We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not an 'All inclusive' hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hurghada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Resort
Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 181 hotels in Hurghada
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This is not an 'All inclusive' hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Hotel, pools and rooms were fine but the food was not 5*. This is advertised as an all inclusive resort but the only places that were totally 'all inclusive' were the 2 buffett restaraunts. Every where else you had to pay for ether food or drink or both. Had a few problems getting a drink at the Tutti Frutti bar - seemed to be only one person serving at any time. We asked if they did coffee one night and were pointed in the direction of a jar of coffee and a jug of rancid milk (nice). We visited Hurghada 2 years ago and everyone was holding their hand out for an English pound. They must have gone up in the world as the guy that took our cases to the room turned his nose up at the £2 we gave him and asked if we had any notes. Not a terrible holiday but they desperately need to sort out the all inclusive. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    618
    412
    133
    49
    29
See reviews for
140
351
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Hotel grounds, rooms, pool area and lobby are definitely 5*. Unfortunately the food lets it down. As a previous reviewer mentions they have not quite got the hang of all inclusive. I understand this was their first season trying all inclusive and they have a lot to learn to perfect it.
You are given a map of the hotel and a list of places you can and can't eat. The 2 main buffet restaurants served a basic choice with lots of rice, pasta and noodles and possibily 1 meat. I would normally try the kiddies food but that was the same. Best waiter in the Mahara restaurant is Wael. Appears from nowhere and very efficient. The best meal we had was at the Steak house at which you can eat once in a week, however you do have to pay for drinks which were expensive.
We never had a problem getting a drink in any of the restaurants or bars. I think it does help to be friendly as the waiters and barmen are more likely to look after you. We didn't tip until the end of the holiday and this was not a problem at all. We never felt as though they were waiting for it.
The Waterfront bar by the pool was excellent and all the bar staff were brilliant especially Avafat and Ahmed who treat us like royalty. Also lovely Mostafa who brought drinks to us by the pool. He doesn't say much but is always there when you need him. Thanks Guys !
The main problem was the massage parlour, who hassled constantly during the day. Unless of course you pretend to be asleep !
We did not enjoy our time outside the hotel. Although directly outside there's a nice pedestrian area, lit up lovely at night, this is spoilt by the constant hassle from the shop keepers. Even if you try to be polite and say no thank you they continue to try to get you into their shops and do not take no for an answer. You then have to be more forceful which they then see as rude.
Overall a lovely holiday but hotel has to sort a few issues if it wants to continue with all inclusive and keep it's 5 stars.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room which overlooked the pool. Apparently the standard rooms face the road which I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piestany, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

...just to say great thank you for an excelent service and great time with you all......after one week spent in your hotel, can just recomend it to everybody...and now hoping to visit this wonderfull place again...miss you...Darina & Petra from Slovakia xxx

Room Tip: No. 1157 ...great location, close to pools, restaurants, reception, Orange club...but quite place fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
driffield
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

we arrived at the hotel and where very pleased with what we saw. but we where all inclusive and because it is so big we found it a right pain trying to look at the map and the list of what we could use and what we couldnt. it took us a couple of days to familiarise ourselves. food wasnt perfect or very good quality, apart from the mediterranean restaurant, which was excellent. proof they can cook!
tutti frutti bar made us very welcome from the start,
orange bar service not good first time in , had a word with manager ahmed who then looked out for us all holiday, lovely man, special mention also of ahmed mohsem, ahmed salae, lovely boys, hope ali mohammed enjoyed his 21st birthday. loved to have got my hands on this hotel and tweaked all its bad points.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Went for a week, back 1 October 2011. I have written a separate review of Hughada itself (see hurghada info page). Have read lots of reviews here, I was not aware Resort had only recently started all inclusive. We had no problems with this but you do need to read the info sheet in your room, this explains all.

Service can be patchy and made no difference whether you tipped or not. Getting to know the bar staff seemed to make more of a difference. slight problem we did have, we collared a manager and it was sorted. Any Don't sit and wait for drinks to come to you, they can be slow at times (would hate to be there July Aug time), get up and get your own, we never had a problem getting served.

Restraunts seemed to busier at breakfast. No problems getting tables but collect own food and cutlery and you will be fine. Tables are set but don't appear to be relaid after this. Can definitely recommend the porridge at the restraunt near Orange bar! Also crepes, great choice.

We only went for a week, did not see or hear many English people which we were happy with (special anniversary). Mainly Germans and Russians who were all very pleasant and made the food more interesting. The only drunk we encountered was from Austria, makes a change!

We are not sunbed worshippers, prefer to go on them after lunch when cooler, no shortage of beds at that time. Massage sellers, want to give you full hour total body massage. I negotiated just back massage for half that price. They were not keen to do this but full hour is just too much. Room service guy introduced himself every day, we had already decided we were going to give him a tip on the last day, hope he was not waiting for daily tip. We only
requested room clean on alternate days.

Cocktails good but they tend to use soda water in many, ask them to replace it with sprite instead...makes the gin fizz a lot nicer. This was our first ever package holiday and first all inclusive so we had nothing to compare it to.

This place is not perfection but we had a great time for the price we paid. Go, explore and enjoy.

Room Tip: we booked last minute, only had suite left. Cost about £80 more than standard room. ALL suites ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

First of all the Rooms were a bit dark. Also being vegiterian there wasnt much option. What we werant told was that the Beach was across the road through the sister hotel. The sister hotel was a 4* but looked better than this 5*.

The hotel did try to accomdate our diet as much as possible, but the normal restuarants were not great

On day we got food poisoning. This could have been due to the water, however other travelers we met got the same bug.

The evening entertainment was excellent.

Room Tip: The beach is not attached to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Have just returned from a week's stay in the Grand Resort booked last minute. Lovely large room, clean with large patio overlooking pool minor point could do with more lighting in the room and corridors. Plenty of sunbeds around the two pools although the beds are rather on top of each other. Pool boys were okay but only wanted to put up your umbrella at a certain time. They have 2 waiters around the pool supplying drinks but it was usually quicker to get it yourself especially if you are all inclusive and english. It seems that every 10mins someone is asking if you would like a massage. Food was okay a bit repetitive and not suitable if you are a veggie and don't expect to get a drink with your meal as there are not enough staff to get you one. A few people had upset stomachs my friend included. A good point the waiters in the Orange bar were nice and friendly and seemed to like the english more than the germans so you were served with a smile. Overall this hotel needs to improve if they plan to do all inclusive as the standards are barely 3 star let alone 5 and for a hotel of this size they had insufficient toilets around the hotel for those who had stomach upsets. I don't think I would return to this hotel in the near future although I do like Hurghada.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Resort

Address: Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suitably named, everything at this beautiful arabesque style hotel has been done on a grand scale – from the spacious and elegant rooms to the impressive terrace surrounding the three freeform swimming pools.Special consideration has been given to each individual feature to add to a setting that radiates five star luxuries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Hurghada
Grand Hotel Hurghada
Grand Resort Hurghada
Grand Resort Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Grand Resort to your Saves list