We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect secluded retreat from the hustle and bustle of Cairo allowing a necessary recharge of your batteries.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh to your Saves list
The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 117 | Red Sea Coast, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A perfect secluded retreat from the hustle and bustle of Cairo allowing a necessary recharge of your batteries.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel has been given a top rating and fully deserves it. The rooms are individual private suites dotted around the lovely site. They have plenty of facilities and space with even a private patio area or pool depending on your choice.

The location is on a beach with its own coral reef that is fantastic for snorkeling and diving. Staff are attentive and friendly and the evening meals by the main pool normally accompanied by live music are special. The curries are five star. The Thai Spa is a great experience and also is recommended.

For sure we will be going back. The only downside alcohol is very expensive. 300 LE for a bottle of Obelisk you have gotta be joking. Buy from Hurghada or bring from Cairo that is my recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our resort and for choosing us to escape from the din of city life in Cairo. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our beverage prices for wine are in line with our competitors in the area. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    54
    24
    15
    7
See reviews for
150
498
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Oberoi, the service at this hotel is second to none. Our suite was kept very clean and free of mosquito or bugs. At the time we were there the hotel was very peaceful and not very busy, which made the experience even more exclusive! We enjoyed the fact that every time we came out of the water at the hotel beach we were supplied with cold water, cold towels and sun protection lotion! We went to do some diving and the service in the dive center was always superb. We had great dives (and plenty of snorkeling) at the house reef, and it didn't disappoint, there was plenty to see and sea condition is very calm, making it a very relaxing dive or snorkel ! The dive center also arranged some boat dives to the near by islands and we were very pleased with the whole experience...our boat was never full, every time we didn't have more then 8 people on board. The boat was very good and new, and the captain and dive instructors managed to drop us on sites were no other divers were around...we had the dives all to ourselves, very peaceful. Only at the end of our dives, when coming up to the waiting boat we would see "the diving crowd of Hurghada" all around us, but not for long as when in the boat the captain would move away to another empty reef ready for our next dive...they seemed to know how to dodge the "Hurghada crowd" which is very important, we don't dive to see divers!!! Mahros was our dive master during our stay and we would recommend diving with him as he is very knowledgeable, patient, funny and kind...we had good times diving with him! We would definitely recommend staying at the Oberoi, specially if you want to escape from the crowded gigantic 5* star hotels of Hurghada ! Sahl Hasheesh is a heaven compared to the busy hell of Hurghada 5* hotels!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are pleased that you had many magical moments with us. In particular, we are thrilled that you enjoyed the diving services on offer. The Red Sea is famous for its diving and our dive centre team goes that extra mile to ensure our guests experience the beauty of the reefs and marine life despite the crowds. We look forward to your return visit.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

All the trip adviser reviews are true: this is a glorious place. Peaceful, fabulous food, gorgeous snorkelling and beach. What makes it exceptional is the staff. So kind and thoughtful - sending some ginger tea to the room when my son had too much sun; arranging a trip with driver to a nearby marina and patiently answering all my silly questions. They do make you feel like a VIP guest and really there is something very gracious, intelligent and well run to the feel of the entire place. Makes for a very relaxing holiday and a real feeling of ease and luxury.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us with your family. In particular, I am pleased that you enjoyed the small touches and the service by the team. Our people are our true asset and they strive to create memories for all guests who walk through our doors. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have spent the best week in my entire life, the royal suite is way better than expected, me and my wife have decided to spend all our anniversaries in this hotel as we have been treated as special guests, staff was extremely friendly and helpful, privacy and food were excellent.
This is the place were you should be every couple of month in order to reduce stress of work and life.
I would recommend this hotel for everybody and I would rank it as number one in the middle east.

Room Tip: Royal suites have very nice terrace and swimming pool, its the best when its facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your patronage of The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh. We look forward to seeing you back every three months to de-stress and escape the hustle and bustle of city life. We are pleased that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and we thank you for taking the time to review our resort.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Like most travellers, my wife and I referred to Tripadvisor and the reviews of the Oberoi before making our own decision to go in March.

What can I say, except that our holiday experience more than matched our expectations. We stayed for 11 fantastic nights and our eyes have been opened to the high Oberoi standards.

The suite (upgraded to sea view) was extremely spacious, lavish furniture and with all mod cons. Fresh fruit in the room daily and cleaners leave fancy towel arrangements. Always a pleasure coming back to the room.

