We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Holiday” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden 5 Paradise Resort

Save Saved
You added Golden 5 Paradise Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden 5 Paradise Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hurghada Shahl Hasheesh road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 181 hotels in Hurghada
Egypt
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible Holiday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have visited Sharm El Shiekh and Hurghada twice or three times per year for the past 13 years , each time in different resort almost ..... and i can say it clearly this hotel was the worst ever .
Starting with the room : old bad furniture , Air condition don't work in most of rooms , the refrigerators dont work at all , the bathroom is not clean , the available materials are of very bad quality .
We are astonished that the electricity was cut off then we discovered it's a daily habit that can prolonged for many hours in contrast to the surrounding hotels because the managerial board dont want to buy new emergency generators !!!! you can feel by yourself how is the situation without light or AC in 40 c temperature .
The staff is very bad and rude with guests , they are always grouchy and shouting .
our towels were stolen while we are in the pool and when we asked the area manager , he simply replied that they were stolen , you have to pay the fine ... then we discovered that we are not the only case and it happens regularly everyday !!!
The food was very bad and the same types everyday . the drinks were of so limited amount , i couldn't even find a cola , and if you are lucky you'll get it hot !!! no hot milk ever ... sometimes we didnt find water for drinking and we had to shout and threaten to make an official complaint so they bring bottles for us .

I cant find any explain for rating that hell by 5 stars ... it deserves 2 stars maximally

In General , it was a week in hell .... so if you want to spend a relaxed amazing holiday , go away from that hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    57
    35
    38
    60
See reviews for
74
38
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Bad service. VERY rude people and management. Most unfriendly place I've ever been to.
Terribly organized and chaotic. Food was not the best. Fancy name, but a maximum three star hotel.
Beach is mediocre and it was hard to get a beach chair. Guests are rude (especially the Russians, but they seem to be rude anywhere) and the resort was way too big.
My worst Resort experience :o(

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Hotel is rated as 5 stars, however, I can never believe it's anything more than 3 stars. Rooms are dirty as it's very clear the hotel requires complete rennovation, pool is small and not interesting at all, you are eligible for towels once per day, if you wanna change them staff will simply reply it's not allowed !!!!!!!!!
No food variety for any meals, and quality of food is terrible, I got severe stomache problems on my 2nd day, even juices are of the lowest grade, the only good thing was pepsi by the pool.

Staff were nice and helpful, however, they have no tools to satisfy customers as the hotel really requires complete refurbishment.

Beach is poor, sands are full of stones even in the volleyball court. Sea itself has alot of stones.

I would definetely recommend you not to visit this hotel at all

Room Tip: don't choose any room, just choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I went to Golden 5 Hotel and loved it! The staff was frendly and helpful , there are shops in the hotel so you don't even need to leave the hotel territory to buy things. The food was good and you could choose a diffrent place to eat every night , example : first dinner is the usual dinner served in hotel, second dinner you choose to be russian kitchen , third dinner at turkish kitchen and so on .... So every dinner time we had at that hotel was new and intresting. All you had to do was to book it the day before ,at 10.00 till 12.00 near the reception. The beach was clean and there was free belly dancing lessons ,water arobics and so on. The beach resturant ''Sea Rock'' had really good food and it was at the beach so you dont have to walk all the way to the hotel from the beach to eat. The Aqua Park was lovely and the pools were clean and nice. The hotel had a disco every night! One thing that was annoying were the russian tourists that screamed at the staff and got too drunk, but that is not the hotels fault. The room we had was lovely, it had a bath and the beds were comfortable. I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

i went there even though i read the comments, and i was treated very nice, staff were helpful to help me with places to go and they hleped me and my girlfriends to try other restaurants in the golden five, the russian at sapphire was really nice and different. i understand the hotel is bit old, but really it is not bad a at all, we had a value for money vacation. we had the best time on the beach, nice and clean

Room Tip: Try the fourth floor left wing with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

we went to this hotel last summer, the hotel have good facilities but no maintenance at all. rooms are spacious but the furniture is old , air conditioning wasn't working properly , food wasn't delicious. bottom line not the best hotel in hurghada

