We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECTION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh to your Saves list
The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 117 | Red Sea Coast, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“PERFECTION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I am a little late in writing my review. We stayed at the Oberio in April for one week. Firstly when you book your stay at the Oberio, please ensure that you have booked the Hotel's own transport. I thought I had done, but hadn't. We had an awful experience with A2B transfer company. On arriving at the airport we waited well over an hour to be taken to our Hotel, and then we were nearly left behindt the airport. The transfer back to the Airport was not any better. There were too many people for the coach to transport and then the luggage was unloaded through a window dropping down onto the floor.

I agree with all the positive reviews already said about the Oberio. I cannot and would not say anything negative about this Hotel. We stayed in a Deluxe Room (116) and the room was only a hop skip, and a jump from the Hotel and the Beach. Our room lads were superb and always worked enthusiastically

Unfortunately, the weather is in the hands of the Gods. It was windy, but the breeze was very welcoming.

I would like to say a huge thank you to Dr Ahmed Samy and his team. Both my Husband and myself were unwell on holiday (NOT FOOD RELATED). Dr Samy came out three times to treat myself and my Husband and he got us up and about in 24 hours.

I would definately stay at this Hotel again. I do prefer Hurghada to Sharm. It is a lot quieter than Sharm and the beaches and snorkling are far better. You do not get hassled in Hurghada as you do in Sharm.

I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff at the Oberio who all work so hard to give us a super holiday.

Room Tip: Room numbers 301 - 324 are a little way from the beach and main hotel amenities. If you are conside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a review of our resort. The team and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to let all readers know that the resort has a fleet of Mercedes cars which we use for our airport transfers and trips into downtown which are available if booked directly with us.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    55
    24
    15
    7
See reviews for
150
499
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

From the time you land in Hurghada airport to the time we were dropped off, everything was just perfect. We were upgraded to a pool villa and this itself made such a big difference to the experience. All members of the team begining with their General Manager Dhiren to Chef Ashish and the housekeeping stafff always seemed to either know what we would need/like or be around to help out. Dosa's for breakfast certainly made my day every morning. The diving just off the hotel's private beach is also excellent.

I cant wait to head back there..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are pleased that you have carried back fond memories of your stay with us. Our Indian breakfast options are a highlight of our guests' stays with us. I am pleased that we could accommodate your requests. We certainly hope you consider our resort for your next break and vacation.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have just come back from another wonderful stay at The Oberoi! We have stayed there on at least 10 occasions ranging from 1-4nights, and EVERY time, the staff have helped in every way they can - they always remember you, and say 'good morning/afternoon' in passing, always ask if there's anything you need, and will always go out of their way to assist with any requirements you may have. The spa treatments are lovely - never knew such petite thai ladies could be so strong in a massage! However, they will cater for whatever you/your body needs. The food is always of a top class standard - breakfast is buffet (anything you like, from pancakes, omelettes, cereal, cheeses, fresh juice, etc). There is always complimentary bread with lunch and dinner.
To conclude, we LOVE this hotel - food, cleanliness (always spotless!), service, facilities (including a gorgeous pool and private beach with great snorkelling/diving opportunities).
This is a true 5 star hotel in our eyes, and worth every penny, and there is certainly nothing comparable to it in the area!!
(Can't wait until our next stay in November!!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valued loyal patronage of The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh. The team eagerly looks forward each time to you stay with us. Thank you for your comments on the spa, food and beverage and other services on offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in November.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just returned from spending a week at the Oberoi to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary, and this review will struggle on two counts, finding something new to say about this hotel and finding enough superlatives to do it justice.

Everything about this holiday was perfect, the room, the food, the drink, the pool, the beach, the reef and every single one of the staff. The Oberoi provided us with an oasis of relaxation for our special occasion and managed to pull off that most difficult of tasks... They made us feel special, from the personal greeting by the general manager, to the card flowers and cake on our anniversary. It's the small touches that really make this hotel stand out.

