We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siva Grand Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hurghada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
Save Saved
You added Siva Grand Beach Hotel to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   The Corniche | 8km to Downtown Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 183 hotels in Hurghada
North Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Returned from a 2 week holiday in the Siva Grand beach on March 1st. We had a really pleasant holiday and the weather was great for a break this time of year but it was very windy for the first 3 - 4 days. While the hotel could do with a bit of TLC, as it is a little shabby in certain areas, the staff are outstanding. Special mentions as follows, the hotel food and drink manager although I can't recall his name. My wife has an allergy to shellfish and we noticed that in all of the restaurants they were cooking prawns and meats on the same griddle. Once this was pointed out he introduced a second grill section for seafood only, thank you very much.
Best waiter in Shams reastaurant (the downstairs one) is Waled Mohammed, very attentive and had drinks waiting for us. We ordered once (one beer, one rose, one red and two waters) and he remembered the correct drinks every time.
Star of the hotel though is Ramadan, the bar tender in the cocktail bar half way up the stairs. From the first night when he waved us in he was pleasant, charming and witty, a real gem who was genuinely pleased to see us each evening, well done and thank you Ramadan.
We found drinks good and there was always a good selection of food especially at lunchtime. The Oasis restaurant has the usual soup and salad starters plus 2 meat and one fish selection but on top there is a Moroccan section, and Indian section, a chinese section, a pasta section plus a vegetarian pastry section. In addition to this you can have burgers, hotdogs or freshly baked pizza from the pool area, I dare anyone to go hungry.
One disappointment was the total lack of coral in the sea in front of the hotel. We went to Makadi Bay 18 months ago and were spoiled so unfortuantely we will not be going back to the Siva but thank you for a lovely break this time.

Room Tip: If you can, stay in one of the bungalow type buildings where the right hand side room on the top has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    407
    342
    110
    60
    20
See reviews for
199
466
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holland-on-Sea, Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. We had upgraded to a junior suite which was very spacious, bed very comfortable, but the bathroom was a bit tired looking and could do with a bit of TLC. Grounds are very pretty and well kept leading on to the beach where there were plenty of beds. Sea was very safe to swim in. The food in the main restaurants we found very average but there were stations in the gardens providing waffles, pizzas, burgers/hot dogs, crepes so there was plenty of choice. Staff were really nice and the alcohol content of the drinks was very generous. There were plenty of trips to go on and our Red Sea Holidays rep we found to be very helpful. Would be very happy to go back to this hotel. It is a nice touch that they provide a beach bag as well as beach towels.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top 2 floors have a much better view and you need a room on the right side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanderstead
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in February 2013 a cheap deal from Travel zoo . Well we had a fantastic holiday food excellent and staff could not be more helpful. It exceeded our expectations considering the price we paid. Plenty of sunbeds on the beach and around the pool no reserving necessary! The manager of food and beverages was certainly on the ball constantly asking our opinoins and if we had any issues. In the week we stayed you saw him around the hotel at least 4 times a day. Would highly reccomend this hotel and will go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

