We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be grand but still pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hurghada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Resort
Save Saved
You added The Grand Resort to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 180 Hotels in Hurghada
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Used to be grand but still pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

It's a nice hotel providing good value for money, even during the New Year holidays the prices were affordable. The hotel is clearly not new but still pleasant and clean. I also liked the a la carte restaurant, the food was really tasty, the food in others was ok but not great.
Advantages include:
- nice bed in the deluxe room;
- the room was spacious;
- nice view;
- nice territory and pools;
- the nearby beach;
- the staff was ok.
The downsides were the location, the hotel is far from the city centre; and paying for every cup of tea or coffee. We were on FB but I never expected to pay for tea or coffee during lunch or dinner, it's not that much but leaves an unpleasant impression.
Besides there is no Wi-Fi which is also disappointing.

Room Tip: I followed the advice to get a deluxe room and never regretted. It was very comfortable and the pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    257
    114
    53
    42
See reviews for
154
385
47
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed with my friend in the hotel a week ago and the hotel grounds and the rooms are lovely. Bed was really, really comfortable to sleep on and hotel is quiet, no noise in the evenings or nights.

Service was in overall good but the staff was sometimes a bit slow and difficult to understand. Probably their lack of english caused that problem. Room cleaner boy you "must" tip if wanting to get good and clean service. Otherwise we did not tip the staff.

Heated pool was enough and the beach was just opposite the street, system works well.

A few big minuses:
- you are not allowed to bring beverages or food into the hotel, including water. They were reasoning it with hygiene reasons but in reality it is just a rip off as a water bottle in the hotel costs 15 LE and just outside the hotel 2 LE.
- We had a half board and the breakfast was mediocre at its best. Croissants were dry and the fruits were boring (majority of time just apples, 2 days we had tangerines and bananas). Yogurts were nice. Water in breakfast you had to buy separately. Breads were good, excluding pastries and croissants did not touch the warm breakfast bit as at dinnertime you get enough fat.

Dinner buffet was plentiful but really salty and salads were too oily. Meat and aubergine salads were nice. I gained weight in one week 3 kilos. I also managed to get diarrhea from there (just ate in the hotel, no where else). They could do more healthy options. Dessert table was a real disappointment. Cakes looked delicious but all tasteless and dry. I tried once and that was enough. My friend tried them in all 7 days and said they were same s..t every day.

I recommend the hotel to all who wish to have a lovely, relaxing 5 star accommodation but truly recommend to eat outside the hotel, food is not worth it unfortunately.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
västerås
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hotel located in new hurghada so not much to do or see in the area directly by the hotel. Easy to get a taxi to sheraton street for 15 EGP.

Huge hotell, can be e bit tricky to find ones way around it at first. Many guards and plenty of staff to help. Good service and helpfull staff, but slow if one do not tip them. All pre bookings are to be made one day in advance, not more, not less.

Big room with very comfortable bed and nice balcony. Be sure to choose room with a view over poolarea and garden oterwise you will only see/hear construction areas. The whole hotel is very worn down, well cleaned but many small things are broken. Exeptionally nice garden and poolarea! A bit too few sun beds by the heated pool in the winter. At our visit 1 pool was 16 degrees, 1 was 28 degrees, 1 pool closed for construction and kids pool closed. Lovely beach towels and a bag to borrow is included in the room.
Minibar is not expensive, it is rather more expensive to buy a beer at the bar and bring to the room than to take one from the minibar. Room is cleaned, new towels and refilled minibar every day if wanted,oterwise just tell your room mantainence guy or put the "do not disturbe" at the door if you dont want service every day. Laundry service. Security box free of charge at the room.

Half board - 3 restaurants are included, but be aware that you have to pay for drinks and in the restaurant mediterraneo only a few selected meals are included in half board (no meat), check the last page in the menu! one have to pay for the rest. Food is mainly tasteless but plenty to choose from at the buffet at breakfast and dinner, so no need to go hungry.

One have to cross the road and go thru Grand Hotel to get to the ocean. Sunbeds and umbrellas are free of charge but "bellboys" will take your bags and towels for you and show you to a sun bed and expect a tip for it.

