We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good winter break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siva Grand Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hurghada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
Save Saved
You added Siva Grand Beach Hotel to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   The Corniche | 8km to Downtown Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 180 Hotels in Hurghada
Northampton, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A good winter break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Saw a late deal for the Siva and it was too good to miss with England being so cold and grey, the deal was for one week but being retired now we decided to extend it to two weeks and make the most of a bit of winter sun.

As there were so many on our flight going to the same hotel, which incidentally is less than ten minutes from the airport, we envisaged a long wait to check in but surprisingly everyone was checked in within a few minutes very efficiently, the reception/ foyer area on first view seemed very impressive as did the approach to the hotel itself which still had illuminated Christmas and New Year displays outside so we were sure we were going to have a good time in a nice hotel.

Our room was a junior suite on the 4th floor, room numbers are a little confusing insofar that rooms beginning with a 4 are on level 3 when you get into the lift but you quickly get used to it. Our room was spacious with a giant bed and two cane chairs and a cane sofa as well as a T V and plenty of storage for clothes, there is also a safe which is free to use. The balcony gave us a view over the grounds and pool looking towards the sea. The bathroom had everything we needed but was showing its age a bit the tiling looked decidedly scruffy and needed all the grout cleaning or replacing but it wasn't dirty just as I said a bit scruffy.

After rapidly unpacking we went down for dinner, there are two restaurants serving dinner we always used Shams but I believe the food is the same in both, the chairs are all cane chairs with cushions and while they are comfortable again they were showing their age. As normal these days it was a self serve buffet and my impressions were one of the better ones I've seen although both my wife and I thought the standard dropped a little during our second week, but we never went hungry and only spoke to one or two people who had a stomach problem and one of those knew they had a problem before they left home. Breakfast is also taken in these restaurants and a light breakfast is also available at the terrace bar which I have to say was mostly frequented by the smokers as smoking isn't allowed in the indoor restaurants, a great improvement for Egypt in my opinion. Lunch is available in the Oasis restaurant near the beach which again is a buffet style and there is also a pizza bar, crepe bar, waffle bar and burger bar where salad and chips are also available. Most of the bars have drinks dispensers for your own use to help yourself to coffee soft drinks, beer and wine and the waiters around the pool area are very good bringing you drinks, special mention to Ahmed who looked after us well.

The only public lounge in the hotel is the foyer which is large and on two levels with a mezzanine verandah running around one side, there are four bars (one of which is a pay bar) the waiters there deserve a special mention constantly moving furniture so guests can sit together and often bringing drink refills just before you finish your previous one, special mention also for Essam who was very good.Wifi is also available in this area but with what seems like every one these days having either a smart phone or tablet you need to pick a quiet time if you need to get online otherwise so many people are using the wifi you simply don't get a connection. Being January while we were there the evening entertainment also took place there, i suspect most of the year it takes place outside near the pool, what we saw was quite good for hotel entertainment but the problem was that the performance area was surrounded by comfortable sofas and chairs with a maximum seating capacity of I guess about 30 - 40 in a hotel with over 500 rooms, I would have thought smaller chairs and tables set out in a similar manner to say a cabaret club would allow more people to enjoy the shows.

There is a private beach with lots of umbrellas sun beds and windbreaks (Hurghada is notoriously windy) it may be natural but felt more like something out of a bag from B&Q to us. there is also a small concrete jetty near the beach going out maybe 30-40metres into the sea and from the end you can see some fish quite clearly without getting your feet wet some friends we met there went snorkeling around this jetty and said there was a good assortment of marine life to see, this jetty has tables and chairs and is a nice spot late afternoon to watch the sun go down with a glass of beer or wine. But we are pool people rather than beach people, the pool is quite large and has a swim up bar, there are also lots of sun beds available and being January we had no problem though as the hotel is used predominantly by German guests there was, particularly toward the end of our stay a noticeable blocking of beds with towels from early morning by people who rarely if ever used them during the day there were even some German people around us who tried a new trick for me, they used 4 beds for 2 people, 2 in the sun and 2 in the shade.

In summary we enjoyed our taste of winter sun and value for money was incredible costing less than a similar stay in the UK for a week and that included a flight of around 2500 miles, the hotel unlike some others in the Hurghada area at least has somewhere outside to walk to even if it is only to shops selling Egyptian branded tat. Further afield but only a £3 taxi ride is the very brash main street in Hurghada which we gave a miss as we had visited it before on a previous holiday, and the new marina, much more sophisticated with lots of nice restaurants serving western food at normal UK prices, we had a very nice meal in Dunes there on our last night. The hotel is showing its age and probably needs smartening up but cleanliness is certainly not an issue everywhere was spotless and the grounds maintained immaculately. What we did perceive this time more than on previous visits to Egypt was a clear almost overt expectation of tipping from some of the staff who were none the less very freindly, helpful and seemed happy in their work I understand that this is a poor country where many people live for a month on little more than we earn in a day but this expectation did take the edge off of our holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms below the third floor have their view of the sea blocked by the many palm trees in the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    352
    116
    60
    21
See reviews for
211
475
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Me and my best friend decided to go on a last minute holiday and booked The Siva Grand Beach hotel.
The price we paid per person was far more then I had paid for before for a holiday but as it was last minute and we really needed a girl’s holiday we booked this 7 night trip which was all inclusive.

