We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh

Save Saved
You added The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 117 | Red Sea Coast, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 181 hotels in Hurghada
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An amazing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

It has now been 3 weeks since we returned from our 1 week holiday at the Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh. Well what can I say. An amazing hotel and we will be going back next year. We had a Superior Deluxe Suite and it’s well worth going for this room. You aree literally a few steps away from the beach. We were in room 415 and it was the best. Really spacious, clean and excellent.

The manager, Dhiren Perira was very personable and came to see us on a couple of occasions. A real personal service. Throughout the hotel everyone was really attentive and just couldn’t do enough for us.

The food was excellent and basically we could ask in advance what we wanted and it was there. Our most sincere thanks go to Chef Jyoti. The Indian cuisine was amazing. The best biryani and Saag Gosht we have had. I asked Chefy Jyoti for the recipe and he came and met us on the beach with a printed out version. I tried it last weekend and fab –not quite like chef Jyoti’s!!
This is one of the best hotels we have stayed at and service was impeccable. We are definitely going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed in particular the beach front located suite. I have passed on your comments to Jyoti and the team and we are delighted that you enjoyed the Indian fare on offer. We look forward to many more stays.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    583
    47
    23
    15
    8
See reviews for
121
429
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I visited the Oberoi in July together with our two sons, daughter-in-law and grandson (18months). We had a fabulous time and all agree that the Oberoi is without a doubt the best hotel on the Red Sea. Staff are excellent and couldn't do enough to help especially when it came to looking after the needs of our grandson. Reception found our lost jacket within minutes! Food is really good with the Indian restaurant being the best.
Suites are immaculate and extremely comfortable. We had 408 very close to the beach and a 7 minute pleasant walk to the restaurant. Beach is very clean and beach attendants bring water, cold towels, juices and fruits all day and all complimentary.
Of course the Oberoi is more expensive than other hotels but its certainly worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing us for your family getaway. We are thrilled that we have exceeded your expectations and that you and your family have carried back fond memories of your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife & I stayed for a week ... It was a great choice - excellent suite, service, & facility. Perfect relaxing hotel for any couples. The suite pool give you all the privacy you need.The hotel staff is very friendly. The in-suite room food is good.

Room Tip: The private pool suites should be your first choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMtosh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh for your honeymoon vacation. We are thrilled that you chose our best accommodation with a suite with a private pool. Thank you for your compliments on our product and services. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next break away from Cairo.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lovely hotel. Fantastic service. Everything you could ask for. Rooms were amazing. Food to die for. Very accommodating. Am dying to go back. Kids loved it. The astrology night was really good. As was the massage taster.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your break with us. We are thrilled that you particularly enjoyed our Touching Senses schedule of activities and the star gazing and the spa massage classes which are very popular with our guests. We eagerly look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end April/early May. It was a wonderful choice - beautiful villa, great service, extremely good food. In fact, just about everything you could want for a relaxing break in the sun. We ate in the main restaurant/courtyard most nights and the food and service were superb. The standard of food was far better than expected and the service lived up to that level too. We also tried the Indian restaurant and the Beach Pavilion - both very good but we just loved the courtyard restaurant. I had three trips to the spa and each one was wonderfully relaxing with professional and expert staff. However, the crowning glory was our room attendant who not only kept our villa beautifully clean, well stocked and cared for but also made fabulous towel sculptures - a monkey, heart, crocodile and swan - all brilliant. We will definitely be back - and may splash out on a private pool villa next time - and would also recommend here to anyone, no matter how high their standards. The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh can cope with anyone's expectations. PS: I don't work for them!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review and comments. I have shared your lovely comments with team who are delighted that you enjoyed your break with us. The suite attendant sends his best regards and is thrilled that you enjoyed his creations. Thank you for recommending us as a hotel of choice to all readers. We look forward to your next stay eagerly.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I took my wife and 2 children to this beautiful haven for a week, I can say that this was the most amazing holiday we had in years, the weather was great, the staff were so attentive to our needs, every day they would make fun things in the suite for the kids in the room like a crocodile made from towels, they would give them balloons! The food in this hotel is impecable their buffet breakfast was delicious also you can order from their al carte menu mouthwatering waffles, pancakes with maple syrup, the Egyptian breakfast consisting of foul and falafel was amazing. The Indian restaurant was also a big hit with my wife who loves Indian food . All the staff in this hotel are very friendly and go out of their way to please us. My daughter fell ill during the trip with a high fever they got her a doctor straight away and even brought her the medications. the spa in the hotel is great, with all the therapies done by professional Thai therapists. The beach is beautiful but you must be careful and wear crocs or Sea shoes which are available on the beach for you to wear whilst swimming. Everyday they have a fun program set for the hotel guests one day there was a movie night, another was an Indian cooking class, and there was also a massage class which was extremely fun, as well as sand bottle art , my son really enjoyed that ! So I would definitely recommend this hotel ( Hurghada and sahl hasheesh are pretty safe, don't be afraid to visit this beautiful part of Egypt )

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our resort. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your family vacation at our resort. Thank you for reiterating that it is safe to travel to our part of Egypt. We continue to welcome guests with warmth and hospitality and we have had many guests like yourselves who have had wonderful stays. We look forward to your next family break.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I just spent the most relaxing vacation at the charming Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh. It has been our favorite get-away for the past 12 years not only for its breathtaking scenery, remarkable architecture, luxurious service but most importantly for the amazing staff extending the most professional attentive personalized service. We were pampered and yet enjoyed a delightful privacy throughout our stay. We enjoyed the beautiful weather sunny breathy daytime and clear starry sky at night. The exquisite food served at all outlets was purely the topping of our stay. Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh offers beyond doubt the exclusive heavenly getaway in Egypt.

Room Tip: All suites are amazing but we had the Grand Suite to enjoy the private pool:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMtosh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your loyal patronage of The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh. The team and I are delighted to welcome you back each year. Thank you for your lovely comments on our product and services. We eagerly look forward to your next stay with us in our calm and peaceful surroundings.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh

Address: PO Box 117 | Red Sea Coast, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just spent two weeks at the oberoi, the accomodation was a large king bed suite with a seperate sitting area. There are two large flat screen TVs in each suite a private courtyard with dining area and sun loungers. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom is large with shower and sunken bathroom in granite and the toiletries are replaced daily or if you run short on request. The whole complex is kept remarkably clean by the staff. The staff deserv a special mention because to a man( and woman ) they are polite helpful and above all a friendly people who make you feel welcome an liked.My wife and I both had birthdays during our stay and both had birthday cards and a cake delivered to our room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick and Tingo so you can book your The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hurghada
Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Hurghada Oberoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.