All meals were exceptional and the menu changed every day to bring new culinary delights. Two restaurants, both amazing and great quality. At first glance, the food can be considered to be a little expensive, but once you see and taste it, the meals are as you'd expect in any top quality restaurant in your own neighbourhood. Therefore, good value for money. Wine was on the pricy side, but not enough to spoil a holiday. A big thank you to executive chef Ashish. The hotel arranges daily cultural experiences, such as cooking seminars. One particular day, I enquired about a particularly enjoyable biryani that I'd eaten the previous evening. Ashish and his team invited me to the kitchen for a private cooking session to recreate the biryani master piece. Thank you again.

This outstanding service didn't stop there. Every member of staff, from pool, waiters, beach staff, room cleaners and reception all put themselves out to make our stay extremely enjoyable. In fact, when the day came that we checked out for the airport home, it was like saying goodbye to friends rather than staff. You must go!

Our 11 night stay coincided with our wedding anniversary. On the evening of our anniversary, we went to the restaurant as per usual, only to be escorted to a secluded, candlelit table near to the private beach. I couldn't have asked for a more romantic setting and the services was, as ever, fantastic. The accordion player took time out from entertaining the other guests in the bar and added to our own private ambience near to the beach. Total surprise and unbelievable.

The beach is immaculate, the spa was excellent, the grounds are maintained constantly, the gym is well equipped.

Believe all the other great reviews on Tripadvisor. They're all accurate and you won't regret the decision to stay at the Oberoi. My wife and I can't wait to go again. However, now that we've experienced the Oberoi quality, we''re hoping to go to the Bali Oberoi in April. Already checked out Tripadvisor and all looks to be exceptional.

Finally, a big thank you to all of the dedicated staff and Mr Pereira. We look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: All suites are spacious. Beach front suites are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our resort for your special anniversary stay with. The team and I are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and have carried back fond memories. We thank you for your comments on product and services on offer. I have passed on your comments to the entire team who eagerly awaits your next visit. We are pleased that you are considering another Oberoi hotel for your next vacation.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zottegem, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here last week. And we have stayed already several times in Egypt. But this is definitley the best hotel in whole of Egypt. Since I am a travelagent I prospected all the 5* hotels in the area and none of then reaches the top levell of Oberoi.

Extremely friendly staff, very large suites, nice Oriental tinted cuisine and everywhere very clean!

It is a boutique hotel but they even offer 'activities' in the afternoon. such as yoga, pilates, origami with towells,...

My 6-year old son was the only child during our stay, but he was so pamperd by the staff, he really was treated as a royal.

The food prices are not expensive, so although it isn't an all inclusive resort, you shouldn't be afraid of the extra bill.

If you are looking for a quiet hideaway, no doubt book this hotel!

Room Tip: room 101 has a nice view and is quit central located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
After having visited a number of places in Egypt, I am pleased that you have found your favorite hotel in our resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the range of Touching Senses activities that we have on offer for our guests free of charge. The star gazing, yoga, Pilates, towel origami, cooking classes and other activities are very well appreciated by our guests. We look forward to many more return visits for you and your family.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh earlier in the month. It was our first visit to Egypt. I have to say we found the hotel faultless and thoroughly deserving of its standing as the premier holiday establishment in Hurghada.
Everything about the hotel oozes understated class. We had a Grand Suite with private pool, which with temperatures in the high 90’s was ideal for cooling down. It was also large enough to swim in which made a change to the usual plunge pool found in such suites. The grounds of the hotel were immaculate, the rooms kept spotless and the cuisine amongst the very best we have sampled. The staff were friendly and attentive and nothing was too much problem for them.
Mr Pereira, the Hotel Manager, is an extremely accessible and genial host who makes a point of interacting regularly with guests and appears to takes a very genuine pride in what he and his team are achieving at the Oberoi.
Probably a hotel less suitable to the "action junkie" in truth but for us who sought only peace and tranquillity it was absolute heaven. The hotel deserves 6 stars in truth, not 5!
We will without doubt visit the Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh again and again; rarely have we come across a hotel with such exceptional standards maintained with such consistency.

Room Tip: From what we saw all rooms are well positioned but if you have difficulty walking then some are quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh for your first visit to Egypt. Your choice of a Grand Suite with its own private swimming pool must be commended. I'm pleased that you enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the resort in particular. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh

Address: PO Box 117 | Red Sea Coast, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just spent two weeks at the oberoi, the accomodation was a large king bed suite with a seperate sitting area. There are two large flat screen TVs in each suite a private courtyard with dining area and sun loungers. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom is large with shower and sunken bathroom in granite and the toiletries are replaced daily or if you run short on request. The whole complex is kept remarkably clean by the staff. The staff deserv a special mention because to a man( and woman ) they are polite helpful and above all a friendly people who make you feel welcome an liked.My wife and I both had birthdays during our stay and both had birthday cards and a cake delivered to our room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hurghada
Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Hurghada Oberoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.