We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hurghada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Resort
Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 181 hotels in Hurghada
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just spent two weeks in this resort and would highly recommend it for both couples and families. From the moment we arrived we were looked after as if we were royalty. From the general manager to the pool boys the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Mohammed whom was our room attendant could not do enough for us and was so helpful and polite. Ahmed at the pool was so attentive and made sure we were supplied with plenty of Water in an ice bucket so it was freezing cold. They also supplied us free nibbles and sliced fruit which they did not need to do. The accommodation was spectacular and so clean and well looked after. So nice to be pampered. Yes we caught a bit of mummies revenge and until we bought off had quite a few mozzie bites but that is to be expected here. The prices to eat out are very cheap and as this resort only does b&b or half board there are no drunken idiots. Total value for money

Room Tip: We had a superior 2nd floor poolside room and can honestly say never heard a noise. And with free ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    618
    412
    132
    49
    29
See reviews for
140
350
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just back from a week at The Grand Resort .... wow what a holiday. I travelled with Red Sea Holidays and everything from start to finish was 5*.
Transfers and check in were effortless. We were met at the hotel (which looked like Maharaja's Palace) with a warm welcome and shown to out Jnr Suite which for the extra few pounds was well worth the money.
The room was very spacious with 2 double beds and a lounge area that opened onto a blacony overlooking a beautiful pool.
There was a large Beach Bag complete with thick fluffy egyptian Pool/Beach towels all ready for use.
The rooms were serviced twice a day. Once in the morning for cleaning and towel changes and then again around 6pm when they turned the beds down and took away the wet pool towel replacing it with fresh clean ones.
The service around the pool was excellent, with waiters happy so serve and never expecting a tip. You could lay and not move all day and they would bring food, drink in fact anything you needed.
The food in the restaurant was acceptable, though not fantastic but there was always something to satisfy most people. (Avoid the cakes with the mousse filling as they seem to be the culprit for a few dodgy tums)... thankfully no problems for us.
The evening entertainment was from 9.30pm - 10.20pm every night and was different every time.
The beach is accessed through the sister hotel across the road....what a difference in the two hotels...avoid the Grand Hotel.. the toilets were dirty, the pool was tiny and it looked more like butlins.
At The Grand Resort, the grounds were treated at sunset every day with a bio friendly fog which ensured that we never set eyes on a mosquito (normally I am on their menu)...your room is also treated on a daily basis and the hallways are treated when everyone is in bed asleep. A real bonus to be able to walk about in 31C in the evening sleeveless without any worries of being bitten.
The Bank is opposite the hotel and the Reception at the hotel also exchange any currency..the rate was better than at home....Ensure that you carry a hand cleanser, becuse their money is never replaced only recycled and can be very dirty..a quick squirt with the hand gel and job done.
All in All a fantastic holiday and I would go back in a heartbeat...if you are not comfortable with the hotel guests being predominanty German then don't go...but if you are English then the staff themselves respect us for the fact that we are polite and smile and are not rude to them.
Whatever you read on Tripadviser that is negative..well you can't please eveyone but you will be more than impressed with this one.
Oh, and you can eat in the A La Carte restaurants within the complex twice during your week....whether it be local cuisine, Italian etc..or if you are hankering for an excellent STEAK then wander up to the Hard Rock Cafe where a succulent Steak with cheesy mash and veg washed down with a glass of wine or beer will set you back about £15.

Room Tip: The Jnr Suite's are brilliant but all rooms overlook one of the three pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is excellent and safe, our rooms was comfortable and clean with a fridge. The pools and pool areas are immaculate.

There are a few restaurants around the property which are all good but you can take a taxi to Siva Mall for 10 egyptian pounds and there are a few there. Also for 25 egyptian pounds you can take a taxi to El Gouna marina where there is a good Egyptian restaurant amongst others and bars.

On the front of the hotel are a few bars which are cheap and a shop where you can get drinks, snacks and anything else you might need. Whilst there we found residents to be 99% German, not many brits.

