We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best holiday so far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SUNRISE Holidays Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SUNRISE Holidays Resort to your Saves list
SUNRISE Holidays Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corniche Road | Touristic Center, Hurghada 185, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“best holiday so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

just returned from this hotel on the 23rd april, the best holidiay and hotel ever! assisstant manager Ahmed Hassan couldn't have been more helpful and all staff so friendly. we will be returning again for definate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    577
    226
    93
    56
See reviews for
355
1,151
61
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Arrived early evening after a decent flight out of EMA.Completed the neccessary forms and shown to our room 325 within 30 mins,cases followed immediately.The usual ritual,open the balcony and lookout.WOW,this is everything it says on the tin,Special request was just as we asked for.Plenty of wardrobe space,now off for food.El Sol restaurant very good,nice greeting,food good too.Off to the bar for a couple o'beers and a nightcap.Goodnight.Early next morning,just as the sun was rising I heard some people talking down on the beach below.But hey guys if thats what you want to do thats OK with me.There were always enough beds to go round anyway,just some in better spots than others.The lagoon is Brill for non swimmers and swimmers alike,same can be said for the pool area'again always seemed to be enough beds.The only downside to this holiday ,,,,,,,,,The turtle never showed up,but thats probably down to the fact of people on the beach at 04-30 getting there little bit of paradise and he was TOO SHY

,

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burton on trent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is the fourth time we have visited this hotel and as usual the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the food, although not adventurous, was satisfactory.

However, the one nightmare of the holiday was the fact that people were getting up before 5.00 a.m. to put their towels on the sun loungers which were underneath the beach umbrellas. This caused an enormous amount of anger and discontent among the hotel guests. The Management at all levels, along with the PR Ladies were repeatedly informed of this situation, but did not appear to have any idea of how to cope with the complaints.

Prior to leaving we were informed that a remedial plan would be put into operation the week after we left. Having spoken to people who returned home, soon after we arrived, they had also been informed that a remedial plan would be put into operation the week after they left. One solution is to simply have more beach umbrellas. There was currently a situation whereby the wind breakers were allocated approximately one wind breaker to every two or three sun loungers. Unfortunately some guests wanted at least two and sometimes four wind breakers to two or three sun loungers meaning that many people did not have any wind breakers at all. Again the Management were informed but nothing was done.

However, on a positive note if you can cope with getting up at 5.00 a.m. for a beach umbrella and wind breaker or alternatively roasting in the sun or being blown away on windy days, this is the ideal hotel and we would highly recommend the views and location.

The other problem we experienced was the absolutely foul tasting red and white wine, when we queried the deteriorating quality of the wine the Manager informed us that there had been major supply difficulties due to the political situation.

We had also paid extra for a superior room, with Thomas Cook, which on arrival at the Hotel we found as a result of having visited several times previously we were entitled to free of charge. Perhaps Thomas Cook should mention this in their brochures.

The Restaurant staff were constantly under pressure - it seemed due to lack of manpower - and the lobby bar was frequently not manned at all.

Room Tip: Book a superior room, from the fourth floor upwards. If this is your second or more visit this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just returned home from the sunrise. Wow what a hotel, where do I start hotel fantastic, food fantastic, view fantastic !!!
We were only stayed a week but so wish it was longer. Every morning we saw the manger walking round the swimming pool with snacks saying good morning to everyone shaking their hands asking if everything was okay and if there was any problems and if there was he sorted them out, it was such a nice touch. The Thomas cook rep Mohamed was always there all time and couldn't do enough for his guests night or day, last time we went with Thomas cook we didn't see the rep after the well come meeting so it made a nice change, All the staff were so helpful and worked really hard and friendly always say hello and smiling.
It was the 7th time we've been to Egypt and this was the best hotel by far!!!!!
Thanks to everyone who was there and worked hard to make our holiday the best x