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

i was at Emerald (golden 5 City) Hurghada it was the worst choice ever it have dirty pool (aqua pool), bad foods we became sick from there food although there was no choices in food types........
any way all my family went to doctor after we came back......
about the guests they have low standard guests.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden 5 Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden 5 Paradise Resort

Address: Hurghada Shahl Hasheesh road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#74 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden 5 Paradise Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Category: 5 Stars Check in :14.00 Check out :12.00 Location:At the center of Golden 5 city, viewing the dancing fountain ,and the main swimming pool & the beautiful scenery of the city green landscape and sea. Staying at Paradise you will feel the luxurious and comfortable life with following the route of the cable car to the beach while passing by the trifle connected swimming pool.Accommodation:466 rooms including 12 family rooms (1 terrace/balcony, 2 bedrooms , 1 kitchen, 1 bathroom)4 junior suites 2 senior suites 2 Presidential suites ,Annex buildings 2 floors L shape and Andalusia building Most rooms and suites have balcony, equipped with:satellite- TV & radio, individual adjustable air condition .Bathrooms feature bathtub , weighting scale, telephone , Hairdryer, Minibar, safe box, daily clean linen & electricity:AC 220 volts Restaurants/Bars:Restaurants:"Red Sea" main restaurant Cuisine International Serving :Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner German a'la carte restaurant Bars:"Day and Night" coffee-shop Cuisine: International snacks & beverages Hours: 24-hours Billiard bar (All Inclusive)Cuisine: snacks & beverages Hours: 10.00 am - 02:00 am Piano Bar (charged as per consumption ):Cuisine : International Hours: 05:00 pm - 02:00 am Pool bar (All inclusive) :Cuisine: snacks & beverages Hours: 10:00 am - sunset Russian Restaurant , 80 seats Cuisine: Typical Russian Hours: Dinner, 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm Services & Facilities:24-hour room service 24-hour concierge , Laundry service: charged as per consumption , price list available in the room pm Conferences Facility:Paradise conference room:capacity of 300 persons , Paradise VIPs Lounge: 150 seats.Internet cafe Limousine service, Beauty salon ,Lobby shops -On request doctor ,Tour & travel desk .Babysitting on request ,Pets: are not allowed Pharmacy Supermarket ,Safe box available at the reception .Recreational/ Leisure Facilities:Main swimming pool (not heated)Aqua Park Golden 5:daily from 9:00 am - sun set- Free for all guest of Golden 5 city hotels including- 5 slides,- 1 heated swimming pool,- 3 heated pools for children with slides ,- Sandy area for children with slides,- 2 all inclusive bars.Discotheque "Night Flight": (free entrance , charged drinks)- 09:00 pm - 11 :00 pm for children- 11 :00 pm - 03:00 am for adults. Yacht marina Beach: 1000 meters smooth sandy beach , umbrellas ,mattresses, chaise-longue, towels - all are freeWater & Beach sport center:- windsurfing- snorkeling- boat excursions- Horse riding center (against charge)- Beach Volley Ball (free of Charge)- Para-sailing Diving center (charged):- Daily: 09:00 am - 05:00 pm ,Health club: Free of charge gymnastic; massage , Jacuzzi ,sauna, steam room are charged Dancing fountain daily show: 09:00 - 09:30 pm.Motorized train: free of charge: 09.00 am till 05.00 pm every 45 min.Tennis courts, Table tennis , billiard , chess court, mini golf,bicycle & motorbike hiring, and(for more info,please contact our receptionist)Kids club with animation , swimming pool, andbaby sitting on request- Morning: 10:00 am - 01:00 pm- Afternoon: 03:00 pm - 05:00pm• Languages: English, German, Russian, French• Parking: Private car park available , free of charge• Currency: EGP, Euro, USD• Credit Cards: MasterCard , Visa Card ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Golden 5 Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Golden 5 Hotel And Beach Resort
Paradise Golden 5 Hotel & Beach Hurghada
Paradise Golden 5 Resort Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden 5 Paradise Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.