go on them alone (aged 8 and 5). There was a wide range of food with chips, bread, salad, cakes, cooked meats, vegetables and pasta always available alongside the changing international dishes. never ate the same thing twice it was all so good. there was a dedicated children's corner and diet section. the chinese and italian restaurants were both good but again in buffet style. We ate everything includung salads, eggs, sauce and ice and none of us were ill as we'd expected in egypt and no one we spoke to had more than a mild tummy upset, but a clinic was a 5 minute walk away if we were. Drinks were branded, coca cola, sprite, fanta, gordons gin, scweppes tonic, red bull, havan rum, red label whiskey, and there to help yourself.
ALbatross gardens is the noisier of the hotels with loud music around the pool and lots of german and russian people with the ott entertainment and poor music they seem to like! However, there was no problem at all moving to any of the other hotels so there were quiet bars, entertainment (IN GERMAN MOSTLY) discos and garden games to choose from in the resort. the beach is really close, walk to it and snorkel and you see loads of fish. There was really no need to leave the resort, which is lucky as it's a half hour walk to the nearest town, unlit. if you want to see culture there are plenty of organised trips, we went to a bedoin village on a jeep at night for star gazing and dinner which was great for the kids to see, the jeeps are a rough ride for anyone younger than 4 or the infirm. the trip cost us £96 english. The egyptian men can be quite intimidating if you are a young and remotely attractive woman, they are worse if you dress provocatively, they do usually back off if you firmly say no thankyou though. We were charged £60 for visas when we arrived at the airport which we weren't aware of, the airport staff were very brusque herding us through. I addition to this charge take pound coins and some small note egyptian, there was no need to tip until the end of our hoilday apart from baggage handlers and on the trip but you feel better if you can sometimes.
We had a fantastic time, paid £1800 for the four of us which was great value, i wouldn't recommend paying over 2K though.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Me and my friend not long got back from our holiday in Hurghada, Egypt, and it was definatley worth the while. Albatros Resort was also defo a great hotel, Amazing weather, lovley people, great food, great atmosphere and just over all a perfect place to get away and relax. I have no complaints about my time spent in the hotel and i would defo return when i have the chance.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Just back from the Albatros Gardens in Hurgharda. First impressions were a really nice clean Hotel, the gardens were impressive the food was a variety of choice salads, Beef, chicken, fish, rices, cakes, sweetbreads. We thought WOW its going to be a fab holiday. After the long 5 hour flight from Manchester we had a little bit of everything then went off to bed in our lovely clean room. No complaints.
We got up next morning went for Breakfast and discovered the Salad remained the same as the previous night as did the cakes and sweet breads, the pre cooked crepes were reheated to within an inch of their life the coissants were damp. Hoisien the egg man became our morning saviour with his quick made omlettes and fried eggs.
The lunch menu consisted again of the same salad meats and cakes from the night before and the coffee like liquid tar from a 1970's drinks urn.
Moving to the evening menu and you expect that things my be different, and they were, instead of boiled potatoes you got shreaded potato, instead of Yellow rice with veg in you got whiite rice with veg in. The soup was an oxo cube with if you were lucky bits of tomato or other floating stuff in. And this remained the meals for the week, unless you ventured to the Mandarin for a chinese or the Alfredos for an italian both venues need to be pre booked the day before you wish to eat by booking through reception. Dont try to turn up at the empty restraunts without booking you will get turned away.
The Pools looked great lots of choice as to where you lay your towel. But that is where it ends the water was so cold you were awarded a medal for attempting to get in. Hence very few did. Even the kids who on every other holiday I have ever been to,normally fill the pools stayed out of the Pools here.
The beach did exist but only if you were staying at the Albatros Palace the local 5 star hotel of which you had to walk through to get to the Sea. For us mere mortals who stayed across the road you were only allowed in certain areas of the beach ususally where the rubbish was or the jettys for the diving boats. You cannot even pretend you are from the Palace as your all inclusive wrist strap are colour designated to each hotel.
The road that you must cross to get to the beach is a very busy dual carriage way and you take your life in your hands crossing it as the motorist will cross lanes to drive at you!!
So to the evening entertainement, where do I begin. To say it was the most appauling embarrasing charade is an understatement. The music backing track being played during the balance act was "Party like a [--]" and the other track contained the lyric " take your bikini off an suck on it". How did they get away with this I hear you ask because the audience contained holiday makers from Russia, Poland, Germany and other nationalities that make up eastern Europe. And they along with very small children were happy clapping away to lyrics that they obviously did not understand. The entertainment staff were fantastic if you have the mental age of about 4 years old.
So to Hurghada itself we ventured out after taking the Taxi arranged by the Hotel itself, we were told the Taxi would take us to the shopping district and drop us off at McDonalds and then pick us up from there 3 hours later. We were advised to not go into any back streets for our own safety and to keep to the shops on the main shopping promenade. We got into Hurgaharda and the Taxi driver did not take us to Mcdonalds rather he took us to a back street shop, Rameses. Where a young man opened the taxi door and harrassed and intimidated us before we eventally escaped. He knew we would have to go back there as the Taxi driver had told us he would only pick us up again from this locaion. We eventally found Mc Donalds after running the gauntlet of traders at break-neck speed you could not look into any shop without harrasment and sometime bodily being barged into the doorways of neighbouring shops. Apart from counterfit clothing / bags and seaside tat with an Egytian theme there was nothing worth seeing. And anything you do see here can be bought at the airport bazaar when you are leaving.
On to the money do not take Egytian pounds they dont want it, take your money in Euros, US Dollars or Pounds stering, if you only have Egytian pounds as we did exprect to pay more for everything.
If you want nothing more to your holiday than to sunbathe and eat repetative food this is your ideal place. Other than that if you still insist on booking Albatros Gardens - GOOD LUCK and take a pack of cards!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

