We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extraordinary dream of 1001 nights...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Resort Hurghada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Grand Resort Hurghada to your Saves list
The Grand Resort Hurghada
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 175 Hotels in Hurghada
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An extraordinary dream of 1001 nights...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The whole hotels looks like an oriantal tale.
we had a beautiful room, facing the pool with its amount on palm trees and other plants. The pool itselve is huge, you almost dont miss the sea.
The sea is 5 mins away (by feet), you have to cross the street, going through the garden of another hotel (beautiful as well), and there you are. Warm water just waiting for you to jump in!

Breakfast buffet and dinner buffet was gorgeous. Almost too much. :-)

Outside the hotel there were a few shops, no one was bugging you to buy something (guess thats the rule for having a shop at the hotel area)
Other at Hurghada: awful. You cant walk the streets just to look, someone is talking to you all the time. We got annoyed and went back to the bus, rather waiting there for an hours untill he drove us back again.
But the hotel itselfe is definitely worth going to.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    365
    151
    63
    49
See reviews for
193
548
61
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here In October for 4 nights, it was meant to be 7 but we was put in the wrong hotel at first see my 'Joke of a hotel' review.. Anyway this hotel is beautiful as soon as you walk through the entrance you can see why this hotel is a 5*. It's gorgeous and so big! The reception staff seemed very helpful. We had our cases took to our room which was nice but i think the guy wanted a tip but couldnt really understand what he was saying, so just kind of said thanks and shut the door lol Our room was lovely very spacious & clean. The balcony area was nice where we could look out over the pool.
There was a room just outside the hotel to the right where you could get wifi which was good.
There were 3 different pools in the hotel and each one of them so big and beautiful!
We visited the big main food hall there was a lot to choose from, but we mainly stuck to what we knew, fresh omlettes, eggs, salad, cakes & ice creams! were the best. I think it was more catered for germans! I picked up a bit of a funny tummy while we was there which lasted 2 days and it wasnt very pleasant, but it went away after the 2 days. We went to a pizza place in our hotel which was nice the pizza was so tasty! Had a little walk round the shops too in our hotel but all the guys are a bit leachy so didn't stay long!
We had a massage aswell while we was there which was lovely where they cover you in chocolate your skin feels amazing after! lasts about 45 mins to an hr.
The grounds of the hotel look superb at night even better than in the day, as the whole hotel lights up! Very wow.
The hotel porter person became slightly annoying throughout our stay and he couldn't really speak english so we couldn't understand him and vice versa but im sure all he wanted was a tip, which he didn't get.
We didnt really go out the hotel only to the shop as the egyptian men hassle you to much, which is a shame because we would of liked to explore!
I probably wouldn't go back to Egypt because of this problem but the hotel was great!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here early August lovely hotel very big, beautiful surroundings no problems with the hotel at all it was really nice. Just a few problems had to go across road to grand hotel I think it was to use wifi as they didn't have it in ours which was a bit of a let down also nothing much to do in the area felt very secluded and also not very English orientated a large majority of people were German would have been nice to come across a few people who were English! Suffered with food poisoning I was fine for the first few days then it stared to kick in! My advice is what ever u do do not eat salad, fruit and ice in drinks if u want to avoid getting ill! Overall had an excellent holiday just a few things which could have made it even better :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Average service (including reception borderline from being rude) and facilities that deserve some maintenance, made part of our stay a bit dissapointing. Not worth the 5 stars ranking.
Outstanding from the others, Arafat Ali is doing an excellent job at the pool BBQ restaurant to deliver great food and wonderful welcome every day. Thanks Arafat, you made our stay!

Philippe

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alkmaar,holland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just wanted a week in the sun and nothing more. This was the right place to be. No music at the swimming-pool, no entertainment hassle around you and very good service. We had a beautiful room facing the poolside and enjoyed everyday of the good food,during breakfast and dinner. Grand Resort is a perfect place for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fittleworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel has a huge amount going for it and overall the organisation and levels of service were little short of excellent.

The reason the hotel doesn't get 5 stars from me is the bedroom. The primary function of a hotel is to provide a secure and comfortable place to sleep, rest, wash and keep your belongings while you're out.The bed wasn't up to 5 star levels of comfort and the bathroom was tiny with a dimly lit and difficult to access shower over the smallest bath I've ever seen. The ventilation / heating / air conditioning fan was noisy and intrusive during the day - it would have been impossible to sleep with it on at night.

My other gripe is that the fruit juice in the morning was a reconstituted powdered mix. Freshly squeezed was available and was excellent but was another 30 Egyptian pounds over and above the B&B rates. Oh.... and maybe it's an age thing but I really didn't expect to be addressed as "Hey, English" as a guest in a 5 star hotel. Doubly so being a Scot and with no similarity whatsoever to Rowan Atkinson!

The quality of the food in the Mediterranean Restaurant, the hotel's "signature restaurant", was excellent. And amazingly good value. Overall we ate well within the hotel and even on the beach there were attentive staff standing by to take an order for drinks or food, all seamlessly charged to the room if so desired or cash was always an option.

The beach itself is private and felt secure. We were greeted by one of the attendants and he'd take us to a couple of sunloungers, align them to face the sun, fetch some matresses and the proceed to lay our beach towels over the top. While not necessary to tip a small token of appreciation doesn't go unrewarded......

If your intention is to do some snorkelling then take advantage of the many trips out to the reefs as there's little to see around the hotel, unlike some further up the coast. Prices from the tour reps for these trips are over the top and you can enjoy one of the many excursions organised locally for less than half the headline cost in the hotel.

There was a programme of entertainment and this was of a generally high standard and well attended by the guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladivostok, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

nice hotel, but a lot of Germans. The hotel has three swimming pools, two restaurants and a la carte cafe. Night lighting at great! The hotel grounds are very well maintained, but a little green! If you book in advance the hotel offers a 20% discount.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurghada
1.0 mi away
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
#36 of 175 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel
The Grand Plaza Hotel
#35 of 175 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#13 of 23 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#10 of 23 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 1,485 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
#68 of 175 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Hurghada
Mercure Hurghada
#9 of 175 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Resort Hurghada

Address: Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#28 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#37 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Resort Hurghada 4*
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything at the Grand Resort is on an impressive scale. Lying right on the tourist promenade, at the very heart of the modern resort area of Hurghada, it boasts generously-sized rooms and an innovative figure of eight layout that allows one side of the hotel to cater for those seeking lively entertainment and music while the other offers tranquillity for those who simply want to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Grand Resort Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Hurghada
Grand Hotel Hurghada
Grand Resort Hurghada
Grand Resort Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Resort Hurghada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.