We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed a break . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh

Save Saved
You added The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 117 | Red Sea Coast, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 183 hotels in Hurghada
Marlborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Needed a break . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Have just returned from a week spent at the Oberoi and would have to say that it really was fabulous. Couldn't complain about anything except possibly the wind which was rather strong but even that wasn't going to detract from what was a lovely holiday. Rooms are well appointed, lovely grounds which are beautifully maintained, good restaurant, staff are really helpful and polite and really nothing seems to be too much trouble. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our resort. The team joins me in thanking you for your words of appreciation on our product and services on offer. We are extremely pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us. We look forward to your return visit.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: general manager.sahlhashessh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    617
    48
    23
    15
    8
See reviews for
131
446
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have spend a couple of days at the Oberoi with friends after a cruise on the river Nile. This was a perfect ending of our holiday . Accomodation is excellent - the suites included 2 TV's , nice bathroom , quite area , etc... All our wishes for food , drinks , service were granted in seconds . It was that good that we did not leave the hotel premises for 3 days ... no reason to look outside as we were in Paradise !! I can highly recommend the place and will myself also go back .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing us as your abode of relaxation post your Nile cruise. We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us. We look forward to your next break where you can spend a week in our sunny resort in serene surroundings.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: general manager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights. The suites are clean and spacious. Facilities are amazing. Staff are very polite and helpful. A special thank you to the manager mr pareira for making our stay so comfortable. It is a quiet place with a private beach but arrangements are mad for your chosen activities. We went scuba diving, parasailing, hose and camel riding and quad biking

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are pleased that you have carried back fond memories of your stay with us. Thank you for your vote of confidence on our services on offer. Please do consider us should you need a quick break away from the hustle and bustle of your daily life in Europe. Our quick and easy access makes us a valuable proposition. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: general manager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

After a week cruising the Nile, we were hoping for a quiet relaxing week by the Red Sea and were not disappointed. This is a beautiful hotel with exceptionally well maintained grounds and a great deal of space. The staff were as good as any we have experienced across the World - being both attentive, efficient and genuinely friendly. We stayed in a superior deluxe suite (211) which was right next to the beach and had fantastic views. The pool area is excellent - and again the pool service was efficient and friendly. Food was excellent - do try the Indian restaurant. Imported wines are very expensive (because of local taxes) but the Egyptian white wines were perfectly good. We would recommend cocktails in the Bar before dinner. The dive centre staff were friendly and helpful and the house reef is very good. This is a hotel we would definitely revisit.

Room Tip: Suite 211 is right next to the beach and so has wonderful sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMtosh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review of our resort. We are pleased that you chose to stay with us to unwind after a Nile cruise. Your choice of a beachfront suite is a popular choice with most of our guests. Thank you for your compliments on all our services on offer. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you feel the need for 7 days of sunshine in our little paradise. We look forward to the next stay.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

we booked Hurghada based solely on the climate. We both needed some sunshine. With such good reviews on trip advisor etc we were confident that The Oberoi would be a good choice. As the previous reviewer mentions, the hotels on the way from the airport are a bit scary. like a 1990s benidorm. Once we arrived at the hotel and saw the non-neon signage confidence was restored. Everything about the hotel is first class- we are both really particular with food and managed to eat healthy, great tasting meals everyday. The staff were all so pleasant and helpful and the massages in the Spa really good. If it was my hotel though i would improve the setting of the Spa- maybe a relaxation area etc. the only reason i would go back to Hurghada would be to stay at the Oberoi.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMtosh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are extremely pleased that you have carried back fond memories of your stay with us particularly with regards to the food, service and the spa. Thank you for your feedback on the need for a relaxation area in the spa. At present, we do not have the space to offer the same but will keep it in consideration for our future plans. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We arrived here yesterday, and I can't stop grinning knowing we have another two weeks here. The suites are beautiful, well maintained and luxurious. The dressing room! Wow! They have thought of everything, a place for everything... I have never been so tidy! The bath.. Well, the loccitane bath foam is wonderful, as are the candles and matches, the soap in a muslin bag so it froths, the bean bag towling pillow to rest your oh so happy head. They literally have thought of everything. Sunbathing is also marvellous. They bring you cold towels, water, iced tea and also sun screen (factor 25).... The spa - well Kate is renamed miracle Kate. My muscles are now as soft as butter in the sun... Beautiful spa, lovely people. 10/10 doesn't seem enough. Just love it!

Room Tip: Suite 110. Beautiful, near everything but sooo quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMtosh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your initial review of our resort. We are pleased that you are relaxing at our resort and enjoying the pampering spa treatments with Kate. We wish you a confortable rest of your stay with us.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoogstraten, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

After months of rain and clouds in Belgium, we urgently needed a sun-break.... when we arrived in Hurghada somebody from the Oberoi was already waiting for us and brought us to the hotel. On our way to the hotel we got scared if we made the right decision to book a trip to Hurghada, the hotels we saw on our way were huge, cold and didn't appeal at all.... we were so happy when we arrived at the Oberoi, the surroundings are beautiful. We booked a room at the beach which really adds value. Each morning we had a perfect view on the beach.
What we loved the most was the attitude of the other guests. Although it was easter holidays and there were some children, the atmosphere was really quiet and relax, no screaming children, no arrogant and loud talking people, just perfect. The food was great, I even had my best desert ever.... Also they way how the staff treated our 3-year old son was really nice. The only minus was the weather, we had a lot of wind during the week, so I was not able to snorkel. I also made some comments about the room. It s a really nice room with a lot of space, perfect for a couple but with a child we were forced to sit outside and wait until he slept because we were not able to make the sleeping part quiet. We found our own solution by putting a baby bed in the dressing so that it was quiet for him to fall asleep :-)
In any case thanks for the hospitality and we will return for sure!!!

Room Tip: At the beach!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMtosh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation away from the cold of Belgium with us. Your choice of beachfront accommodation is also a popular one with all of our guests. Thank you for your comments on our food especially the dessert. We look forward to many more stays.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh

Address: PO Box 117 | Red Sea Coast, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just spent two weeks at the oberoi, the accomodation was a large king bed suite with a seperate sitting area. There are two large flat screen TVs in each suite a private courtyard with dining area and sun loungers. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom is large with shower and sunken bathroom in granite and the toiletries are replaced daily or if you run short on request. The whole complex is kept remarkably clean by the staff. The staff deserv a special mention because to a man( and woman ) they are polite helpful and above all a friendly people who make you feel welcome an liked.My wife and I both had birthdays during our stay and both had birthday cards and a cake delivered to our room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hurghada
Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Hurghada Oberoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.