We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What it says on the tin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siva Grand Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hurghada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   The Corniche | 8km to Downtown Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 176 hotels in Hurghada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What it says on the tin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

No complaints whatsoever , just home from a week at this hotel and it was excellent , all the staff are really frendly and will do anything for you. Especially esam in the longe bar was always on hand to refil your glass . The rep gave good advice to everyone so if you didn't listen it was your own fault , beech was clean , the grounds were kept clean and today as was your hotel room , it probably just needs a lick of paint to freshen it up a bit but your not on holiday to look at the decor are you , would definitely go back
From dumfries Scotland

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    420
    335
    99
    58
    18
See reviews for
176
417
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have just got back from the Siva Grand Beach early this morning having gone on a last minute 1 week All Inclusive break. We were impressed with the value for money (2 of us for under £600). The only extra's being £13 each for Visa's to enter Egypt. The hotel, room, food, staff, pool, beach, bars were excellent. On our first full day my girlfreind left her hand bag containing amongst other things her diary, purse, holiday money and mobile phone in the beach bar only to be contacted later by reception that it had been handed in by a member of staff complete with its contents. Needless to say we were over the moon as this could have spolied our holiday. A few tips - Change your money at the bank cashpoint outside the hotel, you will get a far better rate than in the UK. We chose to tip our favourite waiters and in return were remembered and well looked after. This only added £20 to our holiday which is nothing for good service. A waiter only gets about 900 Egyption pounds a month in wages (£90!). A few things made us chuckle, all the salt & pepper pots were filled the wrong way round, one of the many choices for breakfast was liver & onions? We did like the fact that all the bars had help yourself taps for wine and beer although the waiters would often take your glasses and bring them to your table when you did use them. This was our 1st trip to Egypt and we were impressed overall with the quality of everything the hotel offered. We didn't do any of the excursions so cannot comment on them, we also did not pay for any of the special steak - seafood evenings (£15 each) as we were more than happy with the variety and quality of the food on offer. We did not venture far out of the hotel complex as we had chosen to just have a relaxing beach - pool holiday. I can understand some people becoming a bit bored if they are wanting more than this.
We are already planning for 2 weeks next January as 1 week was over so fast.

Room Tip: Go for junior suite in the hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here the first week of January 2013, all in all a good holiday. The good points, room big with large bed, we stayed in the bungalow. The food was varied and hot my partner who loves food always went back for seconds. I liked the bread selection and the meatballs. The waffles are lush and huge, so are the ice cream cornets. There is a little place to have breakfast In The morning and the omelette chef is good and the waiter service excellent, with the help of a little tip.
We ate in the oasis most lunch times, but try the burgers and pizza, they are lovely. Also book the themed evenings, the food isn't much different but the service is. The way they cook their vegetables is wonderful, and there is a vegetarian grill on the beach with a lovely chef, if you show some interest he will do you a special spin on the food. The beach ...... Well we had a run in with a German who reserved a cabana for his daughter, so the next day my partner got to the beach at 7.15, but the cabanas were reserved again... We witnessed an interesting argument with a couple of Germans and a single German over the cabanas. The couple had paid the beach boy to reserve the cabana but the lady laid on the un reserved bed for an hour and a half, before the couple came to the beach! She didn't give up and after a heated exchange the coupled left. Interesting! Stand your ground or get the beach boy to reserve with a tip! Ps DON'T tip in English coins they are no use to them, the bank doesn't accept them. The beach is nice but hard, not much sand, but very safe for children, with a life guard on duty. Lovely view. The beach waiter needs a tip to get him going, after that you get good service. Tipping.. I tipped as I went along... 20 Egyptian seemed fair and I got great service, except the room boy, I was not impressed with his cleaning, so I stopped tipping him. Ok so the bad! The drinks package is absolutely rubbish! It is the worst I've ever experienced. Ok the beer is fine, but the soft drinks, ie tonic water and spirits are hit and miss. There are several bars in the hotel and they are constantly running out of white rum and tonic, and some waiters won't go to another bar for you. I mentioned this to the Red Sea rep and that evening tonic appeared, but not rum. We sat in the Siva Bar every evening, this was spoilt by the extremely loud head banging evening entertainment! However in this bar there is a GEM, he is Essam, he is brilliant and simply could not do enough for you! He made our evenings more enjoyable than it would have been. So mr manager - Essam .a. Samea is a real credit to your hotel! Next - massage, they will try and sell you massage on the beach, I bought a package £150 for 6 massages. The first two where ok, but the rest were poor and rushed, the girls seemed unhappy and they coughed and sneezed and rarely smiled, I felt as if they were forced to work, not enjoyable. I didn't bother going for my last session. Ok general tips......

Airport ... When you land buy your visa from the banks directly to your left and behind you, also change your English money here, ask for small notes, 20's and 10's for tipping. If you don't get a landing card on the plane you will need one from the reps, before you go through passport control.
Take a pen or two with you! The Egyptian ground staff, baggage handlers etc want tips for nothing, they broke our suitcase because we did not tip them to put it in the coach! The actual baggage handlers don't give a damn about your cases and many were broken and my pockets where opened.

