We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Sunshine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siva Grand Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hurghada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
Save Saved
You added Siva Grand Beach Hotel to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   The Corniche | 8km to Downtown Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 180 Hotels in Hurghada
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Winter Sunshine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked this holiday at the last minute because the price was right and we craved some warm weather. Sunshine is more or less guaranteed around the Red Sea even in January and February. We were not disappointed and were able to sunbath on the beach or round the pool. It got a bit breezy later on but it did not spoil it for us.
The Monarch flight was OK but a bit cramped; we did not want to pay £40 each for a bit of legroom. Take your own in-flight entertainment, there's none on the plane. We flew from Manchester and unfortunately on the return flight we were diverted to Luton for refueling. We had to disembark and go on a route march round the airport, going through immigration and security before marching to the furthest gate to fly on to Manchester. It was late at night and we did not enjoy it.
One tip: when you arrive at Hurghada airport don't fall for the visa scam. Guys in suits, carrying agency boards, [eg Red Sea Holidays], will direct you to one side of the hall where you will be charged £13 for your visa. The right price is £10 and that is what you pay at the other side of the hall.
The hotel is very good and came up to our expectations. The facilities and rooms are very good and as described in the brochure and on line. The staff are very friendly and polite and generally give good service. I must mention one in particular and that is Essam who runs the Siva Bar in the main foyer. He is the ultimate professional and goes to great lengths to look after his customers.The food is good with plenty of choices and always fresh salad and fruit. Only an unbelievably fussy person would have a problem in finding something to their taste.
The all inclusive local drinks were OK and we enjoyed them. My wife took a shine to their version of Ouzo. The only exception was their whisky. We took one whiff of it and decided that discretion was the better part of valour.
Overall our experience was very enjoyable and good value for what we paid.
On leaving there is a gang of guys who collect your cases from the room. I was quite happy to tip the one who took our bags but was a bit put out when waiting to board the coach another guy tried to con me out of more money saying he had moved our bags. I bade him a fond farewell.
Don't be put off, we had a very good week.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room on the shady side. It was cold and dark. We requested a move and were giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    358
    120
    60
    21
See reviews for
213
487
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire UK
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The good points of this hotel is, the staff are fantastic Medhat (mad head) is the Sharm restaurant had a smile from morning till night the whole week we there. He loves to say phrases from ppl who have stayed there. Everyone is very friendly and will do all they can to help if you need it.
The hotel and gardens are spotless. The beach is cleaned everyday and ashtrays are provided but some ppl still don't use them.
The fair points are, the front of house is lovely, but the corridors and rooms could do with a lick of paint. I really wouldn't say this is a 5 star hotel. But you do only use the room to sleep, and the beds are so comfy.
Although you get asked on the beach so often for massage, but a simple no Thanks and they are very pleasant and wish you a nice day, so not so bad.
For me the not so good points are, the food wasn't great. It was mostly cold and very much the same. By the time I got to the airport even a Burger King tasted great and hot. Saying that you won't starve.....
The hotel has mostly Germans. And yes they still did the towels on the loungers at the beach even tho at this time of year there was plenty.
Didn't go out of the hotel as the shops are all the same and there isn't much night life.
On the whole tho we did really enjoy our stay here and yes we would come back. The points I've mentioned are just something's to say this isn't a 5 star hotel but let's face it aboard which of them is for £300 all inclusive.

Room Tip: You do need a coat at night if you are travelling in dec/jan , it does get really cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A beautiful building in a lovely setting. All inclusive with a huge choice of food and drinks.
The room was immaculately cleaned every day. A very cheap week which included comfortable flights with Monarch. Hurghada itself has a very squalid side - we would return to the Siva Grand
but would certainly not bother visiting Hurghada itself again. It is worth taking a trip on Seascope to see the multitude of beautiful fish on the coral reef although you may need a sea sickness pill !