You will be hassled the moment you leave the property wether to go to the shop or over the road to the beech. It is incessant but you will be ok if you can handle it, I was here for a week and it got tiring very quickly.

There is an Egyptian bank over the road which has a guard at all times and an ATM. We found this the best deal for currency, we took English pounds and put this into the machine which was giving 9.5 compare to the hotels 9.4 and the U.K travel agents 8.5-9. Plus no paperwork or waiting!

My best tip when taking a taxi is to agree a price with the taxi driver before you set off and also have the correct fare. If you don't have the correct fare some of the drivers will try it on with you. Beware.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is excellent and safe. The hole hotel and pool area were like a oasis. I stayed there two weeks and had a room in the fifth floor facing to pool area and the Red Sea. You cant get hungry in this hotel. Various meels was served ´, really Zoe V, i cant understand you think the food was bad. It was excellent. The staff was nice and i got good service. I have made my next reservation to this lovely place.

Room Tip: 4-5 th floor face to ppol area and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We visited Egypt for the first time in May and we loved it.The Resort is huge and built wilh an inspiration of 1001 nights. Our suite was spacious and comfortable with a pool view.The pools are all very nice with luxuary sunbeds and umbrellas. The dining experience was excellent with a variety of options from traditional middle eastern to international cuisine.But first and foremost we enjoyed the nice athmosphere of hospitality and service. We have already booked our second stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessheim, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

What else can you ask for? The hotel itself is excellent. Very nice, large and welcoming. Good choiche of restaurants and bars. The two poolareas are lovely and spacious. Seperat pools for children. We stayed in a very nice juniour suite which is more than big enough for 2 adults and 2 children. A large balcony facing the poolarea - a nice place to enjoy the evenings.
In general the staff was kind and helpful, but they dont do anything for free. They expect tips for every little thing. And if you pay cash in restaurants or bars, make sure you get the right change!
Just outside the hotel, you have several shops. However, this was our first holiday where we almost didn`t buy anything.. it was just too exhausting to go shopping. For every step you take, someone will stop you, and sometimes even grab your arm, in order to sell you something. I know that this has nothing to do with the hotel, but it still counts in the overall impression of the holiday.
The beach was nothing special. Actually we were a bit disappointed. It was small and nothing like the pictures you see with iceblue water and white sand. Off course you can join one of the excursions - I am sure Hurghada has more to offer than what you see just outside the Grand Resort. But be aware that the excursions are not suitable for younger children.
All in all, I can really recommend this hotel, especially if you enjoy sunbathing and swimming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, Surrey uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Good check in , I was given a ground floor room near main building as requested. A bit of waiting around but a man carried the bags etc. no welcome drink but that didn't bother me.
Lobby area is very attractive, fountains (which they could do to keep on more ) archways & domed ceiling.
Room was spacious with balcony by the quiet pool, but stale water / bad smell coming from bathroom. This stayed all week. Not unbearable, we asked for air freshener but not 5 star. The air con did work but wasnt a digital display just a fan type thing so in 40 degrees wasn't sufficient. In a bit cooler times probably would be ok.
Restaurant was the worst bit, bad service & dry food. Same food every day. Only 2 cereals offered no muesli. Both my husband & I had food poisoning, we met several others with the same thing & you could tell in the loos!
No beach here, but the pools are very good. Bar staff bring your drinks to you, & a man will lay your towel out for you.
Overall I was disappointed with the hotel because we paid for half board but really couldn't use it as the food was bad. (noodles were nice though) the beach is across the road at grand hotel - sandy not coral etc for snorkelling.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Resort

Address: Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suitably named, everything at this beautiful arabesque style hotel has been done on a grand scale – from the spacious and elegant rooms to the impressive terrace surrounding the three freeform swimming pools.Special consideration has been given to each individual feature to add to a setting that radiates five star luxuries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Hurghada
Grand Hotel Hurghada
Grand Resort Hurghada
Grand Resort Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Grand Resort to your Saves list