We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 183 hotels in Hurghada
Cheshire. UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hotel was clean, although qulaity of the food in the restaurants was not great, Arabic dishes when available were excellent, though the majority of the food was bland Western quality. Good general service from the hotel staff, especially Hassan who really did take care of the children's daily food intake at the Poseiden Restaurant during the day, thank you. Cleaning, restaurant, bar & beach staff were very polite during the stay. Good value for money though for what we paid for some winter sun.

Room Tip: Villas are worth the extra cost due to the quiet location and quality of the rooms, including the pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to see that you have taken the time to share your feedback online. We would be delighted to welcome you again in SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort.

With best regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    645
    230
    78
    33
    25
See reviews for
322
474
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a place ! first winter holiday away the wife's 50th birthday, only a week, but we will go back for sure. We went February 12th - 19th 2013, staff very friendly can,t do enough for you, and Mohamed what can I say top guy ! They even gave my wife a birthday cake with her name on it one night in the restaurant, we met other couples and went to dinner as a group and this was no problem. We had a great time and this hotel comes highly recommended.

Down side to this was the airport very dirty and wanted to charge you £2.00 to use the toilet, and everybody just wanted money to carry your case to the coach.

Thanks Crystal Bay Resort for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms 100 to 300 are on the sunny side of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor about your vacations in our Resort.
We do hope that we can welcome you soon again in your second home SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort and make your next stay with us even more enjoyable .
With best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 11 days. One of the terrybl hotel in my life. Reception no aircondition working when we arrived around 5 am. Totaly hot. No watter no drinks. Then waiting till 3 for the room. They even didnt give us any room for shower or this. When we get the room finaly, we get the worst room in the hotel and they was waiting to giv them a big tip for to get better room. Even we payd with travel agency and wanted to be surre that we will get nice room. Then i was making mess in the agency and then next day they change for us. From this time we been like in the hell. Everybody was gainst us. The food one day ok then totaly boring , breakfest ok but the dinner bufe uffffffff nothing special and we get sick from second dinner. Internet totaly poor , no working , wiating 5 minits for opening one site, and payd alot of money for it. THe receptionist very rood and no helpful. Beach , well no beach actualy. Just lagune , dirty , no clean. then had to pay special price for nice beds. very very very poor animation probram. mostly none. just 15 minits evening thats all. I must say that this was one of my worst stay in Egypt in my life and i travel tehre 4 times per year as i like the see.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

The first mention has to go to Mohammed in the pyramid bar possibly the hardest worker in the hotel his level of service is impeccable in every detail. We could not thank him enough for all the effort he put in over are holiday and really did make it special .A lot of the staff are very friendly (usef in the pool bar and the guy in the. cocktail bar aswell sorry too many names) however some are extereamly creepy.

We spent two weeks over here now the biggest moan we had was being woken up every morning @ 7 am because of a football team staying in the hotel. Now the hotel was not even half full I would have though someone in management ( as there is more than enough of them doing not a lot) would have thought to have put them in the same block together. Nope even worse was the morning they had a lay and then getting woken up by members of staff arguing loudly outside our room .not acceptable in even a 1 star hotel let alone a five star. The management are not very good at dealing with complaints. When going to reception And asking to speak to a manger being laughed at by the receptionist is not what i Expect to here and then for him to try and tell me half 7 is not early .excuse me sir but its my holiday i have paid for the room if i choose to sleep in till 9 thats my choice and do not expect to be disturbed by others especially staff . The Tomas cook rep was extreamlly helpful and friendly the excursions to Luxor overnight and on the speed buggies through the dessert were well worth it .

The hotel is extreamly clean and the people doing the rooms were good putting towl art on the bed everyday , checking everything was ok and then bringing you chocolates. A lot of positives about the hotel but they just need to fine tune things.

Food was good in the restaurants in the hotel ( the medditerain is the best) but be warned if you eat at the restaurants in the next door hotel do not eat at the Italian possible the worst food I have ever eaten. Serious serious serious dont even bother. The buffet is good some really good food but does get a little repetitive after two weeks ( as in any all inclusive) . Breakfast was really nice but by the end of the trip i was dying for a proper pork sausage and a proper slice of bacon.

Our room ( 507) was nice very big could do with some like soft furnishings just to fill the room and utalise the masses of space. Also sound proofing needs to be looked at on the second week it was an Egyptian holiday now that's fine but I don't appreciate after returning to my room at 1 am to be kept awake by screaming children running round dragging furniture and trying to get though the door between the room.

Also be careful around the pool when wet it is so dangerous by partner slipped on the edge of the pool and hit her head. Not very well designed flooring to have around a pool also warning if you like to sleep by the pool the animation team play the music very load it didn't bother us but best to sit on the beach if u don't want to be disturbed .

