We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aladdin Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Aladdin Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aladdin Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Touristic Villages Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 181 hotels in Hurghada
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Arrived with his family. I am a wife, a daughter of 4 years.
Impressions from the hotel are good. A huge territory (including a grid of three hotels). Gets 3 heated pools and great beach. Near the beach, a coral reef.
The food is good. But the apparent diversity bored on the third day. All the food - the same egg, only in profile.
Staff are mostly friendly. But the waiters are arrogant, slow and hamovatye.
If it does not take into account, the hotel is excellent for family vacations

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    137
    67
    42
    36
See reviews for
89
116
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

I booked the Aladdin at the last minute for a holiday between 21-28 December on the strength of the TA reviews regarding the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and on this point I was not disappointed. BUT, given what I paid for the trip, it was pretty poor value for the money. I have been to 2 Occidental hotels in Egypt and can therefore make the comparison with other 4* hotels and this one very definitely came up wanting.

We should have had a 3 bedded room, but on arrival we had been allocated a very small twin because there was no room for the sofa to be put down. Luckily this was not a problem as another larger room was available and it was quickly switched.

Do remember to tip at the beginning of your holiday and as you go along and you will get good service. It will get quite expensive. The staff rely on these tips as I am told they only earn £70 per month. Do not leave it until you go home.

Positives:
The exchange rate at the bank in the hotel was better than anything you can get in the UK - being 8.95 on arrival.
It was hot by 9.30 am and nearly 30 by mid-day, but the sun cools down by 3.30 pm at this time.
Our room was kept clean and tidy and we had clean towels daily - thanks to Fouad for that. He also kept us topped up with water.
The shower, albeit old, was always extremely hot and had good pressure.
A huge amount of effort by the kitchen staff went into a Christmas Eve dinner.
I had 2 wonderful massages by Ahmed in the spa for £25 each - he really got the knots out.
Plenty of ramps for pushchairs, but rather steep sometimes for a wheelchair.
You can use the facilities of the 2 hotels either side, but you need a booking slip from reception before they let you in and you get this from reception in the morning.
Although it is near to the airport, there really is no noise disturbance.
Set of shops just outside the hotel - 10-15 minute walk - one of which is a Cleopatra, which is fixed price and quite reasonable. There is also one in Hurghada.

The hotel has its own nice taxi which will take you into Hurghada for 80LE and pick you up at a designated time. It will drop you off near the Pizza Hut in a side road off Sheraton Road and a man from the Ramses shop will sort out the pickup. Be careful not to get in the wrong taxi on return as there are plenty wanting to take you back. This taxi for us was cheaper than using the shuttle bus which goes at 3.30 from the hotel at cost 15LE per person each way.

I do not think Hurghada shops are suitable for anyone with mobility problems as the pavements have curbs which are 10 - 12" in places and I struggled with my knee. There is not a long stretch of pavement because there are so many side streets here. There are a lot of expensive gold and silver shops and dozens of souvenir shops with exactly the same goods in each. There is a McDonalds, KFC and Pizza Hut.

Aladdin beach has parasols and windbreaks and we did not have a problem with towels being put out in the am, but the beach was full by 10 am. Sand shoes would be useful for children beause there are quite a few large rocks in the water, but also there is good snorkelling off the jetty.
Jasmin beach has better sand and there are no rocks in the water, but the parasols and windbreaks are placed very close together.
The towel service works well.

Channel 20 has BBC world news, 22 is an English film channel and 23 sport.

The hotel was full, but this wasn't a problem most of the time. You wait to be seated, so you don't have to look for a spare table. You soon learn the busy times, such as 6.30 pm for us, but by 7.30 it was clear again. 8 am was fine but by 9.30 it was busy.

Negatives:
This is not a 4* hotel, probably not even 3.
I have always taken the comments with a pinch of salt about the state of a hotel, but unfortunately everything you read here is true. They are constantly making repairs but the quality of workmanship is dreadful. They only have a 6" brush I think - cowboy builders would have a run for their money here.

The rooms all safes but these were not working. You had to get a key to a bank of safe deposit boxes in reception and do your business there, which is quite inconvenient.
I could not make a phone call to England from the room on Christmas Day and had to use the service in reception and had no privacy. The cost was £3.60 for 3 minutes.