For what it's worth I don't think the drinks are overpriced, when your G&T is made with international brands, by staff who know what they're doing, and it comes with canapés and a bowl of mixed nuts, I really don't think you can complain. I also saw no evidence of staff problems, in fact there are too many to mention that went above and beyond what you would normally expect.

My tip. See Hanny for a killer Black Russian, and ask Gouda for an Irish coffee to go with your cigar.

The Oberoi raises the bar and we will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing us for your special holiday. The team and I are extremely pleased that you had a comfortable stay. Thank you for your comments on our service offerings. We look forward to many more stays and the cocktails await you.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I first visited the oberoi as newly weds and our experience was out of this world. You really feel like you are the only guests in the hotel, with all the staff there just to attend to your whims and fancies. We later returned for our anniversary and again experienced a week of complete rejuvenation and relaxation. We have since been back with our young 18 month old son, who was welcomed by the staff. We really feel like the oberoi is our home from home. We always stay in the grand suite. Particular plus points, the quality and cleanliness of the hotel, the staff are first class and the spa is seriously addictive!! We have stayed at burj al Arab, al Qasr Dubai and four seasons sharm, the oberoi Hurghada is the only hotel we have returned to time and time again. We are due to return in a weeks time and honestly can't wait!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your loyal patronage of our resort. The team eagerly looks forward to every visit of you and your family. We are pleased that you carry back fond memories of your stay with us each time. We look forward to seeing you back in a few weeks time.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

From the moment you walk from the airport to find one of the Oberoi's black mercedes cars waiting to whisk you to the hotel which is set in manicured gardens on a peaceful and sandy beach you know you are being looked after by some very special people. The staff are utterly charming friendly and helpful and the overall quality of the hotel and the care it gives is like something from a bygone age. They even have a menu for the type of pillow you want on your bed. I really can't fault this hotel and truly believe this is one of the loveliest environments in the world to chill down and totally escape the sometimes harsh realities of the world we live in... Go there..you wont be sorry. Twelve out of ten! Well you guys we will be back. John and Addi Ashton-Cross

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are pleased that you liked our Mercedes cars and our pillow menu amongst other small touches. We look forward to your return visit so you can experience the peace and tranquility that we offer to all our guests. Please do not hesitate to write to me when you decide to visit us next.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: general manager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was our first visit to the Oberoi, we usually stay at the Ritz Carlton or Hyatt Regency in Sharm. The Oberoi is certainly a more exclusive hotel in terms of accommodation and clientele.

We liked the following:

The ground-level suites are beautifully maintained, and very attractively designed. Everything is thought of for you, book marks are placed in your books, beachbags and suncream provided etc. Superb quality beds and bedding. We experienced no noise whatsoever whilst in our room. We paid extra for a superior de-luxe suite which was quite literally on the beach. As stated in other reviews, the sunken bath is lovely (do speak to reception if you have problems with water pressure, they can fix it). All suites have a fully enclosed courtyard with sunbeds etc (grand suites also have pools) The suites and courtyards are cleverly designed to give maximum privacy. On our anniversary night a bath was run for us with lighted candles and petals scattered eveywhere, and a cake placed in the room - a really nice touch.

As previous reviews have stated the food is excellent, the Oberoi is an Indian chain, hence wonderful Indian food. The executive chef is exceptionally flexible, and any culinary request will be catered for wherever possible, you just need to ask (we would suggest if you are foodies, that you ask to see him personally to discuss your specific preferences) Guests dress elegantly for dinner, quite a lot of young children in the restaurant during our stay, but generally very well behaved. Often there are low key live musicians at dinner. The Indian restaurant adjoins the courtyard, open Wed, Fri and Sun. (There is also an air-conditioned indoor restaurant adjoining the courtyard with windows overlooking the sea if you prefer to dine inside - in the main, no-one appeared to use this, it felt rather like an overflow area).

