We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ITS GOT THE X FACTOR +” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SUNRISE Holidays Resort

Save Saved
You added SUNRISE Holidays Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SUNRISE Holidays Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corniche Road | Touristic Center, Hurghada 185, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 183 hotels in Hurghada
kirkham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“ITS GOT THE X FACTOR +”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Where does one start. from the bell boys to the cleaners,from the hotel reception staff to the waiters, from the staff on the beach to the staff in the dining areas. friendly,helpful,nothing was to much trouble for them and always cheerful. and always ready to have a chat. Being quite well traveled I would say that this was one of the best ran hotels we have ever stopped in and I would recommend this hotel to anyone,it is not a holiday to take kids on but for adults and senior citizens it is absolutely superb. A couple of minor issues,only we went to an al-a-cart meal in which none of us were impressed so I would suggest give it a miss and if you go for a swim make sure you wear footwear as a couple of guests got quite badly stung . If you read the hotel literature it does warn you about this,we suggested a sign should be put up on the lagoon to warn of this,hopefully they will do this. One I would highly recommend was a night organised by the hotel in the SAMBA Bar.it is part of the hotel complex.,a 5 course meal,drinks included,and some of the most superb entertainment from belly dancers to to a dervish whirlwind I think they called it. absolutely mind blowing and all for £30.00 per couple but believe me well worth it. Alan and his good lady Sylvia a wonderful couple we met over there (she calls him victor Meldew) actually gave the the dervish whirlwind a standing ovation and believe you me he deserved it. If you see it you will know why. In conclusion a fantastic holiday made better by Alan and Sylvia and I would like to thank them for making a wonderful holiday even better

Room Tip: When we were there they were offering a free upgrade for all Thomas Cooke guests,we did not find out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,915 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,100
    499
    188
    82
    46
See reviews for
326
990
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great check in, Lovely room as requested before arrival on email.
Arrived Christmas day for 2 weeks.

Food for the 2 weeks was never boring, been to Egypt many times, and I feel that this was one of the best for food, even asked the Chef if it was possible to have custard to go with the lovely Apple Strudle cake, next evening it appeared, now thats service.
They did attempt to make a Sunday Roast, and although edible was not as we know it, but very pleased that they try to please the English guests. Soups were excellent as were the bread and rolls and the cakes and pastries. Could do with a bit more variety in fruit, although what there was was always very fresh and tasty.

Wasnt too keen on the coffee machines, where you help yourself but that is personal preference, and that you had to ask for cold milk for the tea from the bars.

Alcoholic drinks as per norm in Egypt, and local produce, but not being heavy drinkers the occasional one was ok.

Rooms were kept very clean, we were in a refurbed one, looking out to the lagoon in a quiet area and It was nice to have a kettle with mugs, and tea and coffee, so could have a cuppa upon waking.

No rush to get a bed by the pool there was always plenty of room, but some guests paid the towel men to make sure that they reserved the same ones in the same spot every day, how sad. Pool was lovely and warm and clean. The bar man ( sorry forgot name ) was excellent and used to bring us over drinks regulary without even asking for one, not even expecting a tip, although we did tip him every other day.

Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, and they all seemed genuine to want to ensure you had a nice relaxing holiday.

The bonus was this is now an Adults only through TC, but there were a few children from other countries, but this did not spoil the ambiance of this Hotel.

The only thing we were personally disapointed with were the entertainment team, they plaed the music round the pool far too loud to enjoy some days, and as they were all young it was a lot of up beat music pumping out. They also advertised numerous activities they were going to do throughout the day, but these did not materialise, and they stood around chatting and entertaining themselves, which was a shame as they too were lovely friendly people, just needed a bit of guidance from management.

This Hotel offers a red flag system to stop the sales people from bothering you, but we personally didnt use one, and a polite no thank you was sufficient for them not to bother you again until you were ready to ask about the services they offerred.

Wasnt very keen on the Hurghada area, but the new Marina was lovely, but I wouldnt hesitate in recommending this Hotel, and would definately go there again just for the Hotel, which seems to have got it right ( Almost ) Well done Sunrise Holidays Resort staff you are a credit to your Company.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

the staff are fanatastic the customer relations team are brilliant look after you so well. the bar staff the resturant staff and the hotel cleaners are some of the best i have ever met. the food very good for eygpt the rooms brilliant loverly balconys with sunloungers, and very comfy beds the beach island loverly for swimming, the people the place wonderful.

Room Tip: sea view on the corner nobody to overlook you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Sunrise holiday resort 21st dec 12 to 4th Jan 13. After spending Christmas and new year at the Sunrise Royal makadi in 08 our expectations were really high as the Royal makadi pulled out all the stops.
We flew from Manchester and had a good flight as it only took just over 4 hours.
We quickly got through the airport which looked like chaos but was actually quite organised.
A quick transfer from the airport to the hotel and we were quickly given our room 214 which was fantastic - as we opened the door it had a long corridor past the bathroom door down to the bedroom which was a nice size and then a lovely big balcony over looking the beach with a palm tree right by outside all lit up with fairy lights - magical !
We ate every night in the Arabian restaurant on the 3rd floor as we loved the food in here we never got bored with it and the atmosphere in here was so much airier than the 2ndfloor restaurant where we had breakfast every morning. The food was really good fresh steamed veg wholesome stews, joints of meat etc all really well presented and cooked. We had a great waiter Mahmood who knew exactly what we wanted to drink and really looked after us. Breakfasts you could have omlette freshly cooked ( just outside the doors that lead to the pool area and outside seating area) sausage beans cooked meats cheeses and pastries.We always take our own cups as the tea cups are alway so small and quite a lot of guests said what a good idea this was - we gave our mugs to one of the waiters at the end of the holiday as he had admired them all the holiday.
We spent everyday on the beach looked after by Mahmood and Hatem - we cannot say enough about how hard these boys work they are fantastic !!! These boys really are stars of the hotel nothing is too much trouble for them they are so happy all them time. They give the best services everytime.The beach is very clean and has the little wind breakers so that you can enclose your sunloungers and have your own space.
The hotel management are always present walking on the beach and round the hotel offering you drinks or snacks and they are always happy to chat.
Christmas eve we were woken by Santa knocking on the door offering us chocolates he was later playing games on the beach. Christmas eve a gala buffet was put on which was fantastic and everyone seemed to enjoy the night.
New years eve was another good night - fantastic gala buffett and entertainment put on throughout the hotel - the management and staff go to a lot of effort to make sure you enjoy yourselves.
We spent most evenings in the 4th floor lobby bar being well looked after by Mahmood and Tarek - they couldnt have done more for us. We enjoyed all our conversations with them.
This hotel is in the process of having a refurb some parts are done others not but what makes this hotel is the staff they cannot do enough for you thank you Sunrise resort for a fantastic holiday we will return soon. A special thank you to Mahmood and Hatem beach bar Mahmood and Tarek lobby bar and little mahmood arabian restaurant all of you made our holiday extra special .
I am happy to answer any questions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have just returned from a week in the SunRise Holidays resort in Hurghada, Egypt. I was a bit worried about going to Egypt with the current unrest etc. However the holiday, which was booked through Thomas Cook, turned out to be a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The hotel offers a choice of 4 restaurants, 3 of which are buffet style with the other being an a la carte. The hotel also has 4 bars outwith the dining areas - the all inclusive deal covered local spirits which, in some cases, left a bit to be desired. The food in all of the restaurants was very good and there was a good variety which would suit any taste. The hotel and its grounds are well kept and clean and the staff in all areas are very friendly and helpful, they really did look after us well and tried to ensure that we enjoyed our time in Hurghada. The rooms are basic but offered what we looked for, they are cleaned daily and again the cleaning staff did their best to ensure that were no issues. The local area offers the "normal" sort of bazzars and cafes etc which come with their share of the hassle - "la shokran" (no thankyou) was a useful phrase which reduced the hassle.
All in all this was a good holiday and I would certainly visit this hotel again

Room Tip: Check that room has has a sea view as some of the rooms do not have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks from xmas eve onwards. Any negative reviews of this place can be dismissed unless you want to take kids but this is an adults only hotel which is just what we wanted. Chose run of the house room and were delighted to be placed on the fifth floor with stunning views of the lagoon and bay. Cant speak highly enough of all the staff who always went the extra mile with a smile and it was nice to see that they never hovered about just for a tip but briskly moved on to be of assistance to all. Yes by all means tip where you feel the need and every penny is appreciated but not expected.....unlike other places that I have visited. Rooms were just fine and the food was plentiful, Yes I have read that the reps and promo staff do pester you a bit to buy trips/wine/massages etc, but a polite 'no thank you' was more than enough for them to move on, though we did buy trips and massages when we were ready too and found the results very good indeed. Not the best entertainment in the hotel but as we didn't go for the entertainment we have no complaints in that department. Plenty of night-life and good restaurants just a short taxi (costing no more than £2 each way) should you wish for this. all in all a very well run hotel and have no complaints and is excellent value for the money. Management were always close at hand and seemed to be looking to improve in any department that they could which will make this place even better than it already is and I would have no hesitation in revisiting should the opportunity arise.

Room Tip: Highest floors had best views.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from 4th - 18th December and enjoyed it very much the staff are great and look after you very well. We loved the lagoon and managed to see the turtle a couple of times. We found the food good and the choice of eating in buffet areas a good idea we went upstairs for our evening meals it was quieter. We had breakfast and lunch down in the beach restaurant And it was lovely to eat breakfast look out to the sea and hear Xmas music. We booked a couple of times to go to the Mediterranean restaurant that was smashing. Our room was on the 7th floor and had a lovely view over the pool and sea it was large had everything we needed 2double beds (great) and was very quiet. Loved the finishing touches on the beach as the chef came round most days with tasty nibbles on a tray the beach was good and if you got the right spot was in the sun till about 3.30.we loved this holiday and wouldn't hesitate in going back there. If you would like any more information just email me

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SUNRISE Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Holidays Resort

Address: Corniche Road | Touristic Center, Hurghada 185, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#14 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Holidays Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SUNRISE Holidays Resort. This resort is located only 500 meters from downtown. It gives you the relaxing retreat with our private island and will guarantee you an unforgettable atmosphere and the active night life of Hurghada's downtown. The resort is located at the Corniche Road in the center of Hurghada. The distance to the Hurghada international airport is approx. 5 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your SUNRISE Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Holidays Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Holidays Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SUNRISE Holidays Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.