NO COCKTAILS - I have never been all inclusive anywhere where there is not some kinjd of cocktail selection. You have can the local spirits with one mixer and the spirit was reasonably strong, but I don't understand why in a country where fruit juice is so cheap these were not available.
I did buy a pina colada on Christmas Eve for 50LE, but this had white stuff at the bottom and apple pieces floating at the top - not apparently coconut, so didn't bother again.

The menu at the beach bar was not very good - not geared to AI - but you could buy other food.
Water was not available other than in your room and no other drinks in the fridge.

The evening entertainment does not start until 10pm in the disco, although the Jasmine and Ali Baba start at 9 pm, but we didn't bother with it. So we just had drinks on the terrace of the lobby bar, which brings me to:

MOSQUITOS - My daughter was eaten alive on her last night while sitting outside in the lobby bar, inspite of having sprayed herself with Jungle spray. She also had a couple of bites on her first night while smoking on the balcony of the room. The hotel does spray insect repellant around the grounds at 4.30 in the afternoon, so I am surprised. I didn't suffer at all this trip, neither did my other daughter. We were told fluoride toothpaste soothes them well.

We met someone from the Pyramisa on our way home who went to their doctor for her young daughter because of a bad bite and paid £50 as soon as she entered the room and £100 for the ointment!!!!

Had my daughter written this review, it would have been much more scathing.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

The hotel is clean, good value for money or as they would say "cheap as chips" so don't expect more than what you pay for. The staff are a mixture the same as anywhere. Some work hard and some don't. The cleaners are a pain keep coming and going with towels to catch you in for a tip as is the rest of the country but thats expected out there. The things which do get on your nerves are the lingering pervy looks from the pool staff who will not leave young girls alone at all! The massage is good value unless of course you are young and they try touching you up in the wrong places. The food, lets keep it real, food is a personal choice so I never go off what people say is good and bad but it was hillarious as how many different names can you call a beef in gravy of sorts..lots is the answer to that. Chicken is the same. Sometimes it was called duck but rest assured it was chicken. The food is the same in the other hotels if dining in the main areas. Very repetative. You will be mithered by the pool and beach daily asking you about trips etc so if you are looking for a get away from it all don't pick this hotel. The staff save loungers at the pool and beach if you tip them so if your not paying your not getting although when I went there was enough to go around! Hotel was clean, food cold and drink tasted as it usually does like paint stripper unless your paying but it is still value for money for a last minute deal. The whole holiday to Egypt is about getting what they can from you however they can and when booking trips they will tell you what you want to here and even lie to get you to book. I fell for that one! It sounds all negative but it is value for money as it is mega cheap!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Just got back from 2 weeks in Aladdin beach resort. The resort is part of a complex with 2 additional resorts, in which you have free access.
Positive: The weather :-)
Negative: The structure itself, which needs to be refurbished, bad service (besides the friendly approach of staff members, they are not able to provide you with acceptable standards of service). Food, always the same and not really tasty. The presence of horde of russians who are not the maximum of politeness and friendly behaviour. Waiters and staff who instead to work and improve the service, spend time to talk/chase women customers.

