We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Y Mar Club Makadi

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!
Sol Y Mar Club Makadi
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Makardi Resort | Madinat Makadi, Hurghada 302, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Kosice, Slovakia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We( my wife two kids and me) spent 10 days in this hotel. I was expecting troubles made in egypt, but in the end I was surprised by quality, cleanliness, stuff cooperation and helpfulness. I really recomend this hotel to families with children. Rooms are spartan but clean, garden is beautiful ,nice to walk and play in playground for children. Microbus takes you to big aquapark where slides for all ages can be used. Food was nothing special, but was tasty and most important none of us got digestional problems. Stuff in the restaurant was attentive and helpful.
Beach was little crowdy but clean of trash,water was warm and clean and most important some 30 meters from shore there were beautiful coral reefs with plenty to observe. I can imagine to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    31
    9
    7
    0
See reviews for
38
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Me and wife have just come back from two lovely weeks in this hotel,everything was more than we expected the staff were absolutely amazing!! Nothing was too much trouble, great location sea was brilliant great for snorkelling right on our beach. But if you do like boat trips I would advise the snorkelling/dolphin trip £35 from 6am till-4pm breakfast and lunch with a 90% chance of seeing dolphins we was lucky enough to swim with them was amazing!!!! One slight thing we was the only English in the hotel but everyone generally speaks it including the entertainment staff which will explain the day and night events in all languages involved. I would certainly recommend this to anyone looking for a very relaxing holiday and a hot one at that enjoy!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I booked 4 nights in Sol Y Mar Club Makadi and it was great.
The hotel is in Madinat Makadi which includes a lot of other hotels, the water world aqua park and a golf course.
People at the front desk (reception) are professional, polite, and helpful, specially Maged.
The beach is amazing, sandy, clean, nice sun beds, beach bar is very near with nice drinks (special thanks to Zouhair), people working on the beach are very helpful too (thanks to Usama). You can always see fish near to the shore.
Food was very good, at the restaurant and snack areas, people working at the restaurant were very friendly (thanks to Ahmed and Abou Omar)
Room was average, but very clean.
I enjoyed the experience, and I do recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

good and clean hotel but it was under my expectation as i know that it is one of the best ranked hotels in makadi "we are visit better another hotels in makadi like sunrise and fort arabisque"
the recieption staff was perfect we take our room once we arrive although it was a peak period of adha fest, service was good breakfast was excellent, lunch was avarage and dinner some days was good and some was avarage.
no observers on beach or bool if you are have children you will not be happy specially on the beach as the water is deep.
we go to makadi water world we bay 300 LE for the family it was fun and we spent a good time but lunch was horrible, drinks and ice cream was good

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Based on all the reviews, I really wanted to like this place however, it was just "ok". The service was excellent but at the end, all they wanted was tips. They even tracked me down on my last day looking for money. Turned me off because of the lack of sincerity but in the meantime, they did accommodate me throughout. So here is some useful information about the resort:
1. The pools and chairs were plentiful
2. The beach is beautiful but rocky so you should bring swim shoes
3. The shopping center is in walking distance but the owners will trail after you and try to get you to there shop, typical hassles
4. it is 30 min drive to Hurghada city, nothing to see there but all the shops are in the "city"
5. The food is all buffet and it all looked and tasted the same after 3 days
6. There is alcohol but no pork products
7. The resort is great for relaxing by the pool but all the activities were in German or Russian - I felt out of place in that sense
8. The shops in the resort will rip you off so know your conversion and the price you want to pay
9. There are NO AMENITIES in the room, bring shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, toothbrush, no wash clothes, just an all-purpose cleaner
10. I was really bored after 3 days

Room Tip: Near the pool is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We are only back from this amazing place in the world, I have to say, Im travelling a lot but this was just one great experience. Smile is first thing what you will see when you ll arive to this place, staff everywhere, smilling cleaning, always there to help you, food was delicious and way too much, really so great and tasty, so european, always fresh, many varietes of everything. Drinks and snacks in little pool bar were always served well, we were allow to drink everything and all day /dont really mean alcohol coz in that heat you cant really drink:-)/. Rooms were very clean and big with beautiful view to the gardens, close to the sea, close to Makadi Aqua World, great for kids and for adults as well:-) Shuttle bus every fifteen mins and included in hotel price...I have to say, we are thinking to go back in september, thats how we are impressed with this place. Great value for money, you will get more then you would expect, small shops in between hotels, safe to walk...I think I can be here all day just writting positive words. Anyway...book ahead!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is a safe haven for people who need nothing but sun and sea! It's perfect if you want to relax and get away from the city's traffic and stress. We had all-inclusive package so we really enjoyed sun, sea and LOTS OF FOOD!

Room was average, not that fancy but totally clean.

Definitely recommended for people seeking calm vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Y Mar Club Makadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Y Mar Club Makadi

Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Club Makadi Hotel Hurghada
Sol y Mar Club Makadi Hotel
Sol y Mar Hurghada
Sol y Mar Hotel Makadi
Hurghada Makadi Resort
Sol y Mar Makadi
Address: Makardi Resort | Madinat Makadi, Hurghada 302, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#69 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#91 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#171 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Y Mar Club Makadi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLOSED FOR RENOVATION UNTIL May 1st, 2014th. Sol Y Mar Club Makadi is situated on a secluded stretch of a spectacular beach. Cool yellow colours dominate the exterior of this Nubian-Moroccan influenced resort that won the Holiday Check Award in 2008 as well as the Silver and Excellence Hygiene Awards in 2009. Inside, simple yet elegant furnishings and well-appointed rooms offer stunning views of the coastline, the expansive pool or the surrounding landscaped gardens. Renowned for its house reef, the calm sheltered waters of Makadi Bay promise an unforgettable diving and snorkeling experience even for the novice. Join in a game of beach volleyball or have a go at something new like surfing, sailing, or even camel riding. The resort is minutes from Souk Makadi, the vibrant and bustling shopping complex at the heart of Madinat Makadi with a range of shops, restaurants, bars and busy nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Sol Y Mar Club Makadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Y Mar Club Makadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sol Y Mar Club Makadi to your Saves list