Room Tip: All rooms seamed to have sea views, we were on the 5th floor was a little noisey if you whated a ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A little late with this review as we were there in March. Loved the hotel! The staff were all excellent.
Room - As far as I know, most rooms have a sea view. Tea & coffee in the rooms was a nice touch. Large room, a little tired maybe but very clean. Lovely balcony with table, chairs and a sun lounger, which was great except the balcony was in the shade for most of the time, but some people would prefer this? Couple of minor issues with the room over the 2 weeks, but they were always dealt with swiftly.
Food - Arabian Restaurant, buffet, themed to various Arabian countries and in my opinion the nicest restaurant decor wise. El Sol Restaurant, buffet, themes were more worldwide. By far the busiest and the biggest. Both had a wide range of foods which were always hot, which I was very pleased about, after having trouble with cold food in hotels in the past. I'm vegetarian and had no trouble finding plenty to eat, although it may be an idea for vegetarian dishes to be marked in some way - I had to ask the chefs as it was often difficult to see if the dishes contained meat. Mediterranean Restaurant, A la carte, 1 visit per stay unless you're with Thomas Cook, then unlimited, although you do have to book at reception. Wasn't that keen personally. I had a creamy ravioli dish, which tasted strongly of meat fat (no idea why!) which really put me off, but generally I felt the restaurant lacked atmosphere. Aida(?) on the beach, open for breakfast & lunch. Food was good, but had more of a 'canteen' feel to it. Beach Bar, amazing pizzas at lunchtime, with salads, burgers hot dogs and chicken. Lovely!
Bars - Lobby Bar, nice, relaxing, live music most nights, but sometimes had to wait a while for a waiter to appear. It was very busy though. Outside Bar, down steps from the pool, sorry I can't remember what it's called. Lovely to sit outside of an evening, staff very attentive. Not many tables though due to some kind of shallow pool/water feature which took up most of the space. Not sure what it was or why it was there. Jungle Disco, entertainment was in here most nights, although it was round the pool on some occasions, I think it depends on the weather so maybe outdoor more in Summer. Didn't like the place at all! To me it smelled damp and sweaty, a bit like changing rooms at the swimming baths! Only ventured in once. Drinks - never the best in Egypt, but surprised to read some recent reviews as I didn't think they were that bad and have certainly had much worse! Beach - Wonderful! The lagoon is lovely and safe, but after Sharm, I was a bit disappointed with the snorkeling. Lots to see if you go under the arch into the sea proper, but I'm not confident enough to do that. Still saw lots of fish, but not much variety. Sun goes behind the hotel quite early in the afternoon (at least it did in March, don't know how that changes throughout the year) so if you're staying all day, sunbeds nearer the water tend to get more sun. Sunbed saving was a bit of a problem, although the towel boys would always find or bring you some if you asked. What annoyed me more was people taking windbreaks away from other sunbeds and having 2 or 3 to themselves. Selfish! Red flag is a good idea to stop sales people from bothering you. However, must say try the boat trips from the hotel. We did a glass bottom boat trip. It was lovely and very reasonably priced. Also a bonus to get on boat at the hotel and not catch a bus first. Management were always around the beach asking if everything was ok, which I thought was a nice touch. What was also lovely was being waved off by staff as we left. I know a lot of people return to the hotel again and again, there was even a 'VIP' Cocktail party for returning guests one evening. We don't tend to go back to places (life's too short & too much to see) but I can understand why they do. Going outside - yes you get the hassle, but I found it to be gentler and less aggressive than Sharm. If you turn right out of hotel there is a shop that advertises 'No Hassle', which means nothing in Sharm, but I promise you there is NONE. The man was lovely and only approached us when we asked questions or were ready to buy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Recently returned from the Sunrise. I have stayed there previously and couldn't praise it enough. What happened????? Paid extra for room with large balcony, needn't have done as a returning customer, they would have given us one anyway. Hardest bed I've slept on in my life. They 'changed' it twice, awful. Hotel grubby in general, restaurant doors... Sanitising gel a nice touch, until you touch door handle, breeding disease. Tables dusty and dirty. 2 waiters serving and clearing the whole restaurant. Beach restaurant the same. Terribly understaffed. Food very mediocre, cheap and bland to be honest. Attempted the alcohol.... Thankfully we had taken our own!!!! We had the lager at the beach bar.... when they hadn't run out!! The staff just looked unhappy and overworked to be honest. reception staff were very nice. Cafe de Jour.... A lovely bar attached to the hotel. Sam and his colleagues very welcoming, . Ok you over pay for the bottled lager, still only a £1 though, but it's ice cold and you get wi-fi. Hotel wi-fi charges are shocking. Lots of Eastern Europeans, a few English, the manager says 40% English, it isn't. DO NOT book Thomas Cook rep trips. Previously I had booked them from the boat men outside and had a fab time. The same with Quads. But this time booked with convincing rep, wish I hadn't bothered. Nowhere near as good and more expensive.
Definately for the more mature 60+ age group.
Thankfully this was a battery recharge holiday for my partner and I, so no wild nights required!!
As always the sun was hot and we came home refreshed. We shall go back to HURGHADA, but not here.

Room Tip: E mail and ask for a set back large balcony room. The higher and on the main front are too windy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel, and its a lovely hotel, but the drinks were undrinkable, honestly !
All the staff were so friendly and helpful, everyone was smiling all the time.
We had a beautiful room on the 7 th floor with a sea view, fabulous !
We had a fridge and tea making facilities, plenty of hot water, nice and clean.
The food was all good, especially the Mediterranian restaurant where we got to eat 1 night.
We were all inclusive but we spent all week drinking outside the hotel and buying our drinks. We tried the spirits, the gin and vodka tasted so chemically we couldn't drink them The wine was no better, and the beer was usually warm!
It was such a shame because other than that we were really happy, odd niggles, not enough tea making stations at breakfast, frequently no toilet roll in the public toilets, and the lack of sun beds unless you beat the Germans and Russians and got up at 6 am to put your towel on one !!
This hotel is not too far out, and taxis are reasonable, you can get to the Marina or town if you fancy a change of scenery
The entertainment was toe curling, but a laugh (it wasn't meant to be funny!)
Overall we spent most of our week in the Cafe du Jour, within the hotel but not part of the all inclusive, but reasonable prices. We used to enjoy a large gin and tonic and watch the sunset outside the cafe every night. A very large gin and tonic and as much ice as you like for 27 Egyptian pounds (about £2.70)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SUNRISE Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Holidays Resort

Address: Corniche Road | Touristic Center, Hurghada 185, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#15 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#18 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Holidays Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SUNRISE Holidays Resort. This resort is located only 500 meters from downtown. It gives you the relaxing retreat with our private island and will guarantee you an unforgettable atmosphere and the active night life of Hurghada's downtown. The resort is located at the Corniche Road in the center of Hurghada. The distance to the Hurghada international airport is approx. 5 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SUNRISE Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Holidays Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Holidays Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SUNRISE Holidays Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.