We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overal but animation for the kids ?!!?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PrimaSol Ali Baba Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added PrimaSol Ali Baba Palace to your Saves list
PrimaSol Ali Baba Palace
Main Beach Street, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 177 Hotels in Hurghada
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
1 review
“Good overal but animation for the kids ?!!?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the Abi Baba Palace from 8 - 22 August our family consists of 2 adults and 2 children 6 yrs and 2 years.

Our criteria was as follows;

1 Must be close to the beech

2 Good all inclusive options - dining etc

3 Child animation during the evenings

Much has been made in the press of the current situation in Egypt that aside in our 15 days there, we saw no demonstrations in the area and the local retailers, waiters and management alike are very concerned about the future, so please make up your own minds about that.


Resort appearance.

First impressions upon entering a very large lobby area were very good, you will find a large selection of shops, bowling and an ice rink - I have no idea why they have this - as it was always empty, they would be better of turning it into a cinema for kids etc.

The grounds of the hotel are really well kept - they spend a lot of time on the upkeep of them and if you like cats there are plenty of them to feed.


Rooms.

We stayed in a standard room which accommodated the four of us, we had a fridge which was stocked up with water daily - if you tip your room attendant you get more water and sculptures from towels etc.

I would describe the rooms as tired looking - they need a revamp but suited our purpose.


Food.

The hotel has 3 themed restaurants, Italian, Oriental and African I have no idea what the food cost per person they are working on but overall we were satisfied - if you find a good waiter they will bring you drinks - I did find one and he brought kiddy cocktails a wine for a small tip.

Beech Bar.

The beech bar opens for business at 9 am for drinks, coffee and then at 12 for lunch.
The dining area is open air and shaded for salads, burgers and hot dogs until 1600, we opted for this quite frequently as we didn't have to drag the kids back to the main hotel.

The staff were friendly - but the onus just like with any service industry is tipping.

Kids Club

We took our kids there to get out of the sun on one day and that was our last, very dirty, broken toys and urinated mattresses, steer clear of that place.

Kids entertainment

The children have a mini disco at 1900 daily except Sundays when that have a day off, which for the life of me I do not understand, the disco is presented by one animator and is focused for Russian children and there is no variation at all - in short rubbish - if the expect to take your kids to this hotel for them to have the time of their lives - choose another hotel.

Nightly entertainment.

Pretty much the same - the lead animator should be fired - again they have a day off on Sunday - enough said.

Pools.

The pool is pretty impressive as it winds throughout the resort with a kiddy pools at the bottom which is shaded - plenty of loungers.

For the adults they have a swim up bar.

Beech.

The loungers are comp - the beech is a little rocky to the left leading to more sandy to the right.
If you want a front row umbrella get there for 0600 am as the Russians get up early!!


Overal impression.

We enjoyed our stay at the Ali Baba, would I go back? yes I would, just bear in mind that the majority of the guests are Russian and sometimes lack social skills - make your own entertainment for the kids - tip some key service personnel and you will have a nice time.

For such a big resort 600 plus rooms you don't feel overcrowded.

The staff do try their best and they pull it off.

7/10 overal.

Room Tip: Tip the receptionist
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    153
    74
    33
    27
See reviews for
147
140
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Having just spent 28 nights with my children at The Ali Baba Resort I can honestly say that it is a lovely resort and we felt very comfortable there. The pool and gardens are very well maintained and we found the staff to be both friendly and helpful. There are three restaurants to choose from and we always found something that appealed. In two of the restaurants, salads are prepared to order which we appreciated. Our room was comfortable, spacious and bottled water was left daily. It is true that there were only a handful of British guests but we found the Russian, German and Dutch guests, in general, respectful and polite.

We enjoyed our stay and we Look forward to returning soon.

Tips: We went on several wonderful snorkelling trips which were amazing. We went to The New Marina and booked directly with Deep Dark, (which is a beautiful large grey boat named Deep Dark) that is moored there, it is moored opposite Papas Beach Club. Costs the same as the other organised snorkelling trips but is much more luxurious and they serve a great lunch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel it's self and the grounds are quite nice...

However the staff are EXTREMELY rude and ignorant. If you like being ignored, glared and sighed at then this is place for you. We where the only English in the hotel at the time and really where treated like dirt by staff!

Food was bland and some of it awful, the Italian restaurant did have some nice dishes to be fair.

Some areas where clean and others really not.

There are alot of rules in this hotel and whilst I agree with a need for rules some of them make you feel like a school kid getting told off.