The spa treatments are really nice good value for money.

Overall it was a good holiday just a shame a few things over shadowed certain aspects of it

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your holiday experience – it is very important for us to know the things where we can improve ourselves. All your comments are forwarded to the corresponding department heads for further actions.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort and make sure that you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
With best regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Crystal Bay Resort for a week in January and my biggest regret is that we didn’t book two weeks! It’s absolutely amazing!
Check in was smooth, quick and very pleasant. We were welcomed with smile and a cold drink.
Room was very specious and spotlessly clean. Beds were really comfortable and big, the best sleep in the hotel ever. There was a small sitting area and a balcony with two chairs and a small table and view on the pools. Bathroom was quite big as well, with a large shower.
We booked via Thomas Cook and stayed on all inclusive bases so we could eat and drink in all the bars and restaurants in all three hotels. What a choice! Our absolute favourite restaurant was Mediterranean Restaurant and we loved the Indian Restaurant, both located in the Crystal Bay. We tried the Mexican restaurant in the Malmouc Hotel, but we were not that impressed. The Main restaurant in the Crystal Bay was excellent. We had there breakfast every morning, lunch and two dinners. The selection of food was very good, everything always fresh and plenty of it.
However, the absolute best about the Crystal Bay is the service. All staff is just amazing! They made our stay special. All of them are smiling, always very polite and happy to help. Ahmed in the Main restaurant greeted us every morning for breakfast and always asked about our plans for a day. Mohammed Sabry in the Lobby Bar is one of the nieces waiters, always professional, helpful and going an extra mile to ensure we had a good time. And Mahrous in the Cocktail Bar – what an amazing barman! His cocktails are out of this world. We never had to ask or wait for a drink. With live music every evening and Mahrous cocktails it was our favourite place in the hotel  I should also mention Ibrahim in the Lobby bar, barman from the Pool Bar (shame on me, I forgot his name) and all the animation team who kept us entertained throughout the day and evening. They even got me to join belly dancing lessons!
I could go on and on but … let me just say that we are planning to go back to the Crystal Bay in October, we loved it that much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are happy to see that you had an unforgettable stay in our resort. We would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience.
We do hope to have the honor to welcome you again in SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort and make your next stay with us even more special.
With best regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had a fantastic time made special by the friendly helpful manner of all the staff. They were all eager to please, very friendly and good at what they did. Omar in the main restaurant really treated us a a special couple, but you could see that he was the same with everyone else. Nicole in reception was excellent as was Bassem the Thomas Cook rep. We were subject to a handbag snatch in Hurghada but that was nothing to do with the hotel. The local people helped us to get back to our hotel and the taxi driver refused to take any money from us, (or the locals who offered).This was our first all inclusive hokliday and we were not disappointed. We stayed in room 117 which was sunny for a lot of the day especially the mornings. It is close to the pool bar and occasionally we heard the speakers at the mosque. So many members of staff were helpful and friendly it is a shame not to mention them all. I have stayed in more modern and slightly better hotels but never had the excellent service from staff that we received here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Jim H,
We would like to thank you for your positive feedback about our resort. We are very happy that you had a good vacation with us.
We hope that you can forget the bad situation that happened in the city and you remember the helpful Egyptian people who will do anything without getting money for it.
All inclusive vacations are very popular now. We are happy that you enjoyed the system in our resort and hope we can welcome you again in your “second home”
With best regards
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinkworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We arrived at the Sunrise Crystal Bay early evening of the 29th Jan, we were greeted and welcomed to our rooms. Travelling with a disabled Mother can prove interesting, not here, they bent over backwards, get this, try this, move to our disability rooms all less than in 24 hours - Where am I - Eygpt? Yes, what an impressive Guest Relations Department, headed by Susan and her excellent team, Yulia, Carole and Nicole, that is what I would call guest relations, nothing is too much trouble.
The Masala Chef was amazing, cooking you what Indian food you liked - Great could eat there for the whole 10 days!
Yoesuf in the Pool Bar, great cocktails, what a nice chap and pleasing to the eye!.
The Chef at the Beach Bar, great chilli salads! Thanks for making our time a pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Mrs. Alison,
We are very happy that you have chosen our hotel for your vacations. We would like to thank you for sharing your positive comments - your high evaluation of our hotel and the staff is very much appreciated.
To read that you and your lovely mother had an unforgettable holiday is what we work for.
The entire team of SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort will be looking forward to welcoming you again in your “second home” under the welcoming Egyptian sun.
With best regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort

Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of Egypt. The 5 Star resort is located in a wonderful Garden Area and directly at the sandy beach with an own lagoon, which guarantee you a relaxing time. 20 km to Hurghada center and 15 km to the Hurghada International Airport provide you short distances during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Crystal Bay Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Crystal Bay Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.