We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Siva Grand Beach .. An Overview” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siva Grand Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hurghada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
Save Saved
You added Siva Grand Beach Hotel to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   The Corniche | 8km to Downtown Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 182 hotels in Hurghada
Chesterfield. Derbyshire.England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Siva Grand Beach .. An Overview”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Siva could easily be re-named the 'Ronseal' because it does 'exactly what it says on the tin'.
It's a very good hotel that caters for all age groups wanting sun,relaxation and minimum fuss.
The hotel is designed a bit like an inverted trident with two wings spreading out and down
on either side of the central block.There are five floors in all including the ground floor.
Corridors are long ( ground floor ill lit in places) and there are small lifts as well as stairs.
These blocks provide the junior suites accommodation which are spacious and airy.The
views and sun availability vary according to position with the best being situated in the two
lateral,connecting blocks which connect the central and wing areas ( imagine the trident ).
All junior suites have a sea-view of some sorts and quite a few crafty people have
learned to swap their interior chairs for the standard white plastic balcony furniture for
a little more comfort. There are NO hot drink facilities in the room nor are there any
irons or ironing boards so go prepared.All electrical sockets are the standard 'two point'
European and the voltage is U.K. compatible 200/220 volt. There are only three sockets
to a room and seem to have situated with little regard to actual need and will require the
disconnection of a lamp / T.V. etc.,
One free bottle of water is delivered daily to your room and more free water is available on request from your room cleaner / House- Elf.
The standard rooms are set in two storey blocks which surround the outer wings of the
hotel. They are marginally smaller but still have a balcony / terrace.These are a bit cheaper
but will genuinely appeal to those who prefer a more tranquil situation in the outer grounds.
In the central hotel are the two large buffet restaurants ( the Shams & The Amar on the
Ground floor and mezzanine,respectively.) They operate for breakfast 07-00 onwards and
for dinner from 1800 both on a buffet basis.The choices are varied but can prove repetitive
with non-meat eaters struggling beyond the Salad-bars or odd vegetable at dinner times.
Leaving the hotel to go towards the pool is a Crepes area which makes light breakfasts and
afternoon crepes.It does tend to attract more smokers but is open planned. The pool area,
like the hotel itself is predominately South and East facing and gets varying amounts of
sun dependent on your choice.A large pool grill provides a whole raft of lunch time
snacks and a full range of local beers / spirits / cocktails etc., There is also a small rotunda
bar which does the afternoon Waffles / ice-cream etc., Seating abounds but be prepared to
queue for up to ten minutes if you arrive at rush-hour. This area,in turn,connects to the
Oasis Beach restaurant and the beach itself.The Oasis offers lunch and snacks ( buffet)
from 1200 onwards and also provides the hub for drinks on the beach.There is an
outdoor area with sun umbrellas and a roofed but open verandah area.Both these are
exceedingly popular and operate on a first come first served basis, After that the only
option left is inside the restaurant which is darkish in decor and not particularly airy.
The Oasis also doubles for the occasional evening theme / special night time meals which
normally need pre-booking.
Straight in front of the Oasis restaurant is the beach area itself which stretches for
approximately 400 - 500 yards and is private to the Siva.There are ample sun loungers
and all have reed built wind baffles except those at the very front.Water dispensers surround
the back of the beach but the thirsty among you you may want to retain your aeroplane
water bottles rather than keep going back and forth for the small plastic cups supplied.
The water is very calm and shallow for a long way out and is wonderful for young children
and those who hate fighting the waves.A beach grill is centrally located and open at 11.00
for self - service drinks although these are limited to beer,wine and soda - fountain drinks.
Grilled vegetable snacks start at 13.00 and go on through the afternoon. On the left hand
side of the beach,facing the sea is the Sea Star Restaurant which ( bias showing now) is
the nicest situation in the hotel.It has a pier / jetty area which serves all-inclusive drinks
during the afternoon until 19.00 and is a gorgeous area to sit and watch the setting sun.
In the evening It turns it's hand to romantic meals on the jetty overlooking the floodlit sea,
N.B. This will cost you a supplement, a- la -carte menu is by cut or weight but the set fish
menu is currently £20.00 pp including five courses,one of which is a 10" square plate filled
with half lobster,smoked salmon, giant prawns,butterfish etc., for which you'd pay four times
more elsewhere.It's really worth it for the special occasion or variation from the buffets.
There are three or four other restaurants in the small precinct just outside the Hotel which
will offer further variations ( Lebanese,Thai,Italian etc.,) at an extra charge but with a small
discount for Siva residents.
Overall, the hotel grounds are compact and easy to negotiate and suitable for wheelchairs
and people with walking difficulties.The same can be said for the Hotel reception, vestibule area.The clientele is 80% German the only British you'll see are those with Red-sea holidays.
Most seem to be older or with young families.All seem fairly sedate with entertainment at
night based on Bars,eating,cards,laptops and a local entertainment programme in the
lobby area for those who want it.It is difficult to get your own drinks in the lobby area with
waiters ruling the roost.This brings us to the contentious issue of tipping in an all-inclusive
hotel.The staff are typically adept ( as in most North African countries) at being prepared to
wait for tips.Those who do tip might get a speedier service and a better positioned
sun lounger in the same place of your choice if required. If you are a person who tips here's
a quick rule of thumb.First try to tip in Euros or Egyptian pounds.Sterling coins are gladly
accepted but are more difficult for staff to change owing to the lower number of U.K.
clientele. The Beach boy is your best friend and a tip of two Euros a day ( party total) will
do away with any chase for sun loungers position.Introduce yourself on the first day,it'll
prove to be five minutes well spent.Room boys are worth a Euro per person per day
payable in split amounts over the holiday duration which should ensure a constant level of
service.Bar staff waiters will serve quicker and with bigger measures for a Euro every
round or every other round.The same goes for the waiters who serve the beaches for
those who don't want to walk for their own drinks or prefer larger,sturdier glasses rather
than the small plastic 'Pepsi' cups on regular offer.I realise that not everyone will tip and
my comments are only meant as a helpful guideline.
The only cultural anomaly which jars is the lack off local female staff.99% of all service staff
are male with only customer relations desk and the Spa / hairdressing areas differing.
A couple of western European girls help out with the daily animation programme which includes
aerobics,darts,volleyball etc., etc.,
In conclusion the Siva Grand Beach will provide a value for money all - inclusive break
away from the awful weather.There are many worse hotels with higher Star ratings.This is
one reason for the constant Trip Advisor ratings from satisfied customers.A smile on you
face and the ability to say " MORGEN " goes a long way.
Enjoy your holidays.