Resort .... We walked to the marina, took about 1.5hrs, it was nice to get out of the hotel, we didn't get any hassle until we hit the old town, which is filthy, I've never been to a dirtier Muslim country, ciggy buts and cardboard / plastic every where. We had a drink in the marina, lovely gin and tonic! Then got a taxi back for 30 ep. He wanted 50ep but we walked away, and he agreed to 30. But beware when we got to the hotel he said £30! We told him no and gave him the agreed fare.

Tipping - yes it helps to tip. We gave 20ep. The staff we tipped regularly really looked after us. Please don't tip in pound coins, they can't change them.

I think that's it, all in all any enjoyable experience, drinks package lacking, airport dirty, but wonderful holiday, thank you to all the staff at the hotel and Red Sea holidays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went to the siva grand beach hotel, over christmas, we were delighted with the hotel, which was a very friendly place indeed, the hotel itself was very clean, and the staff were very helpful, food was very good and the wine flowed. There wasnt very much to do outside of the hotel, so we stayed inside which was lovely, and we relaxed round the pool, and beach while we were there for a week.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hubby and I spent Christmas 2012 at Siva Grand as we visited in 2010 and were so impressed. This 2nd visit was fantastic, just what we wanted a relaxing break with sunshine and great food. Check in was swift and smooth. We opted for the junior suite and it was definitely worth it. Our room was on the 3rd floor and we had a massive bed and an amazing sea view. We watched the sunrise every morning from our super comfy bed. The room was airy and very clean, the balcony was spacious. The TV channels were mostly German speaking, but, there was a BBC News Channel and a very good film channel in English, which was more than sufficient for us as we didn't go on holiday to watch much TV. The food at this resort is excellent. I am a vegetarian and found plenty to choose from at every meal, meals were very tasty and presented well. The resort and grounds were very clean and the staff all very friendly and polite. The beach is where we spent most of our time and it was great, the private wicker booths are a nice touch as are the comfy sunbed mattresses. On the flight home we met a couple who where on the same flight going out and had said they had nearly booked the Siva, but, in the end had chosen to stay at the Makedi Beach. On the flight home they said that they wished they had chosen the Siva over the Makedi Beach as their hotel had not lived up to their expectations and everyone they met that had stayed at the Siva, was raving about what a great time they had. This resort is excellent value for money and we would not hesitate to visit a 3rd time. What are you waiting for? Why not check it out for yourself :-) Thank you to Freddie at Red Sea Holidays and all the staff at Siva Grand for making Christmas 2012 soooo wonderful. Alison & B