Room Tip: choose room wit view over garden and pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Grand Resort is very good. Nice rooms, nice area and good service, (tips not mandatory). Food absolut ok. Just walk over the front road into the Grand and you are at the Red Sea beach. Sun beds is for free, well you payed it at your agency, the men att the beach grabs your bag and take you to the sunbed you want and puts out the towels, tips yeep. But even here you can be cheated. My wife ordered a non alcoholic drink named jhhhhphfd6sod or so but was charged for the alcoholic one. BUT.. if you go outside the resorts areas....... I just say be very very carefull, absolutly not regarding crime but in the aspect of being cheated. One week and this is the cheating list, well they tried, taxi-change money, dutyfree shop exchange rates, Mall shops vodka turned into water (thought that was thousens of years ago and the other way), the above beach drink, Prices in minimarkets changed from day to day, (NASDAQ??) BUT (number 2) If you can handle that... Its a nice place!

Room Tip: Choose the minisuites it´s wourth the money. Give the cleaninga guy tip the first day. Well spent mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The whole hotels looks like an oriantal tale.
we had a beautiful room, facing the pool with its amount on palm trees and other plants. The pool itselve is huge, you almost dont miss the sea.
The sea is 5 mins away (by feet), you have to cross the street, going through the garden of another hotel (beautiful as well), and there you are. Warm water just waiting for you to jump in!

Breakfast buffet and dinner buffet was gorgeous. Almost too much. :-)

Outside the hotel there were a few shops, no one was bugging you to buy something (guess thats the rule for having a shop at the hotel area)
Other at Hurghada: awful. You cant walk the streets just to look, someone is talking to you all the time. We got annoyed and went back to the bus, rather waiting there for an hours untill he drove us back again.
But the hotel itselfe is definitely worth going to.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here In October for 4 nights, it was meant to be 7 but we was put in the wrong hotel at first see my 'Joke of a hotel' review.. Anyway this hotel is beautiful as soon as you walk through the entrance you can see why this hotel is a 5*. It's gorgeous and so big! The reception staff seemed very helpful. We had our cases took to our room which was nice but i think the guy wanted a tip but couldnt really understand what he was saying, so just kind of said thanks and shut the door lol Our room was lovely very spacious & clean. The balcony area was nice where we could look out over the pool.
There was a room just outside the hotel to the right where you could get wifi which was good.
There were 3 different pools in the hotel and each one of them so big and beautiful!
We visited the big main food hall there was a lot to choose from, but we mainly stuck to what we knew, fresh omlettes, eggs, salad, cakes & ice creams! were the best. I think it was more catered for germans! I picked up a bit of a funny tummy while we was there which lasted 2 days and it wasnt very pleasant, but it went away after the 2 days. We went to a pizza place in our hotel which was nice the pizza was so tasty! Had a little walk round the shops too in our hotel but all the guys are a bit leachy so didn't stay long!
We had a massage aswell while we was there which was lovely where they cover you in chocolate your skin feels amazing after! lasts about 45 mins to an hr.
The grounds of the hotel look superb at night even better than in the day, as the whole hotel lights up! Very wow.
The hotel porter person became slightly annoying throughout our stay and he couldn't really speak english so we couldn't understand him and vice versa but im sure all he wanted was a tip, which he didn't get.
We didnt really go out the hotel only to the shop as the egyptian men hassle you to much, which is a shame because we would of liked to explore!
I probably wouldn't go back to Egypt because of this problem but the hotel was great!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here early August lovely hotel very big, beautiful surroundings no problems with the hotel at all it was really nice. Just a few problems had to go across road to grand hotel I think it was to use wifi as they didn't have it in ours which was a bit of a let down also nothing much to do in the area felt very secluded and also not very English orientated a large majority of people were German would have been nice to come across a few people who were English! Suffered with food poisoning I was fine for the first few days then it stared to kick in! My advice is what ever u do do not eat salad, fruit and ice in drinks if u want to avoid getting ill! Overall had an excellent holiday just a few things which could have made it even better :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Resort

Address: Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#48 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suitably named, everything at this beautiful arabesque style hotel has been done on a grand scale – from the spacious and elegant rooms to the impressive terrace surrounding the three freeform swimming pools.Special consideration has been given to each individual feature to add to a setting that radiates five star luxuries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Hurghada
Grand Hotel Hurghada
Grand Resort Hurghada
Grand Resort Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.