We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, poor service!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada to your Saves list
Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada
Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average hotel, poor service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Firstly Albatros Resort comprises of several different hotels. We stayed at the Albatros garden resort, which appears to be the poor relative of the Albatros beach and palace hotels, which we were told we could use the facilites of before we bought the all-inclusive, to find out later we would be shoo'ed away from their slides, pontoon and soft drinks machine. There is a segregated bit of beach on the edge of the hotels land which is allocated to Albatros beach which is ok but still..... we were lied to regarding use of the facilities.

When we stayed the whole place was overrun with Russian guests who seem to eat, drink, sleep all at the same time so that if you tried to eat when the restaurants first opened you had to fight for food. This was not a pleasant experience so we chose to eat later only to find that the hotel staff wanted to finish their shift an hour early each day and cordoned off areas of the restaurants for late comers to sit in!. Everytime we went to eat at dinner we had to search for cutlery and a clean table to sit at. This is not what we are used to! So we complained, the restaurant staff laughed and the reception manager did'nt believe us.

Other than this the hotel was clean and the public areas well kept and well provided for. We had booked a one bedroom appartment but (due to traveller changes) emailed to ask if we could upgrade to a two bedroomed appartment. This was done free of charge and without any fuss!. The rooms were tierd but had everything we needed (except a balcony!) but hey you can't have it all! Please be prepared that the all inclusive option is not really optional at all, the 'kitchen' consists of a fridge-freezer and a sink with a few cabinets. There are no restaurants or supermarkets within a 15 minute taxi drive. So you need to buy the AI, although it is decent value at ~ £20 per person per day. The included drinks are not to european standard and don't expect to be able to drink the wine or spirits, the beer, apparently is very 'refreshing' (read watery!). All drinks, unless you sulk, are served in 100ml flimsy plastic cups, requiring multiple trips to the bars to queue up again!! The only good place to drink was the coffee shop where they even serve 'English' tea.

The pools were lovely with lots to choose from and we even found a non-activity pool, although some people chose to ignore this sign and continued to send their children flying through the air, screeming repeatedly.

The facilites for those with young children appeared excellent, there were multiple, good quality playgrounds, large water slides and specific childrens pools with aqua play equipment. Would probably be ideal for people with little children.

Whilst you are trying to relax around the pool you will be accosted by multiple touts trying to sell you manicures, snorkelling trips, massages, safari's etc. We went on 3 of them and appart from the safari, which my daughter went on and appeared ok, I would not reccomend them. We paid for deep sea fishing, which ended up being reef fishing with a bunch of kids and them my being manhandled by the captain of the ship whilst I was trying to snorkel! Another trip '4 island snorkelling' trip was better, until they took us to a beach and abandoned us there, for 1 hour with no shade in 40 degree heat! There were shades available but these were not included in our trip! Don't agree to the pedicures, we were led to a filthy, dingy, tiny room full of Egyptian men, I left feeling I had been exposed to some blood-borne disease!

Overall the hotel is fine, but unless you enjoy a school canteen type dinner service, being hassled around the pool to spend yet more money or have a penchant for watery beer, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Just ask, the reception staff seem quite happy to provide decent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    36
    13
    15
    12
See reviews for
43
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

A valuable resort for a Family with children trip.. we have a time share there and we enjoyed our vacations many times in this wonderful place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

After reading mixed reviews we were a bit worried about what we would find. We stayed for two weeks and had one of the best holidays of our lives. The Hotel was clean and spacious whith endless supplies of pools and some form of entertainment happening at all times. Particular praise goes to Emily from the entertainment team who was very plesant. The staff were all egar to please always asking if we were ok and if they could do anything for us. The food across the bord was good although mainly geared up for the russians and germans. The room was large and cool with plenty of storage space and a nice view of the surrounding gardens. We had a few spar treatments whilst there which after haggling were well priced and we had a great time. The water slides were great fun and well manged by the staff.
Our only problems we experinced were the staff trying to sell excersions. They could be a bit full on at times but we found that if you said a firm no they left you alone for the rest of the holiday. ( avoid the 4 islands tour as this is a comple lie there is only 1 island they just take you to diffrent areas on it)
The russian guest we found to be very rude to the staff and treated them like slaves, as a result the staff favoured the english and we found we got much better service than the russians.
We really enjoyed our time there and were very dissapointed to leave And would deffiantly return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

With reguards to the previous review, this is egypt not the UK things will be different!
We thoroughly enjoyed this holiday and would recomend staying at this hotel.

Rooms:
The rooms were of a good standard, just what you would usually expect on holiday. We came back to the room every day and the housekeepers had made our blankets into various animals, it kept us very entertained. We found the air con controlls pretty confusing and had difficulty gettting the room cold but once we figured it out we knew what to do. The shower was fine, not up to british standards perhaps but we were in africa! I would be surprised NOT to find a lizard on my balcony in july in egypt.

Food:
The food was of a good standard but was aimed towards the germans we feel. For a week the choice of food was fine but i feel after two weeks it may have got repetative. I have a gluten allergy and struggled to find things to eat as they didnt understand what this ment, so i mostly ate rice and salad, luckily i had taked snacks in my case. We went to the chinese resteraunt which was much of the same but nice food. Pool snacks were limited so we went to the perade of shops to stock up on ice creams, crisps and chocolate.

The holel had a great atmosphere, it was livley without being overbearing. It was very family orientated and there was plenty of other kids. There wernt many english people, the majority being german, russian and french, but there was still english familys to talk to if you made the effort, which we did and really enjoyed thier company.