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors give you a better sea view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited the Siva Grand with friends for the second time this year. Nothing changed, staff still very obliging room still clean and comfortable, typical Egyptian weather wall to wall sunshine, food very tasty especially the waffles and pancakes no good for waistline. A small gratuity to the bed man ensured a nice spot for your sun beds without getting up at the crack of dawn for prime position. the short transfer time is a bonus, no sign of any disturbances. Visited the local bars and cafes not too bad but the hotel is better.local shops not so spacious and really only good for cheap souvenirs.The .flight time to the sun is about the max for a weeks holiday. Really enjoyed my holiday would go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield. Derbyshire.England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Siva could easily be re-named the 'Ronseal' because it does 'exactly what it says on the tin'.
It's a very good hotel that caters for all age groups wanting sun,relaxation and minimum fuss.
The hotel is designed a bit like an inverted trident with two wings spreading out and down
on either side of the central block.There are five floors in all including the ground floor.
Corridors are long ( ground floor ill lit in places) and there are small lifts as well as stairs.
These blocks provide the junior suites accommodation which are spacious and airy.The
views and sun availability vary according to position with the best being situated in the two
lateral,connecting blocks which connect the central and wing areas ( imagine the trident ).
All junior suites have a sea-view of some sorts and quite a few crafty people have
learned to swap their interior chairs for the standard white plastic balcony furniture for
a little more comfort. There are NO hot drink facilities in the room nor are there any
irons or ironing boards so go prepared.All electrical sockets are the standard 'two point'
European and the voltage is U.K. compatible 200/220 volt. There are only three sockets
to a room and seem to have situated with little regard to actual need and will require the
disconnection of a lamp / T.V. etc.,
One free bottle of water is delivered daily to your room and more free water is available on request from your room cleaner / House- Elf.
The standard rooms are set in two storey blocks which surround the outer wings of the
hotel. They are marginally smaller but still have a balcony / terrace.These are a bit cheaper
but will genuinely appeal to those who prefer a more tranquil situation in the outer grounds.
In the central hotel are the two large buffet restaurants ( the Shams & The Amar on the
Ground floor and mezzanine,respectively.) They operate for breakfast 07-00 onwards and
for dinner from 1800 both on a buffet basis.The choices are varied but can prove repetitive
with non-meat eaters struggling beyond the Salad-bars or odd vegetable at dinner times.
Leaving the hotel to go towards the pool is a Crepes area which makes light breakfasts and
afternoon crepes.It does tend to attract more smokers but is open planned. The pool area,
like the hotel itself is predominately South and East facing and gets varying amounts of
sun dependent on your choice.A large pool grill provides a whole raft of lunch time
snacks and a full range of local beers / spirits / cocktails etc., There is also a small rotunda
bar which does the afternoon Waffles / ice-cream etc., Seating abounds but be prepared to
queue for up to ten minutes if you arrive at rush-hour. This area,in turn,connects to the
Oasis Beach restaurant and the beach itself.The Oasis offers lunch and snacks ( buffet)
from 1200 onwards and also provides the hub for drinks on the beach.There is an
outdoor area with sun umbrellas and a roofed but open verandah area.Both these are
exceedingly popular and operate on a first come first served basis, After that the only
option left is inside the restaurant which is darkish in decor and not particularly airy.
The Oasis also doubles for the occasional evening theme / special night time meals which
normally need pre-booking.
Straight in front of the Oasis restaurant is the beach area itself which stretches for
approximately 400 - 500 yards and is private to the Siva.There are ample sun loungers
and all have reed built wind baffles except those at the very front.Water dispensers surround
the back of the beach but the thirsty among you you may want to retain your aeroplane
water bottles rather than keep going back and forth for the small plastic cups supplied.
The water is very calm and shallow for a long way out and is wonderful for young children
and those who hate fighting the waves.A beach grill is centrally located and open at 11.00
for self - service drinks although these are limited to beer,wine and soda - fountain drinks.
Grilled vegetable snacks start at 13.00 and go on through the afternoon. On the left hand
side of the beach,facing the sea is the Sea Star Restaurant which ( bias showing now) is
the nicest situation in the hotel.It has a pier / jetty area which serves all-inclusive drinks
during the afternoon until 19.00 and is a gorgeous area to sit and watch the setting sun.
In the evening It turns it's hand to romantic meals on the jetty overlooking the floodlit sea,
N.B. This will cost you a supplement, a- la -carte menu is by cut or weight but the set fish
menu is currently £20.00 pp including five courses,one of which is a 10" square plate filled
with half lobster,smoked salmon, giant prawns,butterfish etc., for which you'd pay four times
more elsewhere.It's really worth it for the special occasion or variation from the buffets.
There are three or four other restaurants in the small precinct just outside the Hotel which
will offer further variations ( Lebanese,Thai,Italian etc.,) at an extra charge but with a small
discount for Siva residents.
Overall, the hotel grounds are compact and easy to negotiate and suitable for wheelchairs
and people with walking difficulties.The same can be said for the Hotel reception, vestibule area.The clientele is 80% German the only British you'll see are those with Red-sea holidays.
Most seem to be older or with young families.All seem fairly sedate with entertainment at
night based on Bars,eating,cards,laptops and a local entertainment programme in the
lobby area for those who want it.It is difficult to get your own drinks in the lobby area with
waiters ruling the roost.This brings us to the contentious issue of tipping in an all-inclusive
hotel.The staff are typically adept ( as in most North African countries) at being prepared to
wait for tips.Those who do tip might get a speedier service and a better positioned
sun lounger in the same place of your choice if required. If you are a person who tips here's
a quick rule of thumb.First try to tip in Euros or Egyptian pounds.Sterling coins are gladly
accepted but are more difficult for staff to change owing to the lower number of U.K.
clientele. The Beach boy is your best friend and a tip of two Euros a day ( party total) will
do away with any chase for sun loungers position.Introduce yourself on the first day,it'll
prove to be five minutes well spent.Room boys are worth a Euro per person per day
payable in split amounts over the holiday duration which should ensure a constant level of
service.Bar staff waiters will serve quicker and with bigger measures for a Euro every
round or every other round.The same goes for the waiters who serve the beaches for
those who don't want to walk for their own drinks or prefer larger,sturdier glasses rather
than the small plastic 'Pepsi' cups on regular offer.I realise that not everyone will tip and
my comments are only meant as a helpful guideline.
The only cultural anomaly which jars is the lack off local female staff.99% of all service staff
are male with only customer relations desk and the Spa / hairdressing areas differing.
A couple of western European girls help out with the daily animation programme which includes
aerobics,darts,volleyball etc., etc.,
In conclusion the Siva Grand Beach will provide a value for money all - inclusive break
away from the awful weather.There are many worse hotels with higher Star ratings.This is
one reason for the constant Trip Advisor ratings from satisfied customers.A smile on you
face and the ability to say " MORGEN " goes a long way.
Enjoy your holidays.

Room Tip: You can last out your holiday without leaving the hotel.Surrounding area offers little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Siva Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siva Grand Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Siva Grand Beach
Siva Grand Beach
Address: The Corniche | 8km to Downtown Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#24 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siva Grand Beach Hotel 4.5*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siva Grand Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Siva Grand Beach Hotel to your Saves list