just got back from beach albatross gardens and after reading mixed reviews was a bit concerned on what i would find.The hotel was spotlessly clean and i mean eveywhere from the entrance to the rooms.Everyone was helpful the meals had a good choice and even the free snack bar on the beach was clean and the food good and plentiful,plenty of good sun loungers on and off the beach.We had bottled water 24hrs a day and all free and with a fridge in the room it was lovely
If i was pushed to find something bad to say it would be no entertainment(but cabs were cheap)but you know that before you go, and you are on a flight path so some noise but not disturbing Travelled lots and this hotel is excellent for the money you pay JUST GO!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heist-op-den-Berg, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Stayed in Aqua Blu resort with a wall around 3 hotels from the albatrosgroup. You can use everything but the main restaurant is where you go for dinner. Outside between the wall you can use anything (the pools- 1 with gulfs (ask), 1 with big glidingslives, 1 very big landscape swimmingpool. Every hour there is a hotelbus to the beach (our bar there is La Plage for drinks and food). You have special restaurants everywhere. Much animation. In nov. it is at noon 40 °c (with a seabreeze ok). Luxor (ex-Thebe) 280 km and the U-boat are ok (buy the double DVD from the u-boat). They bring your lugage to your room and when you leave they bring it with a pick-up to the reception. Sometimes 1$ or 0,50 €cent makes them happy.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll Scotland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

I am just back from a two week holiday in Egypt, my first time there.
Ceratinly won't be my last!
We arrived at the beach garden, which is only a very short distance from the airport, one of the resorts selling points for us was that it had great flumes/water slides, we could actually see them as we were flying over,
It was comforting to see that we had security on the entrance to the hotel.
Check in was smooth, we were escorted to our rooms,shortly after our arrival our helper who would be looking after our room, arrived to greet us and told us that he would be cleaning our room for the next two weeks.
We had a spacious room, with a single and a large queen sized bed, plenty of hanging space and storeage a balcony, colour t.v, a fridge, air conditioning, en suite, with shower.
We got clean towels every day and our room was always clean when we returned, from a hard days sunbathing.
We had the use of the resorts other two hotels, Aqua Blu, and Aqua Vista, so we had plenty of scope, and never got bored, there were so many pools we tried them all on different days.
There was plenty to do, every day, there was volley ball, aqua aroebics, water polo, football, all organised by the animation team, a lovely enthusiastic team of young people.
On site there was tennis, table tennis and also available from the animation boxes, dotted around the pools, were games, scrabble, and pool floats available for a small returnable deposit .
The resort was without doubt THE cleanest I have ever stayed at, I was totally amazed by the standards, I can't stress this enough, really has to be seen to be believed.
The food was excellent, a great choice every day and all fresh produce, the drinks were also good, real coke, fanta, sprite all on draft, ready for you just help yourself, there were huge fridges on site totally stocked to capacity with fresh bottled water, you could have as many as you wanted, so in the morning, you could just grab as many bottles as you needed, also the bottles were sealed with a vacum seal over the lid.
I see it says above on "tips for writing a great review" say what you liked best and least. there is only ONE thing I can think of on this holiday that I dodn't like and that was the Vodka, in a word, "YUK!" It was undrinkable, I even noticed the Polish and Russians were drinking rum!!
Worthy of mention are the spa treatments, which I had several, pedicure, facial and massage, excellent and all on site, don't forget the prices they first quote you are negotiable, they expect you to haggle.
I would recommend Egyppt and in pafticular this resort to anyone, and plan to go back a.s.a.p.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada

Also Known As:
Albatros Hotel Hurghada
Hurghada Albatros Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.