We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hurghada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Resort
Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 176 hotels in Hurghada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

one of the best hotels I have stayed in Egypt.The staff are very pleasant,nothing is to much trouble.The pools,lounges and everything in the grand resort was very impressive.the room we had was very nice with a large balcony.Tarek who cleaned our room did a really good job and was very helpful,nothing was to much trouble.We only booked in for bed and breakfast and found that the food was very good.Outside of the hotel we found the resort a little disappointing.the resaurants served reasonable food but they were a bit shabby.Loads of hassle from shop keepers but that is the norm for Egypt.The beach was very nice and the beach boys were very helpful finding people sun beds.If you like to have a beer it is very reasonably priced outside of the hotel at around 10-13 le.Another story inside hotel 28 le.All in all I thought it was a good holiday in a very nice hotel but the resort was a little tired looking.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    606
    388
    125
    46
    25
See reviews for
132
332
39
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
slovenia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have spent a week at the Grand Resort with my parents and an almost two year old daughter. We just wanted a week of sun and nice warm weather. I have decided to book this resort becouse of very good price for the package and becouse of the previous good reviews here. I also have to say that it is a great place, very nice hotel, great pools. It is very big, but you dont feel being crowded. I have asked the recepcionist if we can get a bigger family room and they were so nice to give us a huge appartment. The staff was very helpful, at least we had very good experience with almost everybody. But I have to say that my little blond long hair girl did her part :-). Everybody said hello to her....The beach is across the street and through a hotel, but was just a nice walk of few minutes. The beach is not very big, but ok. We prefered beach and not the pool, becouse there was sand and my daughter just loved playing there. The food was very good, a nice variety of western and oriental. Before going I was a little worried becouse everybody knew stories about food poisoning, but we very healthy all the time and we ate everything. The only thing I kind of missed was, that there is no city, no village, no real life around, nothing but those two hotels and few stores and restaurants and that German speaking tourists who were the majority thought that locals should speak german. But this is my problem, becouse before I never travelled this way (being in a resort for a week). All in all great holidays for a very reasonable price. I can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We've just come back from a week at the Grand Resort. What a relaxing holiday. The hotel is huge, divided into two parts. Although it was peak season, it didn't feel crowded.
Very clean comfortable rooms. There are three restaurants serving a wide variety of dishes. Buffet style. There's something for everyone. The staff are all very courteous, friendly and polite.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at this resort for a week and the rooms were really great, air conditioning excellent, pool and surrounding area clean, communal areas clean so in all those respects we were happy. Two words of warning. The food comes out on trays at breakfast and evening meal and stays on show for hours on display albeit in an air conditioned environment but not that cold and left on display on un-chilled counters. It literally sits there in the heat of the day. I'm talking cold meats, cheeses, fruit, various yogurts etc Many of the trays return to the kitchen after sitting there for hours and I'm not convinced they then throw it away, not when there are several trays of sliced meats for example? It seems to reappear for the evening meal. The food was pretty awful in the main restaurant so we opted to eat our evening meals mainly at the a la carte restaurant and this was excellent food. We tried the steak house too but that was awful. You are allowed to book to go to the other restaurants free as long as you reserve in advance. My second word of advice is to avoid like the plague the annoying guy that comes around the pool area to start massaging your hand with essential oils to persuade you to have some massages. Yes I was persuaded (he is persuasive) and expected to have a lovely massage in a private room with nice music and essential oils. What you actually get is herded into what I can only describe as a fret work cubicle in full view of others and told to take my top off despite there being a guy in the adjacent cubicle. There was not even room to swing a cat (British saying) and the massage itself was awful. I was covered in coconut, which was eventually partially wiped off me and I went away with coconut all over me which I tried to get off. It was a complete rip off! Do not listen to the sellers, it sounded heaven when it was described to me and was another way of ripping off the gullible holiday maker. Everywhere we went the staff were pocketing the cash we handed over including the massage staff. Half into the draw, half into their back pocket. We loved our holiday and the rep for Red sea holidays was superb (Wassim). He arranged fabulous day trips out and came with us which added to the enjoyment. The holiday was only marred by the food in the large restaurant food and the massage team who I understand are not directly employed by the hotel. So...go there...its great BUT be careful what you eat and to whom you hand your cash.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just spent two weeks in this resort and would highly recommend it for both couples and families. From the moment we arrived we were looked after as if we were royalty. From the general manager to the pool boys the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Mohammed whom was our room attendant could not do enough for us and was so helpful and polite. Ahmed at the pool was so attentive and made sure we were supplied with plenty of Water in an ice bucket so it was freezing cold. They also supplied us free nibbles and sliced fruit which they did not need to do. The accommodation was spectacular and so clean and well looked after. So nice to be pampered. Yes we caught a bit of mummies revenge and until we bought off had quite a few mozzie bites but that is to be expected here. The prices to eat out are very cheap and as this resort only does b&b or half board there are no drunken idiots. Total value for money