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony, Junior suites in the main building are large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just returned home from a fantastic 7 night stay at The Siva Grand Beach Hotel.
This was our first holiday in Hurghada and we will be going back for more.
We booked this holiday with Red Sea Holidays and the service we received from them was second to none. Well done Red Sea.
The flight was with Monarch and after hearing such bad reports about them we were in two minds whether to cancel or not but in the end we booked extra legroom seats and the flight was brilliant.
A nice clean aircraft which left on time with caring Cabin crew and reasonably tasty flight meal.
All in all, very very good. Well done Monarch.
I"ll tell you how much we paid for this holiday at the end of the review, so lets get going.
The transfer from the airport was smooth with no hassle at all and our first impression of The Siva Grand Beach as we drove through the main archway was one of delight. It really is an attractive looking hotel. Check in at reception was quick and easy even though there must have been over 100 of us and we were shown where our rooms were.
RECEPTION and RECEPTION STAFF 8/10
BEDROOM. We were allocated room 480 on the third floor at the very end of the hotel nearest to the sea where we had an extra large balcony with a panoramic view taking in the hotel grounds, the beach, the sea and views towards Hurghada to our left and towards Safaga to our right. This was undoubtedly the biggest balcony we have ever had with the best views we have ever had.
The room itself was really large with a 6foot by 6foot comfortable bed, a 2 seater settee, 2 further comfy seats plus a low coffee table,a dressing table with large wall mounted mirror and an old but usable TV, also a very handy fridge plus 2 bedside tables with drawers.
Near the bedroom door were three large wardrobe/cupboard units which also included the FREE safe.
A slight let down was the Bathroom although it was very clean and tidy it was in need of some refurbishment especially to the 3/4 size bath which had at some time been repainted with a rough enamel type paint(Very sore in the nether regions) when sitting in it. The sink vanity unit was fine and dandy, but OH DEAR we did have a problem with HOT WATER. On average it took nearly 30 to 40 minutes to fill the bath from the trickle we had from the hot tap, but that aside a very nice comfortable room.
May I just add a word of caution here. Families with young, inquisitive children please be aware that the balconies are a real hazard. The railings around the balconies are such that they present the perfect climbing frame for any young child which could lead to a catastrophic accident.
FOOD. Only the fussiest of eaters would have a problem finding something nice and tasty to eat at this hotel. At Breakfast/Lunch and Dinner there were more than adequate options including the 2 main restaurants Shams and Amar, the Oasis restaurant which at lunch time served up some amazing Indian and Chinese food, and around the pool area there is the Pool Grill, Pizza Corner and not forgetting the really tasty vegetarian options at The Beach Grill.
On top of this there"s always Waffles and Ice Cream and freshly made Crepes. You also have the option if eating in the Oasis restaurant for evening dinner as many times as you want per stay different evenings being Barbecue/Asian/Arabic plus others.
DRINK. Very much standard All Inclusive with home made varieties of the usual spirits some tasting like anti freeze others quite palatable. The Wine was passable. During our stay we did have a few problems ordering certain drinks when on a number of evenings they ran out of Tonic water, so a good old G&T or V&T were out of the question. They also ran out of White Rum. One morning when visiting the bar outside Oasis, as I poured my Beer 2 men came up to the bar and proceeded to pour 2 glasses of what in all intents and purpose was Vodka from a bottle stamped with a Vodka label which was standing in an ice bucket on the bar top.
The first man took a hefty slug and immediately spat out the contents of his mouth, thankfully away from me. The content of the bottle in question was white wine which the bar staff decanted into empty spirit bottles and in this case it was an empty Vodka bottle. The 2 blokes in question turned out to be Russian and were not pleased
THE STAFF. Excellent but I have to single out 2 in particular.
Essan a junior manager who worked tirelessly in the Siva Bar, conjuring up comfy chairs from seemingly nowhere whenever we entered the bar and then proceeded to ensure that the drinks of all guests in the bar were frequently replenished and
Ahmed a waiter who worked in Le Terrace at breakfast time and the Pool bar for the rest of the day. Well done both of you and the other staff.
If you do go to this hotel or any other in Egypt I would highly recommend you tip whoever you can as soon as you get there, because even if you only give them 20 Egyptian pounds, the equivalent of approx £2.00 because the service you get will be well worth it. But don"t stop at the 20 give them more whenever you can.
THE PRICE. Would you believe it? we paid just £299 per person for this holiday, now that has to be a real bargain!
THE WEATHER. Whilst we were there we had 20+ degrees everyday but with a strong gusty wind, but very pleasant, comfortable weather.
THE SEA. Even in January warm enough to swim in, as I did on a number of occasions.
I have left one experience to the very last. From the hotel in the far left hand corner there is a pay restaurant named The Sea Star, but it"s not that which I want to talk about, it"s the jetty which runs out to sea next to the Sea Star. Around 4pm every afternoon we made our way to the jetty to sit in the comfortable chairs to either drink delicious Chocolate Latte or Coffees whilst watching The Sunset. Magnificent.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

No complaints whatsoever , just home from a week at this hotel and it was excellent , all the staff are really frendly and will do anything for you. Especially esam in the longe bar was always on hand to refil your glass . The rep gave good advice to everyone so if you didn't listen it was your own fault , beech was clean , the grounds were kept clean and today as was your hotel room , it probably just needs a lick of paint to freshen it up a bit but your not on holiday to look at the decor are you , would definitely go back
From dumfries Scotland

