We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 180 Hotels in Hurghada
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Only just got around to writing this review. We stayed 23 April to 1st May 2013, had a lovely time. Although the hotel has changed its name since our last visit, it's still just as good. The room was great with good views, everything cleaned and topped up daily and once again the service was exceptional. Some of the waiters remembered us from our visit last year (April 2012). Nothing is too much trouble at this hotel, the food very good and plenty of it. Try the fish restaurant (Felucca), you have to pay extra, but do get discount. The food is very good and the setting fabulous. Staff on reception were very helpful, especially Sultan who was very helpful and informative. Thank you for making our holiday special once again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room good and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive review - we do appreciate your high appraisal of our hotel and the staff. It is great to know that you are happy with your holidays and it will be a real pleasure to us to welcome you again in SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort.

With best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    230
    81
    33
    25
See reviews for
325
481
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just come back from a week in the SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort in Hurghada. Tues 4th to 11th. The Hotel and its surroundings and fixings are so beautiful and quality, from the moment we stepped off the bus we were greeted with big smiles and helpful staff. The ease of the check in was so easy and was done with a drink in our hand :-).

Room 113 we was given, which was a ground floor apartment in a perfect position to get access to the pools, the room was clean and so nice. Two big beds, nice walk in shower, mini bar, big TV with English movie channel it had everything you wanted.

First day round the pool bar which we got sunbeds right next to it was so nice, the Staff Yousif and Mahrous made the holiday for us really special. From the minute we met them to the last drink they served us they provided us outstanding service. Even going beyond the call of duty when I was hit with the dreaded Pharaoh’s revenge, the guys behind the bar had given me a special mint tea and some guava juice which helped me out with help from the onsite Doctor who again compared to the Gp’s in Britain was really helpful and caring. Yousif and Mahrous wasn’t just good with us they were good with everyone it was just a pleasure to watch them enjoy their work and make holiday goers happy.

We then met a young man called Momo who was in the entertainment team. Top guy loves his job so much gets every holiday guest involved. From the water polo to the really enjoyable Agua Aerobics which even Santa Claus did the week we were there. He went round the pools and spoke to everyone he was so full of energy and laughter he was brilliant.

The onsite Spa which we booked to have a Turkish Bath for 4 of us for £50 each was Amazing I have never had anything like that before and was so well looked after and felt so well treated for over two hours it was unbelievable.

Food- Breakfast was okay if you kept to the egg station and omelette’s you were safe.
Lunch- Beach bar was really good a good selection of various really nice foods
Dinner-a la carte restaurant was okay good salads and good range of bread but the meat choice was limited and I was unsure of it. This is compared to All inclusive that I have been to in the past including Mexico and various Greek Islands.

But if you booked the restaurant’s which was through a touch screen computer in the main lobby, a bit tricky to use but when you got the hang of it was okay. You had to book 24 hrs in advance and we visited the Mediterranean the Indian twice and the Mexican in the hotel next door and they were all outstanding really good.

Overall the holiday was quality and really relaxing the managers should be proud of the staff on the service they give and the hours they do.

Thank you

Travelled with Girlfriend and her parents

Steve Kirby, Gemma Goldthorpe. Martin and Elaine Laycock

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your holiday experience! It is good to see that you have enjoyed your holiday and had such great time with us. We are looking forward to welcome you and your family again in SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay.

With best regards,
The hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

we have just arrived back from this wonderful holiday, our first time all inclusive and it was amazing, the staff gave 200% to us and treated us with nothing but kindness and couldn't do enough to make sure our holiday was perfect. I mislaid my sunglasses and they taken to reception by the wonderful Monier from the Posieden Bar. Our only gripe was that there wasn't enough restaurants for a 2 week stay. The al la cartes were amazing the food wonderful and breakfast at the buffet was again a very wide choice but unfortunately it didn't carry through with lunch and dinner not for us anyway. Alaa at the private beach bar was something else always cheerful and ready to have a good laugh with us he kept us in drinks from water to cocktails all day whilst we were on the beach and some of his cocktails (non alcholic) were stunning especially with the ice cream! Special mention to Shawky and Monier for their service during our meals, got to know what we liked and were very efficient at their jobs, considering the hours they work each day they are always cheerful and always have a chat. A mention of the garden and facilities the gardens are a picture and the garden staff keep on top of everything and it shows with the array of shrubs and flowers in bloom at the moment, other facilities were immaculate and our pool cleaned every day and the cabana washed and swept every evening. Was sorry to leave but will I am sure return soon. Would like to say a massive thankyou to Nicole, the guest relations manager for her untiring help and for booking all our restaurants and making sure our stay was perfect, a new friend I will keep in touch with. Each and every one of the staff should accept our warmest wishes for a perfect holiday and such wonderful weather too!! Thank you all

Room Tip: we were in room 712, a two bedroom suite and so very relaxing and plenty of room to move about in
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to know that you had a wonderful second time in our hotel, we appreciate such a high appraisal of our staff.

