We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I'd hoped for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jasmine Village Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jasmine Village Hotel to your Saves list
Jasmine Village Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Better than I'd hoped for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After reading previous comments I went with baited breath. I was surprised at the cleanliness being excellent - bedding changed daily. The grounds were impeccable. I was worried after seeing pics of caged monkeys but actually the animals were clean and had plenty of space and were well cared for. Yes the food wasn't great. Breakfast was fine, there was always something for lunch albeit pizza, chips or hot dog but the evening buffet was less than desirable - we ate out 4 nights out of 7. However the money that was paid for this holiday eating out wasn't a problem. The rooms were probably my biggest disappointment not unclean just very old and tired. Take a travel kettle as none in room. Would I stay here again? Yes if I want a very cheap winter break with good sunshine but would be prepared to eat out - hurgada marina is full of great restaurants at fairly reasonable prices

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    156
    73
    45
    32
See reviews for
102
164
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We didn't really know what to expect when we booked out holiday. When we arrived everything went so smoothly - there was no confusion or trouble at all. We arrived at our hotel... And we were blown away - the staff were really friendly and welcoming. The one thing that we had noticed was that there was ALOT of russians there .. but you just deal with it as everyone has a holiday !
The food was pretty much the same everyday - but there was a lovely selection of food.. and with it being very filing we had something different everyday.
The rooms were basic but can't complain at all about them. Room service was brilliant, they were friendly, and always wanting to make you happy and feel comfortable. Also, you get fresh towels everyday aswell as free beach towels.
the facilities were brilliant as there was something there for everyone.
All in all i would 100% recommend this place to anyone - for the price you pay - you get 10 times more than what you would get anywhere else at that price.
Absolutly fantastic holiday ... see you all at Jasmine Village very soon :-) xx

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is very good, good food, good drinks, not so good entertainment, but its a small minus.
The beach is fabulous with fresh towels and sun loungers, €12 in spanish resorts and FREE in the jasmine. Good pools, you can use all three sister hotels for food and beach bars etc.
Give it a go, if ur open minded u will enjoy it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean and location was alright. We were blessed with great weather and that was the highlight of our trip. Most of the hotel staff we found to be ignorant other then Adel in the 'Italian' restaurant by the pool. The food was the same every day and pretty revolting. Cups were constantly running out and there was never any spoons. We felt really unwelcome. Hotel definitely catered for the Russian guests. Got hassled quite a bit on the beach. I'm so disappointed with our stay I'm not quite sure how to put it into words. I would never stay here again and would recommend English travellers try the neighbouring Ali Baba or Aladdin hotels as the few English people we met recommended these.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for.. This was a very cheap holiday.. Although we did spend a small fortune going to the marina every evening for dinner due to the hotel food being so repetitive and catering mainly to the Russian guests.. The Russian guests even had their own bar on the beach!

Rooms dated but practical. Long walks to the beach and restaurant if your room is centrally located!

I wouldn't say that it was a great family hotel, I took my 6month old.. Lots of young people boozing. Would be a good base for a boozy break if you're not too bothered about the little things that can make a holiday special.

Not a place I would return to but it wasn't all bad. The staff were delightful!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Reception: guests could do with a welcoming smile and greet and quick check in. All guests are required to fill out a form for each booked room resulting in slow check in process after a tireful plane journey. Ideally our personal info could easily be shared to hotel by travel agent/holiday company. Never had to go through this type of check in formality anywhere else i have travelled.

This is a budget hotel so dont expect a grand service or rooms.

Rooms: depending on room type and price you paid for you will be allocated that type of room. We went for budget room as we wanted a to sleep and wash. Rooms do have very comforatble matresses, so you can be assured of good night sleep. We had water problems every morning for toilet cistern, basin and shower. At times there was no pressure for cold water or shower water pressure flactuated between intense pressure to a dribble, called reception whenever we had water issues and got a standard reply "someone will be there soon" and no one ever turned up. several times we had to fill up waste bucket with water from shower head to fill up toilet cistern to flush it. There is a tub with a shower head. This is a very old hotel with many rooms which have not be updated. I noticed sister hotels next door alibaba and aladin have better quality rooms and surrounding area.