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have just got back from the Siva Grand Beach early this morning having gone on a last minute 1 week All Inclusive break. We were impressed with the value for money (2 of us for under £600). The only extra's being £13 each for Visa's to enter Egypt. The hotel, room, food, staff, pool, beach, bars were excellent. On our first full day my girlfreind left her hand bag containing amongst other things her diary, purse, holiday money and mobile phone in the beach bar only to be contacted later by reception that it had been handed in by a member of staff complete with its contents. Needless to say we were over the moon as this could have spolied our holiday. A few tips - Change your money at the bank cashpoint outside the hotel, you will get a far better rate than in the UK. We chose to tip our favourite waiters and in return were remembered and well looked after. This only added £20 to our holiday which is nothing for good service. A waiter only gets about 900 Egyption pounds a month in wages (£90!). A few things made us chuckle, all the salt & pepper pots were filled the wrong way round, one of the many choices for breakfast was liver & onions? We did like the fact that all the bars had help yourself taps for wine and beer although the waiters would often take your glasses and bring them to your table when you did use them. This was our 1st trip to Egypt and we were impressed overall with the quality of everything the hotel offered. We didn't do any of the excursions so cannot comment on them, we also did not pay for any of the special steak - seafood evenings (£15 each) as we were more than happy with the variety and quality of the food on offer. We did not venture far out of the hotel complex as we had chosen to just have a relaxing beach - pool holiday. I can understand some people becoming a bit bored if they are wanting more than this.
We are already planning for 2 weeks next January as 1 week was over so fast.

Room Tip: Go for junior suite in the hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here the first week of January 2013, all in all a good holiday. The good points, room big with large bed, we stayed in the bungalow. The food was varied and hot my partner who loves food always went back for seconds. I liked the bread selection and the meatballs. The waffles are lush and huge, so are the ice cream cornets. There is a little place to have breakfast In The morning and the omelette chef is good and the waiter service excellent, with the help of a little tip.
We ate in the oasis most lunch times, but try the burgers and pizza, they are lovely. Also book the themed evenings, the food isn't much different but the service is. The way they cook their vegetables is wonderful, and there is a vegetarian grill on the beach with a lovely chef, if you show some interest he will do you a special spin on the food. The beach ...... Well we had a run in with a German who reserved a cabana for his daughter, so the next day my partner got to the beach at 7.15, but the cabanas were reserved again... We witnessed an interesting argument with a couple of Germans and a single German over the cabanas. The couple had paid the beach boy to reserve the cabana but the lady laid on the un reserved bed for an hour and a half, before the couple came to the beach! She didn't give up and after a heated exchange the coupled left. Interesting! Stand your ground or get the beach boy to reserve with a tip! Ps DON'T tip in English coins they are no use to them, the bank doesn't accept them. The beach is nice but hard, not much sand, but very safe for children, with a life guard on duty. Lovely view. The beach waiter needs a tip to get him going, after that you get good service. Tipping.. I tipped as I went along... 20 Egyptian seemed fair and I got great service, except the room boy, I was not impressed with his cleaning, so I stopped tipping him. Ok so the bad! The drinks package is absolutely rubbish! It is the worst I've ever experienced. Ok the beer is fine, but the soft drinks, ie tonic water and spirits are hit and miss. There are several bars in the hotel and they are constantly running out of white rum and tonic, and some waiters won't go to another bar for you. I mentioned this to the Red Sea rep and that evening tonic appeared, but not rum. We sat in the Siva Bar every evening, this was spoilt by the extremely loud head banging evening entertainment! However in this bar there is a GEM, he is Essam, he is brilliant and simply could not do enough for you! He made our evenings more enjoyable than it would have been. So mr manager - Essam .a. Samea is a real credit to your hotel! Next - massage, they will try and sell you massage on the beach, I bought a package £150 for 6 massages. The first two where ok, but the rest were poor and rushed, the girls seemed unhappy and they coughed and sneezed and rarely smiled, I felt as if they were forced to work, not enjoyable. I didn't bother going for my last session. Ok general tips......

Airport ... When you land buy your visa from the banks directly to your left and behind you, also change your English money here, ask for small notes, 20's and 10's for tipping. If you don't get a landing card on the plane you will need one from the reps, before you go through passport control.
Take a pen or two with you! The Egyptian ground staff, baggage handlers etc want tips for nothing, they broke our suitcase because we did not tip them to put it in the coach! The actual baggage handlers don't give a damn about your cases and many were broken and my pockets where opened.

Resort .... We walked to the marina, took about 1.5hrs, it was nice to get out of the hotel, we didn't get any hassle until we hit the old town, which is filthy, I've never been to a dirtier Muslim country, ciggy buts and cardboard / plastic every where. We had a drink in the marina, lovely gin and tonic! Then got a taxi back for 30 ep. He wanted 50ep but we walked away, and he agreed to 30. But beware when we got to the hotel he said £30! We told him no and gave him the agreed fare.

Tipping - yes it helps to tip. We gave 20ep. The staff we tipped regularly really looked after us. Please don't tip in pound coins, they can't change them.

I think that's it, all in all any enjoyable experience, drinks package lacking, airport dirty, but wonderful holiday, thank you to all the staff at the hotel and Red Sea holidays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siva Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siva Grand Beach Hotel

Address: The Corniche | 8km to Downtown Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#34 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siva Grand Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Also Known As:
Hotel Siva Grand Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siva Grand Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.