When we first got to the hotel the location and look of the outside of the hotel was perfect and the lobby looked great, staff were polite and helpful and things were looking good…. Until we started walking to our room away from the lobby where on the wall it could be clearly seen there was a need of paint as it was all peeling away (the whole corridor needed paining) our room was ok but our shower was not working so we asked to change rooms, this was done without hesitation.

The pool area and beach were fantastic no complaints there.
The restaurants were small and cramped when it was time to eat and the food was very repetitive so we only ate at the hotel the first two days of our stay.

Hurghada itself was the best area we could have picked as it had numerous places which were suited to a girls holiday such as places to eat but most of all the clubs were fantastic and were only a short taxi distance or walk away from anything we wanted to do.

The hotel itself looks good from the outside and customer service is good it’s just not that special and is a 2-3* hotel for me… had a great holiday because we made it a good one but the only let down was the hotel… definitely not worth the money I paid for.
Small things such as not being able to use the gym for free even with all inclusive is something I have never had before,

I am not sure if it’s because I have always stayed in 5* hotels at a cheaper price before and was disappointed with the quality of the hotel for the price I paid or the hotel just needs some refurbishment and small changes such as restaurants to lift its quality.

No complaints about the location, customer service, pool area and beach… just a little about the TLC the hotel could do with, change in variety of food or some perks such as free access to the gym.

Will not be going back to that same hotel again but that does not mean I am saying its not somewhere others may not enjoy staying at, it was just not for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Excellent service from first till last. Alerted to the cheap rate and upgrade to Junior Suite by Travel Zoo. Red Sea's local agents were highly efficient and their rep. in Hurghada was always helpful. At no time was there presure to do anything. The resort was imaculate from reception through gardens to the private beach. The bars and dining facilities were fine but the thing which really made the holiday were the staff. From the lad who cleaned the toilets through the gardeners and up to senior management they were all highly efficient always helpful and ever smiling, epitomised by Haqim the manager of the lower restaurant. We began by saying "till last", and on our final afternoon all bags collated and ready to go, it was announced that Monarch was running two hours late. Rather than proceed to the airport the transfer coaches were postponed allowing all of us the continued freedom of the resort still on our 'all inclusive' basis. Superb customer service. Thankyou Red Sea and thankyou Siva.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Had a week here in January to escape the snow and enjoyed a lovely week of sunshine. Hotel room was a junior suite , large with settee and 2 chairs and a balcony with table and 2 chairs.Bath small but I am short so no problem. Grounds are really well looked after, green and lush.Plenty of sunbeds around pool and on the beach. Pool chilly but ok when swimming. New to all inclusive and was pleasantly surprised by the choice and standard of cuisine and drinks. Enjoyed excursions in the desert, snorkling and a shopping/ sightseeing excursion in Hurghada. We were hassled from shop keepers when walking along the road outside the hotel during the day. A lot of Germans at the hotel and consequently notices were in German. Would definately return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We returned from the Siva Grand on 1st February having spent 7 days. We picked up a late deal on this and paid £299 which I have to say was value for money, this hotel was certainly not a five star, it was a little tired and needed some TLC but was perfectly adequate. The staff were lovely particularly the waiters in the restaurants and nothing was too much trouble. The food was very mundane but you could always find something that you liked. Overall really enjoyable but just for those who love to sunbath, take no notice of the information given to you that says sunbeds cannot be reserved this is ignored. The majority of the hotel occupants were German and all of the sunbeds particularly on the beach had towels on them by 7am in the morning, leaving few beds available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanderstead
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Had a wonderful week of sun at this hotel. Do upgrade if possible as standard rooms are not in the main hotel and are all a bit tired decor and fittings wise The room we upgraded to (extra £50 for the week) was really well equipped with views of the sea, pool and garden.. Everywhere is spotlessly clean inside the hotel and the grounds. Good choice of food available but not always hot enough. Alcoholic drinks like red wine all ok but they ran out of brandy and when it was back available it had been watered down a lot. The staff are what make this hotel....from the Red Sea rep, to the very patient staff on reception, the guys at the beach (they approach you about tattoos etc but dont hassle you and happily take no for an answer) and especially in the lower Dining Room. Sherif the manager personally greets everyone and keeps everything running smoothly and finds time still to chat to the guests. The highlight of the day has to be being served by Madhet who never stops smiling (despite being a very new Dad with sleepless nights). He was promoted while we were there and it was well deserved.. Absolutely Fabulous Madhet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just got back from a weeks break,have been to many 5 stars in Sharm,this hotel. a4 star was in fact better in many ways than them. Location was good,room adequate and clean,dining rooms a bit dated but always found something I liked to eat.Pool snack bars were quite good,self service drinks a good idea. Grounds were nice lots of seating all around the complex.One downside the toilets needed a good scrub and overhaul,did smell a bit.Will be going again next year as this was very good value for money.

Room Tip: We were in the main building ,easy access to dining room and reception.and entertainment.nearly all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siva Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siva Grand Beach Hotel

Address: The Corniche | 8km to Downtown Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#24 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#31 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siva Grand Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Also Known As:
Hotel Siva Grand Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siva Grand Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.