Room Tip: You can last out your holiday without leaving the hotel.Surrounding area offers little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    346
    112
    60
    20
See reviews for
201
469
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have just got back after a Christmas week in the Siva Grand. The Hotel was better than any I have been to in Sharm. The trips out to sea snorkeling were great but Paradise Island was a bit packed and hardly paradise. The Germans are good to watch as they dress like it's 1977 and seem to think this is acceptable lol. There is plenty of food all day and you never feel hungry. The staff were great and seem the really like their jobs. If you have any problems with the food just ask for Hakim in the ground floor restaurant and your problems will be over. Hakim sorted me out everyday with whatever I wanted and he is extremely polite and professional. He seems to be at work 24 /7 and always smiling and busy. The shops outside the hotel are worth a miss as they are a pain in the backside with the non stop hassle. I will be going back and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Package holidays aren't what I normally go for but as far as I imagine they go, it was pretty good. The rooms were clean and reasonable (the junior suite is in the main hotel with a separate seating area, where the standard rooms are separate buildings. The general complaints on reviews have been about the food, but I found it exceeded my expectations. It wasn't gourmet by any stretch of the imagination, but plentiful and reasonable. What I didn't like was the canteen style buffet with queueing. There is an option to eat in th Oasis restaurant for 3 'themed' evenings (which is where lunch is also served) . You book in the main lobby of the hotel the evening before, and it's definitely worth doing, not least of all for a change of scenery from the 2 main restaurants. The food was reasonably varied, with a pasta bar at the Oasis bar, and a large selection of Indian, English (kind of) Chinese, salads and other foods. Breakfast was pretty geared to the large German contingent, but it was fresh and OK, especially with the freshly made omelettes. The bread selection is fantastic. A BIG but, was that both my partner and I got serious "Delhi Belly" and still now, 6 days after returning, suffering. This despite taking precautions of using bottled water to brush our teeth with. The alcohol that is included is only the local spirits, cheap wine and beer, which is not bad. If you want anything else, it costs a lot.
The staff were friendly, as the other reviews state, but there is an element of some of them being interested only if tips are involved.
The beach is clean with plenty of beds, but the joke about Germans turning up early to put the towels out, is sadly a reality.The beach attendant informed me that they do indeed, arrive at 6 then go back to bed. Not cool! However, the attendants will try and help (for a tip...). It's true that you are not constantly brought drinks by the beach staff, but is not really too much effort to go to the pool bar yourself, where there is a beer tap for you to help yourself.
Outside the complex is a whole different story. You can scarcely set a foot outside before you are hassled for taxi, or given 'free' gifts to go into shops. Stories from others there, included being conned into taking a camel ride, then demanding £20 (the Egyptian currency is also the pound, so when negotiating make sure it's clear you mean Eqyptian as tis is another con, with 10 Egyptian pounds, to the English pound), a couple in a taxi had the male passenger being groped whilst tring to negotiate more money than they had already agreed for the fare. They are aggressive in their manner, and when you don't repond to the aggression, get worse. If you do go out the complex, I would strongly recommend completely blanking them.
The weather was fantastic which is really what we went for anyway, so for what you pay, all in all, the good outweighed the bad.