We would be very happy to welcome you again in SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort and make your next stay with us even more special.

With best regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Lovely hotel very modern, room was lovely weather fantastic!

Food-Worst food ive had on a all inclusive it was awful!!!! at least Mc Donalds is up the road :-)
Pools-Lovely pools but come on guys where is a adults only pool all you see is kids running around splashing people on purpose- COME ON LOOK AFTER YOUR KIDS!!
This hotel could be fantastic but to make it fantastic make it a adults only it would work that's what your trying to aim for but your just not getting it right!!!!

Entertainment-Awful i mean awful if you want entertainment try a club magic life hotel! also the entertainment team will come up to you and tell you to go on trip advisor or some other holiday site to say how fantastic they are!!! as there manager looks at this!!!! Well I wont be told what to put!!

Bar staff lovely very slow service to many managers not enough staff all the managers do is sit there and shout!!! How about the managers do some work serving drinks then the service would be quick!!!

Staff at swim up pool bar are lovely!! Very lucky to have them on your team look after them!!

One thing i saw i was shocked- saw a member of staff in the toilets and didn't even wash there hands!!! This causes bacteria and will make people ill!! come on sort this out!!

Russians take over and like to pose like porn stars!! Class NOT

Room Tip: Sea View!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

this was our second visit to this wonderful hotel. my wife and i visited crystal bay last year (2012) for 1 week and had the best time ever, that we promised each other we would come back again , which we did this may , this time for 2 weeks. no disappiontments at all .we would like to say a massive thankyou to Adel in the rainbow restaurant , he is a real gentleman who looked after us the whole fortnight. the hotel has a 5 star waiter in Adel. we booked a pool suit room 710 and these rooms are beautiful , with two huge bedrooms, a large lounge and two bathrooms . the 5 metre pool in your own garden is a real must. the suits garden leads you to the beach and your own cabanna inches away from the sea, absolutly fantastic. The beach is a private one and is so quiet which is exactly what my wife and i were looking for. the beach has its own beach waiter who i must give a mention. thankyou ALAA for not only remembering us from last year but looking after us with drinks and food all day ( he is full of cheer and nothing is to much trouble) we loved it so much we have booked to go back again in november.

Room Tip: choose a pool suit they are second to none, and use the mediterainian restaurant its fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Tony,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we do appreciate your high appraisal of our hotel and the staff.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and hope that for the next holiday you will again choose SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort.

With best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Thank you to Alal ( at the suite section ) for making our holiday this is the best hotel I have stayed in here in egypt we had a really bad holiday in sharm at the Baron resort last year that nearly put us off going back to Egypt but this hotel shines compared to the baron. We had suite 703 ( Becky & John ) well worth the money we had our own pool and the area had a private beach section. The food here is good for egypt you always find something to eat pizza chips ect and the pool bar does a menu at lunch time rather than buffet. The a la carte restaurants are a bit of a problem if you have a standard room you will have to stay up till 0001 so it's classed as the next day or if you have a suite the guest care team for the suites will happily do this for you. We did not go to the entertainment as we were in an a la carte at this time. We had a lovely holiday and would re book to go again and i never say that so this must be a good one ....oh it doesn't say anywhere but the 2 sunrise hotels next door are included in your AI package for a bit of a change. I would recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your positive comments about our hotel.
We are happy to know that you had wonderful holidays and we hope to welcome you again in SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort.

With best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife's phone was left in the lobby and her phone wasn't found again.
We checked on the hotel cctv and there was no one around except for the lobby bar staff around.
Hotel insist that the staff go through rigourous security measures but they just walk in and out of the hotel on the side of the metal detector.
Lots of memories of our young son stolen...

The hotel is full of Russians but the staff had the audacity to say that the russian guests had nicked my wife's phone...

All in all its a nice hotel but I wouldn't go back as you can't trust the people working there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for your feedback about your vacation experience. We are sad to read that you didn’t enjoy your holiday with us.

Our staff is not going out from the hotel from the main entrance but from the staff exit. In this exit we have security that checks the staff when they go out.

The hotel management offered to go to the police and contact the Thomas Cook rep in the hotel. Unfortunately you didn’t contact him till the end of stay.

The Management of SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort takes no responsibility for valuables left in the public areas. The hotel is also not blaming any other guests from a specific country.

We hope we can welcome you again and give you a positive expression about our resort.

With best regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort

Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of Egypt. The 5 Star resort is located in a wonderful Garden Area and directly at the sandy beach with an own lagoon, which guarantee you a relaxing time. 20 km to Hurghada center and 15 km to the Hurghada International Airport provide you short distances during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Crystal Bay Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Crystal Bay Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.