We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siva Grand Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hurghada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   The Corniche | 8km to Downtown Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 181 hotels in Hurghada
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went to the siva grand beach hotel, over christmas, we were delighted with the hotel, which was a very friendly place indeed, the hotel itself was very clean, and the staff were very helpful, food was very good and the wine flowed. There wasnt very much to do outside of the hotel, so we stayed inside which was lovely, and we relaxed round the pool, and beach while we were there for a week.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    402
    337
    105
    59
    19
See reviews for
192
459
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hubby and I spent Christmas 2012 at Siva Grand as we visited in 2010 and were so impressed. This 2nd visit was fantastic, just what we wanted a relaxing break with sunshine and great food. Check in was swift and smooth. We opted for the junior suite and it was definitely worth it. Our room was on the 3rd floor and we had a massive bed and an amazing sea view. We watched the sunrise every morning from our super comfy bed. The room was airy and very clean, the balcony was spacious. The TV channels were mostly German speaking, but, there was a BBC News Channel and a very good film channel in English, which was more than sufficient for us as we didn't go on holiday to watch much TV. The food at this resort is excellent. I am a vegetarian and found plenty to choose from at every meal, meals were very tasty and presented well. The resort and grounds were very clean and the staff all very friendly and polite. The beach is where we spent most of our time and it was great, the private wicker booths are a nice touch as are the comfy sunbed mattresses. On the flight home we met a couple who where on the same flight going out and had said they had nearly booked the Siva, but, in the end had chosen to stay at the Makedi Beach. On the flight home they said that they wished they had chosen the Siva over the Makedi Beach as their hotel had not lived up to their expectations and everyone they met that had stayed at the Siva, was raving about what a great time they had. This resort is excellent value for money and we would not hesitate to visit a 3rd time. What are you waiting for? Why not check it out for yourself :-) Thank you to Freddie at Red Sea Holidays and all the staff at Siva Grand for making Christmas 2012 soooo wonderful. Alison & B