Beach: jasmine has the better beach than alibaba and aladin as they have stoney, pebbles. Their guests come and use jasmine beach but still there are plenty of sunbeds. Dont expect to find coral close to the beach and colourfull nemos. Unlike sharm where most hotels on beach boast coral so guests dont have to venture far to snorkel or book boat trips paying extra, here you will need to book boat trips if you want to norkel and see coral and sealife. Beach boys are good and tip them and they will be loyal to you. During February it was quite windy and beach was windy too. Its good they have wind shields on the beach.

Restaurent: main restaurent is where you will find any decent food for a three star hotel. dont expect fresh fruit and juices, they have to be paid for. breakfast is same daily but there is a huge variety so I dont see a reason to complain. lunch and dinner is theme based on cuisines around the world. you can book to eat at sister hotel restaurants from your reception but the daily quota is limited to 10 people so book in advance. dont be fooled by food labelling in restaurents, it may say vegeterian but it could contain non veg product. they dont see the importance of clear food labelling or dont tend to understand and see why guests repeatedly ask about particuler food contents which is for either dietery or relegious reasons. I would reccommend the main restaurent as it has a more variety of food and if you have dietery requirements and at least staff would be able to guide you to the contents of food, but still err on side of caution beacuse although staff do speak a bit of english they can still be confused as to the contents of the food especially if you have food allergy or religious requirement and you may end up consuming something you should not have.
The main restaurent does stay very busy at breakfast, lunch and dinner and the staff do a grand job catering for all those guests.

Shopping: there are various shops in all three hotels and a pharmacy. If you turn left out of hotel and cross the road there are more shops and a supermarket about 10 minutes walk. Walk on further on same side of road for another 5 minutes and you see Senzo mall where there is a variety of shops including McDonalds and Spinneys hypermarket, banks (open between 09:00-16:00), vodafone. A taxi from Jamine should cost about 10 egyptian pounds but again, its a nice good walk if you prefer to avoid hassle of haggling with taxi driver.

Guests staying at any of the 3 hotels have access for 1 day to titanic aqua park located opposite. It is good fun for everyone as there is a variety of rides. When you check in to your hotel you will be given the vouchers that time. Make sure you get yours. I was asked to sign for our vouchers and reception nearly forgot to give them to us (not sure if it was deliberate) until i asked for them.

Tipping: it is common in egypt and expected, for a good service of course. We tipped our room cleaner, beach boy about 10-20 egyptian pounds. I was approached once if i could change sterling coins to egyptian pounds by one staff and i obliged. The banks there do not accept sterling coins so its difficult for staff to exchange them at banks when another guest has tipped them using sterling coins so dont be surprised if they ask you to exchange for them if you from UK.

Staff: i found all the staff very helpful except the reception. If you do decide to book this hotel, try and book a higher quality room instead of the lower end. The difference in price may make a difference in quality of your stay prefferential.

My rating does not reflect my room as i knew what i had booked and paid for and i knew that i wont be staying in a state of the art room after all it was only to be used for sleeping and washing. My rating reflects my experience with reception staff on various occasions face to face and over the phone, difficulties faced with water issues in the bathroom on a daily basis and in restaurents.
This hotel has great potential to improve but with high occupancy throughout the year, I guess it speaks volume that it doesnt see itself a need to change.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have just returned home from a week at the jasmine hotel we cant fault it at all spotlessly clean, fantastic food. good facilities lovely private beach amazing friendly staff who cant do enough to make your stay special.We cant wait to go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jasmine Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmine Village Hotel

Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jasmine Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 446
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jasmine Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasmine Village Hurghada
Hotel Jasmine Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jasmine Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.