We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value For Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SUNRISE Holidays Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SUNRISE Holidays Resort to your Saves list
SUNRISE Holidays Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corniche Road | Touristic Center, Hurghada 185, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 177 Hotels in Hurghada
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Value For Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for a week in the middle of March.

On arrival at the Airport, when entering the terminal building, ignore the people who are directing you to get a visa. Turn immediately left and go to the row of banks, the Visas are £3 cheaper per person here.

On arrival at the hotel, we were checked in and in our room within 10 minutes of arriving, the reception staff were very efficient on arrival.

This hotel is fantastic value for money. The staff and management cannot do enough for you, any problems and they are immediately rectified. The management walk around the pool and beach area every single day asking if there are any problems, is the cleaning ok etc., we requested a softer mattress and it was delivered within the hour and a leak in the bathroom was repaired within the same time frame. As said in previous reviews, Ashraf, the Head Chef, is always out and about and very visible in the restaurants - he is very keen to try new recipes so don't be afraid to approach him with them.

We had room 150 which is on the ground floor and the patio doors open up onto the grassed area in front of the beach. There were quite a few mosquitoes when we were there but if you ask at Reception they will spray your room for you. Our room was also a stones through from the breakfast/lunch restaurant, the pool and outside evening bar area (there were no noise issues whatsoever). The omlette chef in the restaurant below the pool area was lovely and very chatty - the omlettes were gorgeous in there.

We have travelled quite a bit and in our opinion this hotel provides some of the best food we have tasted abroad. The hotel is not a 5* but then you are not paying 5* prices, as long as you bear that in mind I cannot believe you will be disappointed with it.

All in all we had a great trip, one little hiccup on check-out which was quite upsetting but the General Manger came down, sorted it and couldn't apologise enough to us. This incident would not put me off returning again.

A big thank you to ALL the staff, from the gardeners to the general manager, for making our holiday so good.

Room Tip: If you want Ground Floor then you cannot beat Room 150
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    749
    291
    102
    71
See reviews for
426
1,450
87
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dunmow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed for 7 days as a couple, we had so many problems I will keep it brief
1. food posioning
2. had to changed rooms 3 times
3. water in the wine and beer quite clear what they are doing
4. ripped off on excursion by Kalim the rep from thomas cook
5. food below average

please if i can save you wasted money dont go hear it is not 5 start more 3 star at best
you have been warned email me and you can call me if you need to scottmicorlights@gmail.com

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidaysresort, Manager at SUNRISE Holidays Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank You For Your Unfair Comment, Nothing True About Food Poisoning And guest Refused To Check Himself On The Hotel Charge Because It's Was Not True, 450 British Guests In House Without Single Complain, The Problem Was His Cancelled Excursion With The Tour Leader And Were Pushing The Hotel To Be Involved At His Mistake With The Tour Leader.
We Will Not Defend The Hotel Just Please Check The Other Guests' Opinion And I Am Inviting All Respected Tripadvisor Readers To Check The 14 Reviews With The Gentle Client Which He Posted On Tripadvisor ,You Will Note That All Over The World Hotels Are Terrible.
For Sure Other Hotels Not Also Terrible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have just returned after our third visit.We have found this hotel to be excellent value for money with most rooms having a sea view.The rooms were cleaned to a good standard with towels and sheets changed daily. There are three restaurants to choose to eat from plus a beach bar open during the day serving chips,burgers,hotdogs and pizzas cooked to your requirements. Although the hotel is currently having ongoing refurbishments there is little disruption so ignore any comments that are negative they are people just after a refund you meet these on any holiday.While here the public toilets were being refurbed with little problems and certainly were a big improvement when finished..There is a new G.M. since last year Mohamed Deraz he is always available with his team to make sure everything is ok and to listen to new ideas.Anyone visiting will soon meet Ashraf the head chef he always seems to be about asking for new recipes to try out but also making sure you are enjoying yourselves.I think he must run on batteries as he always seems to be about.The Animation team keep everyone entertained but are not to pushy if you dont want to take part.The taxis in Hurghada can be quite varied in there charges and cause frequent arguments over prices,this year Sunrise have a taxi service operating from the hotel with prices printed in the reception of various destinations.We went to El Gouna about 40mins each way for a total of £20 for the taxi which can take 4 people.This included a prearranged pick up time to bring you back.Excellent service by Sayed who also runs boat trips from the hotel as well.Sayed is very well informed about Egypt and like everyone at Sunrise is very helpful.
This hotel has it all I would certainly recommend it,good position on the beach,good choice of food (not bacon for breakfast this is Egypt not Blackpool but we did get temps above 30 every day) excellent staff and accomodation and most importantly value for money this is why 25% of holidaymakers return to this hotel including ourselves

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view.Most rooms are sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just returned from Sunrise Holiday resort, Hurghada. Whilst you will always get somebody moaning about anything - they always expect five star service for three star money. This is our fourth holiday in Egypt and this hotel was certainly the best. We have already booked three weeks for next February. No kids, no smoking in this hotel.On the beach. Nothing too much trouble for Staff. Food good for Egypt. All inclusive drinks just drinkable so if you don't like it pay for International brands. You know you won't get bacon for breakfast but the Chef will prepare a good omelette, Management walk around everyday asking if you have any problems. They actually do care!, Positives far outweigh any negatives.