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors give you a better sea view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited the Siva Grand with friends for the second time this year. Nothing changed, staff still very obliging room still clean and comfortable, typical Egyptian weather wall to wall sunshine, food very tasty especially the waffles and pancakes no good for waistline. A small gratuity to the bed man ensured a nice spot for your sun beds without getting up at the crack of dawn for prime position. the short transfer time is a bonus, no sign of any disturbances. Visited the local bars and cafes not too bad but the hotel is better.local shops not so spacious and really only good for cheap souvenirs.The .flight time to the sun is about the max for a weeks holiday. Really enjoyed my holiday would go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield. Derbyshire.England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Siva could easily be re-named the 'Ronseal' because it does 'exactly what it says on the tin'.
It's a very good hotel that caters for all age groups wanting sun,relaxation and minimum fuss.
The hotel is designed a bit like an inverted trident with two wings spreading out and down
on either side of the central block.There are five floors in all including the ground floor.
Corridors are long ( ground floor ill lit in places) and there are small lifts as well as stairs.
These blocks provide the junior suites accommodation which are spacious and airy.The
views and sun availability vary according to position with the best being situated in the two
lateral,connecting blocks which connect the central and wing areas ( imagine the trident ).
All junior suites have a sea-view of some sorts and quite a few crafty people have
learned to swap their interior chairs for the standard white plastic balcony furniture for
a little more comfort. There are NO hot drink facilities in the room nor are there any
irons or ironing boards so go prepared.All electrical sockets are the standard 'two point'
European and the voltage is U.K. compatible 200/220 volt. There are only three sockets
to a room and seem to have situated with little regard to actual need and will require the
disconnection of a lamp / T.V. etc.,
One free bottle of water is delivered daily to your room and more free water is available on request from your room cleaner / House- Elf.
The standard rooms are set in two storey blocks which surround the outer wings of the
hotel. They are marginally smaller but still have a balcony / terrace.These are a bit cheaper
but will genuinely appeal to those who prefer a more tranquil situation in the outer grounds.
In the central hotel are the two large buffet restaurants ( the Shams & The Amar on the
Ground floor and mezzanine,respectively.) They operate for breakfast 07-00 onwards and
for dinner from 1800 both on a buffet basis.The choices are varied but can prove repetitive
with non-meat eaters struggling beyond the Salad-bars or odd vegetable at dinner times.
Leaving the hotel to go towards the pool is a Crepes area which makes light breakfasts and
afternoon crepes.It does tend to attract more smokers but is open planned. The pool area,
like the hotel itself is predominately South and East facing and gets varying amounts of
sun dependent on your choice.A large pool grill provides a whole raft of lunch time
snacks and a full range of local beers / spirits / cocktails etc., There is also a small rotunda
bar which does the afternoon Waffles / ice-cream etc., Seating abounds but be prepared to
queue for up to ten minutes if you arrive at rush-hour. This area,in turn,connects to the
Oasis Beach restaurant and the beach itself.The Oasis offers lunch and snacks ( buffet)
from 1200 onwards and also provides the hub for drinks on the beach.There is an
outdoor area with sun umbrellas and a roofed but open verandah area.Both these are
exceedingly popular and operate on a first come first served basis, After that the only
option left is inside the restaurant which is darkish in decor and not particularly airy.
The Oasis also doubles for the occasional evening theme / special night time meals which
normally need pre-booking.
Straight in front of the Oasis restaurant is the beach area itself which stretches for
approximately 400 - 500 yards and is private to the Siva.There are ample sun loungers
and all have reed built wind baffles except those at the very front.Water dispensers surround
the back of the beach but the thirsty among you you may want to retain your aeroplane
water bottles rather than keep going back and forth for the small plastic cups supplied.
The water is very calm and shallow for a long way out and is wonderful for young children
and those who hate fighting the waves.A beach grill is centrally located and open at 11.00
for self - service drinks although these are limited to beer,wine and soda - fountain drinks.
Grilled vegetable snacks start at 13.00 and go on through the afternoon. On the left hand
side of the beach,facing the sea is the Sea Star Restaurant which ( bias showing now) is
the nicest situation in the hotel.It has a pier / jetty area which serves all-inclusive drinks
during the afternoon until 19.00 and is a gorgeous area to sit and watch the setting sun.
In the evening It turns it's hand to romantic meals on the jetty overlooking the floodlit sea,
N.B. This will cost you a supplement, a- la -carte menu is by cut or weight but the set fish
menu is currently £20.00 pp including five courses,one of which is a 10" square plate filled
with half lobster,smoked salmon, giant prawns,butterfish etc., for which you'd pay four times
more elsewhere.It's really worth it for the special occasion or variation from the buffets.
There are three or four other restaurants in the small precinct just outside the Hotel which
will offer further variations ( Lebanese,Thai,Italian etc.,) at an extra charge but with a small
discount for Siva residents.
Overall, the hotel grounds are compact and easy to negotiate and suitable for wheelchairs
and people with walking difficulties.The same can be said for the Hotel reception, vestibule area.The clientele is 80% German the only British you'll see are those with Red-sea holidays.
Most seem to be older or with young families.All seem fairly sedate with entertainment at
night based on Bars,eating,cards,laptops and a local entertainment programme in the
lobby area for those who want it.It is difficult to get your own drinks in the lobby area with
waiters ruling the roost.This brings us to the contentious issue of tipping in an all-inclusive
hotel.The staff are typically adept ( as in most North African countries) at being prepared to
wait for tips.Those who do tip might get a speedier service and a better positioned
sun lounger in the same place of your choice if required. If you are a person who tips here's
a quick rule of thumb.First try to tip in Euros or Egyptian pounds.Sterling coins are gladly
accepted but are more difficult for staff to change owing to the lower number of U.K.
clientele. The Beach boy is your best friend and a tip of two Euros a day ( party total) will
do away with any chase for sun loungers position.Introduce yourself on the first day,it'll
prove to be five minutes well spent.Room boys are worth a Euro per person per day
payable in split amounts over the holiday duration which should ensure a constant level of
service.Bar staff waiters will serve quicker and with bigger measures for a Euro every
round or every other round.The same goes for the waiters who serve the beaches for
those who don't want to walk for their own drinks or prefer larger,sturdier glasses rather
than the small plastic 'Pepsi' cups on regular offer.I realise that not everyone will tip and
my comments are only meant as a helpful guideline.
The only cultural anomaly which jars is the lack off local female staff.99% of all service staff
are male with only customer relations desk and the Spa / hairdressing areas differing.
A couple of western European girls help out with the daily animation programme which includes
aerobics,darts,volleyball etc., etc.,
In conclusion the Siva Grand Beach will provide a value for money all - inclusive break
away from the awful weather.There are many worse hotels with higher Star ratings.This is
one reason for the constant Trip Advisor ratings from satisfied customers.A smile on you
face and the ability to say " MORGEN " goes a long way.
Enjoy your holidays.

