We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, excellent, amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Y Mar Club Makadi

Save Saved
You added Sol Y Mar Club Makadi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Travelocity
and 3 more sites!
Sol Y Mar Club Makadi
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Makardi Resort | Madinat Makadi, Hurghada 302, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Satu Mare, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great, excellent, amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We just came home from Sol Y Mar Club Makadi a few days ago. This was our first time in Egypt, but hopefully not our last one. We will definitely go back to this hotel. It has the most amazing garden and wonderful staff. They work every day from early morning till late night, yet they are always smiling, joking with kids and trying to make us feel as home. Everything was very clean: the rooms, the pool, the garden, the restaurant and also the beach. The animation team was also great. The hotel has mostly german guests, but there are also russians. We loved the drinks and the food.
The only „bad” thing is that wifi is accessible only near the reception, as the garden starts the wifi signal ends, so because our room was in one of the back buildings, we had no signal there :(. If this could improve, everything would be spotless…at least in our opinion :).

My husband and I absolutely loved this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    31
    9
    7
    0
See reviews for
38
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miskolc, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our first time in this hotel and the second in Egypt. The hotel was as good as the comments said we read here before our trip. The room, the restaurant, the pool and the beach area were very clean. Drinks, food and snacks were good and tasty. We always found something delicious to eat. Staff is friendly and kind, they don't expect tip for everything, but they deserve it. There were free loungers every day at the beach without reserving it in the morning. If you didn't find any, there is a guy who helps you in a minute without asking. We hope to get back there soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

In this hotel we were already 8x. The hotel is excellent for families with children and for pensioners. For young people, it is rather more peaceful character. Everything is excellent. Staff, accommodation, food, drink, cleaning rooms. Although it is a smaller hotel, so the beach, swimming pools and restaurants very close together. A few steps from the sea to their rooms. Beautiful, fragrant garden. Gradual sandy beach with access to the sea. Corals are very close to the shore, manageable even for non-swimmers. Lots of options for water fun, snorkeling, scuba diving, boat trips, fishing. Possibility of walks along the beautiful coast, but also in the center makadi where shops, a pharmacy, a variety of restaurants, disco, bank etc.. This hotel can only be recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Everything was excellent, the hotel, the staff, the food and the entertainment.
I wrote a review two years ago, now the hotel is even better.
The staff is very friendly, always smiling and trying to satisfy the clients.
Sure I'll return there

Room Tip: Pool view rooms, ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stayed for 10 nights with kids. Very green resort, beautiful garden, quiet and no drunk people.
Rooms are a bit dark.
Very good entrance into sea even at low tide, you can swim directly from the beach. Hotel have own jetty, you can use it for snorkeling anytime. Corals are dead near the beach but you can find pretty good coral if you will swim 100m left side from jetty end or 50m straight forward into the sea. Many fish, Lionfish lives under jetty, two days saw barracuda and blue dotted skate.
Food variety is OK, some days was offered lamb. BBQ almost every dinner, crab, squid was offered too. Food and service improved greatly on days when hotel was inspected by Company Owner.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My Fiancee and i had a spectacular time at the club Makadi. We done everything from lounging by the pool to trips to luxor and we both enjoyed every single moment!
The food on occasions wasn't quite the usual "English delicacies", but due to the hotel being prodominently German and Russian we feel that the hotel catered perfectly for all Nationalities. DO NOT... be put off by the fact that (if your not Russian or German) you will probably, most deffinatly be the minority because you will love every second of your time here. The staff at the Sol y Mar Club are excellent. To name drop a couple 'Heny' who kept us fed and watered from the morning to the evening and 'Mustafa' who constatly smiled whist tending the bar with his side-kick 'Osama' Juggling both the beach bar and the hotel bar, doing a fantastic job for a solid 14 hours a day.
The only down side to our time spent here was the lack of adult entertainment in the evening. It was very child orientated even when time was pushing on past 10 o'clock but other than this minor down side.
Choose the hotel and you will not be dissapointed!
Alistair and Marnie

Room Tip: The superior room is perfect for two adults sharing,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

a really nice hotel with helpful and friendly staff .the resort is clean and very well maintained with outstanding gardens .the beach is clean but the downside is at around midday the sea starts filling up with jellyfish that rise from seabed they dont sting but are a little off putting .this resort now seems to cater for east european/german clients so we was the only english people there so wouldnt return

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Y Mar Club Makadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Y Mar Club Makadi

Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Club Makadi Hotel Hurghada
Sol y Mar Club Makadi Hotel
Sol y Mar Hurghada
Sol y Mar Hotel Makadi
Hurghada Makadi Resort
Sol y Mar Makadi
Address: Makardi Resort | Madinat Makadi, Hurghada 302, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#69 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#91 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#171 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Y Mar Club Makadi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLOSED FOR RENOVATION UNTIL May 1st, 2014th. Sol Y Mar Club Makadi is situated on a secluded stretch of a spectacular beach. Cool yellow colours dominate the exterior of this Nubian-Moroccan influenced resort that won the Holiday Check Award in 2008 as well as the Silver and Excellence Hygiene Awards in 2009. Inside, simple yet elegant furnishings and well-appointed rooms offer stunning views of the coastline, the expansive pool or the surrounding landscaped gardens. Renowned for its house reef, the calm sheltered waters of Makadi Bay promise an unforgettable diving and snorkeling experience even for the novice. Join in a game of beach volleyball or have a go at something new like surfing, sailing, or even camel riding. The resort is minutes from Souk Makadi, the vibrant and bustling shopping complex at the heart of Madinat Makadi with a range of shops, restaurants, bars and busy nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Sol Y Mar Club Makadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Y Mar Club Makadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.