First of all well done Travel Zoo and Voyager Travel Direct for a great holiday package to The Siva Grand run by Red Sea Holidays. Flights by Monarch Airlines were great with good inflight hot meals provided. Transfers from Hurghada Airport approx. 10 mins to hotel. Check-in also appox 10 mins. First impression of Junior suite room no 329 was lovely, good size, clean and amazing view, room situated directly centre of building catching the sun from morning until late afternoon. Restaurants, two main buffet style on ground floor and first floor serving same food just slightly different opening and closing times, for breakfast and evening meals. Unfortunately food not as wide a choice or variety as have experienced in other hotels but sufficient. We found the only all inclusive drinks likeable were the white wine and water! A good tip would be to bring your own tea bags if you like a good cuppa in the morning with breakfast, Egyptian tea bags are a bit like saw dust! The best thing about the hotel was definitely the staff, very hard working, polite and they like it when you try to speak a little Arabic! Have to give a special mention to little Ahmed who clears the tables, Mahmoud the excellent chef in first floor restaurant and Mohamed Zidan who looked after us in the beach restaurant Oasis. Overall the holiday was great, lovely sunshine and hot weather for February, the beach was not crowded and sunbeds very comfortable with privacy screens made from wicker. One thing to be aware of is the taxi's outside waiting on the road just infront of the hotel....don't use them!!!! They want to charge you 50EP to go to Hurghada town when it should be 25EP!!! My tip...stay in the hotel and relax unless you relish a challenge and lots of hassle, don't get me wrong I love Egypt and Egyptians, this is my 10th visit to the country but they do love to hassle outside the hotels to the point it drives you back into the sanctuary of your hotel and grounds!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I spent this holiday with a friend - -returning from a week long stay just yesterday (1st March)
I have been to Hurghada a few times - but this is the best hotel I have stayed in. Ok so the first impressions of the room was that the decor was a little tired but it was spotlessly clean (I even checked under the bed!)
But given that the bedroom is the place that you spent least time that was fine. The bed was very VERY comfy. The grounds were just stunning! The pool area got very noisy at lunchtime with the Animation team but we were on the beach and couldnt hear it so no bother. The beach was clean, the water was clear as crystal and there was always a beach bed even though the hotel was busy.
The food was varied and very tasty. Breakfast and dinner was available in the two restaurants inside the hotel, lunch was in the Oasis restaurant near the beach. Always the food was plentiful and hot. The waiters were efficient and attentive and knew exactly how to react with the guests. We spent our breakfast and evenings in the Amar restaurant on the first floor. We struck up some lasting friendships and I cant wait to go back again. One waiter even risked the wrath of his manager by arranging for me to have the Egyptian breakfast speciality Foul (beans - pronounced foooul) on the last two days. As I walked in you could hear him call to the chef and out came the little frying pan :) Yum yum. Apparently the regular guests dont like this dish so it isnt on the regular breakfast menu. I could go on here for ages about the hotel and the staff. But try it for yourself and see - -you wont be disappointed. I even enjoyed most of the evening entertainment which is something I usually avoid like the plague! Outside the hotel is the Siva pub / cafe (owned by the hotel but not in the all inlclusive price) - which has widescreen sport but it isnt in your face so you can still sit there and relax and watch the world go by. If you go there say Hello to Abdul - a very charming gentleman indeed. In brief - if you want sun, sand, sea and relaxation in a beautiful surroundings for a reasonable all inclusive price then this is the place to go!

Room Tip: Dont worry about the rooms location as the bar in the terrace / pool area closes by midnight so ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Not long back from a weeks stay at the Siva. Had a good flight and arrived expecting something acceptable. This hotel far exceeded our expectations. From the first sight of the place it looked good, we wondered if we had got off the coach at the wrong hotel.
The check in at reception was quick and efficient. The room for my son and I was very clean and all rooms overlooked the pool. ( hotel from reception is horse shoe shaped and all rooms are on the inside ) the beds were very comfortable and the pillows were good. Not at all noisy, we slept very well.
The all inclusive food and bars were very good quality and on the second day we kept finding out more about the facilities etc available. It seemed like the hotel that just ' kept on giving'
The pool area is excellent and the self contained beach was very quiet and comfortable.
All of the staff from the pool cleaners to the management were excellent.
Basically, we could not have found anything to complain about from start to finish, even if we tried.

Room Tip: I would think the only preference would be whether you wanted ground floor or an upper floor. Though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just arrived home from a great relaxing holiday at the siva grand. Weather was good and the hotel lived up to our expectations. Although it needs a lick of paint here and there,that was our only negative comment. The food in the hotel was really good and a great variety of dishes to choose from. There are several different places to eat in the hotels extensive grounds. The staff were brilliant and always ready for a laugh and joke with you. I will certainly contemplate returning for another holiday

Room Tip: Pay for a junior suite. We had one with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siva Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siva Grand Beach Hotel

Address: The Corniche | 8km to Downtown Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#26 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siva Grand Beach Hotel 4.5*
Also Known As:
Hotel Siva Grand Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siva Grand Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.