If you're looking for a relatively cheap holidays with not many expectations, you may consider this Hotel. Otherwise better choose something else.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Just returned from a wonderful holiday at Alladin Beach. Having read reviews, I honestly think they say more about the person who is writing them than the hotel. It was clean, friendly, mainly russian, yes, but that just means that the 20 or so English groups / couples gravitate towards each other much more readily, and we really enjoyed this. The music was mainly English, the entertainment fun, the use of 3 hotels gave us enough variety in our 2 week stay. OK the food is samey after 2 weeks, but there is always something you can eat, from junk food on the beach to a variety of meals in the restaurants.
Tips - Tip your waiter 200 egp (£2) on day 1 and you will be waited on hand and foot every night after that, while the russians are queuing at the bar.
Bring Imodium ( we never worked out what caused the tummy upsets, tried avoiding water, salad, milk, wine etc and came to the conclusion it's just different to our systems) but 1 imodium, no probs (wish we'd known that earlier :)
Bring bug repellant and antihistamine cream - forgot to use them on day 1 - got gnashed to bits - after that no problem.
The main pool is being reconstructed, but as you still have 1 pool, an amazing beach and use of an AMAZING pool at Ali Baba next door, and all of the Jasmine's facilities, it really isn't a problem.
Having visited both the Ali Baba and Jasmine beach on either side, I would definitely stay here again. We spoke to people (and experienced) that because in both of the other hotels, it is a free for all, grab a table, fight the russians etc, whereas in the Alladin, it is wait to be seated, get food and waiter served drinks, the atmosphere and service is much calmer, and not like a canteen.
Above all, the Egyptians love the british and can be a bit overzealous, but if you laugh it off, and say no thanks nicely when you don't want something, they are happy to smile and be on their way and will go out of their way to be helpful.
I've been to Hurghada before, and was very pleasantly surprised with this hotel, and am already saving up to go back.
If you want to ask anymore questions, please feel free.
P.S If you fly back to Britain in the winter - Remember NOT to wear flipflops especially when it's minus 1 in the UK - Have fun and enjoy :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Just got home from the aladdin!!!!!! PLEASE think again if you are thinking about going here!!! Iknow it was only cheap, but my god you get what you pay for really was the case.
FOOD
If you like salad, you will be fine if you can get at it!!!! as the Russians and germans pile it on there plates as if they have never seen any before!!
As for the omelettes for breakfast, lets just say i now have some idea what my grandad went through storming the beaches at Normandy as the Germans would surround the omellette area as if a pillbox, fighting back any English who dare venture near!! If i had a flame thrower i would of quite happily re enacted the Private Ryan bit when the American says let them burn!!!!!!
ROOMS
Ok not to bad, water every day and very clean.
STAFF
Great if you tip!!! so you need to bring along another £500 to keep tipping them, ie breakfast, lunch, dinner, towels, drink, room,etc. If you tip they are fine if you dont they wiil not even look at you.
POOL
Go to Ali Barba pool next door Its amazing!!! dont even bother with the aladdin pool its not good.
TO SUM UP
Dont stay at the Aladdin use the Ali Barba, Simple!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed in the Aladdin for our honeymoon. In terms of service it was fantastic, the Egyptians are a lovely and down to earth set of people and really do go out of their way if tipped and will always make you as happy as possible for any of your requirements.

Only one downer, TV has one english channel (channel 25 - its called 2) and no Wifi (boooooooo), you can float on the net for 30 egyptian pounds although not much for the smart phones users like most of us :(

Some of the other guests, especially those from the CCCP were so rude, not just to Brits, Dutch and German, but also to their own kind. Don't take it to heart its just their way and it was a shame they behaved like that to their own people. As an example they would never wait, the children seemed to be worse than the adults. If you don't get to the food quick enough you will probably miss out on some of the fruit. I saw numerous russian familes put around 15 bananna's on a plate, 13 small packets of butter on a plate for 4 bread rolls? The amount of food they waste is terrible, therefore leading to the food being a lower quality which is business practice here due to this.

The russians have no concept of queing and will just push in with no acknowledgement of other people. We went to Cairo for a day visit and on the return flight the airport called 4 flights together, they stomped towards the buses crushing kids and elderly, I was appalled and finally lost my rag with one russian as he squashed a 5yr old russian kid and his mother against a door.

Anyway back to the hotel, staff were spot on, night staff in the bar were really funny and cool. The entertainment was aimed at russians at the night, the disco was O.K again the music was trance, the music was very loud by the swimming pool due to the maintenance they are doing at the pool. You need to put your towels down very early (both at beach and pool) by the way, otherwise you have no where to work on your tan, breakfast starts at 6:30am, so make sure you get your towels sorted first preferably before 8:30am, in November its quite warm at 7am and the sun goes in at around 4pm, 3 is starts to get a bit nippy (i.e spain weather not egypt).

The rooms have Aircon so its cool, water is in the room, they give you 3/4 or 5 bottles if you tip lol. Dinner in the beach bar is O.K, recommend the Jasmine Beach Bar for that, although Ahmed and others in the Aladdin Beach Bar make you want to come back due to their excellent service.

Cakes in the main resturant are fantastic, pastry chef is v-good, he conjures up magic most nights. The staff are also very freindly in the hotel resturant, they work quite well and they feed the russians in very slowly to ensure they get seated and not just pick any table they want wether or not there is other peoples food on it. The food is plenty, most of it is targetted at the russians and is bland, although they have some repetition. Food is buffet and like I said, its not the best but its O.K, if your looking for fish and chips go back to England, as you'll be lucky to find anything like that in Egypt. We had a maccies one night they do delivery.