The pool is lovely, with a swim-up bar, and the pier is a great place to watch the lovely sunsets.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here for a week wished it was longer because the hotel staff were setting up for the Christmas Festivities. The whole experience was fantastic rooms are great. Food and choice excellent. That not enough for you? well the real stars of this place are the wonderful hotel staff who really look after you I have to say that special mention should be made of the restaurant manager Hakim who is very professional and polite nothing was too much for him he was always very polite and constantly smiling and always had time to chat not just with me or my partner but anyone, alongside him one of his waiters Medhat who looked after the area we usually sat in was also cheery and always greeted anyone with a smile there is also Fadell who would try and get us join in the different special events of which the Oriental night was superb and finally Aziz of the Terrace bar his work ethic is amazing and his speed at dealing with customers orders is outstanding.

We are so happy that we chose to come here and would have no hesitation in recommending this particular hotel to our family and friends we will be coming back here in 2013.

We came for our first trip to Egypt as strangers but left as friends.

Thank you Red Sea Hotels/Holidays for making our first trip to Egypt such a positive and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsash, Southampton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Me and my mum arrived at siva on the 23rd november and stayed for 1 week, the hotel is set in lovely grounds and outside of the hotel has a range of different shops and restrurants.
The swimming pool was large, but the water was slightly cold at this time of year, there are lots of sunbeds and always waiters to bring you your drinks or can be collected your self at the self dispencers.
the food was good with a range to choose from, and the waffles in the afternoon were brilliant, have to try these.
We had an early morning trip booked from the hotel, which they arranged us a breakfast box for when we asked.
This is a brilliant hotel with lovely friendly staff who cant do enough for you, and if i ever return to egypt would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w mids
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Couldn't fault the room, or food, or staff, everything was fantastic - 1st class. The negative reviews previously posted hold no ground. I went on 30th Nov and the best holiday I have ever experienced.I looked to return for xmas (my birthday) as the price was reduced last minute, but it was full. Soooo dis-appointed. It is now on offer at £299 during January (travel zoo), which is a fantastic price for this quality of hotel. I know people may have concerns about going to Egypt at the moment because of the recent disturbances in Cairo, but that is 100's of miles away. I went on a day trip to Luxor, single female, and I was very well looked after by the guide "Emad" of Red Sea Holidays, he was fantastic too-there is no sign of any trouble at all in Luxor, and none in Hurghada either- but watch scams from taxi drivers - your tour rep should warn you of these. So if you have post xmas blues, grab yourself a bargain, and stay here in Jan. Oh yes the day trips are fab too, went to Luxor - valley of kings and queens, sharnuk temple, Nile trip,safari day experience and snorkelling to Giftun islands, and finally for a taste of real Egypt take the hotel bus (11:30 from outside hotel) to the old town, for shopping, there is a great little shop (has pyramid lamps outside), sells natural aromatherapy perfumes and aloe vera (great for sunburn and skin), jewellery and scarves. There are some nice clothes shops there too if you like to haggle.

Room Tip: ask for upgrade to junior suite or a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was at the Siva Grand from 23rd November for one week. Wished it had been 2 weeks. I had been looking at the reviews since June so wasn't expecting too much. Luckily I found it to be better than some of the reviews. The food was more than adequate and you could always find something tasty to eat. My one complaint was that food was never hot enough. A Microwave for guest use would have been the solution. Apart from that we certainly didn't starve. Loved lunching at the Oasis especially when they had fresh dates on the fruit section. Enjoyed sitting on the jetty watching the sunset. Enjoyed breakfast at the Terrasse cafe, sitting in the sunshine. Definitely enjoyed the crepes, waffles and ice cream in the afternoons. Found all the staff helpful. Would suggest if you tip then try to give them egyptian pounds (10 = 1£ approx) as they have difficulty changing english coins. Would go to this hotel again if the opportunity arose.

Although taxis were cheap we chose to walk the 8km to the New Marina. It took about 2 hours there and 1 hour 45 back. We needed the exercise because of all the food we ate.

When arriving at the airport turn sharp left in the arrivals lounge and go to the bank kiosks to get your visa. They are cheaper than the desks that they try and send you to. I gave the cashier 30$ for 2 of us and he gave me some change in Egyptian pounds. I think it was £10 in sterling. The other desks where they were trying to send you were £13. You can also buy more Egyptian currency at the same time. I'm so glad we did as people had to wait hours in some of the local banks near the hotel to change currency.

Our Red Sea rep was very good even though we didn't do any trips. He gave loads of useful advise.

A very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siva Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siva Grand Beach Hotel

Address: The Corniche | 8km to Downtown Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#29 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siva Grand Beach Hotel 4.5*
Also Known As:
Hotel Siva Grand Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siva Grand Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.