Room Tip: You can last out your holiday without leaving the hotel.Surrounding area offers little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have just got back after a Christmas week in the Siva Grand. The Hotel was better than any I have been to in Sharm. The trips out to sea snorkeling were great but Paradise Island was a bit packed and hardly paradise. The Germans are good to watch as they dress like it's 1977 and seem to think this is acceptable lol. There is plenty of food all day and you never feel hungry. The staff were great and seem the really like their jobs. If you have any problems with the food just ask for Hakim in the ground floor restaurant and your problems will be over. Hakim sorted me out everyday with whatever I wanted and he is extremely polite and professional. He seems to be at work 24 /7 and always smiling and busy. The shops outside the hotel are worth a miss as they are a pain in the backside with the non stop hassle. I will be going back and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Package holidays aren't what I normally go for but as far as I imagine they go, it was pretty good. The rooms were clean and reasonable (the junior suite is in the main hotel with a separate seating area, where the standard rooms are separate buildings. The general complaints on reviews have been about the food, but I found it exceeded my expectations. It wasn't gourmet by any stretch of the imagination, but plentiful and reasonable. What I didn't like was the canteen style buffet with queueing. There is an option to eat in th Oasis restaurant for 3 'themed' evenings (which is where lunch is also served) . You book in the main lobby of the hotel the evening before, and it's definitely worth doing, not least of all for a change of scenery from the 2 main restaurants. The food was reasonably varied, with a pasta bar at the Oasis bar, and a large selection of Indian, English (kind of) Chinese, salads and other foods. Breakfast was pretty geared to the large German contingent, but it was fresh and OK, especially with the freshly made omelettes. The bread selection is fantastic. A BIG but, was that both my partner and I got serious "Delhi Belly" and still now, 6 days after returning, suffering. This despite taking precautions of using bottled water to brush our teeth with. The alcohol that is included is only the local spirits, cheap wine and beer, which is not bad. If you want anything else, it costs a lot.
The staff were friendly, as the other reviews state, but there is an element of some of them being interested only if tips are involved.
The beach is clean with plenty of beds, but the joke about Germans turning up early to put the towels out, is sadly a reality.The beach attendant informed me that they do indeed, arrive at 6 then go back to bed. Not cool! However, the attendants will try and help (for a tip...). It's true that you are not constantly brought drinks by the beach staff, but is not really too much effort to go to the pool bar yourself, where there is a beer tap for you to help yourself.
Outside the complex is a whole different story. You can scarcely set a foot outside before you are hassled for taxi, or given 'free' gifts to go into shops. Stories from others there, included being conned into taking a camel ride, then demanding £20 (the Egyptian currency is also the pound, so when negotiating make sure it's clear you mean Eqyptian as tis is another con, with 10 Egyptian pounds, to the English pound), a couple in a taxi had the male passenger being groped whilst tring to negotiate more money than they had already agreed for the fare. They are aggressive in their manner, and when you don't repond to the aggression, get worse. If you do go out the complex, I would strongly recommend completely blanking them.
The weather was fantastic which is really what we went for anyway, so for what you pay, all in all, the good outweighed the bad.

The pool is lovely, with a swim-up bar, and the pier is a great place to watch the lovely sunsets.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here for a week wished it was longer because the hotel staff were setting up for the Christmas Festivities. The whole experience was fantastic rooms are great. Food and choice excellent. That not enough for you? well the real stars of this place are the wonderful hotel staff who really look after you I have to say that special mention should be made of the restaurant manager Hakim who is very professional and polite nothing was too much for him he was always very polite and constantly smiling and always had time to chat not just with me or my partner but anyone, alongside him one of his waiters Medhat who looked after the area we usually sat in was also cheery and always greeted anyone with a smile there is also Fadell who would try and get us join in the different special events of which the Oriental night was superb and finally Aziz of the Terrace bar his work ethic is amazing and his speed at dealing with customers orders is outstanding.

We are so happy that we chose to come here and would have no hesitation in recommending this particular hotel to our family and friends we will be coming back here in 2013.

We came for our first trip to Egypt as strangers but left as friends.

Thank you Red Sea Hotels/Holidays for making our first trip to Egypt such a positive and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siva Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siva Grand Beach Hotel

Address: The Corniche | 8km to Downtown Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#22 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siva Grand Beach Hotel 4.5*
Also Known As:
Hotel Siva Grand Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siva Grand Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Siva Grand Beach Hotel to your Saves list