Out of the resort, barter first with taxi's (yellow n black ones only) don't do the buses they don't speak english (vans with seats). Why do all the cars keep beeping at you? they want to give you a lift for money. Most egyptians are well spoken in English not Russian so barter how much it will cost you. Recommend to to the Sahara Park excursion for 40 english pounds a head its brill you get to go in quads, carts, ride a camel, look at jupiter and the moon through a telescope, climb a mountain and have dinner and watch some excellent dancing. Well worth it. Don't do the Cairo one day travel, you have to get up at 03:00 in the morning and your at it all day till 9pm when you are just getting back, it was worth it seeing the pryamids and sphinx although it knocks you for 6!

There is a super market down the road (called the Menzo), cheap ciggies and booze (9 egptian pounds to the Pound, we paid 140 egyptian pounds for 400 cigs). Additionally there is a maccies, pizza place, cinema and plenty to do there. Be careful not to fall for the Egyptian banter in the small shopping centre on the way to the Menzo, its called the Cleopatra, avoid anyone selling "essences", paper prints and bags and t-shirts, they will invite you in the shop and persuade to sell you something, Either ignore them say "la" which is no or don't speak to them. Cleopatara and the ciggie shop next to it have fixed prices which are cheaper than the shops in the resort, by a large amount and they are literally mins down the road but walking past the seller's to get to the shops is quite a harassing experience unless your a cold person :-)

Hurghada definetly go to the old town, its about 10 mins down the road in taxi (remember barter first), full of restaraunts etc and places to shop. Remember be assertive and firm, when Egyptians sell things, they sell hard. The docks are O.K for food although pricey and new town is also good as well for a days shopping, but again if you don't like being hassled be firm. Avoid the local food shops unless you want stomach issues, there is a mac d, KFC, Pizza Hut, Burger King in the new town. Most you should pay is 30 egyptian pounds to get there and 30 L.E's to get back, because I look egyptian we were able to barter less (i'm indian so we have similar features).

Back to the hotel...

Service in the lobby bar, you had a waiter, small fella who only smiled and talked to russians, the pub was poor, the lighting was too dark, you'll get bored in there. Sakara local beer is actually O.K, voddie and coke is O.K, wine (white and red), well don't bother its horrid. The all inclusive for the disco finishes at 11:00 (i know stupid!), so just go back down to the main lobby bar and they serve all inclusive till 12:30. You can't take drinks to your room either????

Hassled on the beach you will be on your first few days eventually they give up, the russians only do short 2/3 day trips so they will spend their time on the russians. Safes don't work in rooms so use the hotel ones, they are free and fab service. Exchange your money over in the hotel too, they have a cashier service there and you get more for your sterling in the hotel :)

You will wait for your drinks unless you have made a good friend with Egyptians (hopefully you know what I mean), I must of tipped about 15 quid over the week worth it, I got drinks without asking and the only time I had to get up was to go to the toilet. The food was worse in the Jasmine, Oriental and Italian, um don't bother its the same as you get in your main hotel. The Aladdin had the best food by far out of all the hotels. Although Beach bar I'd use Jasmine, there beach bar is like burger king, and the chef there is really friendly and brill service.

You can walk quite quickly from one hotel to the other, well sign posted, you will come to a zoo, quite ruff to be honest, it had two long haired labradors in there, a series of blue bottomed monkeys and rabbits, not very well kept and you will be offended as much as me and my partner, stay well away, its in the jasmine, see the cages please walk the other way, we had drunk chats about freeing the animals but never did :)

All in all, really enjoyed it, some dodgy fellow travellers could of spoilt it for us, but we didn't let them, remember its 90% russians in this hotel, and remember its not Spain so it won't cater specifically for your English ways, but step back and enjoy the culture of the Egyptians and have a laugh at the russians trying to dance and you will be fine. You do get what you pay for so don't expect the world, remember the hotels caters for russians ONLY although if you like travelling and you can adapt you will be fine, we really enjoyed ourselves. So would I recommend yes I would, although only for broad minded folk.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aladdin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aladdin Beach Resort

Address: Touristic Villages Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#55 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#69 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aladdin Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Aladdin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aladdin Beach Hotel Hurghada
Aladdin Beach Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aladdin Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.