We took a trip to luxor, we visited the valley of the kings and various temples. It was a 4 hour drive to luxor with only a german comentary (my only complaint of the day!) , but well worth it. When they say it will be hot, there not lying! It was just like opening an oven door, so take plenty of the free water from the hotel. Everywhere you go in egypt you feel obliged to tip, but luxor seemed much worse, so take plenty of small change. All in all an unmisable trip.

Overall great holiday, amazing weather (every day very warm!) and a very realaxing time!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Great = pools, local food, use of Aqu Blue hotel (better pools inc wavemachine, snacks - Pizza is yummy, meals and service)
Ok = beach and coral
Rubbish =
1)The 'pool view' extra is not a pool view even after complaining, packing up again and moving. When being moved I over heard another person complaining about the same thing.
2) plumbing (both rooms had repeated problems. The whole place is smelly in the evening from 'gray' water used for 'firtilizing' the gardens. Fixings in bathroom broken.
3) Organisation on arrival is a 'bun fight'. Just what you need with kids when you are arriving at 10 at night. unclear if we would be able to get food as the restaurant was closed.
4) Deadly road needs to be crossed to get, eventually, to the beach, where there is no chance of getting a sunbed. (This was high season).
5) You need to get up at 7am (which equates to 5am UK time) to get a set of 4 sun loungers together.
6) Your kids will only go to the kids activities if they understand German in other words it might as well not be there. Same for the 'entertainment'.
7) There is a Hotel and Institute management college as part of this hotel - I can only assume they use the trainees. Some were lovely and great with the kids and some completely surly. You have to play hunt down a spoon each morning.
8) Diet coke is rarely available, coke runs out and I ended up drinking soda from the machine. Bar snack is last night's uneaten meat in a roll.
9) Being asked each day several time why I did not want to do scoober, then safari, then massage, then shopping trip, then submarine trip. I want to relax not suffer pressure selling.
10) The pools need maintenance. There are cracks and lumps in the liners, the in lets are cracked or missing and the 'slope' entrance has the ablity to graise kids feet. The waterslides are for 10 years plus. We went down twice - first time fine second time the person in front got stuck. this then caused a pile up which resulted in us getting rammed in the back by people behind us and about 8 of us comming out the end in a painful plunge. No one hurt but so.meone could have been. No one was messing about, all had left reasonable time gaps but there was no way of knowing of the blockage. So don't go if you want the slides or the beach or the ent or the kids club.
11) TV is very fuzzy and very limited. one channel is An american kids' sunday school while the other is all about near death accidents. Fab for keeping the kids happy -NOT.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Hotel - ALBATROS GARDENS

Firstly, when we arrived the stench of raw sewage which will only make you gag is a good indicator that you are close to this hotel. They use what you put in your toilet to water the gardens every day all day! We were made to wait at check-in for around an hour then taken to our rooms as we held our breath from the stink.

ROOMS -
The rooms are basic, but clean, after a few nights in the slabs of concrete they call 'beds' I started to get back pains, and the bag of house bricks which they call 'pillows' only add to the discomfort. There are 3 English channels on the fuzzy T.V, but if you want to hear the sound you better switch off the Air Conditioner. We found in total 5 large cockroaches in the room and lizards on the balcony. One of our 3 rooms had an even worse stench than the gardens, it smelt like a gallon of gone off milk has been spilt in the room - Horrible! I can honestly say I have has the worst shower experience in my life at this hotel, the temperature is uncontrollable, every 15 seconds the shower rapidly turns from ice cold to scolding hot, you have around 3 seconds of normal temperature before it changes again. Their is a luxury of choosing if you want the shower to come out in a dribble or a fine mist.

LOCALS -
We have come to the conclusion that the cleaner does not get paid, instead, relies on tips! It is unbelievable how many times he will come into your room without knocking and repeatedly saying 'it's good?' while pointing at the bed you are lay in. The cleaner fancied my girlfriend and would walk in when it was only her in the room and try to hug her and make small talk. All Egyptian men in and around the resort are all perverts and don't care if you are eye balling them while they stare at you girlfriends legs, they are pathetic. If you get a taxi anywhere, prepare to get conned, if they try saying you paid them too much just get out and go, they are trying to con you with another currency. You can haggle them down to 20 Egyptian Pounds for a taxi.

FOOD -
Now onto the food... frankly, the worst thing about the holiday was the food. Same slop day in day out. Out of the 6 of our party, 5 became ill in varied degrees. The worst was my fathers, 6 days of unbearable stomach cramps and a few sleepless nights. I was ill for 3 days and my girlfriend for 4. Thank god for the McDonald's at the shopping centre. I must admit, the pizza from the Italian restaurant was very nice even though it was about a 6 inch pizza. STAY AWAY FROM EGGPLANT - This WILL make you ill, it is what my father ate.

ENTERTAINMENT -
You will struggle to find a sun lounger after 9.00 as it is a shared resort other hotels come to our pools because of the water slides, I suggest going to their pools which are much better. The hotel...no... Hughada is full of Russians, Germans and the French. So get ready to be lonely unless you are multi-lingual. Entertainment is only in their languages. The hotel singer was an absolute joke! He sings the same songs from the same CD every night of his life and does not get any better! You will be hassled constantly as they let people walk around the hotel selling false promises of all inclusive snorkling boat trips - don't be fooled, you get 2 free drinks on the boat!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I totally agree with the last review - all good at this resort - very large and extremely well kept. The rooms are cleaned every day and a good size. There is a wide selection of food with plenty of everything and you can eat at some of the other restaurants in the hotels which are all linked together. My kids really enjoyed their stay and the slides and kids clubs are excellent. I couldn't really find fault with this place and would definitely recommend this Hotel for a relaxing stay with amazing weather!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada

Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Hotel Hurghada
Hurghada Albatros Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.