Unrelated to hotel:

Excursions in the local area where enjoyable, and the bars on the marina in town where good! Beware of using local taxis, one tried to scam us by switching notes, they work in gangs. However luckily we where on a lads holiday and are all big and experienced doormen, so we managed to intimidate them into not scamming us and apologising... Others would not be so lucky.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Obviously the hotel is not perfect, you don't really pay much to ask for that. What I didn't like was the education of the hotel staff, they treat you almost like if they hated you, for example one of the waiters kicked me out of my table before I even stopped eating because "the restaurant was getting busy". They could improve on the presentation in the rooms, they are not what you expect when you see the rest of the hotel; old beds, old tv, old furniture, but again that is not really that bad. The food is ok, although they have always the same menu everyday, which makes it not very appealing (you wont be hungry but you wont crave the food either). The pool is massive and just awesome, clean, amazing, it's perfect and you can really have a good. The animation team only animate for the russians in russian (everything is about russia, if you don't like the russians don't go). They have many companies in the lobby to go do your excursions, the companies are trustworthy and you have an amazing time. If you don't care about these little details and you have an open mentality ready to have fun and you are not picky (or british), then this is your spot, you will have the time of your life.

Room Tip: Request for a king size bed when you book (otherwise you will get two separated beds)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

we booked a last minute holiday at Easter & was really impressed with this hotel.

The rooms are very clean & spacious......

The hotel was lovely & we particulary liked the fact that down at the beach area's they had their own restuarants, food, drink etc..... they was plenty of variety. With food being served till midnight for those who got hungry again. Another bonus is that they have 2 sisters hotels next door, where you can use all their facilities, even the all inclusive, so if you fancy sunbathing round a different pool, you dont have to worry that you cant eat or drink. For the evening meal you have to get a pass from your own hotel reception.....

entertainment was mediocre but if you had kids the animation team were always doing something fun for them, if im honest though it wasnt really aimed at the english, this hotel is a russian or german paradise & all the workers seem to speak one of those languages as a second language but their english wasnt so great.

they have a fruit stall within the hotel which they charge for, which i thought was wrong as mums wanting to get their kids to eat that instead of cakes etc were being charged.....

grounds are kept lovely, always gardening....

we went on the mega safari which i thought was brilliant value for money.... ride a quad on your own, in a spider car with 3 other people & you all get to take a turn, then you go in a 4x4 with your small group over to see the beoudin people in their village & ride a camel in the dessert.... they have little gifts here which are super cheap, handmade bags/rugs for a tenner but they never have change so make sure you have small notes....back to the safari base & along with all the other tourists which was 200+ the day we was there.... they put on an egyptian bar b q & have live belly dancers etc..... defo worth a day out...

went on a boat trip to paradise island.... weather was a bit choppy so it made the snorkelling stops a waste of time, literally all u then do is go to an island for a few hours, sunbathe have a free bit of grub..... no where to buy any more food & alcohol is barred..... it was an okay day, but i wouldnt do it again.....

overall though very good holiday.... weather as always was amazing mid 30's

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great hotel and all the staff can't do enough for you, they love the English and hate the Russians, the Germans they tolerate. We had a fantastic time, I am Coeliac and my wife cannot eat potatoes or wheat starch but we both ate very well. There was not a night that we had trouble with the food. All facilities were clean and there were staff around at all times making sure it stayed clean. Beach was nice and clean too. Can't wait to go back. (both of us are disabled so had a ground floor room that was close to the main building)

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room on the 4700 bock. We had room 4711 which was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely resort. They have countless staff cleaning the hotel and grounds. The gardens are beautiful and constantly being worked on. So many restaurants and beach bars. Swimming pools are lovely and spotless. You are totally spoilt for choice. The majority of staff are great. If it is a fry up for breakfast you are looking for then this hotel is not for you. There is a great selection of food and don't know how people can complain unless its fry ups and sheppards pie they were expecting! Can't wait to go back!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.3 mi away
Jasmine Village Hotel
Jasmine Village Hotel
#57 of 177 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
#69 of 177 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dessole Titanic Aqua Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Coral Beach Resort
Coral Beach Resort
#66 of 177 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dessole Aladdin Beach Resort
Dessole Aladdin Beach Resort
#85 of 177 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PrimaSol Ali Baba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PrimaSol Ali Baba Palace

Address: Main Beach Street, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#30 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 654
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your PrimaSol Ali Baba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primasol Ali Baba Palace Hotel Hurghada
Primasol Ali Baba Palace Hurghada
Ali Baba Palace Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PrimaSol Ali Baba Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.