We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday - great Grand Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Resort Hurghada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Resort Hurghada to your Saves list
The Grand Resort Hurghada
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 205 Hotels in Hurghada
Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great holiday - great Grand Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is my 5 time in Grand Resort. It is always the best holiday I can imagein. Beautiful hotel with quality services, polite people, nice food and more - this everything together will make just a perfect holiday. I am sure, that next year I will come again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana-Janechka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We love the sourroundings and the hotel. I though would say that the staff has become a bit lazy by the years, they used to more friendly.. This only aplies to the waiters staff, the front desk and housekeeping are really nice. We had a misunderstanding with a waiter by the pool, where he actualy questioned us and made fun of us. We ordered a Gin & Tonic - he came back with glasses of only gin. Didn´t understand our order of drinks - said that tonic was finished but we could get another soda. No ice, no straws. After some arguments he took he gin back and we had a beer instead.

On my mothers birthday we visited the Mediterranean restaurant, wich where great! The staff are friendly and nice and the food was very good. Nice to get something other than the buffet for a day. The staff came out all together and sang happy birthday for our table, together with a cake. Very appreciated!

We really missed the animation team that used to be there. The Entertainment during the evening felt a bit poor. But we really enjoyed the yoga & gym classes during the Days.

So - overall a very nice stay as usual at Grand REsort, we will come back for a fourth time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pernilla Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a medium quality hotel. The staff is polite and okay, but it's oversized and therefore lack the exclusive quality. The food is okay, but after three weeks it get's quite boring. Do not expect that your tip that you give goes to the groundstaff. They are being stolen from the groundstaff by the middle managers. Entertainment is good, but again three weeks is over the top. Those staff I know worked there has now changed their work. Rooms are of a good quality and always clean. Hotel laundry always came back on time, but they iron everything, and therfore managed to ruin my 5.11 polo shirts. If you stay at the hotel, there is no hassel, but expect that shops outside the hotel are is overpriced and not of high quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I visited other hotels in Hurghada but Grand Resort is my favorite and this is my 4th stay there since 2009. Its the perfect getaway for those who seeks sun, sea and relaxation. So if your a family , a bunch of friends, couples, or even a solo traveler like me, u can enjoy ur stay there. And to brief it all and to help u in ur decision, let me conclude my opinion about the main issues as follow.
Style: I can assure u that this hotel has a style! In terms of exterior, interior and landscape design. Its old though but well maintained.
Rooms: clean, spacious and comfortable and wether overlooking the big or smaller pool u will always have a nice view out of ur room terrace.
Pools: if u are a family u will prefer to stay at the waterfront pool that have a kids pool right next to it along with water activities. If ur seeking for relaxation then the amazing oasis is definitely ur choice. But in both cases the pools are very clean and big.
Beach: the beach is at the sister hotel just across the street not more than 10 min walk. Its big and private.
Food: this is the only down thing, but i dont really consider it down because this is the case all around Egypt hotels, especially in Hb restaurants, so u can try finding something to eat from the dull open buffet or go to other non Hb resto around the resort or just eat outside. U will always manage when it comes to food.
Staff: they r simply amazing! All of them and i mean it! Nice, polite and so helpful. One of the best hotel stuff i ever met around Egypt if not the best. The receptionist are always smily and ready to help in any, they understand the real meaning of the word guest. U can sit alone without being annoyed by any of the pools, resto, beach... stuff. They just make ur vacation better!
At the end, let me give u some advice, if u want to buy water, food or medicine go for the shops inside the grand mall there is a pharmacy and 2 supermarkets, they are the nicer and cheaper ones. And if u need a taxi dont go for the annoying ones parking in front of the resort just grab a passing one and negotiate the price before u get it. The hotel is located in a central area and have easy access to everything.
Worth mentioning that the best time to visit Hurghada is between March and May or mid September till November.
All and all i always have a great relaxing stay at this resort, hope u do to!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Saw-Iris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel complex with lovely decor... The room was really clean and maintained well by room service. Service throughout the hotel was super (for those who tip- lucky for us!). Get down early to the pool though as beds fill up fast!

We thought at times the reps could be a little eager in their sales pitch for massage/ spa/ trips, but generally once you give in and buy one then they stop pursuing you! Noteworthy however is the fact that you can get the same services outside the hotel a lot cheaper!

We had gone all inclusive to which there were restrictions regarding which restaurants you could use as part of the deal... So we did pay to go to eat in two of their other complex hotels... For what turned out to be the same food (just not buffet style)!
Since we are talking about the food though it quickly became a bit "samey" as the week wore on, if not actually the same food left overs recycled for the next sitting! BTW- travellers tip... UK anti-diarrhoea tablets do NOT work on the local stomach upsets (to be very subtle about the 3 week long post-holiday reminder of our stay there!).

We know it has taken a while for us to get round to writing this review so feel a little awkward mentioning the food at this stage, but it appears from more recent reviews that this is still an ongoing issue. I guess you get what you pay for!!!

In all however, we did feel that it was an enjoyable experience and would definitely say that the hotel complex was the central most memorable positive aspect of the holiday some 18 months later! We would have given it 5* had the food been better!

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geepopalolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am impressed with this hotel and this is a really nice hotel rooms and very, very clean and very excellent treatment and duties of eating it really is not a hotel it's imagination and the best hotel Grand Resort always

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sex_201125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

stayed here begining of march 2013, very disappointed nowhere near a 5* more like a 3* had to wait 4 days for a light bulb to be changed, rooms are nice and big but in magor need of work doors falling off fridge is hot not cold air con ... well that does not work... Pool lovely and warm.
sun beds on beach in bad state of repair nails sticking out very poor.
food in starfish bar wonderful never any problems here.
room attendant just walks in room when feels like it towels never changed before 5pm just a totally cheap hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nutti94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.0 mi away
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
#52 of 205 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,310 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel
The Grand Plaza Hotel
#34 of 205 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#14 of 26 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#45 of 205 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,483 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#12 of 205 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Resort Hurghada

Address: Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#37 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#52 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Resort Hurghada 4*
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything at the Grand Resort is on an impressive scale. Lying right on the tourist promenade, at the very heart of the modern resort area of Hurghada, it boasts generously-sized rooms and an innovative figure of eight layout that allows one side of the hotel to cater for those seeking lively entertainment and music while the other offers tranquillity for those who simply want to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Expedia so you can book your The Grand Resort Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Hurghada
Grand Hotel Hurghada
Grand Resort Hurghada
Grand Resort Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing