We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weeks May Day Escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaz Makadina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jaz Makadina to your Saves list
Jaz Makadina
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Makadi Bay, Madinat Makadi, PO Box 193, Hurghada 193, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 178 Hotels in Hurghada
Birmingham
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A weeks May Day Escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in May 2014. We went we my parents for a weeks escape over the May Day Bank holiday.

This was the first week the hotel had re-opened after refurbishment. The hotel is now know is the Jaz Makadina.

We were the first British Guests in the new hotel. There were only 60 to 70 guests there for opening week. From arrival we were made to feel like royalty. We arrived late on the Friday night and missed the evening meal times. The staff made sure that food was sent to our rooms for us. The rooms were freshly decorated and very comfortable.

Staff could not do enough for us over the weeks stay. Every morning someone from the hotel would ask if there was anything we needed. The food quality was brilliant, however there wasn't a great deal of choice. This however could of been down to only having a few guests, and the hotel is still trying to plan its menus.

Waiter service on the beach was brilliant. Waiters would turn up with a variety of "Special" cocktails for you to try.... The animation team works tirelessly to keep everyone entertained and also asking if everything was good with our stay.

Attached to the hotel is the Extra Divers Makadi Dive Centre. We undertook 4 dives with them and again received nothing but outstanding service from them.

The beach is lovely, there are a number of "House" reefs to snorkel on. However, there are a lot of boats moored in the bay. The Dive Centre boats were always on the look out for people snorkelling, but i was wary of the other boats speeding past towing inflatables or parachutes behind them. Not sure they were really looking for other water users! I hope that this is something that will be dealt with by the hotels in the area to make sure everyone has the right to use the water and not run the risk of any accidents.

Special mentions must go to the following people for going above and beyond during our stay at the hotel. Search them out if you stay here :-)

Yasser - Head Waiter in the Snack Bar at Lunch and the Head Waiter at the Greek Restaurant. Yasser entertained us all week and did as much as possible to make sure we were fed and watered..... Customer service from Yasser is the best I have ever had.

Alina - Animations Team. She was always bright, cheery and very informative about Egypt and their culture. She never stopped running around, but always had time to have a chat and make sure we were all enjoying ourselves.

Ahmed - Waiter on Beach and Bar - His special cocktails always left you with a sore head for some reason. Maybe it was because they were so nice you kept drinking them?? All I can say is Ahmed has a great sense of humour and if he likes you will give you a nickname for the duration of your stay. My wife would hear "All right Treacle" from the other side of the Hotel!

Mr Wassam - the General Manager of the hotel. He was incredibly helpful too us during our stay. He is so passionate about his hotel. With him at the helm it can only get better.

Sandra Pieau and Jens Weckert - Extra Divers Makadi - Not part of the hotel, but they ran there shop and dive centre fantastically.

In a nutshell if you want to stay in Makadi Bay, try the Jaz Makadina for superb service, Excellent Rooms and a great location. We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Not many Sea view rooms are available, however the grounds are beautiful so it really doesn't ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WZakaria, General Manager at Jaz Makadina, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear our valued guests,

the Jaz Makadina team and I would like to thank you for your positive remarks and your friendly comment. We are very pleased to learn that you felt comfortable and that you were satisfied with our performance and services. Thank you that you were our guests, allowing us to create for you a lovely holiday.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

For any further inquiries, please don't hesitate to contact me via e-mail:
wessam.zakaria@jazmakadina.com

Wessam Zakaria
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    38
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
76
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this resort for 4 days as a single traveller. Resort located next to the beach which is perfect. The all inclusive sevice is also very well organised and good. The only things are the majority of the people is German and if you barely speak german it starts to be annoying that the staff talks german too. Second, makadi is not close to Hurghada so there is not much to do in the area of the hotel. If you want to stay close to the beach and pool this place is perfect. I would not reccomand this resort if you want to feel the egyptian culture.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have stayed there for a second time in three years and we were delighted with the very same level of quality and hospitality. Very friendly and helpful staff at the reception as well as restaurant and cleaning service, bartenders, etc...Every little problem was quickly solved, all inquiries were responded without any hesitation. My "lost" sunglasses were instantly found and handed over. Food is plenty, however, the breakfast is always the same. Though lunches are mostly adjusted to the gastronomic habits of majority of Russian and German clients (i.e. pasta, french fries and chicken), the gourmand will also find his/her favorite dishes. Dinners are rich and diverse, with a selection of domestic cuisine and seafood dishes. Room and beach was clean with plenty of sun beds.The sea is warm and shallow with three beautiful coral reefs in walking/swimming distance from the beach. The (expensive) diving center is directly on the beach and there is a small pier with a few boats (no stinky petrol, though!) Snorkeling is a must and the best time was 10 a.m. with clear visibility and myriads of fishes (unicornfishes, trevallies, groupers, triggerfishes, lionfishes, giant morrays, parrotfishes, stingrays, Picassofishes, anemnefishes, etc.). Overall, this hotel deserves its (egyptian) 4**** rating and we will come back again.

Room Tip: If applicable, ask for a family room (2+2). Spacey, compact and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We( my wife two kids and me) spent 10 days in this hotel. I was expecting troubles made in egypt, but in the end I was surprised by quality, cleanliness, stuff cooperation and helpfulness. I really recomend this hotel to families with children. Rooms are spartan but clean, garden is beautiful ,nice to walk and play in playground for children. Microbus takes you to big aquapark where slides for all ages can be used. Food was nothing special, but was tasty and most important none of us got digestional problems. Stuff in the restaurant was attentive and helpful.
Beach was little crowdy but clean of trash,water was warm and clean and most important some 30 meters from shore there were beautiful coral reefs with plenty to observe. I can imagine to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Me and wife have just come back from two lovely weeks in this hotel,everything was more than we expected the staff were absolutely amazing!! Nothing was too much trouble, great location sea was brilliant great for snorkelling right on our beach. But if you do like boat trips I would advise the snorkelling/dolphin trip £35 from 6am till-4pm breakfast and lunch with a 90% chance of seeing dolphins we was lucky enough to swim with them was amazing!!!! One slight thing we was the only English in the hotel but everyone generally speaks it including the entertainment staff which will explain the day and night events in all languages involved. I would certainly recommend this to anyone looking for a very relaxing holiday and a hot one at that enjoy!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I booked 4 nights in Sol Y Mar Club Makadi and it was great.
The hotel is in Madinat Makadi which includes a lot of other hotels, the water world aqua park and a golf course.
People at the front desk (reception) are professional, polite, and helpful, specially Maged.
The beach is amazing, sandy, clean, nice sun beds, beach bar is very near with nice drinks (special thanks to Zouhair), people working on the beach are very helpful too (thanks to Usama). You can always see fish near to the shore.
Food was very good, at the restaurant and snack areas, people working at the restaurant were very friendly (thanks to Ahmed and Abou Omar)
Room was average, but very clean.
I enjoyed the experience, and I do recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

good and clean hotel but it was under my expectation as i know that it is one of the best ranked hotels in makadi "we are visit better another hotels in makadi like sunrise and fort arabisque"
the recieption staff was perfect we take our room once we arrive although it was a peak period of adha fest, service was good breakfast was excellent, lunch was avarage and dinner some days was good and some was avarage.
no observers on beach or bool if you are have children you will not be happy specially on the beach as the water is deep.
we go to makadi water world we bay 300 LE for the family it was fun and we spent a good time but lunch was horrible, drinks and ice cream was good

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jaz Makadina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Makadina

Address: Makadi Bay, Madinat Makadi, PO Box 193, Hurghada 193, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#82 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Makadina 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was formerly known as "Sol Y Mar Club Makadi" and following total renovation; this new five star property is now operating under the flagship of "Jaz Hotels & Resort" luxury brand. The revamping plan encompassed upgrading the hotel's rooms, public areas, outlets and a facilities in addition to adding brand new services & outlets as well. It's also worth mentioning that both "Sol Y Mar" & "Jaz" brands are owned and managed by "Jaz Hotels, Resort & Cruises". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jaz Makadina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Club Makadi Hotel Hurghada
Sol y Mar Hurghada
Sol y Mar Hotel Makadi
Hurghada Makadi Resort
Sol y Mar Makadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaz Makadina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.