Room Tip: We had a superior 2nd floor poolside room and can honestly say never heard a noise. And with free ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just back from a week at The Grand Resort .... wow what a holiday. I travelled with Red Sea Holidays and everything from start to finish was 5*.
Transfers and check in were effortless. We were met at the hotel (which looked like Maharaja's Palace) with a warm welcome and shown to out Jnr Suite which for the extra few pounds was well worth the money.
The room was very spacious with 2 double beds and a lounge area that opened onto a blacony overlooking a beautiful pool.
There was a large Beach Bag complete with thick fluffy egyptian Pool/Beach towels all ready for use.
The rooms were serviced twice a day. Once in the morning for cleaning and towel changes and then again around 6pm when they turned the beds down and took away the wet pool towel replacing it with fresh clean ones.
The service around the pool was excellent, with waiters happy so serve and never expecting a tip. You could lay and not move all day and they would bring food, drink in fact anything you needed.
The food in the restaurant was acceptable, though not fantastic but there was always something to satisfy most people. (Avoid the cakes with the mousse filling as they seem to be the culprit for a few dodgy tums)... thankfully no problems for us.
The evening entertainment was from 9.30pm - 10.20pm every night and was different every time.
The beach is accessed through the sister hotel across the road....what a difference in the two hotels...avoid the Grand Hotel.. the toilets were dirty, the pool was tiny and it looked more like butlins.
At The Grand Resort, the grounds were treated at sunset every day with a bio friendly fog which ensured that we never set eyes on a mosquito (normally I am on their menu)...your room is also treated on a daily basis and the hallways are treated when everyone is in bed asleep. A real bonus to be able to walk about in 31C in the evening sleeveless without any worries of being bitten.
The Bank is opposite the hotel and the Reception at the hotel also exchange any currency..the rate was better than at home....Ensure that you carry a hand cleanser, becuse their money is never replaced only recycled and can be very dirty..a quick squirt with the hand gel and job done.
All in All a fantastic holiday and I would go back in a heartbeat...if you are not comfortable with the hotel guests being predominanty German then don't go...but if you are English then the staff themselves respect us for the fact that we are polite and smile and are not rude to them.
Whatever you read on Tripadviser that is negative..well you can't please eveyone but you will be more than impressed with this one.
Oh, and you can eat in the A La Carte restaurants within the complex twice during your week....whether it be local cuisine, Italian etc..or if you are hankering for an excellent STEAK then wander up to the Hard Rock Cafe where a succulent Steak with cheesy mash and veg washed down with a glass of wine or beer will set you back about £15.

Room Tip: The Jnr Suite's are brilliant but all rooms overlook one of the three pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is excellent and safe, our rooms was comfortable and clean with a fridge. The pools and pool areas are immaculate.

There are a few restaurants around the property which are all good but you can take a taxi to Siva Mall for 10 egyptian pounds and there are a few there. Also for 25 egyptian pounds you can take a taxi to El Gouna marina where there is a good Egyptian restaurant amongst others and bars.

On the front of the hotel are a few bars which are cheap and a shop where you can get drinks, snacks and anything else you might need. Whilst there we found residents to be 99% German, not many brits.

You will be hassled the moment you leave the property wether to go to the shop or over the road to the beech. It is incessant but you will be ok if you can handle it, I was here for a week and it got tiring very quickly.

There is an Egyptian bank over the road which has a guard at all times and an ATM. We found this the best deal for currency, we took English pounds and put this into the machine which was giving 9.5 compare to the hotels 9.4 and the U.K travel agents 8.5-9. Plus no paperwork or waiting!

My best tip when taking a taxi is to agree a price with the taxi driver before you set off and also have the correct fare. If you don't have the correct fare some of the drivers will try it on with you. Beware.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Resort

Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Hurghada
Grand Hotel Hurghada
Grand Resort Hurghada
Grand Resort
Grand Resort Hotel Hurghada
Address: Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#25 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#26 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suitably named, everything at this beautiful arabesque style hotel has been done on a grand scale – from the spacious and elegant rooms to the impressive terrace surrounding the three freeform swimming pools.Special consideration has been given to each individual feature to add to a setting that radiates five star luxuries. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Grand Resort to your Saves list