Socrates - previous review refers to this hotel as a new hotel. Sorry Socrates you have the wrong hotel. This
Sunise hotel is certainly not new.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

just got back from this great hotel, late last night, i suppose i will say the same as everyone else, the staff make this hotel, any problems you have or if you want advise go and see dores the customer relations lady she is great, any food allergies or special need food see head chef asraf, round the pool manager yasser will have his boys look after you.

the manager mr daraz is very approachable if you have any real gripes.
the sunrise is a very old hotel that is in the throws of a major refurb, new toilets are being put in, in the lobby and outside the el sol restraunt, a lot of rooms still have to be done but they are still tidy and very clean.
as usual the food was great, and you can always find something to eat,
the animation team are new to this hotel, they are great during the day, but have to work on there night time entertainment .

we were lucky this was our 5th time and in the next few weeks will book for next year, we have made many friends here and we always go back at the same time, so about 16 of us were there this year, it great when you are in a crowd.
the brits are about 40% in this hotel, it has just won many awards for food hygene, the most return guests to a hotel, it is rated 4 th in hurghada, and a couple more i cant remember.

while we were there the weather was between 30 and 33 degrees, it did drop to 26 to 28 and we had high winds normal for hurghada this time of year, we also had a sand storm but that blew away and left everything in a mess but the cleaners were on it straight away the next morning.
but much better than back at home cold and snow.

so yes i am going back, and there will be even more improvements done

so from big boss and sandra, thank you for a great time.

Room Tip: some of the rooms on the top floors have yet to be refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spent a week resting here after a week on the Nile. We paid extra for the couples heaven package and if you view this on their website it is well worth it. We were upgraded to a great room with large balcony facing the sea and lagoon. The room 511 was very quiet. There is only a few hours in the morning when the sun hits the balcony so very nice when you get breakfast served to your room. We found the hotel food very good with lots of choice. There is entertainment so many times a week but it was the same as we had encountered on the cruise. Also some audience participation in the Jungle disco which looked fun but the room is very hot with no aircon. If its diving or snorkling you are after choose Shalm el Sheikh where the reef is in walking distance of a jetty from the hotel. You need to do a boat trip from Hurghada to the reef and this is £25pp. If you turn to the right outside the hotel and walk for about 40mins you will come to the marina which is very nice but very quiet in the day time. No shops to speak off but restaurants and coffee shops. Just a nice relaxing area. If you turn left outside of the hotel and walk for about an hour you will come to the new area. There is a water park with few slides and lazy river etc but nothing like Florida waterparks plus it cost £35pp with lunch. The Egyptians are desperate for the British tourists to come to their country as their economy is suffering. You will get hassled to go into their shops and they will try to sell you anything.
If its a total chill holiday that you are looking for then do choose this hotel you will not be dissapointed. The staff are very accommodating to your needs and the Management do their daily rounds on the beach to see if you are satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask for top floors if you need to control your own aircon in the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spent 2 weeks at the sunrise holiday resort hotel,staff 1st class nothing to much trouble,food great never had a bad meal chef always asking is everything ok .A special thank you to Hassan Ahmed who made uor stay special also Mohammad (lemonade) in the lobby bar always ready to chat and have a laugh .Animation team can can,gemma,afef,zizo and franchesco great fun cant wait to go back in the summer.

Room Tip: we were in room 525 fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
7.6 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
3.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
#19 of 177 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mercure Hurghada
Mercure Hurghada
#8 of 177 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Swiss Wellness Spa & Resort
Swiss Wellness Spa & Resort
#50 of 177 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sunrise Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Holidays Resort

Address: Corniche Road | Touristic Center, Hurghada 185, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#16 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Holidays Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SUNRISE Holidays Resort. This resort is located only 500 meters from downtown. It gives you the relaxing retreat with our private island and will guarantee you an unforgettable atmosphere and the active night life of Hurghada's downtown. The resort is located at the Corniche Road in the center of Hurghada. The distance to the Hurghada international airport is approx. 5 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your SUNRISE Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Holidays Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Holidays Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SUNRISE Holidays Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.