We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaz Makadina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jaz Makadina to your Saves list
Jaz Makadina
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Makadi Bay, Madinat Makadi, PO Box 193, Hurghada 193, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“I loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I booked 4 nights in Sol Y Mar Club Makadi and it was great.
The hotel is in Madinat Makadi which includes a lot of other hotels, the water world aqua park and a golf course.
People at the front desk (reception) are professional, polite, and helpful, specially Maged.
The beach is amazing, sandy, clean, nice sun beds, beach bar is very near with nice drinks (special thanks to Zouhair), people working on the beach are very helpful too (thanks to Usama). You can always see fish near to the shore.
Food was very good, at the restaurant and snack areas, people working at the restaurant were very friendly (thanks to Ahmed and Abou Omar)
Room was average, but very clean.
I enjoyed the experience, and I do recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    33
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
62
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

good and clean hotel but it was under my expectation as i know that it is one of the best ranked hotels in makadi "we are visit better another hotels in makadi like sunrise and fort arabisque"
the recieption staff was perfect we take our room once we arrive although it was a peak period of adha fest, service was good breakfast was excellent, lunch was avarage and dinner some days was good and some was avarage.
no observers on beach or bool if you are have children you will not be happy specially on the beach as the water is deep.
we go to makadi water world we bay 300 LE for the family it was fun and we spent a good time but lunch was horrible, drinks and ice cream was good

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Based on all the reviews, I really wanted to like this place however, it was just "ok". The service was excellent but at the end, all they wanted was tips. They even tracked me down on my last day looking for money. Turned me off because of the lack of sincerity but in the meantime, they did accommodate me throughout. So here is some useful information about the resort:
1. The pools and chairs were plentiful
2. The beach is beautiful but rocky so you should bring swim shoes
3. The shopping center is in walking distance but the owners will trail after you and try to get you to there shop, typical hassles
4. it is 30 min drive to Hurghada city, nothing to see there but all the shops are in the "city"
5. The food is all buffet and it all looked and tasted the same after 3 days
6. There is alcohol but no pork products
7. The resort is great for relaxing by the pool but all the activities were in German or Russian - I felt out of place in that sense
8. The shops in the resort will rip you off so know your conversion and the price you want to pay
9. There are NO AMENITIES in the room, bring shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, toothbrush, no wash clothes, just an all-purpose cleaner
10. I was really bored after 3 days

Room Tip: Near the pool is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We are only back from this amazing place in the world, I have to say, Im travelling a lot but this was just one great experience. Smile is first thing what you will see when you ll arive to this place, staff everywhere, smilling cleaning, always there to help you, food was delicious and way too much, really so great and tasty, so european, always fresh, many varietes of everything. Drinks and snacks in little pool bar were always served well, we were allow to drink everything and all day /dont really mean alcohol coz in that heat you cant really drink:-)/. Rooms were very clean and big with beautiful view to the gardens, close to the sea, close to Makadi Aqua World, great for kids and for adults as well:-) Shuttle bus every fifteen mins and included in hotel price...I have to say, we are thinking to go back in september, thats how we are impressed with this place. Great value for money, you will get more then you would expect, small shops in between hotels, safe to walk...I think I can be here all day just writting positive words. Anyway...book ahead!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is a safe haven for people who need nothing but sun and sea! It's perfect if you want to relax and get away from the city's traffic and stress. We had all-inclusive package so we really enjoyed sun, sea and LOTS OF FOOD!

Room was average, not that fancy but totally clean.

Definitely recommended for people seeking calm vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My parents have already stayed in Jaz chain and were very happy and suggested us to go to this hotel.
We were staying from 18th till 27th of January and it was so much pleasure that I cant describe.
Only best words are forwarded from my family to the management and to all stuff of the hotel. We are thankful for letting us have the best vacation of our life!!!
We will be very happy to come next year back to Sol y Mar Club Makadi!!!

Room Tip: I think that room group number 3 and 4 are the best for family with little kids, but group 2 would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I needed a break in the sun and booked 5 days before we went....chose this hotel because the others looked too vast and too many rooms...I requested room near pool and sea as have a bad knee and can't walk miles like you have to in many Egyptian hotels and was given it without hesitation...food and drinks were excellent and staff never stopped working or joking...ideal for families or oldies like me,,,lovely strawberries or hot towels etc brought to you on sunbeds in afternoon....beds are of excellent quality and comfortable...staff constantly cleaning and picking up rubbish.....can't fault anything....we were the only English couple there all week but it made no difference . massage was expensive at £40 so didn't have one...Lynne and Graham

Room Tip: Ask to be near the pool if you don't want to walk through the beautiful gardens to get tp your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jaz Makadina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Makadina

Address: Makadi Bay, Madinat Makadi, PO Box 193, Hurghada 193, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#60 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Makadina 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was formerly known as "Sol Y Mar Club Makadi" and following total renovation; this new five star property is now operating under the flagship of "Jaz Hotels & Resort" luxury brand. The revamping plan encompassed upgrading the hotel's rooms, public areas, outlets and a facilities in addition to adding brand new services & outlets as well. It's also worth mentioning that both "Sol Y Mar" & "Jaz" brands are owned and managed by "Jaz Hotels, Resort & Cruises". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jaz Makadina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Club Makadi Hotel Hurghada
Sol y Mar Hurghada
Sol y Mar Hotel Makadi
Hurghada Makadi Resort
Sol y Mar Makadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaz Makadina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.