Do use the hotel's mercedes transfers to airport/town etc, very good value (we made the mistake of booking our transfer with Fleetway travel, which cost almost double what the hotel charged and also very poor service and vehicle from the local transfer agent).

The beach is beautiful with quality sunbeds - beds are spaced well apart from neighbouring beds which was a particular attraction for me. Unlike the Ritz Carlton, you can walk along the edge of the ocean (beware of jellyfish however). The beach is excellently maintained by the staff, shingle removed etc. Plenty of free water, flannels and factor 25 suncream provided and occasional free drinks of ice-tea etc.

The General Manager's cocktail party was an elegant little gathering, and the wine and canape offering was very generous. We also enjoyed the film on the beach and the star-gazing by telescope which was offered during our stay.

We did not like the following:

The wind was very strong - we had one calm day out of seven. The hotel (and the neighbouring hotel) has permanent wind-breaks on the beach, so they are obviously geared up for it. The beach boys do know how to place the sunbeds to the side of the windbreak to minimise the effect of the wind, however you will be facing away from the sea - I did not enjoy this. Some days we had no alternative but to use our courtyard as the wind was too strong for beach or pool. As a previous reviewer stated, you are then looking at 4 brick walls, completely losing the ocean view.

The restaurant design doesn't really allow for an alfresco dining experience with sea view - it is courtyard style and is enclosed with an open roof, we would guess it is designed this way to completely minimise the effect of the wind, therefore during the light evenings of the summer you would have no sea view whilst dining.

We felt the sunbathing area around the pool was inadequate in size even for 40% occupancy which the hotel had during our stay.

Finally, and this is a point we hope the hotel will address, we feel the excellent chefs are let down by the service of the restaurant staff. There appears to be no dedicated Maitre 'd, we were not greeted as we arrived in the restaurant either for breakfast or dinner, and we found we had to go up to a member of staff and ask if a table was available, we did not expect to have to do this in a hotel of this quality. Again as a previous reviewer has stated, language could be a barrier with the restaurant staff, their English is certainly not as good as the staff at the Ritz Carlton. My husband was only referred to by his name once even though we always made an effort to call each member of staff by name. Service could be slow and haphazard, we often poured our own wine etc. In general we have experienced much better, and we know that the hotel management, who are very charming, will be disappointed to read this part of our review, however we feel we could have had a better dining experience.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view, pay upgrade for superior de-luxe suite (Secret Escapes currently have an exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMtosh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed review of our resort. Thank you for your comments on our food and product offerings which we most appreciate. We are pleased that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.
The wind has subsided now post your visit with an average temperature of 35*C. Egypt goes through a few months of wind each year and the property is designed such to combat this natural phenomenon.
I would like to also inform all readers that we now have shifted our evening dining from the inner open air courtyard to the poolside with a sea view due to the weather permitting. Al fresco sea view dining is enjoyed for over 7 months at our resort. The Egyptian winter does not allow for dining by the poolside and hence we conveniently use our open air courtyard for 5 months.
I must apologise for the service inconsitencies you experienced during your dinners. I can assure you that we will address the issues highlighted by you to take our service to a level that you rightfully expect from us.
I once again that you for your honest feedback which we most appreciate and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the very near future.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh

Address: PO Box 117 | Red Sea Coast, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just spent two weeks at the oberoi, the accomodation was a large king bed suite with a seperate sitting area. There are two large flat screen TVs in each suite a private courtyard with dining area and sun loungers. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom is large with shower and sunken bathroom in granite and the toiletries are replaced daily or if you run short on request. The whole complex is kept remarkably clean by the staff. The staff deserv a special mention because to a man( and woman ) they are polite helpful and above all a friendly people who make you feel welcome an liked.My wife and I both had birthdays during our stay and both had birthday cards and a cake delivered to our room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hurghada
Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Hurghada Oberoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.